RaptorRoj

Thought with VFL training having started last week, it'd be a good idea to keep a spot for those training with the club and news when the fixture is out.

Dom Gleeson is obviously on board as a player/ assistant coach
Troy Selwood is staying on
Jack Shannahan is back at pre-season

Rumour that Ryan Williams from Central Districts (I believe) is in talks with Geelong having relocated to Anglesea (source: VFLnews)

Matt Firman as a playing assistant coach with the North Old Boys (ammos) according to the club website (cheers to Slaughterman for the tip off)

Andrew Boseley has been invited to train with Geelong VFL, along with Ben Johnson, Ryan Monaghan, Cam Tudor, Jordan Keras and Lachie Edwards (from today's Addy)

Boseley is key back, Johnson is key forward, Monaghan 183cm Colac / Falcon defender, Tudor 195cm Falcon ruckman, Keras 182cm Falcon midfielder, Edwards 188cm lead up Falcon forward

It's good that Troy is playing on, I thought the Gleeson signing might have indicated he was going full time in his admin role.

Williams was a falcon picked up late in the draft by Port Adelaide. He only lasted a couple of seasons on their list but stayed over and played with Centrals in the SANFL. He would be a handy get however I'm sure it will come down to whether he believes he can have another crack at AFL as a mature age pick as otherwise the money in local football would trump us for sure.

Selwood, Gleeson, Simpkin, Byrnes, Hogan, Stephenson. There should be a very solid core of experience with above average VFL ability going through the side next year and the 2010 boys and Cowan will have that extra pre season under their belts as well. I think all the 2011 national draftees except Hamling can have an impact too. Senior rotations will hamper the side again but potentially at least they should do a little better as long as AFL/VFL injuries are at a minimum.

Glad that Troy is playing on.

So Firmo isn't though Roj? His leadership and backline general-ness has been fantastic for us for a number of years, will be quite hard to replace.

Hopefully McLean isn't going back to being a country gun, if we can keep him and Corrigan alongside Gleeson and Selwood that's a very good experienced core to build the side around. If we can keep Hollmer and Tutungi as well things look quite good.

I really like the way Monaghan goes about it, not sure if he's got the absolute talent to make it to the top level but the application is definitely there, would be happy to have him on board.

Boseley or Tudor would also be fine (although I suspect the former will get rookie listed, hopefully with us)-given that at times Gillies/Bathie/Walker will play seniors as a 'general soreness rotation' and we'll probably rest the rucks on some weeks when they aren't playing seniors, there's room for another tall or two in the VFL side. We wouldn't want to go overboard and have to squeeze heaps of ruckmen into the forward line like we did early last year :p but a couple is fine.

Surprised Johnson is considering staying on. Kids wise from last year I'd like to keep both Maas and Raidme (hopefully the latter gets rookied somewhere) and Sheringham, all of whom were pretty good last year.

Be interesting to see what sort of VFL list Knights and Rooke build.

Great discussion so far :)

As for Firman, my assumption would be that a club would only offer the role if it was for a full-time position. He will be missed by Geelong, and I think his attempt at the mark of the year in that grand final will be a highlight for decades to come.. if only he had held it :)

Great discussion so far :)

As for Firman, my assumption would be that a club would only offer the role if it was for a full-time position. He will be missed by Geelong, and I think his attempt at the mark of the year in that grand final will be a highlight for decades to come.. if only he had held it :)

I can understand why in a way, Firman's had a great career at VFL level for a number of years and he might feel the time is right to move onto something like coaching.

Pity though, he's been immense for us in his time here, made a great contribution and shown great leadership.

I assume Selwood will take over the captaincy on his own then (unless Gleeson is coming on board as a co captain).

You heard any news on whether McLean is staying on? I really hope so.

Re McLean, I'm currently tracking down the club re times and will try and get down with my camera one day next week. I'll be able to let people know then

Thanks mate. :thumbsu:

OK, I was at training tonight for an hour.. took some photos, will post them later this week (got 2 shoots which are priorities).. but Cats fans, be excited. Hood and Knights know what they are doing. A good squad assembled too. Fitness of one bloke was a worry, few players recovering from injuries, but yeah, get excited.

Of the new players, there was a player with amazing endurance (a lot of gut running) and a tall with blonde curly hair who showed a lot too.

I saw Selwood, Hollmer, Barham, McLean, Cuthill (i think), Tutungi, Sheringham, Maas, Biemans, Raidme, Shannahan. I'll check the photos to see if I missed anyone from that.

No signs of Corrigan.. or Cuthill either (Jack said that Mitch hasn't been to a training yet this preseason, focusing on BPD)

and the ground was shut off.. but they had a function so there was a part open I could get to. I'm hoping that'll be the same next week

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.261535953903516.65748.162448683812244&type=1&l=4835325dd2 is the set of photos, if anyone can identify any of the local players, please do. Just refer to them by their numbers if there are multiple people

Was at training again tonight.. few players (Boseley, Baker, Fisher, Jye Bolton) on modified programs. a clean shaven Max Rooke there too.

Be very excited Cats if these players slip thru tomorrow.. there is a good nucleus of a team there

Photos up on my page later tonight

Bolton looked good in the VFL games he played for Collingwood this year. Would be a good get for our VFL team.

Would be happy with Boseley if he doesn't get drafted today.

Cheers.

I think it came from 2000.. my interest in AFL was waining abit due to the end of the Ayres era.. but the VFL was a new, exciting brand of footy.. a lot more of a community feel.. and suburbian football.

As those players grew into AFL superstars, I stuck with the VFL just as I love community football. It's a more tribal, grassroots feel than the AFL can be (although I think we are lucky with the Cook era at Geelong being very grassroots).

From a photographer side of things, VFL is obviously a lot more appealing for me to get into for opportunities just as its a lot closer feel to it.

Cheers.

I think it came from 2000.. my interest in AFL was waining abit due to the end of the Ayres era.. but the VFL was a new, exciting brand of footy.. a lot more of a community feel.. and suburbian football.

As those players grew into AFL superstars, I stuck with the VFL just as I love community football. It's a more tribal, grassroots feel than the AFL can be (although I think we are lucky with the Cook era at Geelong being very grassroots).

From a photographer side of things, VFL is obviously a lot more appealing for me to get into for opportunities just as its a lot closer feel to it.

I suppose the fact the AFL usually frowns upon members of the public bringing their own cameras in to take photos is probably another reason you prefer the VFL.

Not at all.. I've had no issues bringing my camera into skilled stadium.. I only have a 300mm lens, which every ground allows.

I have never taken a camera or video before but out of curiosity why aren't the public allowed to take camera's greater than 300mm lenses into the grounds?

Is it copyright restrictions by the AFL or something?

New names from Milky Mahoney... Jesse Mawson, David Fawkes, Ian Tomkins, Mitch McKee, Wayne Barrett

I think I actually had still cameras confused with video cameras. I remember reading a few stories about parents wanting to film little Johnny playing Auskick at half time, but being told they weren't allowed to bring their video cameras into the ground.

I think there are pedophiliac reasons behind that.
Not kidding. There was a day care centre where we took our daughter that would not allow photos or videos full stop. For that reason.

Crazy world.

the young bloke in the 5th last photo running away with ball in hand black shorts white singlet is dean warry my mates younger brother played down the mornington penisula this yr also played in a under 23 rep side young guns in a game before a vfl final this yr and apparently went really well takes a good mark and is pretty quick..someone posted the stats and how each player went in that game not sure were the post is sorry guys..