peternorth
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Richmond
- Staff

No sheds, no tools, no space, no time.Don't have to be a professional trade to be handy.
It's more common in older blokes of boomer generation or even older Gen X, but plenty, plenty of men who have never been paid to get on the tools in their life are more than capable of doing projects of various size and scope.
My dad isn't a tradesperson but can build things to a high quality comparable to many trades.
I think that's a thing that's being lost to society for a variety of different reasons.
Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk
Pretty much.No sheds, no tools, no space, no time.
Plus people don't know what they don't know. If you are raised in an environment that if something is broken you either bin it and get a new one or get a man in to fix it then you'll never learn how to fix anything. I'm always shocked to meet people who drive cars that can't even change a tyre.
I wonder if DIY type stuff will turn a corner. When I was mid to late teens and doing woodwork at school, mucking around with cheap cars etc. I had an old second hand service manual covered in greasy fingerprints. So you could read the words and look at dodgy black and white photos and go from there. Now you can search YouTube for pretty much anything and some neckbeard has made an instructional video for you. And tools are cheap. 30, 40 years ago you wouldn't just go and buy a drill from Bunnings to do one job. Now you can get one (admittedly not a great one) for $50 while it will cost you $100 call out fee just to get a tradie to your house.
Probably true. In a similar vein I've also heard that many gourmet chefs will come home and have baked beans on toast.
Plus people don't know what they don't know. If you are raised in an environment that if something is broken you either bin it and get a new one or get a man in to fix it then you'll never learn how to fix anything. I'm always shocked to meet people who drive cars that can't even change a tyre.
The main thing to remember with changing a tyre is to loosen the screws before you start jacking up the car. I have had to change 2 tyres in my life and thankfully both times I could take my time and wasn't in a hurry.
I think everyone should atleast know how to do it, If you are driving someone to the hospital who needs medical attention and you get a flat tyre then time wasted waiting for someone to change the tyre could take their life.
Has anyone else noticed the disturbing phenomenon of tradies going all E from Entourage and calling their business '<<name>> plumbing group'? This is related to the people on LinkedIn who give themselves the title of 'Founder and Director' of their accounting business that employs 0.5 FTEs besides themselves.
I know tradies who've gone the 'group' route with their business name when they've never so much as employed an apprentice. I don't know about other people, but all other things being equal, I'd rather give my business to Simmo's Building rather than something that sounds like a law firm.
His online pool was exceptional thoughIt's not just tradies. I know more than a few people who, on being made redundant, set their LinkedIn profiles to something like "CEO and Founder, Bill Bloggs Consulting". Bloody strange. The more savvy ones put a firm end date on their previous role and describe themselves as "Seeking New Opportunities".
One of the more floggish flogs on Bay13 outed himself by having his LinkedIn job set as "MD <Username> Enterprises", complete with a photo that looked like a deranged child molester.
He also, famously, couldn't change a tyre.
Maybe instead of using your mobile to call someone to change the tyre maybe call an ambulance?
No mobile reception.
They teach you to be a good, compliant worker first and foremostKind of funny how school doesn't teach everyone basic things like first aid, basic finance, basic cooking, how to change a tire etc
Sure you might learn how to make spaghetti in year 7 but where's the useful stuff for moving out of home for the first time in years 10-12 when kids might actually remember it as adults
You did proper first aid, finance, not math but like compound interest and how credit works?I had to change a tyre a few weeks ago. Might have been the first time since my Dad taught me 20 years ago. I remember learning all the other stuff in school though. Not sure if that’s changed.
You did proper first aid, finance, not math but like compound interest and how credit works?
We did home economics which was cooking in year 7 and maybe year 8 but how much of that do you remember 6 or 7 years later?
I remember making spaghetti that's about it
We were the first year that boys cooked and sowed and did wood work so did the girlsYou did proper first aid, finance, not math but like compound interest and how credit works?
We did home economics which was cooking in year 7 and maybe year 8 but how much of that do you remember 6 or 7 years later?
I remember making spaghetti that's about it
We were the first year that boys cooked and sowed and did wood work so did the girls
I kept the skills of all three and expanded the knowledge to be able to cook anything and everything and build anything, I can still sow basically.
I also did economics at high school which was useful ,I did more in uni.
My dad taught me how to sowI had to sew a button back onto a shirt only this year!
My Mum taught me to sew before I left for the Air Force. It was a handy skill because everything needed name tags on it. The Air Force taught me how to iron clothes. Literally. We all huddled in the laundry and the drill SGT yelled at us, demonstrated, and then yelled at us some more. We were then told, to wash, dry and iron and starch our entire kit to the required standard by 8AM the next day. Any item of clothing not to the required standard was removed from the hanger and draped over you. It was called being "Christmas tree'ed". As in decorated like one. It was quite sh*t, but you learned. I'm not sure I'd recommend it though.
PLB or sat phone.