Roast Umpiring: Corruption or Incompetence, or both

Are you sure? I can see nowhere that in says in the rule that an extra player from the team with the free or the mark may be in the protected area. If that is the rule it is not being policed as I saw a couple of occasions where Hawks players were standing next to players on the mark.

16.1.1 Standing The Mark
When a Player is awarded a Mark or Free Kick or is Kicking into play after a Behind has been scored, one Player from the opposing Team may stand at the position on the Playing Surface where the Mark or Free Kick was awarded or where the field Umpire otherwise directs the Player to stand. The position on the Playing Surface where the opposing Player stands is known as “The Mark”.
16.1.2 Protected Area
The Protected Area is a corridor which extends from 10 metres either side of The Mark to 10 metres either side of, and 5-metre arc behind, the Player with the football, as illustrated in Diagram 2. No Player shall enter and remain in the Protected Area unless the field Umpire calls “Play On” or the Player from the opposing Team is accompanying or following within 2 metres of their opponent. Any Player caught in the Protected Area must make every endeavour to clear the Protected Area immediately.
The player for the team with the kick can stand one step back and a few metres to the side of the man on the mark. Nothing in what you quoted says that's not allowed.

The Hawthorn bullshit of stopping the man on the mark from being able to tackle a Hawks player when they run around because another Hawks player stands next to the man on the mark. So to stop that rather than a 10m zone for the man on the mark a 10m zone all around the kicker is introduced.
There is a rule already in place that we just need to get clarification on how the umpires would screw it up.

You ARE allowed to be within 2 metres following any opposition player on the field. Even near or inside the "protected" zone.

So when an second opposition player comes up near "the mark", the player on the mark now is within the rules to move over the mark because they are following the second opposition player as long as they remain within a 2 mtr proximity. (16.1.2 No Player shall enter and remain in the Protected Area unless the field Umpire calls “Play On” or the Player from the opposing Team is accompanying or following within 2 metres of their opponent). Only when the second opposition player backs off are you required to move back.

Simples really.
(Isn't this what we pay all those coaches to work out?)

The umpiring was so obviously corrupt yesterday that i did something that i have never ever done in my 35 years of watching football...
i turned the game off half way through the last quarter when we were just 8 points down.

I just couldnt hack it anymore. It was there for all to see. There was no way in hell that Port were ever going to win that game. The umpires wouldnt have allowed it.

It was the most blatant display of cheating i can remember. The umps were giving them goals. Every time the whistle blew you just knew #freekickhawthorn was happening. Every time they marked or got a free i was dreading another 50

**** it im cooked

If no player shall enter the forbidden zone, how is the team with the ball supposed to give off a handball to a player running past?

Surely there are dedicated ball receivers who can put in a sprint and put a couple of metres on their opponents?

Rule is mental. Clarkson should not be given information from the gormless boys club to form gamely plans to exploit the stupid rules.

We were told to play on so quickly there was no time for an exclusion zone.

Hawthorn though , crickets for 15 seconds, move it along, crickets, oh alright play on. Or more likely, 50 metres.

We were told to play on so quickly there was no time for an exclusion zone.

Hawthorn though , crickets for 15 seconds, move it along, crickets, oh alright play on. Or more likely, 50 metres.

Who got their legs take out? Jonas? My god you could see that from Mars, and the ball getting slapped out of Wingards hand was the most obvious 50m penalty all day.

AFL rules are adjudicated fluidly. If you paid every infringement that was there in today's football you would pay 3000 free kicks per game.

So what you get is selective adjudication according to spirit and momentum. 'It's the vibe' sort of stuff. This invariably favours home teams, superstar players and clubs whose players/coaches/supporters whinge a lot to the umpires on gameday and in the media and even at coffee shops.

The ultimate selective adjudication is the protected area. You could pay one of them nearly every time a mark is taken if you really wanted to. So it just comes down to whether the umpires want to favour a particular player or team in that particular moment. No surprises there was a new world record set yesterday given the clear agenda in that game.

Voss pretty accepting of the umpiring decisions. We are farked.

Who got their legs take out? Jonas? My god you could see that from Mars, and the ball getting slapped out of Wingards hand was the most obvious 50m penalty all day.

Howard I think. Even the pro Hawks commentary team called that one out. Could easily have broken a leg or done a knee.

In the car about 10 minutes ago I was listening to Cromedia's AFL Nation pregame talk and they got onto their Out On the Full segment. Whateley brought up JR Smith's stuff up in the NBA, couple of others raised some footy issues, Spud Fawley mentioned the 50 plus frees in Tassie and said that is too much for a contested game of footy.

Peter Donegan had the final say and he said his was the 11 x 50m penalties in Tassie. He said at one point in the call he mentioned that Matthew Nicholls had more metres gained than 17 of the Port players. That is an indictment on both Nicholls and some of our players.

As much as the umpiring sux, if we were a serious contender we would win that yesterday anyway.

I think the AFL needs to sort the umpiring out as it's over-governing the game across the board. Change the 50m to a 25m free, then it's an advantage but not a massive one that constantly costs goals for minor crap that is just pointless.

It was Houston.

Obvious free kick not paid, Wingard ball knocked out in the last was a disgrace too. The umpires definitely choose when they feel like paying free kicks, there is no other way you can judge the non-calls other than cheating.

What if Houston had broken a leg? yet not even a free, yet Dixon who is already running in a space has a mark taken in front/side of him and keeps on his trajectory moving away from the player who just marked it yet deemed to be in the exclusion zone and cops a 50m penalty which resulted in a goal, please the game is corrupt and over-officiated.

The fifty paid to Clurey was another blot on umpires. Although this is something that just shows stupidity, not corruption.
The dimensions of UTAS stadium are 175 x 145. Clurey was paid a fifty when he was at least 20 metres outside the 50, my schoolboy maths says that should have taken him to at least 120m from our goal (for the umpires that is 50+20+50) and he should have been having a kick from 55m. Instead he kicked from 70. This may not have affected anything, in both cases it would have been a kick into the fifty and not a shot at goal but getting the ball to land close to goal can cause a bit more chaos in the backlines than a kick to 20-30 out.
But like I said this is more about stupidity than anything else. Hawthorn got a short fifty as well and there is that famous example of Shannon Grant marking inside the fifty and getting taken to the top of the goalsquare.

As well as the Clurey short fifty, there was one where a Hawks free was overturned, they were aware of it and kicked the ball away. No fifty was awarded and Ryder would have been 35 out.

The fifty paid to Clurey was another blot on umpires. Although this is something that just shows stupidity, not corruption.
The dimensions of UTAS stadium are 175 x 145. Clurey was paid a fifty when he was at least 20 metres outside the 50, my schoolboy maths says that should have taken him to at least 120m from our goal (for the umpires that is 50+20+50) and he should have been having a kick from 55m. Instead he kicked from 70. This may not have affected anything, in both cases it would have been a kick into the fifty and not a shot at goal but getting the ball to land close to goal can cause a bit more chaos in the backlines than a kick to 20-30 out.
But like I said this is more about stupidity than anything else. Hawthorn got a short fifty as well and there is that famous example of Shannon Grant marking inside the fifty and getting taken to the top of the goalsquare.

As well as the Clurey short fifty, there was one where a Hawks free was overturned, they were aware of it and kicked the ball away. No fifty was awarded and Ryder would have been 35 out.
Cunning team lead by a cunning coach

Those dimensions you quoted are fence to fence. Boundary to boundary is 163m x 134m but yes that 50 was bloody short. You can tell there isn't 12m between the centre square and the 50m arc in the middle of the ground at both ends. That length is less than the goal square, which is 9m long.

The umpires should be forced to stop and think before they map out a 50m penalty. They have to say to the bloke up in the stand listening in, something like, I'm 12m from the centre half back line of the square so to the end of the sqaure at CHF is 38m, I know this ground is 160m long so that is 5m to the arc middle of the ground, so I have to go 7m past the arc to make the mark.

The part bludgers dont do enough practice to even practice basic maths and understand the dimensions around the ground.

There is a rule already in place that we just need to get clarification on how the umpires would screw it up.

You ARE allowed to be within 2 metres following any opposition player on the field. Even near or inside the "protected" zone.

So when an second opposition player comes up near "the mark", the player on the mark now is within the rules to move over the mark because they are following the second opposition player as long as they remain within a 2 mtr proximity. (16.1.2 No Player shall enter and remain in the Protected Area unless the field Umpire calls “Play On” or the Player from the opposing Team is accompanying or following within 2 metres of their opponent). Only when the second opposition player backs off are you required to move back.

Simples really.
(Isn't this what we pay all those coaches to work out?)
Would like to see that screenshot of Dixon lining up for the 30 second goal against Geelong. There was a player right behind him and way further than 2m from any opponent.

The umpiring was so obviously corrupt yesterday that i did something that i have never ever done in my 35 years of watching football...
i turned the game off half way through the last quarter when we were just 8 points down.

I just couldnt hack it anymore. It was there for all to see. There was no way in hell that Port were ever going to win that game. The umpires wouldnt have allowed it.

It was the most blatant display of cheating i can remember. The umps were giving them goals. Every time the whistle blew you just knew #freekickhawthorn was happening. Every time they marked or got a free i was dreading another 50

**** it im cooked
I did the same too and turned off a game for the first time ever, except it was against WCE a few weeks ago. Yesterday I didn't even get angry or upset but just sat in silent resignation. Imagine having a pro-sports league where the umpires aren't fulltime employees. It's literally amateur hour out there and its ruining the game. We didn't lose per se because of those campaigners yesterday but they certainly didn't help matters either.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Frampton was given a 7m penalty today against South.
I swear I saw Hawthorn get a 70m penalty yesterday. From half back all the way until 30m out from goal.

Roast Umpiring: Corruption or Incompetence, or both