Warnock

Interestingly the guy from the Herald Sun, the one who reported the Melbourne 'presentation' was saying that with Carr going Freo may now have enough money for Warnock (which clearly we do, $2.2m and counting)? Did I miss something? I thought he was going back to Melbourne because he hates Freo and they treat him so badly? What's money got to do with it?

I was going home to Aust last year - my company offered me 30% more to stay. I still want to go home but another couple of years here me an easier life when I go home and better condiotions for my family.

I hope we sign Warnock ...if and only if they can be used as a foil upforward. With flooding increasing having a monster in the goal square still looks pretty good to me.

The swap 1 & 3 whilst a little dopey ....if we did get that deal surely we would need to look at Rich very carefully?

If Robbie leaves and choses a club like Carlton ...we can not complain as this means we will get very good compensation. I'd love to get Browne and a pick.

My Carlton mate said he thought Walker was on the nose a little at Carlton .....probably a heap of crud but hey you would do that direct swap in a hurry ...perhaps ship Murphy out with him.

I suppose what it does do is give us certainty. That was we get exactly who we want and not leave anything to chance - that melb might take Rich, and WC naitanui or vice versa. This was we get whoever it is we rate as the best kid in the country, rather than "whoever is left".

I'd still want their pick 35, though. That was at least we are getting something to offset the "free to the PSD" feeling...

If Melb end up with Warnock and Watts anyway - then we have been screwed. If we get pick 35, then at least we can add another player to our list as well.

"Whatever is left" will be just fine thank you!!! NickNat or not.

Stuff that for a joke, obviously this is far from a done deal, but there is no way we should agree to that if it was seriously on the table. We should at least pick up an extra 2nd or 3rd rnd pick with the deal otherwise make him go PSD and at least Melb have to use that pick on him - who knows, there may be some half decent player available come 3rd pick in the PSD and why let Melb have that and Warnock for effectively nothing.

Some of you are missing the point, Warnock has to agree to be traded to a particular club. IF he has set his heart on Melbourne, then we are pretty much screwed to getting small change. That "small change" might be getting (As IP said) the "certainty" of picking whomever we like at No.1. Thats better for us then him going into the PSD and us getting nothing for him.

If we get Naitanui in the Draft and I reckon we will, we can afford to let Warnock go. If he wants to go to Melbourne we should try and do a deal for Sylvia.

Lets not trade for players whose greatest weakness is that they can't kick.

Well you suggest someone from the Melbourne list that they might be prepared to let go, it may become a situation whereby something is better than nothing. It some ways it is not all that dissimilar to the Jeff White situation and we only got something in that instance thanks to Schwab.

There is basically no-one on their list even close to being able to get a spot in our 22. Miller or Jones would be about it.

That's how bad they are.

I was going home to Aust last year - my company offered me 30% more to stay. I still want to go home but another couple of years here me an easier life when I go home and better condiotions for my family.

I hope we sign Warnock ...if and only if they can be used as a foil upforward. With flooding increasing having a monster in the goal square still looks pretty good to me.

The swap 1 & 3 whilst a little dopey ....if we did get that deal surely we would need to look at Rich very carefully?

If Robbie leaves and choses a club like Carlton ...we can not complain as this means we will get very good compensation. I'd love to get Browne and a pick.

My Carlton mate said he thought Walker was on the nose a little at Carlton .....probably a heap of crud but hey you would do that direct swap in a hurry ...perhaps ship Murphy out with him.

This is the one bonus of that deal for us. Rich working along side Palmer and co:thumbsu:

Although i'm inclined to stay with pick 3 if the club are looking at Naitanui and see where the draft cards fall. Can you imagine the outcry if we picked Naitanui up with pick 1 and he turns out to be a dud (not that i think that would happen) and Rich and others are superstars!

If we get Naitanui in the Draft and I reckon we will, we can afford to let Warnock go. If he wants to go to Melbourne we should try and do a deal for Sylvia.
so tell me why would melbourne want to give freo sylvia for warnock
when they already can get him for nothing in the psd.

freos best bet is to try and persuad warnock that car/rich/ess are a better option for him than the dees & try to arrange a deal with these clubs.

but you must realise that you wont be getting a 1st rounder from any club
pesonally i have gone off warnock, hope we take vickery with our first pick.

freos best bet is to try and persuad warnock that car/rich/ess are a better option for him than the dees & try to arrange a deal with these clubs.

Do you not think the club are already trying that approach?

No way Melb would part with Slyvia and no disrespect to Melb but they only have around 4 palyers who would interest us and all of those will be marked not for trade.

I think you are a little behind in the latest round of rumours too.

Warncock is looking more likely to stay (lets say $1.80), trade to another Vic Club other than Melb ($2.00) and trade to Melb ($2.20)

It is looking far more likely that if Melb want Warnock the price is likely to be pick 19 - if that is too much I think clubs like Richmond/Carlton have far more fringe players and a 3rd rounder that would be of more interest to us.

I mean seriously Warnock must look at Melb's performance today and really question does he want to play with a team that is 3 years away from being competitive - let alone looking at finals footy?

Their situation is so close to Fitzroy's, it isn't funny.

They wont be around before the time they're competitive again.

They've got nothing. Most of their kids are duds as well.

Some of you are missing the point, Warnock has to agree to be traded to a particular club. IF he has set his heart on Melbourne, then we are pretty much screwed to getting small change. That "small change" might be getting (As IP said) the "certainty" of picking whomever we like at No.1. Thats better for us then him going into the PSD and us getting nothing for him.

Melbourne are much more likely to trade their 3rd rounder than trade pick 1 for Warnock and pick 3. What happens in that scenario if Watts doesn't nominate?

What happens if Watts doesn't nominate?

He ends up on the Gold Coast with McKena and playing VFL for two years.

What happens if Watts doesn't nominate?

He ends up on the Gold Coast with McKena and playing VFL for two years.

Nope, GC don't participate in the draft until 2010, so Watts can still go to Melbourne next year (I'm sure they won't be winning more than 4 again, don't want to give up that PP).

They pick up Michael Hurley instead.

I am sure Melb will know what Watts is doing before making any move.

Not being horrible but Melb need help everywhere ...they could take a Rich (midfield), Nat (ruck), Watts (fwd) and/or Hurley (back/fwd).

If Melb could get Warnock for an upgrade - it is a great deal for them. The only reason it amkes sense for us is if we so rate Rich ...it is worth losing Warnock for basically nothing.

They pick up Michael Hurley instead.

But assuming they rate Watts much more highly than Hurley like most people seem to they might aswell retain pick one, then Watts will more than likely nominate. If Fremantle have pick one and West Coast pick 2 Watts will probably wait 12 months. Trading pick 1 for Warnock and pick 3 only makes sense if we take Naitanui, Eagles take Rich leaving Watts at 3.

They'd rather have Watts and trade their 3rd rounder for Warnock than have Hurley and a 3rd round pick IMO.

Trading Warnock for an upgrade from 3 to 1 makes no sense at all. The value of ruckmen in the current game is vastly overrated. Keep pick 3 for a midfielder and get an experienced backup(Jeff White!!!!) for nothing. I don't think Sylvia would be in our thinking as not suited to Subiaco Oval.

How about this.

Melbourne get: Warnock, Pick 3 & pick 21

Fremantle get: Pick 1 & 17

That way we get to pick before the Eagles take their second and third picks. (Kerr pending)

Gives us a better chance of getting a Yarran or someone like that where as at the moment we have no hope.

How about this.

Melbourne get: Warnock, Pick 3 & pick 21

Fremantle get: Pick 1 & 17

That way we get to pick before the Eagles take their second and third picks. (Kerr pending)

Gives us a better chance of getting a Yarran or someone like that where as at the moment we have no hope.

So basically we're giving them Warnock for free?

Trading Warnock for an upgrade from 3 to 1 makes no sense at all.

It only makes sense if we rate Rich as the top quality midfielder in the draft by head and shoulders above a Hartlett.

If we only want NickNat or Hartlett ...chances are they will fall to us and we would be better off trading Warnock for stand alone 2nd or 3rd round picks - rather than upgrades.

I wouldnt put so much blame on Warnock himself. Remember who his agent is

Mr. Colin Young. Also the agent of Daniel Kerr.... (and IIRC Ben McKinley). Mr. Youngs shopped all 3 around without the clubs permission this year. This guy is pure scum.

Warnock