NikkiNoo

Premium Platinum
Veteran 10k Posts Podcaster Ex-Moderator
panthers, ukraine & broncos
Ok now this will not be as comprehensive as Crow*Girl's reports, so please do not compare. :o

I was all set and had my notepad and pen ready, I had picked a nice little spot away from everyone else and the trainers decided to park their van and set up next me. So surounded by the trainers and Charlie Walsh I was a little hesitant about taking notes in front of them, so this is all from memory.

The players wandered out around 8.15am. The session lasted for just over 2 hours. During that time Trent was on the bike behind me for about an hour all up before he headed back in.

Petrenko and Armstrong were always on the sidelines doing run throughs and other football work with one of our runners. Joining them at various stages were Dangerfield, Otten, Kite, Cook, Martin and Sam Martyn who had flown in this morning.

The main session started off as normal with stretches and run throughs/lane work. With the lane work it would start with one player at the back, in the middle was another player and then the same distance away were the rest of the players in that 'lane'. One player from the group would kick to the player in the middle who would immediately drop the football or tap it away to be collected by the player that kicked it in the first place who handballed to the player at the end on their own. This went on for a while with the ball sometimes knocked towards the ground and sometimes up in air. Each player in the group would rotate through the three areas. The coaches became involved later on when they would push the players away when they were trying to collected the ball and handball it to the end. So in effect it was working on the bump and immediate give.

The next main drill had three seperate groups. One was the forwards and backs that were matched up in groups of two and they were kicking to each one on one contest. Match ups included
Rutten and Sellar - Rutten spent a bit of time before each contest seeming to tell Sellar what he should be doing
Gallman and Walker - these two were at it full pace. At one stage they were both contesting the ball that they ran into the next group and it finished as a stalemate on the ground with them both lying on the ball.
Jacky and Martyn (the new guy) - Jacky was very impressive the whole session and in fact spent a lot of the time joking around with his more senior teammates. I would not be surprised to see him start round 1, he looks like he belongs out there.
McGregor and Moran - they were the opposite side to me so I didn't see what was going on there too much
Burton and Massie - probably broke even in the contests
Stevens and Gill - again stevens was quite impressive over the whole session, he seems to have improved some of his body on body work but when he comes from a space away his ability to punch the ball away is very good.
There was one other group of three that included Jericho and I can't remember the other two at the moment.

While this was going on up the other end of the ground two groups were involved in some tackle drills and collecting the ball. I didn't pay too much attention as I was more interested in the forward and back contests. The groups all merged together to do some more tackling. What I really noticed is that Sellar doesn't use his speed to break away from the tackle. Rutten, they either don't want to tackle him or when they do he knows how to break the tackle.

What I noticed about Moran is that his skills aren't too bad, he just has the slight pause where he thinks about what to do before doing it. So at the moment he is taking his time to make sure he is making the right decision.

For drummond - Campbell has nice skills and gets amongst it well but he has the issue of thinking ahead and it shows in his execution. He dropped marks a number of times because he had already started to move towards what he was going to do next.

Ours boys need to learn to play netball. The number of players that when passing to a team mate still pass to where they used to be and not where they were going was considerable. A couple of players also try and mark the ball with curved and close together fingers, hence dropping the mark (cook was one of those).

Mackay apparently has impressed greatly on the track over the past two weeks and Griff's attidude was also great in demanding the ball.

That's it for now, I have to sign off and will add more a little later.

cheers

next installment:-

Ruck set ups, when ever a ruck was needed the three used were Maric, Griff and Tippett. Moran was solely used in the backlines. Competition was fierce between the three of them. Maric just shades the other two, which is what you would expect. Both Maric and Griff worked very hard around the ground when the 'circle' work was on. Griff is holding Maric off a lot better now than he has in the past. Tippett will brace for the impact in a ruck contest by bending his knees but he often bends too much and so it was easy for Maric to push him under the ball. At one stage in the circle work, Griff led and took the ball on the half back line, passed it off and then continued running and received the ball and kicked into the forward line while under pressure. He did fall after kicking, but managed to get the kick away.

When there were midfield set ups, there was no holding back by our midfielders. Shirley was providing good voice on the track with encouragement for our younger players.

McLeod was included more in the midfield than in the backline set ups. The beard has gone, although it seems that this week is the week for Rutten to grow a beard.

Johncock may have a bit of a belly but during a contest in the forward area, he can screaming through, took the ball off the pack and off he ran with it. His football skills and nouse are still there for all to see.

There was a 20 min 'game' for white and blue but they only used one end for scoring. The ball was thrown in on the opposite wing, transfered to the backline, across the other side and then brought down the other wing for a pass into the forward line. The forwards had a period of time to either set up a better option or kick the goal. There was a large contingent on the sidelines that consisted of our midfield options, they would every couple of minutes swap with those on the field. Occasionally Craig would yell centre and they would swap into the centre corridor to bring the ball into the forward area. Gill and Sellar were the standouts leading for the ball. Reilly was always in the thick of the action and who ever taught him to kick should be congratulated. Thompson at one stage was very annoyed with himself for a little stuff up.

After the game, Craig pulled them all in and chatted for a good 5 minutes with the board being held up for them to see. Then they headed back to the rooms. Moran stayed out with Jonas to work on his kicking action, Symes providing some long kicks to start off with him. A small midfield contingent of Griff, Knights, Vince and I think Gallman stayed and seemed to be talking about placements for a tap and did a couple of little taps and takes and then discussed some more. Shots on goal were had by Sellar, McLeod, Burton, Jacky, Tippett, VB, Douglas and Walker. Craig also spoke with Sam Martyn, his father and some friends at the end and he had Walker with him as well.

Earlier in the session James Moss was doing quite a bit of work running, leading, marking and kicking with the runner. I understand that they are doing quite a bit of rehab with him because of the issue with his hips. He does like to kick across his body ala Bode.

From my gym coaching point of view ;) There was some assisted hamstring stretches occurring with Dangerfield. Nobody does assisted stretching anymore, it is quite frowned upon. Also many of our younger guys when doing push ups drop their heads, which means that their backs are slightly arched and therefore they are relying on their backs to do more of the work in a push up than their arms.

Ruck set ups, when ever a ruck was needed the three used were Maric, Griff and Tippett. Moran was solely used in the backlines. Competition was fierce between the three of them. Maric just shades the other two, which is what you would expect. Both Maric and Griff worked very hard around the ground when the 'circle' work was on. Griff is holding Maric off a lot better now than he has in the past. Tippett will brace for the impact in a ruck contest by bending his knees but he often bends too much and so it was easy for Maric to push him under the ball. At one stage in the circle work, Griff led and took the ball on the half back line, passed it off and then continued running and received the ball and kicked into the forward line while under pressure. He did fall after kicking, but managed to get the kick away.

When there were midfield set ups, there was no holding back by our midfielders. Shirley was providing good voice on the track with encouragement for our younger players.

McLeod was included more in the midfield than in the backline set ups. The beard has gone, although it seems that this week is the week for Rutten to grow a beard.

Johncock may have a bit of a belly but during a contest in the forward area, he can screaming through, took the ball off the pack and off he ran with it. His football skills and nouse are still there for all to see.

There was a 20 min 'game' for white and blue but they only used one end for scoring. The ball was thrown in on the opposite wing, transfered to the backline, across the other side and then brought down the other wing for a pass into the forward line. The forwards had a period of time to either set up a better option or kick the goal. There was a large contingent on the sidelines that consisted of our midfield options, they would every couple of minutes swap with those on the field. Occasionally Craig would yell centre and they would swap into the centre corridor to bring the ball into the forward area. Gill and Sellar were the standouts leading for the ball. Reilly was always in the thick of the action and who ever taught him to kick should be congratulated. Thompson at one stage was very annoyed with himself for a little stuff up.

After the game, Craig pulled them all in and chatted for a good 5 minutes with the board being held up for them to see. Then they headed back to the rooms. Moran stayed out with Jonas to work on his kicking action, Symes providing some long kicks to start off with him. A small midfield contingent of Griff, Knights, Vince and I think Gallman stayed and seemed to be talking about placements for a tap and did a couple of little taps and takes and then discussed some more. Shots on goal were had by Sellar, McLeod, Burton, Jacky, Tippett, VB, Douglas and Walker. Craig also spoke with Sam Martyn, his father and some friends at the end and he had Walker with him as well.

Earlier in the session James Moss was doing quite a bit of work running, leading, marking and kicking with the runner. I understand that they are doing quite a bit of rehab with him because of the issue with his hips. He does like to kick across his body ala Bode.

From my gym coaching point of view ;) There was some assisted hamstring stretches occurring with Dangerfield. Nobody does assisted stretching anymore, it is quite frowned upon. Also many of our younger guys when doing push ups drop their heads, which means that their backs are slightly arched and therefore they are relying on their backs to do more of the work in a push up than their arms.

:thumbsu: Outstanding work Nikki- one question, what did you think of Sam Martyn? How did he look

How did James Sellar look NickiNoo ??

Sam Martyn - didn't know who he was to start off with. I saw him manned up with Jacky for one drill and Jacky was beating him pretty well but was providing a good contest. Then one of the trainers asked who he was and it was revealed he was the NSW boy and only 15. He is about the same height as Dangerfield and body shape a little skinnier than him but on par with Cook and Kite and did look a little out of his depth but it was his first training session.

Biglands wasn't there. I had Trent on the bike behind me, but I'm pretty sure the last thing they want is some random chatting to them. So I let them do their thing and observe.

Sellar was matched up with Rutten for a couple of drills. Understandably he didn't win every contest ;) Truck was instructing him on how to position in contests. When he was manned up on the lead on other players, he looked very good. Moves well, a bit bigger across the shoulders than last year. Looking forward to seeing his development in the SANFL this year. I think he is a chance might get a run in Dubai.

Oh and Bassett was working inside as well.

Thanks Niki, that was a good read :thumbsu::)

Good to see that Gallman is back with the main group. Also enjoyed your 'insights', such as Tippett and his knees ;)

Thank for the update Nikki, greatly appreciated:thumbsu:

The craze these days I think are for the dynamic stretches, especially during warm ups, I believe that the static stretches tend to decrease the power you can obtain from the muscles, which isn't necessarily a good thing when you are about to use them, the static stretches, post training are good, wouldn't have thought there was much wrong with assisted stretches, except maybe they can't find 40 odd stretchers.

Also a good point about the push ups, thats really the trainers job to ensure the players keep their heads up, I know when I'm at training, if one of us drops our heads, the whole group must do them again, a hard habbit to kick though.

Thanks Nikki for your great work. The information you and Crow Girl provide to those of us who can't ever get to see training sessions is fantastic. I didn't realise how much I rely on your training reports and pictures until the previous training session (Crow Girl back at school) when there was not one bit of information about it on this forum, or on afc.com.au.

Also, it's good to hear that last years top draft picks seem to be getting closer to playing. Sellar looks and sounds like he has developed nicely and Tippett is a big boy who could be anything. It was interesting to hear you say Mackay has been impressive recently. Is he finally fit, and has he got any bigger?

Again, thanks to you and Crow Girl for the information.

Damn gymnastics coaching :p

Why do i get the impression that you're one of those crazy gymnastic trainers.

'Alright Children, youve done well, you can all have cats back.' :p

Great work on the report though. :thumbsu:

ST - in gymnastics you actually can do a move called a cat leap. My younger gymnasts used to have a great time watching each other to see if it even looked like any cat they knew. ;) My gymnasts loved me, (I have the worlds best coach trophy to prove it and they filled it with skittles for me) but yes they were scared of me too. :D

On Mackay - the comment was one that I heard from someone in the club state. He did look very impressive. He is still skinny but has great speed and when chasing players he really makes up ground on them. His skills were quite nice, nothing that I could pick up on too wrong with him and from the sounds of it, last year he was a huge standout in the two sanfl games he played. Fingers crossed his hamstring issues are sorted and we get to see his talent soon.

james 37 - you only have to look at the top rhythmic gymnasts these days and the crazy flex they show. They have the right balance of strength and flex. I know that the training methods have changed greatly in the 15 years since I started the sport. When I started it wasn't unusual for a coach to sit on you to increase stretches. Most of my problems with my hamstrings are probably related to my coach who used to stretch me to where she thought my legs should go to :(

What I really noticed is that Sellar doesn't use his speed to break away from the tackle. Rutten, they either don't want to tackle him or when they do he knows how to break the tackle.

Could you please clarify this sentance? Are they tackling him but he's breaking them without using his speed or is he just getting soft tackles and twisting out? Is that doesn't meant to be a does?

Anyway, great report, cheers.

Thanks Nikki, thats great. Did you happen to get a sense of the potential make up of the team for Dubai?

Could you please clarify this sentance? Are they tackling him but he's breaking them without using his speed or is he just getting soft tackles and twisting out? Is that doesn't meant to be a does?

Anyway, great report, cheers.

Sellar I know has a decent burst of speed but he seemed to just hesitate and they were able to catch him and then he couldn't break the tackle.

Rutten was in the same group and it was interesting to see that he could evade the tackle more than any others but when he did get caught he knew how to break out of the tackle. His size is an advantage when he is being tackled by the midfielders.

Sellar couldn't break the tackle of the midfielders.

Thanks Nikki, thats great. Did you happen to get a sense of the potential make up of the team for Dubai?

They didn't really play a 'game' so it's a little hard to tell. From watching the training I would suggest that the young ones/new recruits likely to make their debut for the game would be Jacky, Mackay, Tippett, Gallman and Symes. On the strong maybe list I would put Sellar and Moran. Walker might be an outside chance too.

The midfield is the interesting area as we do have quite a few possibles, the old hands in Goodwin, Edwards, McLeod (he was positioned more midfield at training today), the new brigade in Reilly, Thompson, Knights, Porplyzia and VB. Then those that should be fighting for a position in Vince, Douglas and Mackay. That's 11 possibles. The Ruck, I think we will go with 3 - Tippett, Maric and Griffin and one will rotate up forward.

Thanks NN. :thumbsu:

This is a pic I took of Sellar last year, anyone have a more recent pic so we can compare?

P1020297.jpg

Not a lot went his way last year, and he probably should’ve sat out the entire season to rest his groin. This season I think we can expect him to cement his spot with Glenelg’s league team and hopefully he can start to look like a CHF this season. He showed few natural instincts last year which is what disappointed me most of all. Positioning, dummy leads, all the aspects a key forward should possess, he needs to improve on. Hopefully with improved fitness levels and more faith from the coaching staff he can have a big season.

As for Mackay, he’s probably the one I’m most looking forward to see. He has all the tools to be a quality midfielder for many years. With his class and foot skills, I think he’ll be a similar player to Reilly. I hope the coaching staff don’t hold him back and we see him debut this year.

Campbell thinking too far ahead eh? Probably trying too hard to impress. ;)

Nikki,

Fantastic! I really do appreciate your time. I think you and Crow Girl should get together for a traininig session and write up a 'Super Report'.

As I mentioned on another thread if someone can tape the Dubai game and put it on a torrent I would really appreciate it.

By the way, James23 thanks for the John Reid interview. What program do you use to record this?

One last thing, Nikki did it look like Otten may get a game in Dubai?

Thanks heaps Nikki, I really cant believe how much I look forward to yours and Crow-Girl reports. Its a better read than the 'Tiser thats for sure.

Love what I am hearing on Jacky....

Cant wait for this season to get going and see the young dudes show their stuff !!!

Thanks again. :thumbsu:

Thanks Nikki

And on Sellar last year, in my opinion he looked like one of the plaers still learning how to play footy. He had the capacity to do the freakish in the big pack marks in the goal square but also the ability to get lost and do the potentially stupid out on the ground.

He is very much a project player but worth persisting with because his natural talents are generally in areas which can not be taught