Tradies - Do they really want the work?

I can 100% understand not bothering to get a manual license in 2020, unless you need it for a work vehicle it's a fair bit of extra effort for something so few cars use now.

But a tyre change takes less than 10 minutes to learn and potentially saves a lot of hassle and even safety issues.

I don't see why things like changing a tyre or basic home maintenance should be the remit of the school. Isnt that what parents/family are meant to teach?
What if you grown up without a car or a parent that knows how you do that?

I think when we lost manufacturing and middle management there was a coordinated effort to make students useless so we could support a service industry.

Kind of funny how school doesn't teach everyone basic things like first aid, basic finance, basic cooking, how to change a tire etc

Sure you might learn how to make spaghetti in year 7 but where's the useful stuff for moving out of home for the first time in years 10-12 when kids might actually remember it as adults
There are things called parents as well though, most of that they should be able to teach you over 18 years

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

LOL this is BigFooty GD Board. Everything is the remit of school/govt.
My favourite is the constant calls for taxpayers to stump all the costs for their kids to be babysat in childcare whilst they go off to work at Bunnings or wherever for the day.

I'm fine with it being subsidised, not for free though. Parents need to take some responsibility if they want to have 50 kids.

Shits me to tears this.

Saw a woman on Insight complaining about not having enough money for food to eat. She had something like 6-7 children.

As i said i have gotten into this argument on here before and there were people on here who said 'do people seriously do a budget before having kids?' - well they ******* should.....

Only if you begin the old "teachers are bludgers who get too many holidays" argument at the same time.

Shits me to tears this.

Saw a woman on Insight complaining about not having enough money for food to eat. She had something like 6-7 children.
Wait, children are expensive to raise???

Why didn't they teach me all about that at school!!!

As i said i have gotten into this argument on here before and there were people on here who said 'do people seriously do a budget before having kids?' - well they ******* should.....

Thanks Frumpy - set for a replay of a reoccuring nightmare tonight now.

You've reminded me of when I had "the talk" with the then wife.

"I want to have a baby this year"
"What? How are we going to pay for that? Look at this crap!"
Thrusts over bank statements showing maxed out credit card, spreadsheet showing outgoing exceeding incoming constantly.
"We'll manage"
:rolleyes:
"Well, you know I wanted a baby. It shouldn't be a surprise."
"Well, I've been saying for years now we can't keep spending more than we earn. It shouldn't be a surprise."
"I really want a baby"
"I really want a Mercedes. But we just can't afford it"
"No, you don't understand. I desperately want a baby"
"I desperately want a Mercedes. Doesn't change anything."

* fade to black *

Thanks Frumpy - set for a replay of a reoccuring nightmare tonight now.

You've reminded me of when I had "the talk" with the then wife.

"I want to have a baby this year"
"What? How are we going to pay for that? Look at this crap!"
Thrusts over bank statements showing maxed out credit card, spreadsheet showing outgoing exceeding incoming constantly.
"We'll manage"
:rolleyes:
"Well, you know I wanted a baby. It shouldn't be a surprise."
"Well, I've been saying for years now we can't keep spending more than we earn. It shouldn't be a surprise."
"I really want a baby"
"I really want a Mercedes. But we just can't afford it"
"No, you don't understand. I desperately want a baby"
"I desperately want a Mercedes. Doesn't change anything."

* fade to black *

So how many did end up having?

11?

And also how many kids.

Hehehehe.

Ha! Never did get that Mercedes.

You might find this hard to believe, but we separated before that year was out.
She was pregnant before the divorce was finalised, and married shortly after it was. To some poor schmuck.
Made the divorce pretty smooth though. Motivated seller!
Last I heard she ended had 2, but refer to my post in "Friends with the ex" :)

Only if you begin the old "teachers are bludgers who get too many holidays" argument at the same time.
Anyone that teaches pre-primary deserves as many holidays as they get can haha.

I look after a small group of them for just 40 minutes a day and that's is hard enough work!