Training Training Reports and Updates

• Thread starter Thread starter Jen2310

He has. Apparently requested it after Grundy left.

I thought it was to honour his grandfather who recently passed this year, but he wore #20 at fitzroy. Whatever reason, must be a good one

That’s a shame really. He’d made 37 his own…

I loved Shawy but i reckon blokes like him and even Greg Williams would get burnt badly by the freak athlete mids today on the rebound
I don't agree.
Neither were ever quick, were both slow in fact, nor could either kick for shit.
They did their jobs better than most though.
See ball, Get ball, give ball to team mate.
Anyone gets in your way steamroll them.

A smart coach would configure the game to advantage them.
Swan was like a tortoise at times.
The 2010/11 Pies were lightening quick on the rebound.

I have a tattoo on my private bit that says antidistablishmentarianism
I have loads of tattoos but you can hardly see them as they're all small.
Apart from the ones on my forehead, cheeks and neck. They're relatively large.

I stay away from the private bit although you have motivated me Manic.

I don't agree.
Neither were ever quick, were both slow in fact, nor could either kick for s**t.
They did their jobs better than most though.
See ball, Get ball, give ball to team mate.
Anyone gets in your way steamroll them.

A smart coach would configure the game to advantage them.
Swan was like a tortoise at times.
The 2010/11 Pies were lightening quick on the rebound.
With some players their speed in the footy brain far outweigh the foot speed of their 'athletic' opponents.

Pre-season; Week 1. Friday December 2nd, 2022.

Sunny morning.

Players in attendance;

• Lippa
  • Josh Daicos
  • Bianco
  • Noble
  • Pendles (wearing #23)
  • McStay
  • Wilson
  • Adams
  • Cameron
  • Macrae
  • Draper
  • Ruscoe
  • Sidebottom
  • Reef
  • Murley
  • McCreery
  • Ginnivan
  • Nick Daicos
  • Harrison
  • Maynard (Wearing #4)
  • Howe
  • Begg
  • Dean
  • Carmichael (Wearing #2)
  • Mitchell
  • Frampton

No Kreuger, Hill, Johnson. I assume it's because of that multicultural summit thing going on last couple days.

The rehabbers;
  • Lippa
  • McCreery
  • Maynard

Did running. Maynard and Lippa did some ball skills, non contract given their recoveries.

McCreery I heard had hip surgery in the off season, which is why his pre-season is starting a bit slower than usual. But it now running.

Today's session seemed to be skill based. recolved around hitting targets on the run. I remember this drill from last pre-season; a friend and I thought.. oh dear, their skills were shocking and that it would be a long year. But amazing how some good coaching helped this team improve through the year, so even if skills may seem a bit off right now, it's nothing to worry about.

They did a drill of where it was forward ball movement, through the middle and then toward the forward line.

There was lots of running, included the shuttle run in the middle of the ground. Everyone bar Nick participated. He hurt his leg half way through the session. He didn't get any treatment, but more of a rub on the ground. But he didn't do too much after that. Didn't appear anything too serious, but they probably didn't want to take any chances.

Today was the draftees first day.

Ben Reid turned up to watch Richards' first session at the club, and he clearly has keys to the city being a premiership player and went upstairs and watched training with Dekka.

The new kids looked good. Ryan looks almost physical enough to be ready, and between him and Richards would be one of the first two to play. Ed Allan looks a bit more development; as while he has broad shoulders he still a bit on the skinny side. But that's not unexpected.
They all participated in most of the session, except a bit toward the end. Ryan and Allan didn't do the last shuttle run, as it would take a lot out of them, but believe Richards did being the more mature player.

Until next week when the full squad is back!

With some players their speed in the footy brain far outweigh the foot speed of their 'athletic' opponents.
Ginni is a bit like that.
Example: his block on Saad that let Billy run onto the ball & kick the winning goal against the scum.

He has. Apparently requested it after Grundy left.

I thought it was to honour his grandfather who recently passed this year, but he wore #20 at fitzroy. Whatever reason, must be a good one

Perhaps he's channelling Alan Didak.

Whatever reason, must be a good one
He's trolling the Crows...

Had Peter Maynard played four more games for Glenelg, he would have reached 200 games. Had he not been dropped from the 1990 finals series, he would probably have played those four games, and Brayden would have been tied to Adelaide, and possibly become the club's first father-son draftee at the end of this season.

Source: The Age, June 3, 2014

Firstly the Blicavs comparisons are rubbish. He is the most unique player I’ve seen in my time watching the game. A 6’6 guy with the best endurance in the game from a non footy background is the most ridiculous comparison to make to any young player because we’ll probably never see it again.

Begg’s leap Elite? Not sure about that. What separates Begg is his ability to compete with that leap (it’s not at the level of Nic Nat to dominate) and get involved at ground level like Grundy once did.

People writing his obituary referencing his poor marking credentials need to hold the line because he’s no worse than Grundy in that space. His prospects will hinge on whether he can overcome the behemoth 205cm + ruckman once he’s filled out which we’re 2 to 3 years from figuring out.

Stynes was probably a more stunning tall endurance conversion than Blic?

Is Taylor Adams back in training i thought his injury would have still put him out.
cheers thanks for the updates.

He has been back since wed. More or less full training. So far so good. Just as long as he isn’t pushing himself too hard but has been training well.