macca23

Adelaide Crows
I managed to get out of bed in time to watch Crows training this morning, which is just as well for me, as the boys are off to a 4 day camp at Strathalbyn tomorrow. Although it was raining earlier, the sun came out right on schedule as the boys came out around 9 15 am.

Only 29 players trained outdoors today. 10 trained indoors as part of their individual programs, namely Burton, Carey, Clarke, McLeod, Ricciuto, Skipworth, Mark Stevens, Torney, Watts and Andrews. The injured Smart (achilles) and Hart (calf strain) were both wearing moon boots on their right legs, while Matthew Smith is still in Melbourne for family reasons.

The regular track watchers said I should have been there yesterday, as all but Smart, Hart and Smith took part in what was primarily a skills session.

Today’s session mainly concentrated on aerobic work, commencing with a beep test. I was bloody exhausted just watching that!! It seemed to go on and on forever.

The next running exercise had players in groups of 3, running the 4 sides of a 100 to 150 metre sided square, each side being ran at a different pace, ranging from slow to flat out. It seemed to me that they had grouped the players very carefully, so that players vying for the same position were competing with each other. Examples of that were Perrie and Rutten, Shirley and Bode, and it led to some very competitive running.

They concluded the aerobic work with a 3 km run, and finished off the session with about 30 minutes of ball work. All in all, the session lasted a bit over one and a half hours.

The track watchers tell me that the standouts in the pre-season work so far have been Carey, Shirley, Perrie, Torney, Skipworth, Massie and Goodwin. On the other side of the coin, they say that Clarke has been really struggling, while Welsh is down a bit on fitness as well. As we all know, Burns had too much wombat pudding at Xmas. The big tip is that Clarke will retire at the end of this year, and return to Brisbane to establish his own practice.

The boys from the SANFL and VFL are finding the fitness requirement a big jump. Hudson and Dabrowski in particular looked half dead from all the running and sprinting and couldn’t keep up. I was very impressed with the athleticism of Krueger, who is extremely mobile and very good at ground level. He is lighter than I remembered him though.

A few observations from today:

Begley – superbly fit. Missed his pre-season with injury last year so could be in for a good one.
Biglands – looked great. Muscled to the hilt but very fit and ran well. Will be the main ruckman this year IMO.
Goodwin – lighter than last year. Worked a treat.
Johnc ock – looked very strong but will have to improve greatly on his aerobic fitness to become a permanent mid-fielder.
McGregor – has grown his hair long into a curly mop – trained well.
Perrie – a credit to himself. Superb muscle definition and the track watchers are tipping a big season from him.
Reilly – has bulked up a bit – should be a permanent member this year. Runs like a gazelle.
Rutten – looks a little lighter than last year. Running looked improved, but really has to for him to make it.
Schuback – another who has bulked up a bit.
Shirley – same comments as for Perrie. Looks a million dollars and should take on Bickley’s role.
Stevens – of the Scott variety. Very strong lower torso, Looks a handy type.

Talking to the track watchers, they say that training has been very different in nature this year as compared to last. Each player has his own individual program which is why they aren’t always out on the track together. Whereas there was a lot of competitive work and scratch matches at this stage last year, they haven’t even commenced that this year. Could well be that the hierarchy think we peaked far too early last year.

Thanks for the report Macca!

Burns is a real worry from what I have read. Granted he still has some time before the start of the season to get fit.

However this time last year, he was training really hard. He hasnt kept the standards up which is a shame. He could start the season with Port Magpies. The upside to that is Mr Schuback could find himself in the A side sooner than expected.

Your info on Clarke is also a concern esp if the established VFL/SANFL back up ruckmen are struggling with the training.

Again, thanks for the info.

Thanks for the report macca23. Since I had a day off today I was going to go to the training this morning but decided against it as it is our Christmas today and had to spend some time with family.

Originally posted by Jerome
Thanks for the report Macca!

Burns is a real worry from what I have read. Granted he still has some time before the start of the season to get fit.

However this time last year, he was training really hard. He hasnt kept the standards up which is a shame. He could start the season with Port Magpies. The upside to that is Mr Schuback could find himself in the A side sooner than expected.

Your info on Clarke is also a concern esp if the established VFL/SANFL back up ruckmen are struggling with the training.

Again, thanks for the info.
Running was never Ronnies strong point. He worked harder last year because Ayres wanted to turn him into a midfielder. We all know how that went.

I said it before and I will say it again. We still haven't addressed the issues regarding ruckman. We will have to trade for one or draft one at the end of this year.

Not concerned with Ronnie at all as I have always felt that Schuback will take his spot this year.

Stiffy's lack of fitness for a regular midfielder is a worry.:(

Originally posted by macca23
I managed to get out of bed in time to watch Crows training this morning, which is just as well for me, as the boys are off to a 4 day camp at Strathalbyn tomorrow. Although it was raining earlier, the sun came out right on schedule as the boys came out around 9 15 am.

Only 29 players trained outdoors today. 10 trained indoors as part of their individual programs, namely Burton, Carey, Clarke, McLeod, Ricciuto, Skipworth, Mark Stevens, Torney, Watts and Andrews. The injured Smart (achilles) and Hart (calf strain) were both wearing moon boots on their right legs, while Matthew Smith is still in Melbourne for family reasons.

The regular track watchers said I should have been there yesterday, as all but Smart, Hart and Smith took part in what was primarily a skills session.

Today’s session mainly concentrated on aerobic work, commencing with a beep test. I was bloody exhausted just watching that!! It seemed to go on and on forever.

The next running exercise had players in groups of 3, running the 4 sides of a 100 to 150 metre sided square, each side being ran at a different pace, ranging from slow to flat out. It seemed to me that they had grouped the players very carefully, so that players vying for the same position were competing with each other. Examples of that were Perrie and Rutten, Shirley and Bode, and it led to some very competitive running.

They concluded the aerobic work with a 3 km run, and finished off the session with about 30 minutes of ball work. All in all, the session lasted a bit over one and a half hours.

The track watchers tell me that the standouts in the pre-season work so far have been Carey, Shirley, Perrie, Torney, Skipworth, Massie and Goodwin. On the other side of the coin, they say that Clarke has been really struggling, while Welsh is down a bit on fitness as well. As we all know, Burns had too much wombat pudding at Xmas. The big tip is that Clarke will retire at the end of this year, and return to Brisbane to establish his own practice.

The boys from the SANFL and VFL are finding the fitness requirement a big jump. Hudson and Dabrowski in particular looked half dead from all the running and sprinting and couldn’t keep up. I was very impressed with the athleticism of Krueger, who is extremely mobile and very good at ground level. He is lighter than I remembered him though.

A few observations from today:

Begley – superbly fit. Missed his pre-season with injury last year so could be in for a good one.
Biglands – looked great. Muscled to the hilt but very fit and ran well. Will be the main ruckman this year IMO.
Goodwin – lighter than last year. Worked a treat.
Johnc ock – looked very strong but will have to improve greatly on his aerobic fitness to become a permanent mid-fielder.
McGregor – has grown his hair long into a curly mop – trained well.
Perrie – a credit to himself. Superb muscle definition and the track watchers are tipping a big season from him.
Reilly – has bulked up a bit – should be a permanent member this year. Runs like a gazelle.
Rutten – looks a little lighter than last year. Running looked improved, but really has to for him to make it.
Schuback – another who has bulked up a bit.
Shirley – same comments as for Perrie. Looks a million dollars and should take on Bickley’s role.
Stevens – of the Scott variety. Very strong lower torso, Looks a handy type.

Talking to the track watchers, they say that training has been very different in nature this year as compared to last. Each player has his own individual program which is why they aren’t always out on the track together. Whereas there was a lot of competitive work and scratch matches at this stage last year, they haven’t even commenced that this year. Could well be that the hierarchy think we peaked far too early last year.

You should have been at home repairing your poorly maintained back lawn.

Re: Re: Training Report 7-1-2004

Originally posted by tredders16
You should have been at home repairing your poorly maintained back lawn.

That's enough from you, young fella!! You've always envied it!! :p

You'd give your little wiener to have one like it. ;)

I know it is only early, but I have concerns for:
- Smart as an older guy carrying injuries;
- Clarke as he is usually a good trainer - is he fully motivated;
- M Stevens struggling to get back to full fitness; &
- Welsh in a similar boat to Stevens.

Assuming worse case scenario, reckon Smart can be covered by S Stevens. Clarke is a concern given no standout backup to Biglands (who looks like he is demanding the #1 ruck). Really need M Stevens &/or Welsh on the park if our forward line is to function effectively (probably our 2 most important forwards) - Perrie may be looking fighting fit & do an OK job, but he lacks the footy brain.

Not concered about Hart, as confident he can get his body right when we need him. If Burns doesn't get himself conditioned right, no major loss as it just hands the opportunity to the likes of Schuback.

As for the positives, I reckon Goody will be in for a great year as he wants to make up for a poor 2003. Good to hear that Shirls is also doing everything fitness-wise to take the next step. I heard that Bode was also performing well on the track - any comment Macca? Great to hear that Reilly & Schuback have bulked up. I can't see why our midfield shouldn't improve in 2004, given a decent run with injuries - ie. everyone but Roo should improve & Bicks can be replaced.

I have nothing constructive to add....just wanted to say thanks for the update.

You mentioned 'regular track watchers'. How far away are you from joining this illustrious (and obviously unemployed :D ) category? I love the Crows, but I dont think I could ever find it in myself to "just pop down to training and see how the lads are doing".

Originally posted by Still Crowing

You mentioned 'regular track watchers'. How far away are you from joining this illustrious (and obviously unemployed :D ) category? I love the Crows, but I dont think I could ever find it in myself to "just pop down to training and see how the lads are doing".
The ones that always were there during the season looked as though they were pensioners... so yeah.

I went every Wednesday cause I had a day off then, and it got very boring after a while, really the same thing every week.

Originally posted by Still Crowing

You mentioned 'regular track watchers'. How far away are you from joining this illustrious (and obviously unemployed :D ) category?

No mate, I'm far from unemployed thankfully. Just on holidays and enjoy watching a session or 3 of training. Unlike Lozstar I don't find it one bit boring. On the contrary, I like to see things first hand myself, because a) I enjoy it and b) seeing is believing.

Sadly it's back to work next week. :(

Re: Re: Training Report 7-1-2004

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

As for the positives, I reckon Goody will be in for a great year as he wants to make up for a poor 2003. Good to hear that Shirls is also doing everything fitness-wise to take the next step. I heard that Bode was also performing well on the track - any comment Macca? Great to hear that Reilly & Schuback have bulked up. I can't see why our midfield shouldn't improve in 2004, given a decent run with injuries - ie. everyone but Roo should improve & Bicks can be replaced.

I wouldn't worry too much about the injuries yet Kane. At this stage we have very few and there's plenty of time for them to come good. Stevens is my main concern, because Welsh has always been a poor track worker.

If anything major went wrong with Smart, I reckon Parker would get promoted. He looks good and has been training well.

IMO Goody will have a top year as you suggest. He looks the fittest I have ever seen him.

Bode has always been a good track worker, but Shirley was determined to beat him every time today and did. These two are up there with the Birdman as the most aerobically fit players at the club, and both would have their eye on Bickley's spot. In all probability they might end up sharing it.

Reilly and Schuback have obviously both done the right thing in the weights room during the last 3 to 4 months and have given themselves every chance to force their way into the team this year.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

I said it before and I will say it again. We still haven't addressed the issues regarding ruckman. We will have to trade for one or draft one at the end of this year.

Not concerned with Ronnie at all as I have always felt that Schuback will take his spot this year.

Stiffy's lack of fitness for a regular midfielder is a worry.:(

Don't write Hudson off just yet Stiffy. Although he's been struggling his arse off to keep up, he's been trying to do that coming from a very low base while his new teammates have been doing that in some cases for may many years. The track watchers reckon he is improving, although he's got a long way to go.

Ronnie appears to have backslid into his old ways over the break, and will certainly have to look over his shoulder for young Schuback!!

As for Stiffy, the gap between the fitness level of a flanker and an on-baller is huge. It will take him a season or two to fully get there.

Without wishing to build up hopes too high, they say that Carey has been outstanding so far and will be the biggest improver over last year.

Excellent report - thanks macca23.

I do share Kane's concerns about Smarty though. An achilles injury is not nice and at his age could be a huge limitation for this year.

I also agree with Stiffy about Matty Clarke. We have no depth in our rucks and if he is struggling at this stage it is not a good sign. The last thing we need is for him to be half fit then cop an injury to Biglands. That could spell disaster for us.

I can't wait to see Carey play again this year. His footy brain is incredible and if he can add a bit of agility to last years effort he will be very valuable.

Once again - great report.

Ben and Nigel were training outdoors for a little while on Tuesday, away from the main group, as were Welshy, Stevo, Lads, Watts and a few others, before they all went indoors.

Thanks macca23, great to hear such a comprehensive report in a virtually news free period!

Stiffy18, perhaps Stiffy's lack of aerobic ability explains why he went so low in the draft years ago. To be honest I'd be happy to have him kicking a lazy 3 or 4 for us every week in the forward line anyway. The way he was playing at the end of last season suggests this is possible if he can improve his consistency.

Whilst I understand the concern about our ruck situation, we have to wait and assess the newcomers a bit more. If we can get Hudson by the end of the season to the point where he shoulders 5 - 10 minutes a quarter, I think we would still be in a better position than a lot of other clubs. The fact of the matter is if we go after a good established ruckman in the 2004 trade period, we better be prepared to offer more than the fringe players we bandied around this year. Will we be prepared to do this? I would think not unless we believe we could have a genuine tilt at the 2005 flag.

I've said it before and I'll say it again. Schuback should get Ronnie's spot this year. Ronnie should not be played unless he displays exceptional SANFL form. If we look like having a real tilt at the flag, we may consider playing Ronnie later in the season because of the experience factor, but again this would depend on how Schuback has developed and what he contributes.

Great report, I am also concerned about Clarke, disapointing that he is struggling at the moment, hopefully he can pick up his fitness before the Wok Cup starts, Ronnie mmmmmmmmmmm I was hoping for BIG things from him last year but only showed a very small glipse of what he is a capable of, hope he burns off the xmas pud and gets some fitness soon, How has Mcleod been going?????? Good to hear Goody is going well and also Biglands, it's great to get reports like this every now and then as we hear nothing in Melbourne:rolleyes:

Originally posted by maccas_no1
How has Mcleod been going??????

He was having a session indoors yesterday, so I didn't get to see him.

But according to the track watchers he's been scorching the grass he's going that well. The word is that he's been told he'll be back in the mid-field this year and he's got his enthusiasm back to it's very best (along with a blonde streak in the front of his hair ;) )

Re: Re: Re: Training Report 7-1-2004

Originally posted by maccas_no1
I have been mowing your back lawn mate dont worry about that, she is looking a treat now ;) :D
You should have went inside to see my beautiful wife rather than plugging my back lawn. You sick man!!!

Any news on how Kris Massie has been doing? I remember last pre season he had chronic fatigue which stuffed his pre season up. I believe with a strong pre season this year he will be a huge improver and could really add to the midfield rotation.

Originally posted by Punchy Bassett
Any news on how Kris Massie has been doing? I remember last pre season he had chronic fatigue which stuffed his pre season up. I believe with a strong pre season this year he will be a huge improver and could really add to the midfield rotation.

Yeah, good news there. Massie's been one of the standouts so far in the pre-season, and one of those that they are tipping an even better year this season as a result.

He's also another who's grown a fair mop of curly hair. ;)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Training Report 7-1-2004

Originally posted by tredders16
You should have went inside to see my beautiful wife rather than plugging my back lawn. You sick man!!!

Thats what I was doing you dumb ****, cutting YOUR lunch:D :D

Remember I am the kind of guy your wife would like;) :D