VFL v WAFL State Game

OK Swannies, so this is the Vic Squad (extended squad only) with a brief description of each player (is from this weeks 'Inside Football').

Stewart Crameri (Bendigo Bombers): Bendigo product has improved sharply since winning an Essendon rookie listing.

Marcus Marigliani (Bendigo Bombers): The Essendon rookie and former Frankston Dolphin will provide strength, skill and will to the midfield.

Trent Shinners (Bendigo Bombers): On-The-Rise defender who appeals as a good selection.

Luke Breust (Box Hill Hawks): The Hawthorn rookie and dazzling small forward picks himself following a splendid start to 2010. Can kick miraculous goals.

Ed Curnow (Box Hill Hawks): Ever busy midfielder on course for another AFL listing.

Cameron Pederson (Box Hill Hawks): Long striding and strong marking tall, versatile enough to play any position.

Danny Nicholls (Casey Scorpions): The former Collingwood rover has been a supurb pick up for Casey, averaging 28 possessions.

James Wall (Casey Scorpions): Rangy and flexible, the former Swan and Saint is among the most consistent players in VFL level.

Justin Kahlefeldt (Coburg Tigers): Ex - Southport best and fairest and premiership player in line for a midfield role.

Nick Carnell (Coburg Tigers): Plays with a 'get-out-of-my-way' simplicity, but has a touch of class too. Coburg's captain and braveheart.

Jarryd Blair (Collingwood VFL): Little man making good progress as an AFL rookie.

Kris Pendlebury (Collingwood VFL): Broth of Scott but making his own name as an accomplished defender.

Michael Hibberd (Frankston Dolphins): Bouncy running defender with a sense of adventure and a splash of brilliance.

Johnathan Simpkin (Geelong VFL): Ex-Sydney player who would probably be leading the VFL Cats B&F.

Steve Clifton (North Ballarat Roosters): Gun midfielder who was a central figure in the roosters 2008-2009 premierships. As with American Express, the Vics can't leave home without him. [:D]

Myles Sewell (North Ballarat Roosters): 2009 JJ Liston Trophy winner and AFL prospect. Accumulates possessions like some people accumulates stamps. [:D]

Orren Stephenson (North Ballarat Roosters): The best ruckmen in the VFL by the length of the western highway. Should be on an AFL list.

Ash Arrowsmith (Northern Bullants): Ex-West Coast rookie who has a splash of class. Would be a good foil for the spearhead.

Adam Iacobucci (Northern Bullants): A tireless midfielder who couldn't play a bad game if he tried. A jet at VFL level.

Jarrod Mckorkell (Northern Bullants): Skilled and dashing flanker/onballer. Won best and fairest in the WAFL.

Adam Bentick (Port Melbourne): Former bluebagger will play as a crafty, ball winning midfielder.

Stephen Brewer (Port Melbourne): Outstanding running defender whose left foot counts as a lethal weapon.

Toby Pinwill (Port Melbourne): Midfielder as tough as they come. you couldn't hurt him with an iron bar.

James Magner (Sandringham Zebras): Like Pinwill, as hard as bone, Possibly isn't room in the side for both of them.

Shane Tregear (Sandringham Zebras): Half forward who is good overhead and boots the ball sweetly indeed. Worth taking.

Ben Davies (Williamstown Seagulls): Full-Of-Dash midfielder suited to Leederville [WAFL venue].

Peter Faulks (Williamstown Seagulls): Has more substance than stylem but he's elite defensively and attacks when the chance presents.

Brett Johnson (Williamstown Seagulls): Seagulls' captain has been a mighty VFL player and had state duties in 2007 and 2008.

Matthew Little (Williamstown Seagulls): The former Hawk leads the league goalkicking and will probably get the nod...

Patrick Rose (Williamstown Seagulls): Started out at Willy as a goalsneak but now a midfielder and a Bulldogs rookie.

**NOTE: Sam Gibson (Box Hill Hawks) and Matt Tyler (North Balarat Roosters) have been ommited from the squad through injury. 178cm running defender Michael Stockdale (Casey Scorpions) has been added for Matt Tyler, Cory McGrath (Port Melbourne) has been added to the squad as a replacement for Sam Gibson**

Any ways: A brief starting line up for you guys..

Backs: Michael Hibberd - Kris Pendlebury - Peter Faulks

Half Backs: James Wall - Trent Shinners - Stephen Brewer

Centre: Nick Carnell - Brett Johnson - Steve Clifton

Half Forwards: Shane Tregear - Cameron Pederson - Brett Johnson (C)

Forwards: Patrick Rose - Matthew Little - Ashley Arrowsmith

Rucks: Orren Stephenson - Marcus Marigliani - Myles Sewell

Rest on the bench/emergencies..

there you go swannies. hopefully that the Vics actually line up a bit better than my ruched side I have put together..

Any chance you could tape the game and send it to me? I gotta work :mad:

Victorian team as published in the Herald-Sun this morning:

B: Cory McGrath, Jarrod Dalton, Stephen Brewer
HB: Michael Stockdale, Peter Faulks, Adam Iacobucci
C: Ben Davies, Myles Sewell, James Wall
HF: Jarrod McCorkell, Cameron Pederson, Marcus Marigilani
F: Patrick Rose, Matthew Little, Luke Breust
R: Orren Stephenson, Brett Johnson (c), Stephen Clifton
Int: Ed Curnow, Toby Pinwill, Jarryd Blair, Kris Pendlebury, Jonothan Simpkin, Adam Bentick

Any word on the final WAFL team line-up, can't seem to find it anywhere?

That's the problem with the obsession with the AFL ben, not a lot of coverage, or respect, is given to the WAFL here, don't know about the VFL in Melbourne though?

the wafl gets far more exposure in perth than the vfl gets in melbourne...

as for the game, the vics are dominating, up by heaps at half time...

Dissapointing performance from WA

Vic were to strong and too skillful for the helpless WA outfit.

It was interesting to see quite a few supporters turn on WA at the three quarter time huddle. "It's a sad, sad day for WA football" was among the calls while dimmer was trying to talk. Some so angry that they had to be ushered away by secruity, it was actually quite ugly.

Well done to Luke Blackwell and Luke Webster, just about the only two players who could walk off the field with their heads held high.
A few goals in the last quarter made the scoarboard more respectable on a dismal day all-round.

I am a WA supporter through and through, but today even I had to question the commitment and pride in the jumper.

So true mate, the VFL gets no much coverage here in Melbourne hence why I get Inside Football for a double page spread each week.

Tipped VFL by about 30 points so no real surprise on the result though the margin was pretty severe. Much better side on paper, I think they'll give the SANFL a helluva run next year if not beat us. We don't have the quality we had in 2008. Looking forward to it.

The smart move by the selectors was rewarding the 3 clubs who have been consistantly at the top over the past few years. From what I could see the North Ballarat, Williamstown and Port Melbourne coaches were involved with the team and they basically had the guts of NBs midfield, Willys forward line and Ports defence.

Well HFF07, you showed us, once again, how to play tight, hard, wet, contested footy. Congrats to the bigV and hopefully we can provide a better match at some stage in the near future.

How has Myles Sewell escaped the recruiters net so far? Worried he's not quick enough?

Well HFF07, you showed us, once again, how to play tight, hard, wet, contested footy. Congrats to the bigV and hopefully we can provide a better match at some stage in the near future.

How has Myles Sewell escaped the recruiters net so far? Worried he's not quick enough?

Yeah, i think the bigger bodied midfielder certainly helped..

Did you record the match Swannies??

Any players catch your eye?

Michael Stockdale would look so good at Essendon IMO.

How bout Myles Sewell, will be picked up this year, guaranteed!

Some of these older heads could almost get a look into AFL again.

I personally would love to watch the game but can't afford the downloads it comes with watching it on here :eek:

I had recorded it yes, but after forcing myself to watch it I think I have deleted it. :eek:

Was impressed with Stockdale early. Little was better than I thought he was. McCorkell, well I remembered him from his year here for Perth FC and he's pretty good. Sewell was good and Johnson, well he just made me more peed off that he hadn't come back to Swan Districts after his AFL stint!:p

VFL v WAFL State Game