News Trade Week thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Cap

He's external to the main list.

As an AFL eligible player in 2012 or his salary is also exempt?

Or exempt as in, like a Rookie List player?

You were sooking mate, prematurely, like a lot of our supporters are. It is just pissing me off that our supporters are complaining about a deal which isn't even completed yet.

Considering it appears that we have nabbed the second pick in the mini draft as a seperate trade you cant use this trade to justify the Gunston one, irrespective of the other trades we do it still stands that the Gunston trade was still reaming.

Also, what stops up playing Crouch next year if we see fit? I know there's a minimum draft age, but I don't know about a minimum playing age?

If Crouch does become a Crow, he will go in the SANFL mini-draft and allocated a SANFL team from there. It's a condition of the GWS Mini Draft selections that they cannot play in an AFL game in 2012.

They can pretty much do everything else (training, weights, SANFL, etc) but this.

Considering it appears that we have nabbed the second pick in the mini draft as a seperate trade you cant use this trade to justify the Gunston one, irrespective of the other trades we do it still stands that the Gunston trade was still reaming.

We have no idea yet if the Gunston pick will be used for a different trade - chances are, it will. Which means no one is really in a position to judge the trade yet.

On the face of it you could be right. I reckon there is more to it though. Hawthorn will be doing Adelaide a favour at some stage later in the week I reckon.

If Crouch does become a Crow, he will go in the SANFL mini-draft and allocated a SANFL team from there. It's a condition of the GWS Mini Draft selections that they cannot play in an AFL game in 2012.

They can pretty much do everything else (training, weights, SANFL, etc) but this.

Straight to CDFC to replace Gunston.

Could Hawthorn do a lop-sided deal with GWS (e.g. Ladson for a 4th rounder) so as to help us with our MD #2 trade?

People seem to be forgetting that we actually need to choose Crouch. It's pretty much set in stone we're getting him, but I wouldn't be surprised, but I'd be mad, if we choose another 17 year old.

Could Hawthorn do a lop-sided deal with GWS (e.g. Ladson for a 4th rounder) so as to help us with our MD #2 trade?

Said that ages ago, and expect it to happen.

Hawks have paid ~70% of Gunston's value to us, and will pay ~30% of his value to GWS.

We have no idea yet if the Gunston pick will be used for a different trade - chances are, it will. Which means no one is really in a position to judge the trade yet.

Agreed Choy..

Looking at the Gunston trade in isolation we have been ripped a new one big bubba style...but as most of us know, sometimes you need to rob Peter to pay Paul so I will wait and see how the cards fall for the rest of the trade period before making a judgement.

Just seeing us have an active part in trade week gives me hope there are changes a coming and some exciting times ahead for the AFC. (I call this "optimism Jenny style") :p

All those stressing need to pour a drink, sit on the peace pipe for a while and enjoy the ride..

And for some light amusement you could always turn on 5AA and listen to rocky and bullwinkle for a while :D

No, it won't be used in the Crouch deal, but it will help us with the other trades, which it seems Noble was referring to. Just wait until the end of the week, I don't think this deal would have been done this early if we had nothing else on the table. There is a lot more to play out, be patient.

Norwood to replace Puopolo, Duigan, Brown, Gorringe... I could go on.

:D:thumbsu:

If you are Sturt you will be stoked if this trade goes through.

Brad Crouch for an entire season, without the threat of an AFL call up.

Agreed Choy..

Looking at the Gunston trade in isolation we have been ripped a new one big bubba style...but as most of us know, sometimes you need to rob Peter to pay Paul so I will wait and see how the cards fall for the rest of the trade period before making a judgement.

Just seeing us have an active part in trade week gives me hope there are changes a coming and some exciting times ahead for the AFC. (I call this "optimism Jenny style") :p

All those stressing need to pour a drink, sit on the peace pipe for a while and enjoy the ride..

And for some light amusement you could always turn on 5AA and listen to rocky and bullwinkle for a while :D

Agree on all points.

I started drinking in August.

Said that ages ago, and expect it to happen.

Hawks have paid ~70% of Gunston's value to us, and will pay ~30% of his value to GWS.

Pretty much what the North Americans label in trades as "future considerations".

Can you please explain what you exactly mean here Kingy?
Hawks have paid us most of Gunston's value.

They'll trade Ladson or something to GWS to compensate for the rest of the value we didn't receive.

GWS then trade MD2 and #14 back to us, with part of that 'paid' for by the Hawks part of the Gunston trade.

That make sense?

EDIT;

I want to buy something worth $100, I only have $80.

You spot me $20, then when we go buy the next thing, I contribute $20 towards the cost of what it is we're buying.