Wanted: 1 Ruckman

So what you're saying pretty much is:
You're angry about not getting Warnock even though he's probably a dud?
We are somehow screwing you over by not letting you take him for free via the PSD?
You are going to make us pay for wanting something for him by drafting someone else?
Good plan, carry on.

you're theory reads well except with one critical flaw..
Naitanui is not just another "ruckman". I don't believe we actually have a name yet for the role he will play.
But be assured it will be just as important, if not more, than any single forward, mark my words.

And before you start banging on about how he hasn't proven anything, just remember, Jack is in the exact same row boat mate.

Naitanui will change AFL football.. It's now just up to us whether he does it at Melbourne or our friends over in the west.

you're theory reads well except with one critical flaw..
Naitanui is not just another "ruckman". I don't believe we actually have a name yet for the role he will play.
But be assured it will be just as important, if not more, than any single forward, mark my words.

And before you start banging on about how he hasn't proven anything, just remember, Jack is in the exact same row boat mate.

Naitanui will change AFL football.. It's now just up to us whether he does it at Melbourne or our friends over in the west.

Utility?

The 'Naitanui threat' that Melbourne supporters seem to favour is not really relevant. In all likelihood, West Coast will take him at pick 2 if he's available. Highly unlikely he'd be around at pick 3 regardless of what Warnock does.

This is not another crying about Warnock post.

This is a post about any OTHER RUCKMAN.

For all the frustration and anger at losing Warnock Jr, am I the only one that can see the upside of this?
Warnock was unproven. Completely unproven. Rob went to BGS and, same old story, dominated due to his height. I honestly think Carlton have secured a dud.

BUT

Now we face a new problem. We've seen how ruthless other teams are. We thought we had Rob locked in. No luck. Carlton and Freo have done a deal to screw us over.

Enough IS enough.

We need a ruckman, but we didnt need to pay another ruckman $1 million, especially an unproven one..

The question is, do we use our no.1 pick and select Naitanui who is a dominate ruckman in the WAFL, or do we select a lower down option.
Vickery is out of the question, unless we choose him at no.1, but I doubt he warrants that pick. (he'll be taken before our 2nd rounder)

What other options are out there?

If we were to choose Naitanui though, we could have our own on Fremantle.
By not willing to trade Warnock with us, they inadvertently cost themselves their prized no.1 pick in Naitanui.
MelbourneFC = Ruthless
I am sick of our dismal club not being able to atract a decent player. We have tried for many years now, but we just can't. Starting back from when we drafted a young SA by the name of Darren Jarman. HE DIDN'T WANT TO COME!! And i don't blame them!! Have a look at this dismal club, We are a joke to the AFL and should consider relocating or even better, folding completly.
I actually feel sorry for the young kids on this list as they will never have success at this pathetic club, and i would ask to be traded at any chance. I would rather play for Marybrough reserves. We have no training ground, we have no sponsers, we have no suppoters, havn't won a flag for 50 years and never will again. This is why this pathetic club will never land a big player, and this is why this club will never get a cent out of me again. Just do us all a favour Melbourne.. FOLD.

Name we the last side to win the flag without a power forward.....
West Coast.

I'd argue that a gun midfield with 2 to 3 absolute champions, sprinkled with 1 or 2 good taggers, together with great depth of another 5 - 7 good to very good midfielders will oercome a rubbish bavk and forwardline.

A very good ruckman would then maximise the talents of the mids, and if he's a superstar, he'll be a an extra fre midfielder that your opposition doesn't have.

I am sick of our dismal club not being able to atract a decent player. We have tried for many years now, but we just can't. Starting back from when we drafted a young SA by the name of Darren Jarman. HE DIDN'T WANT TO COME!! And i don't blame them!! Have a look at this dismal club, We are a joke to the AFL and should consider relocating or even better, folding completly.
I actually feel sorry for the young kids on this list as they will never have success at this pathetic club, and i would ask to be traded at any chance. I would rather play for Marybrough reserves. We have no training ground, we have no sponsers, we have no suppoters, havn't won a flag for 50 years and never will again. This is why this pathetic club will never land a big player, and this is why this club will never get a cent out of me again. Just do us all a favour Melbourne.. FOLD.

Bah boo hoo, thanks for contributing to the continuous propblems of the MFC yourself.

Tell me how you rebuild a club, when supporters / members jump ship so often, your apart of the reason the MFC has such a bad name,

Thanks for contributing! :thumbsu:

We've spent much of the afternoon going through this at work, and the last side we can come up with to win the flag without a power forward is Collingwood in 1990. Can't remember if it was the bristle or Dennis Banks at FF.....

Gavin Brown spent most of the year at FF. Banks up at CHF.

On the ruckman side of things, Hampson might have his nose a bit out of joint. Target him maybe.

Are you forgetting about Daicos? Kicked a lazy 97 goals in 1990

Mate, you've done a good job of proving my theory right:thumbsu:......

Back on topic for a minute, we have four ruckman on our list at the moment. Let's not jump up and down just yet and say foolish things. I'm 29, 6'2 and can jump really really high. I could probably grow dreadies if need be.

Do you guys think I'm a show if I nominate?

Thanks Pauline - go **** david oldfield in the ass.

Ah, just what we need right now! The VOICE OF DOOM! (Must be an EMO)

If your that unhappy with the MFC then give them away and stay off this forum! You won't be missed.

With Warnock and Griffin commanding such a big label - does anyone think we could pull an Ackland and pass off Jamar for some spare change?

.... this is why we should take Watts. Power forwards win premierships, not ruckman
=======================================================

This could be a first , but I actually agree with what you M4C. ...I would actually say that Brisbane owe a fair percentage of their 3 flags to a bloke called J. Brown. Power forwards are like diamonds, whereas the importance of ruckman has diminished in my opinion. I remember a game where Sandilands had 50 plus knockouts and Freo still lost, because the opposing midfield was so good at reading his taps. The worth of a ruckman is somewhat overated ...and I am not the only one to say this. There are quite a few journos and ex players who firmly believe in that as well. Classy Midfielders and runners are now probably prime in today's footy, with a power forward not far behind. Ruckman??...probably a very distant 3rd. Even then, I would rather have a great fullback ( Scarlett) before I would pick a ruckman. Therefore, I agree, a Watts for the MFC, is a better than a Naitanui.

Hawthorn will be after late draft picks this season to pick up scholarship players.

as long as our last pick is used, any earlier pick, regardless of how it is recieved, can be used on a 2nd scholarship player.

go for Luke McEntee.

when he was 16, he was being touted as the number 1 draft pick. next season he suffered an injury, keeping him out for a majority of the the season, and hawks managed to snag him with pick 1 in the rookie draft.

you could easily get him for pick 60, maybe even later. when fully fit which he was towards the end of last season, he has a massive vertical leap, huge engine, and pretty good leg speed for his height.

he is 197, not a huge ruck, however, he was dominating peter street in one match, which is a fair effort with the injuries Macca has had.

ok, to get the thread back on track. What would Brent Renouf's contract situation be at Hawthorn. I mean if we were willing to offer warnock a 1m dollar deal over 3 years, we could offer Renouf 800k over 3 years and if he's out of contract we could take him in the psd. IMO i believe we thought we had warnock in the bag and we prematuely got rid of White.

Another scenario could be if we take NicNat with pick one and we try to strike a deakl with brisbane for Mitch Clark or another KPP. We could give them pick 17 and 19 for Clark.

Thoughts?

ok, to get the thread back on track. What would Brent Renouf's contract situation be at Hawthorn. I mean if we were willing to offer warnock a 1m dollar deal over 3 years, we could offer Renouf 800k over 3 years and if he's out of contract we could take him in the psd. IMO i believe we thought we had warnock in the bag and we prematuely got rid of White.

Another scenario could be if we take NicNat with pick one and we try to strike a deakl with brisbane for Mitch Clark or another KPP. We could give them pick 17 and 19 for Clark.

Thoughts?

Renouf signed a two year deal a few weeks ago.

Simon Taylor has been out of favour and may be a good option over the next three years to be your No.1 ruckman while NN develops.

You could give us Pick 19. :)

Whats the go with John Meesen. He has talent, surely something can be done to get him in the right frame of mind? You guys need him to come good.

Renouf signed a two year deal a few weeks ago.

Simon Taylor has been out of favour and may be a good option over the next three years to be your No.1 ruckman while NN develops.

You could give us Pick 19. :)

Whats the go with John Meesen. He has talent, surely something can be done to get him in the right frame of mind? You guys need him to come good.

I'm sure the S.Taylor trade was tongue in cheek, but i'd be reluctant to give you pick 190, let alone 19 for S.Taylor.

In my opinion, it's very tough to differentiate between a good and bad ruckman and more importantly what effect they have on the game. A good ruckman will win taps in the direction of their team, but those taps are useless if the midfielders can't read the taps or be in the best position to take advantage of them. David Hille is a very good ruckman and had a great impact on the Bombers string of wins this year. He won taps to the advantage of his team mates. Jeff White won heaps of taps, but i just couldn't see any of them going to our advantage...is that his bad tap work, or a bad midfield set up. It really comes down to the whole set up between midfield and ruckman, so an average ruckman can look much better with a good midfield (e.g Hawthorn and S.Taylor) or a great ruckman can be made to look not as good by a crap midfield set up (e.g Melbourne and Jeff White). So in summary, if we get Natanui, get the f....g midfield sorted out as well!!!

Well I can I only try to offload Taylor:)

You guys are starting a heavy re-build with your list and I think it isn't such a huge issue whether Jamar and P. Johnson are your two main ruckman. I say just choose the best players available. If NN is the best in the eyes of your recruiters, then choose him. Same with Watts or Rich.

I still think you should be going hard after Robbie Warnock. He may have chosen Carlton as his preference, but you guys have the upper hand PSD #1. If Carlton only offer pick 24 I say raise them to pick #17 (for Ryan Murphy) with the verbal agreement Warnock is let through in the PSD. This way you get a ruckman, and a talented forward for Pick 17 which isn't bad business.

Gives you a minny victory over Carltank aswell. I hope you and Freo work very closely to make Carlton spend thier Pick #6 on Warnock or completely miss the boat with him.

Good luck at trade week and National Draft, hope you find some gems.:thumbsu:

hi guys, just want to pose a question & would be intrested to hear your thoughts on this idea to stump carlton & get warnock to melbourne,

1. freo refuses to del with carlton
2. in return melbourne offer freo pick 17 + 19 for mundy
3.dont get your nickers in a knot & hear me out
4.freo forces warnock into the psd
5.probably nothing of any quality in the psd this year anyway
6.melbourne draft warnock in the psd

end result is

freo get 17 +19
melbourne get warnock & mundy

you guys would end up with 3 very good players with the first 3 picks
& the only sacrafice is the useless psd which only gets recycled hacks anyway & you get to really stick it up carlton.

pick 1 watts................the ff you really need
pick 17 warnock............the ruck you really need
pick 19 mundy............... very talented back/mid with very good disposal

if you guys think its a shit idea , please dont go overboard its only an alternative and you really do still hold the aces its upto your team if they want use them.

hi guys, just want to pose a question & would be intrested to hear your thoughts on this idea to stump carlton & get warnock to melbourne,

1. freo refuses to del with carlton
2. in return melbourne offer freo pick 17 + 19 for mundy
3.dont get your nickers in a knot & hear me out
4.freo forces warnock into the psd
5.probably nothing of any quality in the psd this year anyway
6.melbourne draft warnock in the psd

end result is

freo get 17 +19
melbourne get warnock & mundy

you guys would end up with 3 very good players with the first 3 picks
& the only sacrafice is the useless psd which only gets recycled hacks anyway & you get to really stick it up carlton.

pick 1 watts................the ff you really need
pick 17 warnock............the ruck you really need
pick 19 mundy............... very talented back/mid with very good disposal

if you guys think its a shit idea , please dont go overboard its only an alternative and you really do still hold the aces its upto your team if they want use them.
17 + 19 is a pretty big outlay. Given that Mundy (whilst an ok player) is not exactly what Melbourne are after (our defence is ok and we need a dedicated fast mid) I can't go with that suggestion as far as from Melbourne's point of view. 17 + 35 for those two would be more reasonable . 35 is a bit low for Mundy but 17 is too high for Warnock so they kind of average out. In any case I am still not sure I would go for it with such a strong draft this year.

Are you kidding. Mundy has more value than Warncok. He is easily worth 17 and Warnock is worth 19 i reckon. It think its a good deal for both teams. But only if Mundy asks to be traded. I hope he doesnt:eek:

Wanted: 1 Ruckman