2nds VFL Round 2 - Werribee 86 def Collingwood 78

• Thread starter Thread starter mattys123

Really hard to make many comments on tonight's match. This is due to it being a night match and it being extremely difficult to know which player is making the play. I will however try to offer some insight onto what I saw this evening about the players I could actually make out.

Paine - Presents and leads pretty well and contests quite hard. Took some nice grabs but really let himself down with his goal kicking again unfortunately. In the second quarter he missed a soda from a set shot 15 metres out directly in front. This was after Mooney single handedly caused a turnover in our forward 50 and kicked it long to Paine. :(

Oxley - Did some very nice things and looks a very likely type. He looks like he will make the grade at AFL in good time. As SchuPie already stated previously, took a brilliant one handed mark running with the flight of the ball jumping in front of a pack.

Mooney - Brilliant line breaking again tonight and I've already mentioned his effort to set Paine up for a shot on goal. I was particularly pleased with his skills, which was a nice change from last week. I don't recall any terrible disposals.

Witts - Thought he was serviceable to good tonight, without the same forward presence of last week. Took some nice marks, especially in defence and produced some hitouts to advantage. Late in the third Witts was right in front of me on the outer wing. To be honest he looked absolutely stuffed and looked as if he was jogging on the spot. To be fair though, Majak looked exactly the same. I thought he was Majak's equal tonight without question. Both players had an influence on the game. In my opinion he might play two matches this year against GWS and the Suns.

Krakouer - Looked reasonably sharp tonight and played in the middle for much of the night. He was on fire in the third quarter and in absolutely everything. I reckon one more match and he could come back on Anzac day.

Didak - Played on a wing for most of the night. He played wide of his man all night and just went about his business generating play, linking up and providing an option as much as possible. His skills and decision making were generally top notch again. I still think he mat struggle to get selected at this stage. Maybe Anzac day but more likely Round 6 against the Saints.

Seedsman - Played what I would call a good game of half back tonight. Seemed to get plenty of the pill but continuously tries to do too much. I think he would be a much better player if he took the first option more often instead of trying to get out of trouble with his pace.

J.Thomas - Was pretty good tonight and kicked a beautiful long running goal in the third quarter. Took the ball in the centre of the ground, summed up the situation perfectly seeing he had no one in front of him, took responsibility to carry the ball, have a couple of bounces and slot the ball through. Great prospect in the future if he continues to build his confidence and remain injury free.

Gault - Time to move him out of defence. He doesn't look suited to defence so I'm not sure what the club is planning for him long term.

Williams - Didn't notice him much tonight to be fair but he did win a nice contest on the outer wing and won a free kick. Won't be playing seniors any time soon from what I saw.

That's about all I can contribute sorry. It was really hard to see everything and I appreciate there were quite a few more players that many here would want to read how they fared. To put it simply, I don't want to review a player if I didn't really notice them that much. Apologies if I didn't cover a player anyone is particularly interested in.

Thanks, PP.
I'm also hoping that Gault gets moved forward at some point, but with Richmond and Paine there [and until this week Witts] it may just be a team balance thing right now.
I know he played there last year too, but with Keeffe set to return before too long, it's going to get crowded.

Witts - Thought he was serviceable to good tonight, without the same forward presence of last week. Took some nice marks, especially in defence and produced some hitouts to advantage. Late in the third Witts was right in front of me on the outer wing. To be honest he looked absolutely stuffed and looked as if he was jogging on the spot. To be fair though, Majak looked exactly the same. I thought he was Majak's equal tonight without question. Both players had an influence on the game. In my opinion he might play two matches this year against GWS and the Suns.
That sounds good, considering Majak is an amazing athlete. Was Witt's skills better than Majak's?

I couldn't say his skills were better than Majak's, not noticeably anyway. I thought he competed very well and I don't recall Majak getting free and running him around too much.

I think that is part of the reason Majak lingers in the magoos. Yes he's an amazing athlete, but he doesn't seem to try and use that to his advantage nearly often enough. His workrate isn't where it should be for an athlete of his ilk for mine.

This game should be wonderful for Witts' development! He had to work so hard all night as our sole ruckman and he never ceased to give his all.

Wits isn't quite there yet and ready to be our #1 ruck but he is coming along nicely. Another season, followed by another solid preseason, Witts should be ready to step in and take the #1 ruck duties when required.

Really hard to make many comments on tonight's match. This is due to it being a night match and it being extremely difficult to know which player is making the play. I will however try to offer some insight onto what I saw this evening about the players I could actually make out.

Paine - Presents and leads pretty well and contests quite hard. Took some nice grabs but really let himself down with his goal kicking again unfortunately. In the second quarter he missed a soda from a set shot 15 metres out directly in front. This was after Mooney single handedly caused a turnover in our forward 50 and kicked it long to Paine. :(

Oxley - Did some very nice things and looks a very likely type. He looks like he will make the grade at AFL in good time. As SchuPie already stated previously, took a brilliant one handed mark running with the flight of the ball jumping in front of a pack.

Mooney - Brilliant line breaking again tonight and I've already mentioned his effort to set Paine up for a shot on goal. I was particularly pleased with his skills, which was a nice change from last week. I don't recall any terrible disposals.

Krakouer - Looked reasonably sharp tonight and played in the middle for much of the night. He was on fire in the third quarter and in absolutely everything. I reckon one more match and he could come back on Anzac day.

Didak - Played on a wing for most of the night. He played wide of his man all night and just went about his business generating play, linking up and providing an option as much as possible. His skills and decision making were generally top notch again. I still think he mat struggle to get selected at this stage. Maybe Anzac day but more likely Round 6 against the Saints.

Seedsman - Played what I would call a good game of half back tonight. Seemed to get plenty of the pill but continuously tries to do too much. I think he would be a much better player if he took the first option more often instead of trying to get out of trouble with his pace.

J.Thomas - Was pretty good tonight and kicked a beautiful long running goal in the third quarter. Took the ball in the centre of the ground, summed up the situation perfectly seeing he had no one in front of him, took responsibility to carry the ball, have a couple of bounces and slot the ball through. Great prospect in the future if he continues to build his confidence and remain injury free.

Gault - Time to move him out of defence. He doesn't look suited to defence so I'm not sure what the club is planning for him long term.

Williams - Didn't notice him much tonight to be fair but he did win a nice contest on the outer wing and won a free kick. Won't be playing seniors any time soon from what I saw.

That's about all I can contribute sorry. It was really hard to see everything and I appreciate there were quite a few more players that many here would want to read how they fared. To put it simply, I don't want to review a player if I didn't really notice them that much. Apologies if I didn't cover a player anyone is particularly interested in.

Thanks for the detailed write up much appreciated mate.

Thanks, PP.
I'm also hoping that Gault gets moved forward at some point, but with Richmond and Paine there [and until this week Witts] it may just be a team balance thing right now.
I know he played there last year too, but with Keeffe set to return before too long, it's going to get crowded.

Wouldn't hurt for Richmond to play a year on the best VFL forwards and learn how the go about it then move back to the fwd line next season.

Same could be said for Mooney sit him on the best mids and small fwds for a year let him follow them around and see how they go about it.

If we could turn Mooney into a mid his pace would break open games from the center.

i meant to write a report up for last weeks game as well but didnt get a chance as watching some junior footy as well.

interesting to read the comments after last nights game that people are starting to see Oxley potential. Smoothe mover who reads play well and he was the same at u18 level. His skill level is v good and he doesnt over play the game. The knock on him was only pace and ability to win own ball but he is looking able to do that. Will be interesting to see if they play him fwd at some stage as where he played mostly at junior footy level. I can see similarity to Fisher but I would suggest he is more a Birchall type.

Re Seedsman i think he is just caught in that transition of VFL and AFL and think he just needs 4 weeks gtd in seniors and you will see him explode. Suspect they were going to do that but a bloke called Sam Dwyer jumped out of nowhere.

And yeah the boy Richmond shows a bit doesnt he.

Is it even possible to trade a rookie?

Yeah it can be done. Jenkins (Essendon-Adelaide) and Sierakowski (Hawthorn-North) are the only two instances of it happening though.

Why would we trade them when they are great depth and on tiny salaries?

Because blokes like playing AFL football. If a trade comes about for either player it won't be Collingwood instigating it. It'll be the player wanting to go to another club for more opportunities.

The reality is that when Keeffe comes back we may also run into that problem with he and Frost. Clubs would kill to have 2 KPD's the quality of the 4 we have so decent offers will come to the two most available in Frost and Keeffe.

Both of the expansions teams would be the biggest threats because they have cash and a lure for each player. GC would bring Keeffe closer to home and Jack's brother Sam plays for GWS....

Also probably the most successful one is Mumford to Sydney.

Sounds like we were pretty competitive, which I'm happy to see. And notes on Kyle Martin? I know he had an outstanding game last week, hope that's continued

Also probably the most successful one is Mumford to Sydney.

Sounds like we were pretty competitive, which I'm happy to see. And notes on Kyle Martin? I know he had an outstanding game last week, hope that's continued

Don't know how I forgot Mumford!

The reality is that when Keeffe comes back we may also run into that problem with he and Frost. Clubs would kill to have 2 KPD's the quality of the 4 we have so decent offers will come to the two most available in Frost and Keeffe.

... and I guess Hartley could be thrown in as well. Sure, we haven't seen what he is capable of yet, but it does mean that we are carrying 5 KPBs on our list, and there's not a huge generational spread.

Yeah it can be done. Jenkins (Essendon-Adelaide) and Sierakowski (Hawthorn-North) are the only two instances of it happening though.

Because blokes like playing AFL football. If a trade comes about for either player it won't be Collingwood instigating it. It'll be the player wanting to go to another club for more opportunities.

Both of the expansions teams would be the biggest threats because they have cash and a lure for each player. GC would bring Keeffe closer to home and Jack's brother Sam plays for GWS....

This is very true and I think a situation we can play to our benefit. We will have issues in the future replacing Ball and Swan and may need a key forward post Lynch as well depending on player development. If we lose one of those players to an expansion team I think we can get good compensation and address another list need.

... and I guess Hartley could be thrown in as well. Sure, we haven't seen what he is capable of yet, but it does mean that we are carrying 5 KPBs on our list, and there's not a huge generational spread.
So who's the best option to try fwd. Lynch would only have a year or two left and Paine is not guaranteed.

interesting to read the comments after last nights game that people are starting to see Oxley potential. Smoothe mover who reads play well and he was the same at u18 level. His skill level is v good and he doesnt over play the game. The knock on him was only pace and ability to win own ball but he is looking able to do that. Will be interesting to see if they play him fwd at some stage as where he played mostly at junior footy level. I can see similarity to Fisher but I would suggest he is more a Birchall type.
Re Seedsman i think he is just caught in that transition of VFL and AFL and think he just needs 4 weeks gtd in seniors and you will see him explode. Suspect they were going to do that but a bloke called Sam Dwyer jumped out of nowhere.
And yeah the boy Richmond shows a bit doesnt he.

Re Oxley: Fisher or Birchall-like? Sounds good to me - look forward to seeing him play.
Seeds was disappointing last week, but is better than that. [The likes of] Seedy and Sam Dwyer may make it possible to bring Didak and Krakouer along more slowly than they might have been last year and that should be good for the whole club.
BTW, Krak has clearly fallen away fitness-wise, but playing him much more on the ball in the VFL could be really beneficial later. Has he really been given any midfield rotation in the AFL before?
If he makes it back, he could be another one to rotate for a short period with the likes of Swanny.

I always think Paine looks a little short to play the no1 key forward but maybe it's an illusion - the club site says he's 2cm taller than Lynch.

He's improving his fitness and defensive side, which is good. I see him as a [potentially] more potent third forward option than Goldy, rather than a first option.
In any case, Clokey will be around for quite a while and Lynchy looks good for two years or so.