Dave The Man

Collingwood Magpies - Alan Didak 2009 Player Sponsor
Storm,Victory,Blue Jays
Well with the Win/Loss Ratio was not that great, Started slowly but We got some good Couple of Wins - Espically beating Reigning Premiers down at Kadina Park.

Those the Idea of the 1st Season was Development of Players and I caught that a Success with Deubting Players coming in and Doing well in:
Dawes
Wellingham
McCarthy
Cook

So I think was Good Season but I would like the VFL Team to be a Finals team because if the AFL team is Going for a Flag then I would like the Reserves to be still playing for just in case.

Your Thoughts on the VFL Team 1st Season?

It was pretty much just a 'feeling out' year for the VFL boys and there was a definate improvement as the year progressed.

I think in the off season the Pies will look to recruit some of the talented VFL players fro other clubs to make sure that our youngsters are surounded and supported by the right people.

Quick question. Is there a salary cap for the VFL? Do we have a limit on how much we can spend on our top-up players?

I'm sure that there must be, but surely many of the lesser VFL would be able to match the spending budget of the Pies.

I'm not saying we should go out and buy every decent VFL player, but surely with our resouces we should be able to get some good VFL talent to surround our own.

It was pretty much just a 'feeling out' year for the VFL boys and there was a definate improvement as the year progressed.

I think in the off season the Pies will look to recruit some of the talented VFL players fro other clubs to make sure that our youngsters are surounded and supported by the right people.

Quick question. Is there a salary cap for the VFL? Do we have a limit on how much we can spend on our top-up players?

I'm sure that there must be, but surely many of the lesser VFL would be able to match the spending budget of the Pies.

I'm not saying we should go out and buy every decent VFL player, but surely with our resouces we should be able to get some good VFL talent to surround our own.

We will probably get a little bit more talent, but not heaps. The problem is that if we have a full list to choose from, then there is pretty much no room for non AFL listed players. We are rarely going to decide not to play a listed player instead because that is bad for their development. That is why we went with a VFL side in the first place.

Therefore, any "decent quality" players will still have to risk being sat out and not playing VFL footy if we have no injuries.

I imagine we will improve next year as our young players get better, but we will never be a consistent challenger because wnning isn't the focus.

We will probably get a little bit more talent, but not heaps. The problem is that if we have a full list to choose from, then there is pretty much no room for non AFL listed players. We are rarely going to decide not to play a listed player instead because that is bad for their development. That is why we went with a VFL side in the first place.

Therefore, any "decent quality" players will still have to risk being sat out and not playing VFL footy if we have no injuries.

I imagine we will improve next year as our young players get better, but we will never be a consistent challenger because wnning isn't the focus.

Too true mate.

I forgot that if we have a full side to choose from there's hardly any room for VFL listed players!

Hopefully we can upgrade on the few we had this year.