Valentino Dmitri

Rokeby GP Dancesquad
Hey

I am pretty introverted and as such have a few social issues. This isn't usually much of a problem since I am alright around the people I know, and don't really like all that many people anyway.

In fact sometimes it is quite good since people don't expect me to make small talk and all of that bullshit can be avoided, and I am generally not asked to make speeches or talk in front of people (unless someone hates me and wants a cheap laugh :(). I blend in to the background and people assume I am a 'quiet achiever'. Bullshit! I bludge just as hard, if not harder, than the next person. Of course there are one or two minor drawbacks to being introverted; I sleep alone every night, don't have sex and the people I care about are oblivious to me. But hey, why did God give us tears if he didn't want us to cry them?

This is all well and good, but sometimes a situation pops up where being intraverted is no good. For instance, later in the week I have a job interview. For 20 minutes :( I can't talk shit with a stranger for that long! After like 2 minutes I will run out of good things to say about myself (er... I am punctual... and good at Microsoft Word. I did a mail merge once). Don't know what I'm gonna do in the other 18 minutes. Blush, mumble, play with my ears and nose, nod in agreement? **** that

It used to be not so bad when I was in my teens, I used to be able to pull of the whole cute nervousness thing. Hell, the older women at my old work used to call me 'little Valentino' even though I was like a foot taller than them and had a fat guts. One time I sneezed and one of the lady's came over and asked if I was feeling okay, making sure I was alright, the other men at the office nearly bashed me for that. Now, though, I am in my mid twentys, bald and ruggedly good looking (okay... I am still ugly as **** and rougher around the edges than I used to be) and I really can't get away with that bullshit with strangers anymore. It will just disturb people. Think I might have to get pissed on gin before the interview... unless you can help me out with some handy intra tips!

Do you have any good ways of using intravertedness to your advantage? I understand that a cool forum like this wouldn't have all that many geeky loners like me on it, but there's bound to be one or two. Don't be shy...

Please share your tips with the rest of us. If we pool all of our collected strategy we might make things a little easier for ourselves. Who knows, with a bit of luck one of us might pull a chick who is not fat with small ****.

Go out the night before. Take 3 ecstacy pills, drink heaps of alcohol, talk to 40 girls. Make it a challenge, like that World of Warcaft you geeks play. When you get home, have a shower, drink 3 glasses of water, go to interview.

The pills in your body still give you a funny feeling, and you talk smooth as.

Or just take a pill before the interview.

Good luck.

With the job interview, just act as if you've got other jobs on offer but thought this one looked rather appealing. Look at the person in the eyes, when you look away keep reminding yourself to keep eye contact. The more confident you are, the more confidence they will have in you. If you act as if you're 'okay' in something, but know you're very good at it, they'll think you're just okay. If you have confidence in some things that are essential for the job, don't be afraid to tell them. Say it with confidence. Fake it 'till you make it.

NOTE: I haven't had much experience myself with job interviews as yet as I'm a fair bit younger than yourself, but I used to have some confidence issues.

Love it, if only because I USED to be a geeky loner and am starting to get my life back so I really appreciate the satire, I especially liked the last two paragraphs...

Yeah, I used to feel like you as well..

I blitzed that shit about 6 or 7 years ago and have been complimented on my *social skills* numerous times since... (which seemed like a pretty strange thing to be complimented on)

So OP, don't write yourself off.. You can fix it.. But it takes hard work..

There are always some stock standard questions that are asked in an interview:

(1) Why do you think we should hire you?

(2) Where do you see yourself in 2,5 or 10 years? (have answers ready for all 3)

(3) What is your biggest asset and your worst fault? Don't say my worst fault is that I work to hard or you deserve a punch in the head. Say something honest like "I get frustrated when I don't understand things first time around"

There are a few more depending on what type of position you are after.

Have a question for the interviewer. Something about their business or the position you are applying for. Asking about their study leave provisions because you would like to continue developing your skills/knowledge. Use the net and do a search about their business. Say something like, "I noticed on the internet that you recently got the contract for ..."

As an employer, biggest fault people present with at an interview is not listening to the interviewer and not listening to the questions being asked. Interviewers will often throw something random in to see if you are paying attention. Repeat the question back to them and clarify if you are unsure of what you are being asked.

Good luck!

Hi Valentino. I am astounded by that fact that you would apply for a job interview? The very thought of somebody critiquing me and asking me probing questions sends shivers down my spine. Here is my story.

After high school (excellent student, plenty of friends), I went to UNI so I didn’t have to work. It took me 5 years to complete a Bachelor of Business (3 year course) including 1 year where I failed every single subject simply because I never attended any classes. During this period I also went completely bald and started smoking dope, which does not help things when you’re naturally introverted. Anyway, after UNI I bludged for a few years and decided it was time to do something with my life. So I started selling bootleg DVDs on eBay from my bedroom in my parents’ house. I did this up until 2007 where I had saved enough to purchase a beach house on the Bellarine peninsula, which was far enough from the western suburbs that no one would want to visit me.

At this point eBay began cracking down on bootleg items, so I needed a new form of income that required little to no responsibility and minimal contact with people. Using the philosophy, ‘do something you enjoy’ after some extensive research I began cultivating cannabis in a hidden room I built in my garage.

Now my days consist of waking up no earlier than 11:00am, smoking a joint the size of a cricket bat, go for swim in the bay (sometimes naked), water the plants, lurk internet (always naked), sports/betting, video games and I also read quite a bit.

I have trouble committing to a relationship with girls (who usually have their own personality disorders) because after I eventually sleep with them, they are of no interest to me. I have a handful of friends that I see that I’ve known since high school and have no intention of making any more. I sometimes feel they resent me because I am completely content with being a stain on society, but I honestly don’t give a shit about what they think.

Mate we all feel that way, even the arrogant extroverted ones like me.

Everyone is self conscious, you'll do fine mate just answer the question with what you reckon is the right answer

Jake, this is wasted here brother. Come back to where you belong. These nuffies don't appreciate you! We have cosplay and Marieke and goon and fanta and SFII and Eco just joined up and good music and girls that work at EB and lots of stuff.

At the job interview, merely say exactly what's contained in the OP. If they dont like what you say, you won't want to work there/ they won't want you.

Cuts out all the bullshit.

Note: The 'others' are grossly overrated.

P.S. Don't ever apply for a sales job.