dasler

South Fremantle
Moving on from the former support turned Dockers brigade, I noticed alot of talk about Joondalup as a possible 3rd team, and the Cometti Connection.

How many of us actually still venture along to watch a WAFL game? Heavens know I certainly do.

Seems to be alot of WAFL talk, but the crowds are atrocious these days, unless they venture to see Souths slaughter EF. :D

I still manage to get to 1 or 2, and we have made it a tradition to get to the GF every year regardless of who is playing (or in West Perth's case who is winning it).

WA will never have (nor should we) have a third team.

Tassie for me next or some convoluted deal to relocate a Vic team to the highest bidder.

1 WA footy team and 1 WA Corporate footy body are enough in my books.

The next best thing to going is watch it on TV. We are lucky in the fact that regional WA gets aWAFL game every week in full on the ABC.

There are similarities between the WAFL & Pura Cup IMO. There is tremendous interest but most PPL cannot find the time to go live all the time.

if there was going to be a new afl team it should probably be a third in south australia ( they do have a huge support base for both south aus teams ) then again they may alll be passionate port/crows supporters and wont switch to a new team, in that case possibly a second team in NSW if they can prove that the supporter base is there, the other possibilities are tassie ( don't know if they have the economy ) or a second queensland team ( the supporter interest for brisbane has been growing over there after there succes on the feild, for instance more people watched the GF in brisbane than they did watch the NRL final )

1 WA footy team and 1 WA Corporate footy body are enough in my books <-- Moo

fremantle are not a corporate footy body?

Go to the WAFL every two or three weeks, (balancing up family responsibilities is tough).

Before we start talking about another AFL team, we have to look at the existing set up. I believe 4 Melbourne teams will in the next couple of years, merge / "gobble up" to create 2 teams, thus have 14 teams. Thus expansion will not be required, just consolidation.

Adelaide cannot support 3 teams, sounds nice but is it financially practical?.

Paid up and proud Royals member. Go to every game possible - thank goodness East Perth try to avoid head to head clashes with Eagles games. I have been known to attend a Royals game at EF( or wherever) and rush back to Subi in time for an Eagles game. Simply a matter of changing scarves and jackets in the car:D

Originally posted by port1978
Same here.....don't normally see the whole ressies game though.....

I make sure i do as my mate plays in the ressies ALTHOUGH hes a good chance to play league this season! Last year came back from a year out with a knee injury, Ron Stockdale for Subi FB this year i reckon:P(or HBF)

West Perth in the WAFL, West Coast Eagles in the AFL.

Eagles if it's a live clash, watch Eagles on TV interstate (preferably at the WAFL ground), then WAFL live whenever possible.

It's tough, but somebody has to do it.

No need for a 3rd WA or SA team.

Sadly, I think 2 Melbourne clubs will merge or relocate in the next 5 years, leaving a 14 team competition with a 26 game home and away season and no pre-season cup, just friendlies.

West Perth for me too. Joondalup is a long hike for me, but usually try and make the Perth Derby at Leederville Oval and when they play at Claremont/Subi Oval.

Originally posted by vicki
Go to every game possible - thank goodness East Perth try to avoid head to head clashes with Eagles games. I have been known to attend a Royals game at EF( or wherever) and rush back to Subi in time for an Eagles game. Simply a matter of changing scarves and jackets in the car:D

Same here! But, insert Tigers instead of Royals. Tight for time sometimes, but worth it. Two footy games back to back - what a way to spend a day!

I've said it heaps of times over the years when WAFL has been brought up here - any footy fan who doesn't attend WAFL games is missing out big time. Especially those with kids - what could be better for a little kid than watching ex-AFL stars and sometimes current guys up close, standing in near the players huddle at 1/4 time etc.

Re: Re: WAFL support

Originally posted by WA

I've said it heaps of times over the years when WAFL has been brought up here - any footy fan who doesn't attend WAFL games is missing out big time. Especially those with kids - what could be better for a little kid than watching ex-AFL stars and sometimes current guys up close, standing in near the players huddle at 1/4 time etc.

I agree - also get to listen to the coaches address the players at quarter and three-quarter time. You can't have that experience in the AFL.