Warnock and 69 for 24 56 72 confirmed

Not so sure. Clearly we were lacking key position players, and in that draft/trading we secure Croad, MacPharlin and Polak, which collectively could have cemented our KP needs for a very long time.

Pick 1 for a key position player is not too bad an ask, and Croad was young with a reasonable track record? That Croad did not work out here has a fair bit to do with factors outside of Schwab. And I thought we did pretty well to get pick 10 for him when we did. Doesn't disguise the fact that history shows we lost in all of that, but the decision making was not so poor.

Wasn't looking to turn this into a Schwab rules/Schwab sucks thread because that has been done to death but Chook said that atleast Schwab got the deal done. Schwab got the deal done because his offer was so much higher than what anyone else would offer so it certainly isn't something he should be congratulated for.

Croad's a good example of that because pick 1 was always going to get the job done. It's not like St Kilda would come over the top with picks 2 and 5 to trump us. Same thing happened with Tarrant, we were the only club that was really in the race so why pay over the odds? Pick 13 and Medhurst would have got the deal done for Tarrant then go to Richmond and get something for Polak, instead of packaging it all together.

Carlton showed us how to trade this week, decide what a player is worth and stick with that instead of paying over the odds to land a big fish. The sweetener for Headland was McPhee who was very highly rated at the time, Carlton's sweetener was pick 72. There's a massive difference there.

Because at the end of the day he wasn't worth a first rounder... we know that and so did Carlton...
The problem was that Carlton couldn't get something in between 6 and 24 without a 3rd club getting involved...

Do you reckon they even tried?

I'm lead to believe that our tough stance was simply that 24 wasn't enough. Not that we demanded a pick inside the top 20.

Most of us here have said we would have grudgingly accepted their picks 24 & 40. Ergo picks 24 and, say, 30 would have got the job done nicely.

It was thereore incumbent on Carlton to try to secure that pick 30ish from somneone else.

Carlton spent 4 days tooling around trying to get us to accept just 24, instead of trying to secure that hypothetical pick 30.

But at the end of the day, good old Freo let them bully us into accepting pretty much their original offer.

I think it was a win win situation for both clubs it is just the way it goes in trade week. I have no hard feelings toward any club and i can honestly say he wasnt worth more than pick 24 and some small sweeteners. At the end end of the day he is untapped potential and could be anything and only time will tell how good young Robbie can be. What really was against Freo was that he wanted to leave and by no fault of our own he chose Carlton as his preferred destination and then the Fremantle football club had no choice but to take our offer ( which i thought was reasonable for what he has done in such a strong draft year) or risk playing hardball and losing him for nothing which trust me would of been worse for you guys.

In the end i really do hope you get a decent player with the No. 24 pick and for us i hope Robbie turns into a 200 game ruckman. Its just the way Footy goes and i cant understand the Hatred some supporters have.

I think the real issue is why he wanted to leave in the first place?? and that can only be answered by the Fremantle dockers and who knows what goes on down there?? It is not for us to say why etc etc and Robbie has been caught in the middle of all this and i wish him all the best with us in the future while at Carlton.

Im not trying to troll just giving my opinion on the matter. :)

But did we send in anyone with negotiation skills? It certainly doesn't look like it. We convinced them to do absolutely nothing.

How do you determine who has negotiation skills and who doesn't from the outside though Chook? Bond certainly comes across as a good communicator and it's not like buying dodgey DVD's in Bali, every club would hit trade week knowing exactly what they think a player is worth. All the hype and rhetoric in the world won't make them spend more than they have to.

Trading is like going to buy a used car. The guy at the car yard has a pre-determined price in mind just like Carlton would have. If say Richmond had offered pick 8 and Warnock was happy to play for them they wouldn't have offered pick 6, they would have just walked away.

I'm more angry about the pathetic stance of '24 is not enough' all week long and the grandstanding about letting him go to the draft only to turn around at the last minute and accept exactly what was on offer a week before trade week even started.

What do you think we should have said all week? "We're just killing time, whatever Carlton offer half an hour before the deadline is what we'll take." Ofcourse not, we had to pretend we were holding a pair of aces when in reality we were never going to re-draft him or lose him for nothing.

We lost out on the trade. That's bad enough.

The way we did it is worse.

I agree that we lost out, but apart from sending in someone with negotiating skills, which I'm sure we did, I still can't see what you would have done differently? If we had taken that deal on Wednesday everyone would have said same old soft Fremantle, should have held out for a better deal on Friday.

Would you have preferred us to send Warnock to the draft, lose him for nothing, then probably see Carlton take him at pick 24 anyway?

I think your club did pretty well considering.

As soon as Carlton took precedence in the PSD over Melbourne due to what they offered Warnock then you lost your leverage. Warnock going into the PSD was no longer a threat to Carlton. TBH to get out of it all with the extra pick wasn't too bad. Well done for standing up for your selves.

How do you determine who has negotiation skills and who doesn't from the outside though Chook? Bond certainly comes across as a good communicator and it's not like buying dodgey DVD's in Bali, every club would hit trade week knowing exactly what they think a player is worth. All the hype and rhetoric in the world won't make them spend more than they have to.

Trading is like going to buy a used car. The guy at the car yard has a pre-determined price in mind just like Carlton would have. If say Richmond had offered pick 8 and Warnock was happy to play for them they wouldn't have offered pick 6, they would have just walked away.

What do you think we should have said all week? "We're just killing time, whatever Carlton offer half an hour before the deadline is what we'll take." Ofcourse not, we had to pretend we were holding a pair of aces when in reality we were never going to re-draft him or lose him for nothing.

I agree that we lost out, but apart from sending in someone with negotiating skills, which I'm sure we did, I still can't see what you would have done differently? If we had taken that deal on Wednesday everyone would have said same old soft Fremantle, should have held out for a better deal on Friday.

Would you have preferred us to send Warnock to the draft, lose him for nothing, then probably see Carlton take him at pick 24 anyway?

Most clubs get something more. We got nothing and we're still the same old soft Fremantle. They could have continued to hold out for more than 24 without saying they were prepared to make a stand. Everyone knows that we'll never make a stand. We are Fremantle and we are soft to the core.

My understanding of this is that the delay was Warnock and Young.
Melbourne were prepared to go either 17 or 19 but Warnock wasn't prepared to go anywhere but Carlton. Hence the delays in getting the deal done.

So much for the "I just want to be with my family" and "I don't want Freo screwed".
The guys a worm, and I hope all the worms in the world aren't too insulted being compared to him.

Most clubs get something more. We got nothing and we're still the same old soft Fremantle. They could have continued to hold out for more than 24 without saying they were prepared to make a stand. Everyone knows that we'll never make a stand. We are Fremantle and we are soft to the core.

What a load. They made as much of a stand as the system allows, and given Smart's quality history of using later draft picks (eg Warnock) we'll probably end up with 2 if not 3 good players. It's a much better outcome than zero, which presumably you wanted at 5 minutes to 2. Carlton were always in the box seat unfortunately, we'll just remember this for next year when Browne etc is out of contract

On a bright note at least we can now share our hatred of Carlton:cool:

All we ever wanted was for Eagles and Docker fans to love each other. Looks like our work here is done. Now to start on world peace. :)

My understanding is that you have to use picks you trade for. Can anyone confirm this (or otherwise). But why would you bother trading 69 and 72????
You have to use your first 3 selections. After that you can pass. Brisbane won't be using #93 that they got for Corrie and Geelong didn't use the 90s pick they got for King and Gardiner last year.

Just wanted to say that even though there was some head butting and plenty of disagreements between myself and some Freo fans in various threads ... considering what was at stake and the stance each team had taken, most of the opinions were articulated well and reasonably respectful. Take away the passion and the loyalty for our respective teams and I don't think there was too much said that is going to damage credibility for most of us.

Well played. :thumbsu:

Just wanted to say that even though there was some head butting and plenty of disagreements between myself and some Freo fans in various threads ... considering what was at stake and the stance each team had taken, most of the opinions were articulated well and reasonably respectful. Take away the passion and the loyalty for our respective teams and I don't think there was too much said that is going to damage credibility for most of us.

Well played. :thumbsu:
I speak for everyone when I say **** off and kiss all of our arses. :):thumbsu:

The cards have been played for this season. Carlton has won the first battle.

But they have quite a few West Aussies on that list.

We'll be finishing quite low on the ladder. Don't be surprised when your players start requesting trades West.

Both West Coast and Freo will be looking for payback.

We're coming for you Carlton.

If they continue to finish outside the 8 the Juddy fanfare will have passed.

We're coming...

And that's exactly what Carlton want you to believe. Did they try to get something? No.

Because they didn't have to Chook. Whose offer did they have to trump? If Warnock agreed to go to Melbourne for pick 19 then the Blues would have needed to find a pick better than 19, but it was really a one horse race because Warnock refused to be traded to the Demons.

Pretty sure there was very little to no comment from the club all week mate, the "make a stand" stuff came from the media who decided that was what we were doing when we didn't accept Carlton's first offer.

Hawthorn were unwilling to trade pick 16 for O'Keefe.

Richmond only offered their 3rd rounder for Seaby.

No one was willing to give up a 2nd rounder for Lovett when they were hoping for a pick in the teens pre-draft.

Prismall and Shaw were traded for bugger all.

No one was willing to trade picks, sure 24 and change is less than we expected but it's not like we were bent over like we have been in the past.

considering what was at stake and the stance each team had taken, most of the opinions were articulated well and reasonably respectful.

They were at this end, can't say the same for your mob. ;)

The main problem I have with the Carlton supporters is that the guys who were saying "24 or PSD" and "forget 24, he's only worth pick 40" will be the same ignorant tosspots hanging around here and the main board giving us shit when Warnock plays well for Carlton.

The way to stop this (apart from not drafting any Victorian youngster which IMO is a bit anal) is esnure all players whose contractes end in 12 months time to sign extensions BEFORE trade week - If they wont sign trade them. Then the club is holding the cards (as with Kerr). This is what the do in soccer - the player is subservient to the club not the other way
For the record Warnock's not that good - he was only ever pick 24 so I reckon with pick 56 Freo came out in front.

They were at this end, can't say the same for your mob. ;)

The main problem I have with the Carlton supporters is that the guys who were saying "24 or PSD" and "forget 24, he's only worth pick 40" will be the same ignorant tosspots hanging around here and the main board giving us shit when Warnock plays well for Carlton.

I'd love to get a list of every poster who has said Warnock is no good in the last 6-8 weeks and pin it at the top of this board.

Before or after the trade went through?

Warnock and 69 for 24 56 72 confirmed