Up the Arse! Goons Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter AG

normally wenger comes out and categorically denies a player will leave (ie, cesc and nasri last summer, RvP this summer). so for him to even somewhat acknowledge/hint that song could leave, then yep to me that says song is a goner.

if his attitude has become as sh*t as has been previously said, then see ya later. cash in and nail m'vila and sahin

plus with RvP gone, song's brilliant over the top through balls will be useless without van persie to volley them home.

normally wenger comes out and categorically denies a player will leave (ie, cesc and nasri last summer, RvP this summer). so for him to even somewhat acknowledge/hint that song could leave, then yep to me that says song is a goner.

if his attitude has become as sh*t as has been previously said, then see ya later. cash in and nail m'vila and sahin

plus with RvP gone, song's brilliant over the top through balls will be useless without van persie to volley them home.
Hey man, are you as excited about the new Arsenal as I am?

i actually am mate.

i said it a few pages back, regardless of what happened with RvP, this is still one of the most productive summers in recent arsenal history. normally we've gone out and bought 16/17 year olds, but this time we've actually bought 'men', genuine footballers who are ready to rock.

cazorla is the jewell in the crown in my book, the pick of the bunch. this bloke is pure class, best spanish footballer outside of the el classico teams. unluckily for him, he's played in an era of the likes of alonso, iniesta, xavi etc....otherwise he'd have over 100 spanish caps to his name already

and i still believe there is more to come. m'villa and sahin rumours persist, and i believe we'll also sign another defender/full back as cover. wilshere back in october (hopefully), and the squad is looking very strong. yes you cant replace RvP's 30 goals last season, but with an attacking combination of cazorla/podolski on the flanks, giroud up front, the likes of theo/the ox pinch hitting for support, rosicky/arteta providing creativity from midfield, we can compensate this loss and not be so one-dimensional

couple more signings over the next fortnight and we are good to go :thumbsu:

**** transfers, what will be the team tomorrow?

Looks like Koscielny and Chamberlain are both out. Walcott is doubtful. Song has a 'knock' but we all know he's gone now.
Szczesny​
Jenkinson - Mertesacker - Vermaelen - Gibbs​
Arteta - Coquelin​
Cazorla​
Gervinho - Giroud - Podolski​
Subs: Fabianski, Santos, Djourou, Diaby, Yennaris, Walcott, Chamakh​
Sidelined: Koscielny, Sagna, Wilshere, Frimpong, Rosicky, Chamberlain, Ramsey?​
Out of favour: Song, Squillaci, Park, Bendtner, Arshavin?​
Squad still looks a bit thin.​

shame that the ox is injured, he would've been a walk up start tomorrow. wenger now refers to him as a central midfielder, he likely would've started alongside arteta

hopefully no more injuries at the back, next cab off the rank is djourou :eek:

shame that the ox is injured, he would've been a walk up start tomorrow. wenger now refers to him as a central midfielder, he likely would've started alongside arteta

hopefully no more injuries at the back, next cab off the rank is djourou :eek:

Took notice of this too. Personally still think he will spend more time on the wing this season. He play midfield at South hampton.

i actually am mate.

i said it a few pages back, regardless of what happened with RvP, this is still one of the most productive summers in recent arsenal history. normally we've gone out and bought 16/17 year olds, but this time we've actually bought 'men', genuine footballers who are ready to rock.

cazorla is the jewell in the crown in my book, the pick of the bunch. this bloke is pure class, best spanish footballer outside of the el classico teams. unluckily for him, he's played in an era of the likes of alonso, iniesta, xavi etc....otherwise he'd have over 100 spanish caps to his name already

and i still believe there is more to come. m'villa and sahin rumours persist, and i believe we'll also sign another defender/full back as cover. wilshere back in october (hopefully), and the squad is looking very strong. yes you cant replace RvP's 30 goals last season, but with an attacking combination of cazorla/podolski on the flanks, giroud up front, the likes of theo/the ox pinch hitting for support, rosicky/arteta providing creativity from midfield, we can compensate this loss and not be so one-dimensional

couple more signings over the next fortnight and we are good to go :thumbsu:
Yep, dead right. We've signed mature/maturing players not kiddies.

I was watching a fascinating little documentary series not so long ago on great football managers and I think it was Sacchi talking about Van Basten when he said Van Basten wasn't the most indispensable player in his AC Milan side, he was just "the icing on the cake".

Gullit was the indispensable player and even though players that stick the ball in the net are worth their weight in gold, blokes like your Gullits' and Rijskaards' are the gold.

I am going to sound like a real drongo here but I always thought that Van Persie, whilst he's a good player, the losses of Fabregas and Nasri were far more significant.

It's really heartening for me to see the fellows that have been brought in are world class and that there has been a clearing out of blokes that don't want to be at The Arsenal. Song has always struck me as being a bit "each-way", that is, either real good or a liability and not much in between: not even serviceable when not real good. That's why I've joked around with the Rastafarian jibes but in fairness to Rastafarians, Song was an angry, spiteful shit (unlike Rastafarians) when things weren't going his way on the pitch and he let the team down.

Clearing him out would be good. We don't need cynics nor inflated egos.

Between you and me, I'd love to see Michel Vorm this season but he'll be with us next year after Swansea go down and if our bloke continues to do his Nigella Lawson impersonations ie. continuing to pout whilst making a dog's breakfast out of the simplest of things.

Took notice of this too. Personally still think he will spend more time on the wing this season. He play midfield at South hampton.

yes interesting points made by wenger recently, sounds like he has grander plans for the ox. rosicky out injured/ramsey struggling could open the door for more time in the middle for the ox. with gervinho/cazorla/podolski/theo etc, there are plenty of options for the flanks

Yennaris will start at right back. Has been much better over preseason than the Corporal.

the coq can also play at RB. pretty versatile footballer

Between you and me, I'd love to see Michel Vorm this season but he'll be with us next year after Swansea go down and if our bloke continues to do his Nigella Lawson impersonations ie. continuing to pout whilst making a dog's breakfast out of the simplest of things.

would be great if we had another keeper that could at least give the shezz an honest challenge/competition for the number 1 keeper spot. the hugo lloris rumors really have disappeared, it appeared to be us and spurs in a race to sign him around the time of the euros, but that seems to be off the cards now.

ahh ok i thought there was some substance to the lloris reports. oh well. still would be nice if we had a back up of better standard than fabianksi. nothing wrong with a bit of healthy competition for spots.

I have seen it on twitter from ITK. Garde has been rumoured to be be Wengers replacement as well.

It makes sense Wenger will never spend big on a keeper.
I was only asking 'cause I hadn't read it or been told about it but it does sort of make sense if Garde wants to sell him.

I'm not into twitter so I don't get any info from that side of things.

As for Wenger's replacement, I just have a hunch that when the time comes, it'll be Mourinho.

Mourinho will not go to club with limited spending power.
You are probably right there but by the time Wenger says "bye" (a couple of years I reckon) The Arsenal will be, apart from the German clubs, completely debt free and way, way into the black and Mourinho is a smart cookie and I think he may well relish being at a club where he has to operate sustainably.

I can never pin down the exact meaning of this "fair play" shit when it comes to transfers/wages but if there is any club that will be least affected, you'd think it'd be us.

"It's such an honour for me,” he told Arsenal.com. “Getting the No 10 shirt again at the Club means so much to me as I wore it all through the youth teams at Arsenal.

“It has a special place for all attacking or creative players. I feel proud to wear it now after some real Club legends have worn it, such as Dennis Bergkamp.

“Now I am even more excited about returning to action and honouring the shirt.”

Jack:hearts:

Looks very happy with his new surroundings and smiles at his first training session. I wish him well.

AFCADMEN is reporting that RVP and Ramsey did not get along. With RVP giving him a hard time when ever he misplaced an easy pass or ramsey shot instead of passing to RVP.

Wellington is off to Ponferradina in the spanish second division. Hopefully he does well.