VFL Grand Final

Should be a good close game. I think the Tigers will win, mainly because I rate their own list much higher than Sandringhams..

I reckon in the finals series, the club with the best VFL depth will go on to win. Chad O'Sullivan, Hassan, even players like James Allan have been big contributors. Pods was quiet on the weekend (slight injury query?) but I can't see the Zebs matching them.

Mind you, Chad Liddell seemed pretty relaxed after Sundays win.

Werribee to win for me.

Certainly going to need that forward line to function well enough, obviously the talls of Skipper, Bandy, Rawlings, Bowden and Podsiadly will be crucial.

Skipper v Jamar in the ruck is an interesting battle.

I'll be keen to see if Gadsden tags again, and who he is given from the Werribee midfield.

If the weather is nice, hope the crowd rock up and we get one another great VFL Grand Final.

Id prefer to be playing bendigo, Sandi are a good side and the key to this game is Nicho and Carroll, if they come up fit Sandi will have a big shot.

Pods was playing injuryed but as footyman said that forward line is amazing.

BTW longy i would not mind odds of $1.85 which would have been around at round 8.

After watching both preliminary finals, I'm tipping Sandringham in a close one.

Werribee's forwards were well held on Saturday and the Sandringham defence is probably going to be strengthened by the return of Melbourne player Nicholson (although he would be a bonus back there).

Hopefully a good crowd does go, but, that forecast for Sunday is a worry.

pazza said:
After watching both preliminary finals, I'm tipping Sandringham in a close one.

Werribee's forwards were well held on Saturday and the Sandringham defence is probably going to be strengthened by the return of Melbourne player Nicholson (although he would be a bonus back there).

Hopefully a good crowd does go, but, that forecast for Sunday is a worry.
On the game call one of the dees players said nicho wont be back this year.

bogan4life said:
On the game call one of the dees players said nicho wont be back this year.

You want to tell that to Ross Booth et al over at Ripponlea?

Given I'll be at the VAFA A Grade extravaganza between University Blues and Old Xaverians, I might get a chance to see the game, but, I doubt it.

Hopefully, Bendigo will watch it and the kids know what they are missing out on...I know this might seem a little biased, but, could everyone on here imagine the crowd had Bendigo made it? 15-20000 would have been every chance.

pazza said:
Hopefully, Bendigo will watch it and the kids know what they are missing out on...I know this might seem a little biased, but, could everyone on here imagine the crowd had Bendigo made it? 15-20000 would have been every chance.
Oh now you are stirring me, I'll give you credit the Bendigo support exceeded what Sandy had on Sunday...

The problem is the live television broadcast, which reduces the crowd especially on an overcast or wet day. Also, the still-strong perception that it is "AFL Reserves" football, just look at the news reports focusing on borderline AFL players and SEN honing in on these same folk.

For the last three seasons, the Eastern League's Division 1 Grand Final has taken place the day before the VFL with crowds of approximately 13000 in 2002, 11000 in 2003 and 10000 in 2004 at $12 per adult. The VFL crowds haven't been within about 2000 of these figures on each occasion, which detracts from the spectacle when 100,000-odd decide to watch it on TV and save themselves from paying the $20 entry charge for adults.

I note the weather forecast isn't promising either! :(

ben.carbonaro said:
Somewhere else, has been the case in recent years.

The game is being played at Optus Oval, last year or the agreement so hopefully a better venue next year for the grand final.
What's wrong with Optus? What would be a better venue for the game?

If your point is a half empty ground then that is a valid one, however I would believe it to be the best ground to play at for the players.

TuskenRaider said:
What's wrong with Optus? What would be a better venue for the game?

If your point is a half empty ground then that is a valid one, however I would believe it to be the best ground to play at for the players.

Half empty, but also but Football Vic have said they will be reviewing the location for grand finals at the end of this year in planing for season 2006 and beyond.

footyman said:
I'll be keen to see if Gadsden tags again, and who he is given from the Werribee midfield.

I've been thinking about this one. I reckon it will be Shane Birss.

Sandy's biggest problem will be to find a key forward who can actually take a mark and kick a goal.

Unfortunaetly Sautner has past his used by date even though he did kick 3 in the last quarter on Sunday. Before that he was awful.

Paul Johnson has to fire up forward to give Sandy a chance.

Details of TV Coverage of Truenergy VFL Grand Final on Sunday

ABC TV: Victoria and Tasmania 2pm Live
Fox Footy Channel: Other states likely to take it live but to be advised.

ben.carbonaro said:
Thanks for the broadcast info, much appreciated.

How was the show today, Robbo ?

The show good Ben. Even got to call with Jim Maxwell(not literally) wth ABC Grandstand Cricket at the show.

TEAMS

WERRIBEE

B: Salim HASSAN, Michael SLEEMAN, Damien McCORMACK
HB: Sam POWER, Teghan HENDERSON, Ben HARRISON
C: Chad O'SULLIVAN, Scott HOWARD, Travis ROBERTSON (C)
HF: Jaison LAMB, James PODSIADLY, Kieran McGUINNESS
F: Shane BIRSS, Daniel BANDY, Cameron FAULKNER
R: Cameron WIGHT, James ALLAN, Brad MURPHY
INT FROM: Dominic GLEESON, Wayde SKIPPER, Patrick BOWDEN, Aaron RAU, Jacob FURFARO, Ryan CLOSTER, Jade RAWLINGS, Edward DARCY

SANDRINGHAM

B: Daniel WARD, Matthew WARNOCK, Luke WILLIAMS
HB: Andy BIDDLECOMBE, Rod CROWE, Chad LIDDELL (C)
C: David GALLAGHER, Ezra POYAS, Paul KENNEDY
HF: Chris HEFFERNAN, Paul JOHNSON, Peter SUMMERS
F: Sean O'KEEFFE, Nick SAUTNER, Steven ARMSTRONG
R: Mark JAMAR, Guy RIGONI, Shannon MOTLOP
INT FROM: Nick SMITH, Daniel HUGHES, Simon GODFREY, Matthew GADSDEN, Toby CONROY, Daniel BELL, Chris JOHNSON, Matthew BATE

MRobbo said:
Details of TV Coverage of Truenergy VFL Grand Final on Sunday

ABC TV: Victoria and Tasmania 2pm Live
Fox Footy Channel: Other states likely to take it live but to be advised.

Updating the VFL Media Coverage

TV: ABC TV Victoria and Tasmania 2pm Live.
Fox Footy Channel NSW,QLD 2pm Live, SA 1:30pm Live, WA 12noon Live

Radio: SEN 1116 1pm, 97.7fm 3SER 1:45pm, 3AW and ABC 1pm.

Also have teams for the Reserves Grand Final at 11am

Reserve Grade Grand Final
Williamstown v North Ballarat
Sunday 18th September
Optus Oval at 11.00am

Williamstown

B Chiu Crawford McKenzie
HB Hollow Barling Dow
C Stretton Shelton Rose
HF Picken Cook Smoker
F Clifton Galea Proctor
R Meyer Pearce Coates
Int B. Morrison Macri Gowers
** Langlands Ralph McArdle
** Goullet Benson

North Ballarat

B Drew Doyle Grellet
HB Sharkey N. Spolding Ewart
C Wright Moloney Goodes
HF Dinnell Jurica McMahon
F Jamison Foott Stephenson
R Bye Frith A. George
Int Searl Pitt Miller
** Hassell Foster Parkin
** K. George Burchell

The record for the Grand Final is also available on the VFL Website at http://vfl.footballvic.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=97765

VFL Grand Final