VFL vs. Sandringham

• Thread starter Thread starter Fall Out Boy

F

Fall Out Boy

Don't usually do this, but for those who didn't read it elsewhere, my rundown on our performance today.

Sandringham 10:13 73 vs Geelong 22:14 146

Great win today, albeit against an undersized and outclassed opposition.
We rested a few guys in the second half (Chambers and Lonergan amongst them) and gave some of the top ups a run.

Nathan came off halfway through the second quarter with a sore left knee (went into the game with it already taped).
He came off unassisted and was able to limp into the rooms at half time, but looks in quite a deal of pain when the doc was looking at it.
He told the doc that he didn't know when he'd hurt it, but he was struggling to move laterally.
Doc iced it for a while, then went with bandages. Didn't see Nathan after halftime.

Goalkickers: Garth 4, Chambers 3, Lonergan, Trenfield, D Byrne, Graham 2, Callan, Prismall, Rahilly, Batchelor, Sheringham, Torney, Bett 1.
Best: Batchelor, Chambers, Egan, Garth, Callan, Sheringham, Bett.

A quick rundown on those who made an impression on me:

Matthew Egan - A class above any of the forwards he played on. Body work was excellent and loved his long left foot.

Jarrod Garth -Kid is built like a brick ********house and can really take a mark.
Ended the day with 4.6, and handed another couple off (Could easily have ended with 10 goals).
Really has a future if he stays fit and keeps the weight off.

Paul Chambers - Absolutely dominated in his time on the ground. Won most of the hitouts and went forward to kick a few goals.
Shame he only played a bit over a half

Nick Batchelor - Clearly BOG in my eyes. Gave Chad Liddell a royal pantsing, kicked 1.2 and had a hand in at least three others (his centre to Garth in the second quarter brought back memories of Mark Bairstow).
Runs all day, has courage coming out of every orifice and chases as hard as anyone on the list.
Still looks a little lost at times though (when sitting out on a wing), struggles to know where he should be positioned.

Tim Sheringham - Hereby annointed 'T-Smoove'. Boy moves like a Ferrari and really knows how to win the footy. Will make it.

Jay Bett - Know nothing about him, but he came on to replace Nathan and showed a bit.
Has an enormous leap on him, is good below his knees, and even spent some time in the ruck where he was competitive.

On a side note, great to see so many of the senior boys and coaching staff there.
In my travels i saw Steven Hocking, Mark Thompson, Ken Hinkley, Andy Lovell, Ron Watt and Garry Davidson.
Of the players, Kane Tenace, James Kelly and Shannon Byrnes came together (i seriously mistook Byrnes for a 13yo in the food queue at the half, so bloody small. Good taste in music he has though).
Koula and Monica were sitting on the wing all day, whilst Kingy (the tea cosy and thongs is a good look) and Sando were in the rooms at the half.
Was also nice to see Aaron Greaves having a chat with some of the boys before leaving (he played in the curtain-raiser for St. Joeys).

Good report Phat. I agree totally on those best players although I put mine in a slightly different order.

What you say about Bachelor is spot on. He has the skills and the mobility/athletism to be a player, all he needs is another 10kgs. I'm nearly certain on what I saw last week and this week that he will be promoted at some stage off the rookie list. He's very exciting to watch.

Egan did a terrific job in defence, Sheringham really rebounded well out of the back half. I though Buckland was pretty good also.

And I was also impressed with seeing your coach Mark Thompson there, along with other assistants and a handful of your players. As a Melbourne supporter the only person from our club I saw was Jared Rivers.

Who was number 10 for Sandy, footyman?

He wasn't on the list, but impressed me.

BTW Your assistant, Anthony Rock, was there watching the game with his family.

phat said:
Jarrod Garth -Kid is built like a brick ********house and can really take a mark.
Ended the day with 4.6, and handed another couple off (Could easily have ended with 10 goals).
Really has a future if he stays fit and keeps the weight off.....

phat , could you give me a bit more on this kid.Is he another kid brought to club that is a crook set shot or were they rushed on the run from poor positions etc. Built like a rock but does he mark like a rock too , anchored to the ground. You mentioned Greeves , how does he compare?
Like what Ive seen of "the single man" , where do you see him playing?

phat said:
Who was number 10 for Sandy, footyman?

He wasn't on the list, but impressed me.

BTW Your assistant, Anthony Rock, was there watching the game with his family.
Peter Summers, was listed as #17 but wore #10. He did some good things. Ex Essendon rookie from 2004.

Thanks for the info about Anthony Rock. Nice to know we had an assistant coach there at least.

Turbocat said:
phat , could you give me a bit more on this kid.Is he another kid brought to club that is a crook set shot or were they rushed on the run from poor positions etc.

He looks to be a good solid shot for goal with a good technique. Certainly better than McCarthy, Playfair etc.
He had one hit the post, and a couple of the points were from snaps after getting the handball near the boundary.

Happy with his kicking.

Turbocat said:
Built like a rock but does he mark like a rock too , anchored to the ground.

Nah, he's got quite a decent leap on him and is quick on the lead.

He's very solid across the chest, but isn't overly tall and isn't overly thick through the torso either.
He's not your usual FF (probably why he didn't get drafted) type, but being a bit smaller allows him to have some genuine agility and ground skills.

Turbocat said:
You mentioned Greeves , how does he compare?

Totally different types. Greaves is a tall strong FF type whereas Jenny is more unconventional.
Garth has better hands and more versatility.

Turbocat said:
Like what Ive seen of "the single man" , where do you see him playing?

He was born to be a wingman.

Great leg speed, Ling-like tank and solid disposal.

When he bulks up a bit he will spend more time in the guts, but right now he's just a perfect fit as a traditional wingman.

the positives out of the game for me were mainly garth and sheringham.
garth is a really good forward and there is nothing IMO to suggest he wont be able to step up to AFL level, his kicking accuracy to today is probably abit unfair on him as he is a pretty good kick and most were near misses from difficult positions. he is a really strong, one grab mark who always put himself in the right positions. if he were to step up to the seniors i see him playing a kent kingsley role and at the moment i reckon eh would do a better job.
sheringham also impressed me today, he is a real class player and moves like a rolls royce. not much doubt in my mind that he will be promoted eventually.
prismall and callan were also both good and should play seniors sooner rather than later.

Thanks Phat. Nice report. I'm a bit of fan of Batchelor, was rapt that he slipped through to us in the rookie draft as thought of him as a late draft pick. Stitched up the highly rated Morton ( Eagles f/s draft) but struggled with tag next U/18 game. Blistering pace and as you pointed out plenty of grunt for one so matchstick thin. Sort of reminded me a bit of a skinny Greg Anderson. Will prob. need this year to develop but should get a 2nd rookie year at least. The other 2 new rookies going o.k. too.
How did Prismall go? Also struggling to understand why Callan is still in the magoos.
Also any news on S.Johnno,was meant to be eased back a week or 2 ago but have heard nothing.

cats56 said:
How did Prismall go?

Prismall didn't have a great day, but you can tell his skills are well above VFL level.

There are definite similarities between he and the former #32, although i'd say Pris is a bit smarter.

good report phat, looks like we have plenty of good kids coming thrugh, and with the depth we have in the ones could we see a good year from our side in the vfl. maybe 2 flags for geelong.

phat said:
Prismall didn't have a great day, but you can tell his skills are well above VFL level.

There are definite similarities between he and the former #32, although i'd say Pris is a bit smarter.
Which former 32? Moloney or Hocking?