HB: Cheney McNamara Strauss
C: Wall Nicholls Watts
HF: Hughes Miller Creed
F: Maric Newton McGough
R: P. Johnson MacReadie Jetta

Int: Smith Bail Gysberts Petropoulos*
Taylor Healey Waite

*Blease, Wonaeamirri & Spencer all named in Reserves

Suprisingly Fitzpatrick isn't named in either sides??

Spencer in the reserves yet listed as 3rd emergency :|

I thought that Spencer wasn't playing too badly down there? That's very embarrassing though. I hope Watts plays up forward a bit for a change.

Possibly for the same reasons Riewoldt started there?????

Just a team sheet, relax! But if you watched all of VFL games he does do a lot of work up the ground anyway.

Presuming the reserves are playing in Victoria, wouldn't Spencer be named in the reserves so he doesn't have to travel up to Queensland, thus making him available for Melbourne if needed?

I pray the day Melbourne needs Spencer never comes

It's encouraging that Aussie didn't explode into a million pieces when stepped out onto the field.

Gysberts in the bests is also very encouraging.

That was gold! gee I hope Aussie gets a good run with injury now, we could use his xfactor and pace.

im more excited with miller being in the bests, with 3 goals, :) so it is not that unlikely that miller is gonna come in. Also Cheney in the bests AGAIN, that man better get a game soon

G'day Gents,

i had a look at the game on the weekend, so thought i'd let you know how the lads went.

although i wouldn't say he was the best on ground, Miller did play a good second half when he was moved forward, after spending the first in the backline with little success. lead hard, marked strong, will surely be the replacement for Petterd should his shoulder rule him out.

Johnson was terrific in the ruck, dominated with his size advantage, but also had a good second effort, a few times roving his own tap.

Gysberts was really good i thought, got better and better as the game went on. could clearly see what his draft scouting report said about his one touch and clean hands, few times logic said he shouldnt have taken the ball cleanly, but by the time logic got done talking, he'd already kicked the ball.

Strauss ... that boot of his is amazing

Cheney gets a special mention for stitching up Nathan Ablett numerous times despite a big height disadvantage, although NAblett is a massive spud

Watts has very little confidence in himself, you can tell when he has a shot for goal, he takes a really long time, all three of his attempts he got the hurry up from the umpire, his first he kicked into the man on the mark, second shanked off the side of his boot, but the third was an absolute ripper. he did improve in the last quarter, got more of the ball, backed himself a few times, and he seemed to process things better and manufacture some time for himself to get rid of the ball.

Newton did some good things, did some bad things, did some stupid things

any others you want to know ... just ask

I am really really looking forward to seeing Gysberts play AFL - he has had consistent glowing reviews in the VFL so his time will come soon. Round 11 vs Carlton? ;)

Wouldn't be suprised to see quite a long interchange bench named this week.

Watts has very little confidence in himself, you can tell when he has a shot for goal, he takes a really long time, all three of his attempts he got the hurry up from the umpire, his first he kicked into the man on the mark, second shanked off the side of his boot, but the third was an absolute ripper. he did improve in the last quarter, got more of the ball, backed himself a few times, and he seemed to process things better and manufacture some time for himself to get rid of the ball.

Very different to what Gotch said on the MFC site:

Jack Watts -
Jack did some outstanding things, as we know he can do, and it’s just that repeated effort stuff that we want from him and need to keep working on. He kicked a goal himself and assisted in a few other goals. He moved around, and worked hard up the ground. He uncharacteristically missed a couple of goals in the second quarter, but in the last quarter we needed him to kick one, and he did. He’s got some class, and it was another step in the right direction this week.

Was your assessment tough on him or was their assessment a little fan friendly?

a little from column a, a little from column b i think. i probably was pretty hard on him, but as much as we all know he's a KPP and will take time to develop his body into the position and all that, you wanna see some good attack on the footy and intensity at the contest, which i think he lacked. although he's not yet a big bruiser, he's not small, and should still be able to throw his weight around more than he did. that being said, i can understand the coach's positive comments, he lead up well and when he kept his hands on the ball took a strong mark, and as i said, got a lot more of the ball in the last and used it well, so certainly some good signs.

interesting decision to be made as far as a Petterd replacement, form would suggest Miller the clear option, but showing some faith in Jack and giving him a crack might not be the worst thing in the world as at this stage, you dont know what he'll give you, where as you know that Miller will just frustrate you