Umpiring

• Thread starter Thread starter frantelle

We all apreciate that we played badly Fu. But we also appreciate that we had done enough to possibly win it especially in the third where we were pumping them and some terrible decisions set the crows back on their way. How you can ignore that is bewildering. As I said, we all know we played badly, but that alone wasn't why we lost. The umpiring was hideous and should be adressed and the fans, and non pies fans, seem to agree.

As do the club and players! Surely they know a thing or 2 about football!
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,25257274-19742,00.html

We all apreciate that we played badly Fu. But we also appreciate that we had done enough to possibly win it especially in the third where we were pumping them and some terrible decisions set the crows back on their way. How you can ignore that is bewildering. As I said, we all know we played badly, but that alone wasn't why we lost. The umpiring was hideous and should be adressed and the fans, and non pies fans, seem to agree.

As do the club and players! Surely they know a thing or 2 about football!
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,25257274-19742,00.html
I've seen 40 years of hideous umpiring. Its never going to change. I am sure Adelaide could probably go and find as many decisions they werent happy about, maybe not as blatant, but it doesnt matter, the game is open to interpretation and it doesnt matter if the transgression is slight or major, if the umps miss it, they miss it.

Its what the team does to make sure poor umpiring doesnt effect the result that counts.

Yesterday, they did very little to negate that effect. Just watching some snippets then on TV, the amount of fumbling was ridiculous, dropped marks. They are things we can control and can lessen the effects. Win and then whinge, lose and whinge and you look like a sook

We lost that game, the umps didnt lose that game for us.

If every close game we we lose, we immediately look to the umps as the factor that cost us, then what compulsion is there to improve? We might as well just default to the umps and be content to be poor. We didnt control our own destiny, we allowed another factor to control it. Thats not how you advance.

Its a cop out!

I think it shows a real lack of class to whinge about the umpiring after a loss even when some of the decisions where pretty poor.

The fact is if we played better the umpiring wouldn't have mattered. The umpires didn't lose the game for us, we did just about everything we could to lose it ourselves.

This victim mentality is never going to get the club anywhere.

I think it shows a real lack of class to whinge about the umpiring after a loss even when some of the decisions where pretty poor.

The fact is if we played better the umpiring wouldn't have mattered. The umpires didn't lose the game for us, we did just about everything we could to lose it ourselves.

This victim mentality is never going to get the club anywhere.

I agree with you. We need to win games of our own boot.
But when you try to do that and the umpires keep giving free goals to the oposition well you can not help but feel like "the wind has been taken out of your sails". You work hard for a goal and the umps gift the opposition a free one. You would have to be superhuman not to be affected by it. What makes it worse is that it happens week in week out. There comes a point where you just have to call a spade a spade.

So if you take out the fact that we played poorly in patches, then consider a case where we play our best, as does Adelaide, yet we lose by 4 points to terrible umpiring. I too have seen 38 years of VFL/AFL and I could count on one hand the amount of times I have blamed umpires for costing us matches. This was clearly one of them. Teams will never be at their best always. It's a variable that is inevitable. But umpiring costing us a match is far more devastating then losing one off your own boot.

They weren't great. They were certainly beter than Richmond though.

The teams in the local country league are better than Richmond.

Talk about ya sore losers... People with a non-biased point of view come in and say crows deserved the win, they were better on the day, and "Umpiring lol, nice excuses anything else?" and you turn it into an attack on how their team played on the weekend... Big man lol.

Everyone wants to blame the umpires... Bottom line is they are only human and although at times everyone wants to beat them half to death, they do the best they can and decisions go both ways. Unless you want to slow the game down to add video reviews of free kicks in, time to cop it on the chin. You cry this cost a goal, that cost a goal, everyone can look and see their team is harshly done by.

Maybe we could pick on something else? Like how your Eddiewood Maguirepies seem to play all but 3 or 4 games a year out of melbourne?

Maybe your team just played badly? Collingwood are a top 4 favourite, Adelaide tipped to be bottom 10 this year.

So if you take out the fact that we played poorly in patches, then consider a case where we play our best, as does Adelaide, yet we lose by 4 points to terrible umpiring. I too have seen 38 years of VFL/AFL and I could count on one hand the amount of times I have blamed umpires for costing us matches. This was clearly one of them. Teams will never be at their best always. It's a variable that is inevitable. But umpiring costing us a match is far more devastating then losing one off your own boot.
But that wasnt the case yesterday. We stuffed up that game with poor skills and a game plan that allowed the crows to get a big break right at the start. And then the incapacity to regain momentum when we had the game by the scruff of the neck 10 mins into the 3rd.

We lost that game and could have put paid to any umpiring crap by imposing ourselves more on the game.

If you agree that we could have played better yesterday then blaming the umps is just trying to divert the real blame.

Better is debatable. Better on the day, I'll concede but as i say and as you, and it seems most, acknowledge the umpiring definitely helped your cause. That 50m penalty could have been paid but it was still in the back 50 so nothing lost. We got some stinkers that re****ed in a pass - goal. They are the ones that really hurt.

How can a 50m penalty not given in defense be "nothing lost"?? Its 50m... Clearance from the pies forward line, chance to attack on an unprepared pies defense. Must be nothing.

Can we make sure that the board is only for collingwood supporters and ban everyone else. There are general footy forums for everyone to add their 5 cents worth so why we get all these w@nkers on here is beyond me. I have never contributed to another teams thread. These people must really have nothing else better to do in their life.
How are the taxpayers funded apartments coming along losers?

Im posting because this thread is so laughable. I played the blame game WHEN I WAS 7 YRS OLD... Grow up. If you guys could take the so called bad umpiring decisions out of every game, Collingwood would have won 100 flags by now.

This was unique in that when we were gaining ascendency it was taken from us by incorrect decisions. Even the Kangaroos bounce game I can understand, that game we had our chances to win it, they got gifted the winning goal and the umpiring was piss poor all night but we had our chances. Here we had our chances seemingly taken away from us. I mean sure we could have done more, but I felt we done just enough. I'm sick of being diplomatic. WE WAS ROBBEDSDDED!!!1111

Hmm, Pies are following up on it. Mixed feelings on this one. Part of me just wants it to go away because I know this is going to have a backlash for Collingwood, with opposing supporters calling us poor losers etc... but on the other hand being that I was at the game and subject to watching that terrible, terrible umpiring, I can't blame them for feeling the need to follow it up and make it known that we're not impressed.

Listen I don't think our football department are sore losers. They have looked at the stats, and want to determine why there is such a discrepancy.

If for example they look at the stats and see we are being heavily out tackled they will find a reason as to why and how they can improve by going through tapes and making sure players get the message. The same goes for free kicks, however they need consultation with the umpiring department to really determine whether it is just bad luck, poor umpiring, or a way we're going about it on the field.

Well, there's one in 1979 that would have guaranteed us a flag :mad:
No, because who knows what may have happened at a throw in?

You cant just discount the goal and then assume we would have won from the out of bounds. The game would have been played out in a different set of circumstances from that point on, they may have kicked a few in a row for all we know.

Like every close game, we had our chances to win in spite of any umpiring issues.

With an even run from the umpires we would have won by about 4-5 goals ....... the better side on the day lost. Them's the facts.

Embarrassing mate.

You're a good side and I think you'll contest for top 4 but those couple of comments there are terribly ungracious.

^ That's why we have a Pies board, and I'm posting on it.

When I want to be gracious I go to your board and tell you the better team won. As that didn't happen on this occasion, I didn't post on your board this week.

Im posting because this thread is so laughable. I played the blame game WHEN I WAS 7 YRS OLD... Grow up. If you guys could take the so called bad umpiring decisions out of every game, Collingwood would have won 100 flags by now.

As Eddie Murphy once said, "This is my house, and if you don't like it you can get the f@#k out".

No, because who knows what may have happened at a throw in?

You cant just discount the goal and then assume we would have won from the out of bounds. The game would have been played out in a different set of circumstances from that point on, they may have kicked a few in a row for all we know.

Like every close game, we had our chances to win in spite of any umpiring issues.

Are you Carlscum, Are you Carlscum, Are you Carlscum in disguise?

^ That's why we have a Pies board, and I'm posting on it.

When I want to be gracious I go to your board and tell you the better team won. As that didn't happen on this occasion, I didn't post on your board this week.

What makes you think you were better than the Crows yesterday?

You are a better side than you were yesterday and as I said, you will contest for top 4 but surely you can give credit where it's due. I'd like to hear why you think Collingwood were better (except on the scoreboard of course) Take into account that umpiring is a weak excuse as bad decisions went both ways. Let's also not forget that the Crows were missing their best midfielder, their best forward and one of their most reliable defenders.

What makes you think you were better than the Crows yesterday?

You are a better side than you were yesterday and as I said, you will contest for top 4 but surely you can give credit where it's due. I'd like to hear why you think Collingwood were better (except on the scoreboard of course) Take into account that umpiring is a weak excuse as bad decisions went both ways. Let's also not forget that the Crows were missing their best midfielder, their best forward and one of their most reliable defenders.

Yeah but we had Toovey .

Listen I don't think our football department are sore losers. They have looked at the stats, and want to determine why there is such a discrepancy.

If for example they look at the stats and see we are being heavily out tackled they will find a reason as to why and how they can improve by going through tapes and making sure players get the message. The same goes for free kicks, however they need consultation with the umpiring department to really determine whether it is just bad luck, poor umpiring, or a way we're going about it on the field.
This is why Collingwood are really going to seek clarification. Yes there were poor decisions both ways, but all the poor decisions against us DIRECTLY resulted in goals or shots on goal (ala Brisbane last year rd 2), seeing the difference in scores, even 1 shocking 'goal decision' goes the correct way and we win. Let alone when there is about half a dozen. Not once have I said I blame the umpiring, we should've put the game out of reach in the 3rd and we didn't. I'm saying there were 6 or so very very questionable decisions that either gifted a goal to Adelaide or took a goal from us, when there were probably 0 decisions like this that went the other way. So many trolls on here and good to see the mods taking some action

Are you Carlscum, Are you Carlscum, Are you Carlscum in disguise?
I understand logic might not be one of your strongest suits, so I am typing this slowly so you can understand a little better.

Once you change a circumstance in a game, what follows changes also. If what was a goal becomes a throw in, then everything after that throw in changes and you cant make assumptions based on what happened after the goal.

I typed that as slow as I could just for you.

There were 2 occasions where it should've been holding ball, Adelaide got a perplexin free kick and scored a goal. Then it also should've been a 50m penalty to Neon late in the 4th. Thats 3 goals difference, the umpires were as predictable as roulette

Lockyer deliberately handballs one OOB when tackled by Reilly -missed
Lair Thomas was paid a mark when it clearly wasnt -gimme
Vince tackled high, Collingwood handballs away ( in 2nd qtr ) -shouldve been 50

...and I havent even watched the first half yet:rolleyes:

Dont give Adelaide any credit will ya.

Lockyer deliberately handballs one OOB when tackled by Reilly -missed
Lair Thomas was paid a mark when it clearly wasnt -gimme
Vince tackled high, Collingwood handballs away ( in 2nd qtr ) -shouldve been 50

...and I havent even watched the first half yet:rolleyes:

Dont give Adelaide any credit will ya.
Keep watching, it gets better. :rolleyes: