VAFA D1 new thread for 2007

While all the focus is on the clubs playing off for the flag, there's been less attention on those being relegated. I reckon being demoted to a lower section might be what most clubs are in trouble would need to get themselves out of the mire. The clubs who are being relegated would need to take stock of what has gone wrong and who's to blame for the poor season (whether it's coaches, players or administrators), to re-assess their playing lists and to focus on trying to get back up to a higher section in the next year or two. It's not like other comps around Australia, where a club 'win' the wooden spoon and wondering how on earth will they be ever to play finals or win the flag again.

Who cares? OP and Therry have soul searching to do..... Both clubs at least gave it an honest go when we played them. Just clearly weren't up to the level of the rest of the competition.

There are many leagues out there with more than one section/ division for promotion/relegation Jason.

The big questions are those of how the season will finish after this week.
Have the wheels fallen off at OM's and can Peninsula upset them? I think not, but they may struggle come September. Whispers are getting louder that the hierarchy want Coach Magee gaaawwwnnnn. Feel free to shed light on this.
Rovers v Oakleigh clash is now the biggie. A Hampton win means they meet again a week later down at TB Oval for a spot in the GF and safe knowledge of promotion to C section. A loss and it's Sunday footy against Prahran - unless of course Therry cause another boilover.

Maybe it would be a good idea to move the Rovers/Oakleigh game to Sandringham, seeing there are no matches there and also it would give both teams a chance to adapt to the Sandringham ground one week earlier than expected. Re Old Mentonians, I wouldn't be surprised if there was a change of coach over the summer. I could give you a name that might be the new Panthers coach-George Voyage.

Well, as has already been highlighted the Raiders are very unfortunately off to D2. Being three goals up and losing the last quarter on Saturday felt like losing a grand final....absolutely shattering.

Hopefully the boys can regroup over the summer and put in a good pre season so that D2 brings a little more success and enjoyment on-field - because it's been a bloody tough couple of years!

I know OPs have been an avenue of disdain for a lot of people on this forum but just know they're a good group of young blokes who always had a crack and providing there isnt another mass exodus, should move forward in the coming years.

All the best for teams competing in finals, I have to say I'll be extremely suprised if Hampton don't win.:thumbsu:

Maybe it would be a good idea to move the Rovers/Oakleigh game to Sandringham, seeing there are no matches there and also it would give both teams a chance to adapt to the Sandringham ground one week earlier than expected. Re Old Mentonians, I wouldn't be surprised if there was a change of coach over the summer. I could give you a name that might be the new Panthers coach-George Voyage.

Jascave, i think you'll actually find that Sandringham are playing Coburg this Saturday at Trevor Barker Oval and for some reason i cant see a 1st vs. 3rd VFL game being moved for a huge D1 top of the table clash.
What are your thoughts on this Jascave?

jascave stop talking shit

Why not move the Rovers-Oakleigh game to Elsternwick Park (VAFA HQ)? After all,if the AFL can move some blockbuster games from Telstra Dome to the MCG to get a bigger crowd, why not the VAFA? It's been a while since a D1 game was played at Elsternwick Park, and I can't see no reason why it won't be played there. You're talking a top-of-the-table match, one week out from the finals, and a possible finals dress rehearsal in store.

BECAUSE IT'S D1 FOOTBALL

Must agree with milk man here Jase:

1. if you want to see the Rovers at HQ, then do your best to get them into B section in 2009 mate.

2. the Rovers' committee will be keen to host Oakleigh at home. A massive turnout will ensure great bar takings (particularly if you win).

I have lost count of the number of times we groaned (at OTs) when we were drawn to play a side at HQ where we knew we had a massive home ground advantage against them.

No brainer really. Enjoy serving it up to the Krushers at the Boss.

Should be a massive day of D1 footy

Alright, I would agree with you, Scribe, to have the game played at the Boss. Actually, I'm just wondering what would happen if the D1 Grand Final ended up a draw (after playing two periods of extra time each way for no result)?Because now that the C Section Grand Final is at Sandringham on the same day that the B Section Grand Final would be on, where would the VAFA stage the D1 Grand Final Replay, seeing that most of the grounds would have to be ready for the cricket season?

Would be nice to see a C grade game there too, and i think D1 received a far nicer run with finals- all at trevor Barker v C section with three different venues, maybe Tommy Brain still has a soft spot for two of his old sides

but they don't. remember earlier this year when coll vs haw was scheduled at Telstra dome and w.b. vs kanga at the MCG. they didn't swap them jascave! would've got 70,000 if pies vs hawks was at the g.

suggest you start thinking before u start typing as 95% of ur posts are poor quality

Seeing that Old Mentonians have fallen into a hole as well as Prahran, I think the premiership is now down to 2-Oakleigh & Hampton Rovers. And what we'll be seeing on Saturday could well be the grand final preview. There's no way that OM's would be back from a form slump at the wrong time and Prahran are getting a little nervous seeing that Bulleen Temp. are breathing down their necks.

Jason,

My Camwron wants you to know the following:

Jase give up on the idea of moving one of our home games to Elsternwick Park. Why would we want to do that for?

If it was moved for whatever reason, we would:
- Give up home ground advantage
- Give up profit from the pre-game Luncheon
- Give up profit from Bar sales after the game
- Give up profit from Canteen.
- Many of the regular Rovers supporters wouldn't travel to EP.
- Supporters have to pay to get in.
- And overall, you'd be lucky to get half the crowd that will turn up this Saturday at Boss James Reserve.

Elsternwick Park is a "ground" (I used some cweative journalism to change my Camwron's potty mouth reference), most A & B section clubs hate playing there. There isn't one single positive for moving the game to HQ's. Looking forward to seeing a massive crowd for the top of the table clash this Saturday.

And stop being a silly young man Jason. The Gwand Final will be decided by the coach with the longest "yard" if we can't get a result after extra time. I think the Rovers might win if they make it.

Yeah, i look forward to it too. Kicking 8 and being BOG against you *******s! We could be playing in the middle of Egypt. Doesn't bother me, i'm still the best!

Alright, I would agree with you, Scribe, to have the game played at the Boss. Actually, I'm just wondering what would happen if the D1 Grand Final ended up a draw (after playing two periods of extra time each way for no result)?Because now that the C Section Grand Final is at Sandringham on the same day that the B Section Grand Final would be on, where would the VAFA stage the D1 Grand Final Replay, seeing that most of the grounds would have to be ready for the cricket season?

I'm framing a market for the most obscure hypothetical on Big Footy - Jascase, you're raging hot favourite after this balltearer...

What about this for a hypothetical?
What if our bunch of *******s from Bundoora had any talent....?
Would we stay in D1?

Doubt it.

Parde = Triple Drop City!

I reckon the team that has the most luck-that is, no injuries or reports between now and grand final-would take home the premiership. I reckon this would be the most even finals series for some time. I wouldn't be surprised if Old Mentonians and Prahran got out of their form slump and started making life difficult for the top two in Oakleigh & Hampton Rovers. After all, in finals anything can happen.

I reckon the team that kicks the biggest score on grand final day will take home the premiership...

Seeing that Old Mentonians have fallen into a hole as well as Prahran, I think the premiership is now down to 2-Oakleigh & Hampton Rovers. And what we'll be seeing on Saturday could well be the grand final preview. There's no way that OM's would be back from a form slump at the wrong time and Prahran are getting a little nervous seeing that Bulleen Temp. are breathing down their necks.

Everything ok there Jason? In 2 hours you've gone from a 2 horse race to it now being open to all 4. Off to bed to rest your pretty little head.

What I said about OM's might be spot on. In all my years following footy, it's pretty bad to have a form slump just a week out from the finals. Look at Old Xaverians in its era of power in A Section, they timed their runs to perfection, didn't have a form slump in the run-up to the finals and ended up winning 6 A Section flags in a row between 1995 and 2000. Some people (including yours truly) reckon the Old Xaverians team 1995-2000 is possibly the greatest VAFA club side of the modern era.Not many teams win 6 flags in a row in possibly the toughest section in VAFA-A Section, especially against sides such as St Kevins, Uni Blues, Old Scotch.