VFL VFL Team

Surely they will play some games at Bellerive against the standalone AFL reserve teams once it becomes available after all the cricket is finished.

It would look bizarre if the Devils VFL team is playing at North Hobart and Clarence is playing at Bellerive.
North Hobart heaps better atmosphere for crowds that size place will pump

There is a open to the public intra squad practice game this Saturday 12pm at Brighton.

Having smashed the 2's in the first half it levelled up in the 3rd quarter and I didn't hang around for the 4th.

The Devils vs Werribee on Saturday, March 7 at 2.10pm (at RMIT Bundoora in Melbourne) will be a massive step up and will test defensive structures and I think only having 1 preseason game against VFL opposition is a bold choice for a new club.

Having smashed the 2's in the first half it levelled up in the 3rd quarter and I didn't hang around for the 4th.

The Devils vs Werribee on Saturday, March 7 at 2.10pm (at RMIT Bundoora in Melbourne) will be a massive step up and will test defensive structures and I think only having 1 preseason game against VFL opposition is a bold choice for a new club.
Interesting to see how it plays out though. Anyone in Victoria going?

The VFL jumper has been revealed
I don't hate it but I think it's a bit underwhelming.
Nitpicky I know but I reckon the devils emblem gets a bit lost in the design a bit.
Seen worse though.

I like it, but it does somehow look a little bit VFL-y. I think we can do better for the AFL entry but could certainly be worse too.

Really close game today with a strong wind favouring one team each quarter.

Werribee opened kicking with the wind and were up a couple goals at quarter time, before we had the advantage in the 2nd, leaving the scores dead even at the half.

At 3QT, Werribee took the lead again, meaning Tassie had to start strong in the 4th with the breeze on their side. Unfortunately at the start of the 4th, Werribee managed to kick about 3 quick goals to just about ice the game. Tassie rallied hard in the final minutes, kicking several quick ones, but the lead was too much at that point to catch up.

Very even throughout, with that lapse of concentration at the start of the 4th proving the difference.

Menzies and Payne looked a cut above all day. Payne very vocal throughout and played really agro. Also got a bit angry at our own players at times.

Siggins was a leader out there and dominated. Cox-Goodyer also awesome, albeit playing limited game time I thought.

Lachlan Hay was everywhere, probably our best. Had no idea who he was beforehand but kept looking up who #39 was when he did great things.

Jack Callinan looked to be playing in the backline and took a couple great intercept marks.

#2 Jed Hagan stood out to me a few times, particularly after half time

Other than that, I didn't know many of the other players yet. But everyone gelled remarkably well considering we took it up to one of the VFLs best teams.

Really close game today with a strong wind favouring one team each quarter.

Werribee opened kicking with the wind and were up a couple goals at quarter time, before we had the advantage in the 2nd, leaving the scores dead even at the half.

At 3QT, Werribee took the lead again, meaning Tassie had to start strong in the 4th with the breeze on their side. Unfortunately at the start of the 4th, Werribee managed to kick about 3 quick goals to just about ice the game. Tassie rallied hard in the final minutes, kicking several quick ones, but the lead was too much at that point to catch up.

Very even throughout, with that lapse of concentration at the start of the 4th proving the difference.

Menzies and Payne looked a cut above all day. Payne very vocal throughout and played really agro. Also got a bit angry at our own players at times.

Siggins was a leader out there and dominated. Cox-Goodyer also awesome, albeit playing limited game time I thought.

Lachlan Hay was everywhere, probably our best. Had no idea who he was beforehand but kept looking up who #39 was when he did great things.

Jack Callinan looked to be playing in the backline and took a couple great intercept marks.

#2 Jed Hagan stood out to me a few times, particularly after half time

Other than that, I didn't know many of the other players yet. But everyone gelled remarkably well considering we took it up to one of the VFLs best teams.
I thought the team we played against yesterday were lower half (won 7 of 18) last year ?

The Devils VFL page on Facebook posted the Mercury match report, which was extremely positive regarding the team and individual efforts but mentioned some growing pains around team defence which makes perfect sense.

I thought the team we played against yesterday were lower half (won 7 of 18) last year ?

The Devils VFL page on Facebook posted the Mercury match report, which was extremely positive regarding the team and individual efforts but mentioned some growing pains around team defence which makes perfect sense.
I don't think anyone expects us to finish in the top half of the ladder, so to be right in it in literally our first hitout as a club is a great result.

How quick do people think tickets will sell for Tassie's first vfl game?..... I understand it's only second tier level footy but obviously been our first vfl game leading in to our afl team, I think numbers will be a lot bigger that usually expected in vfl.

Unknown but would get in quick, Onsale 12pm March 10.

Please note there has been a change to the date of our Round 2 clash against Port Melbourne at UTAS Stadium in Launceston.

The match was originally scheduled for Sunday, March 29, but will now be played at 12.05pm on Saturday, March 28.

As a heads up, leading up to the VFL games we’ll be starting a new thread for previews and game day. If you’re happy to contribute a preview each week, please do.

Drew up a template for the Devils' draw this season. Wondering if there will be any double headers - you can see they've scheduled the R05 game in the hope that people will drive to Hobart when the Hawks v Suns is finished! The Box Hill/Melbourne weekend hasn't been set in stone yet, and there's an away trip to GWS on the same weekend GWS plays WC at home...

What I'm hoping against hope is that Brisbane do something they've never done (GC has), and schedule their home game v Tassie in Cairns or even Townsville...

1773007681747.webp