"We will get better"- Hardwick

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2015-01-30/hardwick-we-will-be-better

I don't know about you guys, but I struggle to listen Hardwick when he speaks. He always says the same thing over and over again
-Contested ball
-Opposition played better and we didn't play to our standards
- Always uses Stats for the players
-So and so is a quality player. Needs to get better in contested ball

For me, it doesn't really get me excited for the up-coming season.

Thoughts?

It's always the same though.
-Contested ball
-Tackling

Doesn't really focus on any others. Why can't he just come out and say in plain english "we were shit"?
Probably because if you're not first to the footy it's harder to win games of footy. Pretty simple.

This isn't really a big issue. Most if not all coaches sound repetitive when talking about what the team needs to do.

I'm more worried about the fact that he's still just about the worst game day coach in the league.
Tactically inept
Reactive
No plan B
Players in wrong positions

This hurts us way more than what you're saying.

If enough people keep spouting this crap for long enough it can potentially fool the kids into believing it's true.

Chaplin to the forward line v port. Won the game.
Dusty isolated deep forward. Won about four games.etc etc etc Morris tagging H Shaw...
Plan B? Mate just because you can't understand whats happening doesn't mean they're static. There's a scenario for just about every opp player getting off the leash, our stars getting tagged, some underperforming or if we are getting beaten to the ball.
One scenario you sometimes can't cover is when we are beaten by a better side. That's sport...sport.

we lost plenty of games last year to teams that weren't better than us but let's just rate our season on 9 games where we only beat 2 top 8 teams and 3 bottom 3.

Pretty inoffensive interview.
What do you want him to say...'our players are useless' & 'why the **** did we kick in to the wind'
If you're going to be pissed off about the usual coaches interview, where they don't really say a lot, you're just going to spend your life angry.

It's always the same though.
-Contested ball
-Tackling

Doesn't really focus on any others. Why can't he just come out and say in plain english "we were shit"?

I guess these are the areas sydney hawthorn geelong and the top sides are setting the standard in. These are the things that win big games.

Oh and not another Hardwick bashing thread....yawnnn i wish the season would start

we lost plenty of games last year to teams that weren't better than us but let's just rate our season on 9 games where we only beat 2 top 8 teams and 3 bottom 3.

That we did Rusty, that we did. Beat a few better than us and came close in a couple of others. I'm not rating the season on those last 9, but I reckon we finished where we deserved to. Not good enough to go better than 8th, might have won a final if we drew Ess...but we didn't.
Hardwick/coaching dept made errors, did some very good things too, and set us up to improve further this year.
As you can see though, I arc up on this "match day" bullshit that gets so easily trotted out. Never hear a peep when we win about how good the coach went, only see the spears get chucked when we lose.
Posters would have no idea what goes on in the box on match day, the preparation and the plans to execute. No idea.

Have we as a club improved?

Where did the improvement come from?
Benny Gale and the footy department?
The Recruiters and scouts?
The coaching department?

We have improved and we will be a dominant force in the competition, but old habits die hard. Keep the faith boys Dimma is on his last year and it's all or nothing now, I'm excited I'm on board and I believe we will make top four. Stop bashing our club. There's a difference in criticism and just blatant ignorance.

differance is when we won 9 in a row we had basically our full side, 1st half of the year alot of player were injured & underdone. with the injuries we had we were always behind the 8 ball at the start of the year

Have we as a club improved?

Where did the improvement come from?
Benny Gale and the footy department?
The Recruiters and scouts?
The coaching department?

We have improved and we will be a dominant force in the competition, but old habits die hard. Keep the faith boys Dimma is on his last year and it's all or nothing now, I'm excited I'm on board and I believe we will make top four. Stop bashing our club. There's a difference in criticism and just blatant ignorance.
has 2 years to go on his contract

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2015-01-30/hardwick-we-will-be-better

I don't know about you guys, but I struggle to listen Hardwick when he speaks. He always says the same thing over and over again
-Contested ball
-Opposition played better and we didn't play to our standards
- Always uses Stats for the players
-So and so is a quality player. Needs to get better in contested ball

For me, it doesn't really get me excited for the up-coming season.
Thoughts?
Then don't listen. Simples.

differance is when we won 9 in a row we had basically our full side, 1st half of the year alot of player were injured & underdone. with the injuries we had we were always behind the 8 ball at the start of the year
Disagree. We had Rance, Maric and Lids who missed a few weeks. Other than that, who did we miss?

That's why there's 44 players on list we played shit football

Disagree. We had Rance, Maric and Lids who missed a few weeks. Other than that, who did we miss?
We had 15 players play 16-22 games for the H & A season.
The top 22 players for most games played in 2014 played a total of 392 games, ranked 15th equal with carlton, only Brisbane GWS and St Kilda had less.

If enough people keep spouting this crap for long enough it can potentially fool the kids into believing it's true.

Chaplin to the forward line v port. Won the game.
Dusty isolated deep forward. Won about four games.etc etc etc Morris tagging H Shaw...
Plan B? Mate just because you can't understand whats happening doesn't mean they're static. There's a scenario for just about every opp player getting off the leash, our stars getting tagged, some underperforming or if we are getting beaten to the ball.
One scenario you sometimes can't cover is when we are beaten by a better side. That's sport...sport.

Your avatar of a man with his head in the sand could not be more perfect for you.

That we did Rusty, that we did. Beat a few better than us and came close in a couple of others. I'm not rating the season on those last 9, but I reckon we finished where we deserved to. Not good enough to go better than 8th, might have won a final if we drew Ess...but we didn't.
Hardwick/coaching dept made errors, did some very good things too, and set us up to improve further this year.
As you can see though, I arc up on this "match day" bullshit that gets so easily trotted out. Never hear a peep when we win about how good the coach went, only see the spears get chucked when we lose.
Posters would have no idea what goes on in the box on match day, the preparation and the plans to execute. No idea.
Some do

Your avatar of a man with his head in the sand could not be more perfect for you.

That's why I picked it.
Sometimes you just can't take yourself too seriously. It's all a big game.

And there are times, my friend, when you have to bury your head in the sand to block out the noise. Because noise is distracting when you are on a long term strategic mission.
You've got to block out the short term crap and remain focussed on your guiding principles. The weak will always get diverted, and fail.