VFL: Geelong vs Box Hill Hawks

• Thread starter Thread starter jess_555

I went down to have a look, however couldn't make out as much as I would have liked, given that I don't instantly recognise all the players. Anyway, here are my observations:

Honorable mentions:

Varcoe - didn't have a ton of the ball, though he did create some nice passages of play, including some that resulted in goals. It is clear that he is fundamentally better than players such as Tenace and Byrnes, in terms of his natural footballing ability.

S. Simpson - IIRC he didn't kick any goals, though he did take a few good marks and did a few canny things with the ball by hand, that conveyed a great dexterousness and manouvreability for someone his size. He definately has talent, and I would be surprised if he doesn't make a good senior player in a few years. His upper body is basically ready to go in terms of AFL, though he needs to work on his legs.

Priss - had a quiet first quarter, and looked to be a bit slow/lazy. He came into the game though, and had quite a few touches, including contributing to a few goals. He's obviously better than VFL standard, though based on what I saw, I'd much rather have Kelly etc in the seniors. Priss is just a little bit cumbersome at times, and doesn't seem to be able to change direction with enough energy. If I were to base my opinion of him solely on today, I would have no issue with him never being selected to play 1's.

Dishonerable Mentions:

Tenace - whoah, this guy is a shocker. His ability to turn the ball over is unsurpassed (that includes Byrnes), and as the game went on it became almost comical. Has pace, but doesn't use it. Can't kick, and is even worse at handballing. How he ever went at 7 in an AFL National Draft is beyond me. I reckon he's worse than when he came to the club.

...that's about it for the dihonorable mentions

'Other' Mentions:

Byrnes - he won BOG honours, but he didn't win any admirers with his magical ability to put a team mate under pressure with a bad handball! He's quick, and gets quite a bit of it, but he's good at running into trouble, and no good at making decisions. Brendan McCartney gave him a real serve at quarter time, and he played a bit better afterward.

Djerkurra - had less of it than Varcoe, though when he did touch it, the outcome was positive more often than it was negative. Second game back from injury, and did well considering.

Lonergan - didn't really take much notice of things he did, but apparently he played quite well, and I did notice a good things from him in the last quarter.

Moles - appears to have a good kick on him, slotting a nice one from a long way out

Laidler - again, has a good kick, slotting a nice goal in the last from 50.

D. Simpson - huge unit; blackbelt in Karate apparently. Has a crack - tried to make a few players feel his tackles. Got quite a few hitouts, though was in the ruck for less time than West. Was in a position to take a contested mark on two or more occasions but he couldn't do it... not quite coordinated enough.

Hogan - did a few good things.

I went down to have a look, however couldn't make out as much as I would have liked, given that I don't instantly recognise all the players. Anyway, here are my observations:

Honorable mentions:

Varcoe - didn't have a ton of the ball, though he did create some nice passages of play, including some that resulted in goals. It is clear that he is fundamentally better than players such as Tenace and Byrnes, in terms of his natural footballing ability.

S. Simpson - IIRC he didn't kick any goals, though he did take a few good marks and did a few canny things with the ball by hand, that conveyed a great dexterousness and manouvreability for someone his size. He definately has talent, and I would be surprised if he doesn't make a good senior player in a few years. His upper body is basically ready to go in terms of AFL, though he needs to work on his legs.

Priss - had a quiet first quarter, and looked to be a bit slow/lazy. He came into the game though, and had quite a few touches, including contributing to a few goals. He's obviously better than VFL standard, though based on what I saw, I'd much rather have Kelly etc in the seniors. Priss is just a little bit cumbersome at times, and doesn't seem to be able to change direction with enough energy. If I were to base my opinion of him solely on today, I would have no issue with him never being selected to play 1's.

Dishonerable Mentions:

Tenace - whoah, this guy is a shocker. His ability to turn the ball over is unsurpassed (that includes Byrnes), and as the game went on it became almost comical. Has pace, but doesn't use it. Can't kick, and is even worse at handballing. How he ever went at 7 in an AFL National Draft is beyond me. I reckon he's worse than when he came to the club.

...that's about it for the dihonorable mentions

'Other' Mentions:

Byrnes - he won BOG honours, but he didn't win any admirers with his magical ability to put a team mate under pressure with a bad handball! He's quick, and gets quite a bit of it, but he's good at running into trouble, and no good at making decisions. Brendan McCartney gave him a real serve at quarter time, and he played a bit better afterward.

Djerkurra - had less of it than Varcoe, though when he did touch it, the outcome was positive more often than it was negative. Second game back from injury, and did well considering.

Lonergan - didn't really take much notice of things he did, but apparently he played quite well, and I did notice a good things from him in the last quarter.

Moles - appears to have a good kick on him, slotting a nice one from a long way out

Laidler - again, has a good kick, slotting a nice goal in the last from 50.

D. Simpson - huge unit; blackbelt in Karate apparently. Has a crack - tried to make a few players feel his tackles. Got quite a few hitouts, though was in the ruck for less time than West. Was in a position to take a contested mark on two or more occasions but he couldn't do it... not quite coordinated enough.

Hogan - did a few good things.

Mate thats a top effort....:):):)

I Thank you kindly for that report keeps me in touch....sorta
love all match reports on the Catters top post...

Mate thats a top effort....:):):)

I Thank you kindly for that report keeps me in touch....sorta
love all match reports on the Catters top post...

Thanks, am more than happy to post my observations, given I am usually relying on someone else to do it for me.

Basic scores from the website:

Box Hill Hawks 5.4 7.8 8.11 13.12 (90)
Geelong 3.1 5.4 10.6 16.8 (104)

GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Moss 3 Clarke 2 Morrell 2 Stokes 2 Shore Kenna Gibson Dowler
Geelong: Varcoe 3 Byrnes 2 Davenport 2 Moles 2 Laidler Firman Hogan Donohue McKenna Simpson Prismall

BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Kenna Renouf Dawson Kennedy Clarke Stokes
Geelong: Varcoe Byrnes Prismall Johnson Tenace Firman

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Box Hill Hawks: C. Pedersen (Box Hill Hawks) for Charging M. Firman (Geelong) during the 4th Quarter.
Geelong: Nil

Went down and watched the game yesterday, I thought the guys could do with some support playing away and all. Geelong got off to a slow slow slow start and it really wasn't looking very good at all during the first quarter. We were getting smashed, not chasing players or providing contests. With Prissa kicking the first goal for Geelong we managed to get back into it.

Geelong were playing catch up until midway through the 3rd quarter when we finally snatched the lead. The win was up for grabs for either side as it was basically goal for goal at each end of the ground. Luckily our boys piled on a few near the end to steal the victory and upset the locals. :)

I noticed Davvers looked maybe sick or injured (???) during the game... not sure if I'm right but I didn't think he was his usual self.

Varcoe was awesome! His attack on the ball was fantastic. He looked so eager and was always chasing down players and tackling really hard. One of the best games I reckon I've seen him play. If he keeps it up he will really be in the mix for the seniors.

Lonners didn't get much of the ball. Didn't really do a lot up forward this week.

Byrnes was BOG for the cats (well he won a medal for it). He got plenty of the ball and used it well most of the time. Keep it up Shannon.

Prissa was as good as always. He was NOT lazy! He was chasing and tackling and always provided players a target to kick too. Kicked an impressive first goal goal and set up a few others.

Molesy put in an impressive performance. He looks like his got what it takes to make it but thats a big call when I've only seen him play a few games.

Jezza Laidler also showed some great footy. A bit patchy at the moment but showed some really promising signs. Give the guy some time to adjust and he will be great for our VFL team. I think he will really improve a lot during this year as I have already seen big improvements.

Can't really think of many other players that stood out, it's pretty hard working out who is who at the moment with all these new guys. I'd also like to add that I was kicking the footy after the game and kicked a huge Torp... I'm pretty proud (if you can't tell). haha

Thanks for the report Jess. That "lazy" comment really got to you aye? :)
How did Djerrkura play?

It sure did coz I know Pris is NOT lazy!!! :mad:

Djerrkura played alright. He got more of the ball in the second half I think. Wasn't overly influential on the game or anything but was involved in some nice bits of play. Not ready for seniors just yet IMO, like most of the guys he needs to be more consistent and work hard for the full 4/4.

Good to hear that Varcoe is finding form. There were some troubling reports about his form a month or so ago.

I read with interest in The Mission that on Grand Final day Bomber saw Varcoe and told him that although he had ran out of steam in 2007 Bomber wanted to see him in the side in 2008.

I think Varcoe's interrupted pre-season delayed those plans, but that comment from the book makes me think Varcoe will get a chance sooner rather than later.

My thoughts exactly. If they bring in Byrnes I will do a fuse!

Shhh. Don't want this to be confused for another Byrnes bashing thread, and get Eliiiza off-side, then have her boyfriend come in and either defend her honour or try to earn brownie points, as has happened in other threads on this board. :p

Must...not...respond...:D