VAFA General Discussion

They aren’t going to allow anyone at all in the social rooms, they will be closed.
Wrong.

1 per per 4 sq metres just as a restaurant. Will need to be serving food with drink.

Ive never heard a much of bigger nay sayers.

The only reason the season wont proceed is because of cost. Coaching, medical, council, VAFA etc etc.

Health reasons be damned.

There is talk of flying to New Zealand in July.

Its called common sense. If asked politely, people with respect distancing, its not as though we are in a confined space like Bunnings, Coles, Safeway we are in open parkland. Ive never seen more than 400 at Pine Lodge, so again lets get real and get on with it.

Transfers. The biggest movement will be trying to regain past players or old boys. Points may be come interesting.

Max "back to painting coz ive got a house to sell in August" Leader

Wrong.

1 per per 4 sq metres just as a restaurant. Will need to be serving food with drink.

Ive never heard a much of bigger nay sayers.

The only reason the season wont proceed is because of cost. Coaching, medical, council, VAFA etc etc.

Health reasons be damned.

There is talk of flying to New Zealand in July.

Its called common sense. If asked politely, people with respect distancing, its not as though we are in a confined space like Bunnings, Coles, Safeway we are in open parkland. Ive never seen more than 400 at Pine Lodge, so again lets get real and get on with it.

Transfers. The biggest movement will be trying to regain past players or old boys. Points may be come interesting.

Max "back to painting coz ive got a house to sell in August" Leader
Hes right though ! NFL looked into people sitting down and serving food like you have too and 4sq between seating. But it’s just not feasible.
- you would need waiters
- cooks
- if someone gets up, before the next person or people sit down there has to be a thorough clean
- every person that enters the room have to leave there name and number
- how many volunteers will you need?
- at what cost will all this happen?
- rooms won’t be open to players or supporters standing outside, only the people who are seated

Sorry but that’s not local footy and that’s is the main issue in all this, what stress is this going to put on clubs and more importantly volunteers?

Hes right though ! NFL looked into people sitting down and serving food like you have too and 4sq between seating. But it’s just not feasible.
- you would need waiters
- cooks
- if someone gets up, before the next person or people sit down there has to be a thorough clean
- every person that enters the room have to leave there name and number
- how many volunteers will you need?
- at what cost will all this happen?
- rooms won’t be open to players or supporters standing outside, only the people who are seated

Sorry but that’s not local footy and that’s is the main issue in all this, what stress is this going to put on clubs and more importantly volunteers?
Rooster these are just hurdles.

Our caterer has already made allowances for this.

We can seat 50 in our rooms.

We are assuming nothing further opens up.

Just this week we went from 2 x 10 on an oval to 2 x 20 on an oval. The players all agreed that 2 x 10 was a far superior way to train.

Hurdles leads to innovation, acceptance and tolerance.

Max "tomorrow in the new norm" Leader

In a normal season, transfers close on the 30th of June. You don't need to provide a reason why you are transferring, so until June the 30th, why should they have to provide a reason this year ?
I fully understand this isn't a "normal year", but if someone says they want to come and play with their brother / mate / sister / cousin, then how can they be stopped ?

Now Mappa....your opinion on this isn't swayed by the fact that there's a plethora of Parade Old Boys who have been running around for large amounts of cash in the NFNL and now all of a sudden have a chance to play for the Old Boys, is it?

Phil’s been working the phones and several at the Bulls and Bergers said to be ‘getable’ 😉

Cheeky Chump 😂

I hear that Wesley are big in to Brett Eddy and Charlie Haley , surely if they are cleared it would only be to DLS. Thoughts jimmyjack
Interesting. Collegians was one of at least 6 Premier clubs that were right into Eddy during the off season but were not the ones favoured to get him. Despite the speculation we had no chance of matching the employment packages being offered so had no expectation he would be with us. Doubt he will play at a VAFA club in 2020. Haley? Understand he has some mates at Colls and if moving from the EFL perhaps only wants to play Premier. If VAFA gets a start and he plays in the ammos I expect it will be with DLS but I guess you never know.

I didn’t go to Parade myself, so I don’t know them by name, but obviously there are plenty of former students playing in the NFL, for coin or other reasons, but you could say the same for Old Boys of Whitefriars, Aquinas and Yarra Valley colleges (to name just three) that playing in the EFL. We wouldn’t be the only ones to benefit if anyone wanted to see the light and come to play FTLOTG 😊

Interesting. Collegians was one of at least 6 Premier clubs that were right into Eddy during the off season but were not the ones favoured to get him. Despite the speculation we had no chance of matching the employment packages being offered so had no expectation he would be with us. Doubt he will play at a VAFA club in 2020. Haley? Understand he has some mates at Colls and if moving from the EFL perhaps only wants to play Premier. If VAFA gets a start and he plays in the ammos I expect it will be with DLS but I guess you never know.

I don't think there will be transfers allowed between associations.

Also, Haley and Eddy would be 10 points (Haley 4, Eddy 6) for Collegians. We already have a relatively tight points cap, so I doubt both will be playing in purple and gold if the points cap remains the same.

I don't think there will be transfers allowed between associations.

Also, Haley and Eddy would be 10 points (Haley 4, Eddy 6) for Collegians. We already have a relatively tight points cap, so I doubt both will be playing in purple and gold if the points cap remains the same.
Yes there will. And you won’t even need to transfer, just a permit. VAFA and others just nutting out the finer details about what this will look like.

Agree re Eddy and Haley. Most unlikely, particularly in Haley’s case but I do know they were one of several to have a decent crack at Eddy in the off season.

Yes there will. And you won’t even need to transfer, just a permit. VAFA and others just nutting out the finer details about what this will look like.

Agree re Eddy and Haley. Most unlikely, particularly in Haley’s case but I do know they were one of several to have a decent crack at Eddy in the off season.
They have a crack at anything that breathes , that's why it's like the EPL !

Like when players want to go play a game in the country or interstate when their team isn’t playing

More of a seasonal local interchange type arrangement (like they do with VFL players) rather than a match day permit. Understand there may be some restrictions attached but looks like a common sense approach.

According to the HS, the VAFA has locked in July 25 as Round 1, but is waiting on the state government's decision on restrictions on June 22.
I guess it all comes down to whether or not the numbers gathered in the city on Saturday caused an outbreak. If not, can't see any reason why it would be not allowed by state gov

With cases now becoming minimal (touch wood), there's been 0 in Victoria today and only 5 nationally yesterday. Plus some crowds being allowed to AFL game under strict circumstances ie in corporate boxes etc, does anyone else feel like there WILL be a season in 2020?

I have always been on the fence with whether a season would be played, perhaps leaning towards there not being a season but given the circumstances and the improvement rates I think it's time we truly began preparing for a season to go ahead. Almost all VAFA clubs have begun training now as well.

I think the big test will be any potential spikes from the marches but if there is, we're likely to see a spike within a week not in 2. Remember, once infected you may feel the effects from after 2 days onwards, it does not take 2 weeks to begin to show symptoms. 2 weeks is only a mandated quarantine timeline.

Vafa clearances remain a topic of conversation as well, perhaps time the VAFA made a final decision about what they will do

With cases now becoming minimal (touch wood), there's been 0 in Victoria today and only 5 nationally yesterday. Plus some crowds being allowed to AFL game under strict circumstances ie in corporate boxes etc, does anyone else feel like there WILL be a season in 2020?

I have always been on the fence with whether a season would be played, perhaps leaning towards there not being a season but given the circumstances and the improvement rates I think it's time we truly began preparing for a season to go ahead. Almost all VAFA clubs have begun training now as well.

I think the big test will be any potential spikes from the marches but if there is, we're likely to see a spike within a week not in 2. Remember, once infected you may feel the effects from after 2 days onwards, it does not take 2 weeks to begin to show symptoms. 2 weeks is only a mandated quarantine timeline.

Vafa clearances remain a topic of conversation as well, perhaps time the VAFA made a final decision about what they will do
I have always been in the “let’s play” camp but must admit that on the back of a few big metro league’s pulling out and a lack of any real direction from our governing bodies my resolve started to waiver. However based on recent data I am feeling particularly bullish that we will get some footy this year.

Feedback from my club is that while it has taken a bit more planning, the return to train has been relatively seamless, much easier than was anticipated. For a combination of reasons some have now chosen not to play this year but overall the numbers have remained very strong.

I have always pushed the envelope to find a solution and I believe the oath to play has opened up via protocols and testing results. However with a few big metro leagues and AFL Barwon pulling the pin it almost looks untenable for the season to continue unfortunately. Extremely disappointing if so!

I always try and find a method to one's madness.

As great a cause as the BLM march was to highlight the oppression of indigenous people, some feel that it wasn't the right time to hold such a rally.......or was it? :think:

Was a peaceful protest that saw a mass gathering of 30,000 people, allowed to proceed during a pandemic with no arrests or fines, a test to see if society could return to normal? Was 30,000 at one venue just a major assessment that if new cases are kept to a minimal, that it would be proof that restrictions could be eased?
thought for the day

All AFL Barwon senior competitions were cancelled today.

Geelong Football League, Bellarine Football League, Geelong & District Football League and Colac District Foorball League.

Long term future of all clubs cited as the main consideration. Apparently 79% (being 35 of the 44 clubs) were in favour of no season going ahead.

VAFA General Discussion