VAFA D1 new thread for 2007

I reckon BT did throw some $$ around in A grade in 1985 - you may be spot on. Your club (and I know who you are) have a done worse things in more recent times. I believe it cost BT about 20 years of development because it sent a generation of player to clubs like Templestowe and East Ringwood because they missed out on game when the $$men come in for a season or 2.
Stella's permit has been knocked back by us for a number of reason and I agree with the club for standing firm on this. Local paying clubs need to learn that you can't walk in and promise young guys a bit of coin and expect them yto coming running like little puppy dogs.

Wise will hopefully be staying - and wont be getting any coin BECAUSE we aint got any......

I reckon BT did throw some $$ around in A grade in 1985 - you may be spot on. Your club (and I know who you are) have a done worse things in more recent times. I believe it cost BT about 20 years of development because it sent a generation of player to clubs like Templestowe and East Ringwood because they missed out on game when the $$men come in for a season or 2.
Stella's permit has been knocked back by us for a number of reason and I agree with the club for standing firm on this. Local paying clubs need to learn that you can't walk in and promise young guys a bit of coin and expect them yto coming running like little puppy dogs.

Wise will hopefully be staying - and wont be getting any coin BECAUSE we aint got any......

Ugly, clearances are automatic between different leagues. You can only not a clearance back if:

1) They owe the club money

or

2) They have got equipment that needs to be returned (eg - jumpers)

You can't knock someone back just because they want to leave.

I am new to big footy but have an interest in D1 this season and it seems a few teams have been glossed over in all the bs about BT's under the table payments and the size of glen porteous' ass.

For example, not much has been said as far as I can see about hampton's new coach ken 'the rat' sheldon, a man notorious for polarizing his players - they either love him or hate him. How did he end up at Hampton?
Are they a chance to do something this year?

What about therry? Always good to step out on the dirt patch they call a ground and lock horns but know nothing of their build up this year. Will they drop?

Anyway for what it is worth I think OG and OP will be strong this year... no matter how big his ass is Porteous will kick goals in D1.

Can't blame guys wanting to play at the highest level Ugly. Only thing that amazed me is that we could never entice you up a grade or two (or down the road). If Stella & Wise don't want to stay blocking their transfers aint going to help. Maybe they could both log-on and let us know?? Big Waters and Florance are having some $$thrown their way too....and I know the clubs who are throwing it (as I am sure you do).

And for the record, I do agree with most that BT guys are pretty decent off the ground, and the club has cleaned up its act since the dark days of the mid 90s when the Ammos were 1 melee away from sending them to the Diamond Valley.

And OC37, hope you put a bit more research into your work coaching the Carey Club 18s. I am not and have never been connected to Ogs. Jesus man, I aint that way inclined!

Glen Porteous - Old Paradians Prob kick 100 +...... behinds and 80 goals Will take bout 15 marks most inside forward 50m each game.
Good luck guys.

Didnt know D.Bellissimo was at Mitcham. Big move from Nunna. Wonder if his mate and all his mates he attracted to Nunna will follow the good man?
He already has his fingers in the VAFA player pie so i hear. He can get em, cant he....

Yes he is at Mitcham and has taken a couple of guys from Nuna but not the ones he took from Marcellin a few years back. Don't think he has taken any really big names with him, but I may be wrong. I might ask him.

He applied for the Marcellin coaching role this year and was just pipped at the post....

Can't blame guys wanting to play at the highest level Ugly. Only thing that amazed me is that we could never entice you up a grade or two (or down the road). If Stella & Wise don't want to stay blocking their transfers aint going to help. Maybe they could both log-on and let us know?? Big Waters and Florance are having some $$thrown their way too....and I know the clubs who are throwing it (as I am sure you do).

And for the record, I do agree with most that BT guys are pretty decent off the ground, and the club has cleaned up its act since the dark days of the mid 90s when the Ammos were 1 melee away from sending them to the Diamond Valley.

And OC37, hope you put a bit more research into your work coaching the Carey Club 18s. I am not and have never been connected to Ogs. Jesus man, I aint that way inclined!

That is all i wanted to hear. Some things change....but some things will always stay the same.....

Water and Floz are being hunted - but will stay with us for another year as both intend (with Chivs and Wise) to return for another season at Darwin - 80 games straight is a fair effort!

I could never understand the concept of playing footy for $$ - Just never made any sense to me - How can one put his hand out for coin (given each bloke is on different amount) after being beaten by the bloke he is playing on - or having a shoker has got me beat.

I reckon $100 per win at Mitcham would equate to no more than $500 in the pocket at the end of season after they strip $$ at every opportunity (raffles, functions, missed training etc) SO lets work it out by saying 60 training session and 18 games - Less than $7 for every time you go to game or training. Probably not going to help much in the long run.

Imagine the effect of getting offered $200 a game - Bloody hell that's is $14 a week!

I could rattle of 20 names of young guys who get sucked into it, hate it and either come back or STOP playing altogether because they lose the passion for the game.

Now, being involved at a club for a LONG time.... I reckon the 2 snags on a Thursday night that I pinch off the BBQ when old Robbo is at the bar filling his pint PLUS to comfort of being with my mates puts me well in front of anything ANY other club could offer me in the way of $$$$$$.

POint being - if you really want to go and play at a higher standard, at THAT is your motive then go to VFL or A grade AMMO. Don't try and fool me (or your mates) by telling us that EFL div 2 is a much better standard than where you are at. And then picking MItcham of all clubs!

Sorry Conduct- punt in the dark- based on dislike of BT

am not clubbies coach though- so a bit more research for you too

Sorry Conduct- punt in the dark- based on dislike of BT

am not clubbies coach though- so a bit more research for you too

There is a poster "Hansie" who is claiming to coach Carey Clubbies on the club 18 thread. Coincidently joined big footy the same time as oc37.

Hi all.

My persuasion of Geeves to leave the school canteen and begin a lifetime of butlering with yours truly was certainly helped by the increased pay packet on offer.

So i am as guilty as anybody.

Cheers,

DG

- I am glad to finally get this off my chest

There is a poster "Hansie" who is claiming to coach Carey Clubbies on the club 18 thread. Coincidently joined big footy the same time as oc37.

Different people. I can guarantee you that. DG does not run a false footy tipping comp! However, you may have helped CU out here with his who's who connection. However oc37 therefore remains a mystery.
Cheers, DG

POint being - if you really want to go and play at a higher standard, at THAT is your motive then go to VFL or A grade AMMO. Don't try and fool me (or your mates) by telling us that EFL div 2 is a much better standard than where you are at. And then picking MItcham of all clubs!

Well with all due respect, 2nd Division EFL is a much better standard than where they and/or BT are at. Mitcham will be very competetive this year after the drop from 1st Division - likley to bounce straight back up. The question that remains for these two boys to answer is "are they up to it"?

You don't get paid for reserves games......

There sure is, Cougar man, and I am him, and yes, I am coaching the Clubbies. oc37 and I are not the same person, but I may persuade him to have the odd run for me this year I hope!

Cheers,

Water and Floz are being hunted - but will stay with us for another year as both intend (with Chivs and Wise) to return for another season at Darwin - 80 games straight is a fair effort!

I could never understand the concept of playing footy for $$ - Just never made any sense to me - How can one put his hand out for coin (given each bloke is on different amount) after being beaten by the bloke he is playing on - or having a shoker has got me beat.

I reckon $100 per win at Mitcham would equate to no more than $500 in the pocket at the end of season after they strip $$ at every opportunity (raffles, functions, missed training etc) SO lets work it out by saying 60 training session and 18 games - Less than $7 for every time you go to game or training. Probably not going to help much in the long run.

Imagine the effect of getting offered $200 a game - Bloody hell that's is $14 a week!

I could rattle of 20 names of young guys who get sucked into it, hate it and either come back or STOP playing altogether because they lose the passion for the game.

Now, being involved at a club for a LONG time.... I reckon the 2 snags on a Thursday night that I pinch off the BBQ when old Robbo is at the bar filling his pint PLUS to comfort of being with my mates puts me well in front of anything ANY other club could offer me in the way of $$$$$$.

Ugly, this post is brilliant. Look at all the unhappy people with heaps of money anyway, some are psychos, lots are drunks, heaps take drugs.

To be involved in a good solid football community IMO is second to family only. Money just complicates things. The Amateur concept is great, i know some players might get up to 3 snags a week, but that is based on form. There is much innuendo on how clubs look after their players in Amateurs but from my view the enjoyment of playing with mates or playing for your old school far outweighs anything. I am pretty sure players mostly are playing amateurs for this reason.

I for one hope Bt get all these players back, along with a few recruits from NT and DV. If so they will give the flag a huge shake. A few years ago i would have been the first to admit i wasnt a big fan, however the club has put a huge effort into improving and integrating the juniors and building the social side of the club. Older players have shown great loyalty and the culture has changed markedly. It is a club many would like to be at i think, and one of the more progressive Amateur suburban sides.

On the topic of EFL.Why play for a few bucks at a level that is not much greater?- I have some mates and aquaintances playing at Nth Ringwood, and they are good footballers- a couple very very good footballers- but they would be no monty to win a D1 flag. ALso very few if any play for the money. They play for their mates.

I am probably waffling a bit as i have had a poor night of sleep, but basically- good luck to BT, and i see little point any players shifting to Mitcham, a club that has gone through great turmoil and lost a huge percentage of their best players, and will fight hard to be finalists in DIV2.

Well, North Ringwood absolutely battled in Divvy 2 EFL last year. Just scraped out of relegation by a fraction of percentage, I think. So, while I hear what you're saying oc37 (and there are a couple of Old Paradians cleared to North Ringwood, I notice), I don't think any of the top teams in D1 VAFA would get anywhere near the premiership in Divvy 2 EFL (just my opinion).

Well, that's an interesting argument, Derm. So Bulleen-Temp offer free tickets at the raffles, free entry and drinks at the functions, free gear etc? I wouldn't have thought so. See going by your example, the players who would have to pay for this out of their own pocket in the VAFA can pay for these extras out of the money they've made playing football for the club, as well as having a few Saturday nights paid for during the season. I would have thought Wise would have to be getting offered more than $100 a game (Don't know about Stella), not just for a win. Noble sentiments, Dermie, but at the end of the day, it's up to the individual.

Another reason that players would leave their VAFA clubs for a local comp would be not having to drive to the other side of Melbourne to play on a Saturday. And, in most cases, it's not as if these guys are just walking in off the street to some club where they no no-one. It is possible to have mates outside your VAFA club, guys who you played juniors with, maybe work with, maybe even went to school with you. Also, I know Bulleen-Templestowe isn't the best example, but a lot of the other clubs in D1 are like ghost towns with all the people that show up to watch the games. Maybe they want their mates to come down and watch and have a can or two.

Of course there are a few w**kers who just want everyone to know they are getting paid cash to play footy, good luck to them (not singling anyone out here). But I think a lot of clubs in our comp would be better being proactive to cover for the players they lose, rather than having a cry that these players have left. They don't owe us anything...err unless they do owe us something.

I agree MC. The thing that upset me the most is that these 2 blokes are sensational kids (early 20's) and have been seen as the future off our club for the next 10 years. I certainly would have pencilled Stella in as potentially the next skipper post Chivas. He fully throws himself into the club in eaver way - I just hope he has a rethink in the next few weeks.
Both have now played more than 60 senior games with us so it would be very sad to se them go.

From what I am hearing WE are hope full both will remain with us - which would be huge for our club.

Well, North Ringwood absolutely battled in Divvy 2 EFL last year. Just scraped out of relegation by a fraction of percentage, I think. So, while I hear what you're saying oc37 (and there are a couple of Old Paradians cleared to North Ringwood, I notice), I don't think any of the top teams in D1 VAFA would get anywhere near the premiership in Divvy 2 EFL (just my opinion).

Totally agree MC. Even the two promoted teams would not get close.

I agree MC. The thing that upset me the most is that these 2 blokes are sensational kids (early 20's) and have been seen as the future off our club for the next 10 years. I certainly would have pencilled Stella in as potentially the next skipper post Chivas. He fully throws himself into the club in eaver way - I just hope he has a rethink in the next few weeks.
Both have now played more than 60 senior games with us so it would be very sad to se them go.

From what I am hearing WE are hope full both will remain with us - which would be huge for our club.

That would be great for BT if they stay.

I know alot of blokes from my time who left their clubs for money and every single one of them regretted it. Not one of them has a dollar to show for it but the real regret comes from when they hear of their old mates playing 300 games for the club they were originally at and the football stories around the barby that they cannot share.

To the two boys contemplating leaving. If you are reading this my advice would be that you stay with your club, stay with your mates and have great memories that no dollar can ever buy you.

Geez, give me a break! Have a look at any transfers list from any league. A footy club is not your family. You can still remain mates with someone after you've left your footy club and you can be mates with people who don't play for your club (I swear this is possible). Money was probably only one of a number of factors playing in their decision (a very small factor if uglydermie's numbers are anything to go by).

I think most people who've played any length of time could probably walk into half a dozen clubs in pre-season and know enough of the blokes to feel comfortable there. And, as dermie stated, these guys have played around 60 senior games for the club...dunno if they'd be thinking about notching up their 300th in the year 2020 just yet. Their testimonial dinners in 2027 should be crackers though.

Who is to say they won't have great memories and a few great stories at Mitcham? You're probably actually privy to more ripping yarns by being a part of a few different clubs. They will still have their real mates from Bulleen-Temp (real mates don't let c**p like which club you play for get in the way of a friendship).

The D1 thread is unbelievably quiet at the moment. Lets see if I can generate a bit of discussion by seeing what's making news on the club websites:

Bulleen-Temp: Either they have changed their web address, or their 12 months free web hosting has run out. A massive downgrade from last year.

BT website back up

Geez, give me a break! Have a look at any transfers list from any league. A footy club is not your family. You can still remain mates with someone after you've left your footy club and you can be mates with people who don't play for your club (I swear this is possible). Money was probably only one of a number of factors playing in their decision (a very small factor if uglydermie's numbers are anything to go by).

I think most people who've played any length of time could probably walk into half a dozen clubs in pre-season and know enough of the blokes to feel comfortable there. And, as dermie stated, these guys have played around 60 senior games for the club...dunno if they'd be thinking about notching up their 300th in the year 2020 just yet. Their testimonial dinners in 2027 should be crackers though.

Who is to say they won't have great memories and a few great stories at Mitcham? You're probably actually privy to more ripping yarns by being a part of a few different clubs. They will still have their real mates from Bulleen-Temp (real mates don't let c**p like which club you play for get in the way of a friendship).

You have some points McD, and everyone has differing opinions. The people i admire most are the Dermies of the world. My greatest admiration at our club is one of our committe people. Gary Plummer is a life member of our club, his footy days were completetly played at Doutta Stars. He is a team of the century member, a Hall of famer and a life member.

It is interesting to note to become a life member of the VAFA it generally means 30-40 years of service. Players who jump from club to club IMO get really little out of footy. Those boys would make a great decision by staying at BT.