Eastcoasteagle

Chelsea FC
I always take a keen interest in the draft each year, below is my thoughts on how it may pan out.

1 Bris - LDU: Brisbane go for the big body midfielder here that can play straight away, looks to have future leadership qualities as well and someone that could flourish under Hodge.

2 Freo - Rayner: Best player in the pool, Freo have a pretty stacked midfield already so they'd view Rayner as a forward for his early years whilst he builds his tank.

3 Carl - Cerra: Class player, could flip a coin with Dow here. But Cerra looks more classy and think they'll take that especially when they've got Kennedy and Cripps to do the grunt work.

4 Nth - Dow: Think they would've had Stephenson penciled in here, but with Dow available they'd jump on him.

5 Freo - Fogarty: Already got Rayner (Mid/Fwd) the best player in the draft could they go who is second best in the draft. I think they'll go for Fogarty as he can play fwd/mid/Def, probably like Rayner start fwd as a 3rd tall.

6 Coll- Brander: Flip a coin here between Naughton and Brander, gone with Brander as he can play fwd and back.

7 Stk- Stephenson: Saints needs polished ball users, this guy has speed, durable, kicks goals and good ball use.

8 Stk - Brayshaw: Star midfielder of the future, great runner, ball user, kicks goals and for a skinny kid gets plenty of contested footy. Coffield the other they may look at, but with Stephenson already think they'll go Brayshaw.

9 WB - Coffield: Dogs would love to add some speed and good ball use, love this guy and think he'll develop in a great player.

10 Carl - Higgins: Underrated for mine, I wish he'd slip to West Coast but no way he will. Love his energy around the ball and very clean with the footy.

11 GWS - Hayes: Someone who can play in tandem with Lobb, GWS have three core needs; developing half backman, Small fwd and another Ruck. Best available at of all those position is Hayes.

12 Adel - Naughton: Hello Jack Levers replacement, potential to play straight away.

13 WCE - Clark: Thought about this long and hard, Constable Vs Clark as West Coast need both types of midfielder. Went with Clark as I think they'll think that there are similar options to Constable later in the draft (Worpel/Ainsworth)

14 Syd - Constable: Sydney will take Constable to play as a defender originally, can replace Kennedy in the future when he has developed his running. Swans have an immediate need for quality out of the back half and Constable could play straight away.

15 Bris - O'Brien: Already banked an inside mid, time for some quality on the outside.

16 Dogs - Bonar: Why not take the risk, this guy has similar attributes to Stringer.

17 Tigers - Allen: Two years in a row taking the Larke medallist, will be a solid forward for many years for the tigers.

18 Lions - Balladen: I haven't done any academy or F/S bidding, but reckon Lions will have to use one of the first round picks on this guy. Too good to let slip.

19 Gold Coast- L.Fogarty - Again gutted this guy won't slip to West Coast, clean ball user with a smaller frame but tackles his heart out. Once he puts some size on will be a very good midfielder.

20 Tigers - Garner: Garner best available, start as a defender and become a mid.

21 WCE - Worpel: Taking Clark earlier, time to replace Priddis with an inside beast who is a fierce competitor. This guy will start playing next year.

22 Gee - Ling: Mackie/Lang gone they've lost half back flank/outside players. Ling looks very good and perfection first selection for Cats.

23 Nth - Balta: With some good young forwards, time to replace the tall defensive stocks.

24 Gee - Murphy: Geelong would be very happy to secure Murphy as a developing forward.

25 Rich - Naish: Someone will squeeze the Tigers earlier to take Naish.

26 WCE - Bailey: Really like this kid, speed, evasive and hard at it. Could possible start as a small forward next year and in 2 or 3 years start in the middle.

27 GWS -Richards: GWS second need - best small defender.

28 GWS - Spargo: GWS third need - best small forward. If Higgins was available at 11 they'd take him there which would change everything.

29 Melb - Moore: Will start his life as a small fwd and end up a mid. This guy will make the most of his AFL opportunity.

30 Carl - Petrucelle: Loaded with talent, could end up being a star and worth the pick. Needs to work on getting more involved in games.

31 Melb - Wooller: Took a small earlier so now time for a tall forward.

32 WCE- Miers: Behind Higgins best small fwd in the draft, highlighted by 7 goals in TAC Cup granny.

33 Sydney -Ross: Outside midfielder as Swans have tonnes of inside mids.

34 Saints - Petty: Key position defender that can develop over the next 2 - 3 years

35 Geel - Clavarino: Key position defender that can develop over the next 2 - 3 years

36 Melb - Stoddart: Ouside mid/Defender

37 WCE - Starcevich: Fwd/Mid - looks class but the knock is he doesn't get enough of the footy. This guy could develop into a gem.

If Eagles land those guys we are in for some interesting and exciting times ahead.

Swap Worpel and Meirs around as Melbourne are keen on Meirs allegedly. Worpel will still be there at 32 33.

Also Cats need a couple taller defenders to come through so maybe S Taylor as well?

I reckon Worpel will go early twenties, if wce take Miers reckon dees take Bailey. Tough one.

Nielson, Durdin/Mckay and EVW (Plus Tarrant and a lot of general defenders), North won't be needing Balta types anytime soon. A classy and pacy HB, sure. Genuine mids are more needed.

I think Hayes will be a good player but honestly mate we have too many talls.

We need a defensively minded small forward, a quarterback style defender that has some run and some general speed/smarts.

We may take a back up ruckman cheap but I think our first pick will be looking elsewhere.

Great work mate, love the justification.

From a Carlton view, I think Rayner falls to three as I believe he is a flight risk. And I more see Carlton taking Clark at 10 leaving Higgins to fall to GWS. But this is just my uneducated view.

I wouldn't mind that draft for the Eagles. Clark is one that many phantom draft see as an early pickup for West Coast.

Nielson, Durdin/Mckay and EVW (Plus Tarrant and a lot of general defenders), North won't be needing Balta types anytime soon. A classy and pacy HB, sure. Genuine mids are more needed.

Richards might better suit here.

I think Hayes will be a good player but honestly mate we have too many talls.

We need a defensively minded small forward, a quarterback style defender that has some run and some general speed/smarts.

We may take a back up ruckman cheap but I think our first pick will be looking elsewhere.

Just think Higgins and Coffield will already be gone by pick 11, next best half back or small fwds are not worth pick 11. Although agree you've got loads of talls.

Great work mate, love the justification.

From a Carlton view, I think Rayner falls to three as I believe he is a flight risk. And I more see Carlton taking Clark at 10 leaving Higgins to fall to GWS. But this is just my uneducated view.
'If i keep perpetuating this rumour it might come true and we will end up with the best player in the draft'

Not a bad effort mate, personally I hope the Pies go Coffield at 6. Not too keen on Naughton. Brander slightly more interest

Richmond selecting Garner at pick #20 rather than Noah Balta is a real interesting selection as we are desperate for KPP to start to replace Jack Riewoldt & Alex Rance in 4 years and KPP take 3-4 years to develop this would be the draft we would be looking at taking a min 2 KPP.

Oscar Allen at #17 is the best option and Naish is a certainty soe Allen,Balta,Naish trio would have been closer to the mark i believe

If Eagles land those guys we are in for some interesting and exciting times ahead.

Swap Worpel and Meirs around as Melbourne are keen on Meirs allegedly. Worpel will still be there at 32 33.

Also Cats need a couple taller defenders to come through so maybe S Taylor as well?

Geelong don't really need a key defender (taylor probably only has a year or two left but henderson kolo blicavs and gardner/house is probably enough for now and wells has shown a habit for preferring to trade in his talls and draft his smalls anyway). I think unless hayes slides (our kpf stocks are poor so we would probably take the risk with him) we will probably be looking for outside speed and ball use to replace motlop and lang (we have a few hbfs but could use wingers and hffs). I could actually see us taking a risk on kelly although i assume your team will take him in the second round.

I can't see Carlton taking Higgins as they need size in their midfield i don't think gws will take hayes and i think richards and murphy will go earlier than this. Otherwise a good phantom.

Richmond selecting Garner at pick #20 rather than Noah Balta is a real interesting selection as we are desperate for KPP to start to replace Jack Riewoldt & Alex Rance in 4 years and KPP take 3-4 years to develop this would be the draft we would be looking at taking a min 2 KPP.

Oscar Allen at #17 is the best option and Naish is a certainty soe Allen,Balta,Naish trio would have been closer to the mark i believe

Yeah I could definitely see that combo happening.

Not a bad effort mate, personally I hope the Pies go Coffield at 6. Not too keen on Naughton. Brander slightly more interest

YeahI love Coffield and reckon he'd slot in nicely on half back. But you could build a defence around Naughton. Brander could becomr the swingman.