Weaver's phantom draft 2006

If Richmond gets Hawksley at 26 and McKay late in the draft then RFC would have done very well. Hawksley will be a good player as will McKay for mine, as for the others havent seen them much although Im hoping that Ryan Anderson also makes it to Punt Road at pick 58 or pick 60.

we'retalkinfooty said:
why isnt sellar getting talked up as top 5 picks anymore?
Mate, just becuase these blokes dont talk about him going there. Doesnt mean he wont go there...

Its easy to critisise without fact...

Im amazed at the level of vitriol people deliver when they dont like a draft list. 99% of the people here havent seen nothing of the players except what they saw on the carnival, as for me, I can say that I saw afew games outside the carnival and I can tell you that Weaver has given a very fair description of players. No one ever gets a list perfect but Weaver has done a very fair job.

Good work Weaver.

I doubt that Fremantle will take a small mid at 31.

Do you not think Dean Kelly will get picked up? I can see Freo taking him at 79 if he's available.

Weaver said:
He's 22, just a rover, and has been around for quite a while. Done a preseason at Melbourne for example. It would be very rare to see a mature-age state league player in the top-50. I rate Matthew Stokes higher and he was pick 61 last year in a weaker draft.

Furthermore I already think there are too many rovers in the list as it is. I don't think clubs should really be using high picks on permanent forward pockets. Can easily pick them up in the rookie draft, which is where I think Davey would be.

You may be right about Alwyn Davey but remember this in 2003

"I don't rate Aaron Davey at all. He has been bouncing around the system for 5 years and has one trick. He is quick. If he wants to make the AFL he better learn to use his other foot. Someone might rookie list him."

He did end up rookie listed but how many clubs are kicking themselves. They did the same with Danyl Pearce last year and look at him now.

St Kilda have pick 59, not 61.

Anyway, from a Saints perspective I'd be pretty dissapointed.

9 - O'Keefe: If we wanted him we could get him much later. Would prefer any of Armitage, Boak or even Sellar
27 - Everrit: C'mon, this guy has grown up in the same environment as Spida and probably has the same attitude. Don't want him. Would rather Djerrkura, Bird or perhaps if we go for a KPP Tippet/M.Brown
61 (Actually 59) - Houli: Would piss myself in excitement if that actually happened (despite the other choices)
75 - Some ruckman I've never heard of: Would rather go for Griffiths if we want a ruckman, otherwise Anderson or Skipworth

mad-saint-guy said:
27 - Everrit: C'mon, this guy has grown up in the same environment as Spida and probably has the same attitude. Don't want him. Would rather Djerrkura,

Now that's naive and probably a tad ignorant. I guess the germans I know who grew up in Nazi Germany are evil too?

sinepari said:
Now that's naive and probably a tad ignorant. I guess the germans I know who grew up in Nazi Germany are evil too?

Nazi Germany = 80 (or is it 60?) years ago. Spida = Still around

It may be a bit naive, but usually when there's a rotten one in the family it's not the only one.

Terrific work, and plenty of food for thought.

Would I be right in saying that except for Aaron Edwards, you've left aside the 20+ year olds? On a quick scan of 2005, there were maybe about 6 of them picked up (Bernie Vince, Kasey Green, Brett Montgomery, Michael Rix, Joel Patfull, Matthew Stokes.) There have been plenty of nominees for mature draftees kicking around the various forums for 2006, as well. Do you think that clubs will actually focus more on youth in this draft; or are you simply (with one exception) sticking with a 'youth only, I won't try to guess the grown-ups and recyclees' policy, in framing your list?

Everyone (inc me) has been saying 'definitely KPP for Sydney's first pick', but the club is prone to surprise-- last year I thought they needed to stock up on KPPs, too, and they took 3 midfielders!

Anyhoo, I think you have Sydney's pick #s wrong (and one missing), unless there was some trading I wasn't aware of (and/or we won the premiership!).

You have:15, [no 2nd round], 50, [no 4th round], 82.
Whereas I think it actually is:15, [no 2nd round], 49, 65, 81.

Cheers.

SimonH said:
Everyone (inc me) has been saying 'definitely KPP for Sydney's first pick', but the club is prone to surprise-- last year I thought they needed to stock up on KPPs, too, and they took 3 midfielders!

I guess that last year they'd put three talls onto the senior list from the rookie list. This year they've promoted two little'uns.

Still wouldn't be surprised to see them go for a mid first up.

mad-saint-guy said:
Nazi Germany = 80 (or is it 60?) years ago. Spida = Still around

It may be a bit naive, but usually when there's a rotten one in the family it's not the only one.

What are they teaching in schools these days? You are either very poor at maths, or you do not know when one of the world's greatest tyrannies spread fear the world over. Either way, it's disgraceful.

crowsarethebest said:
He's got us taking 2 KPP, 2 wingman/flankers (outside types) and 1 centreman. Seems ok. Craig will certainly look at outside flankers and runners and utilitites... we love them...

Agreed. I would actually be surprised if the Crows took a KPP with their first pick - there is a real chance the KPP talent would have been plucked out of the draft by then, but some of the top three or four mids would still remain.

Best available for first pick.

cypher said:
So the Cats don't need a line breaking runner who can mark, play inside and outside and been likened to Dal Santo?

Do the Cats have any players like that?

Remember you're getting a gun forward in Hawkins cheaply and you can afford to take a quick inside midfielder early.

BUT BUT BUT All those people that have never seen the draftees play all have Jetta, Reiwoldt, Thorp in the top 10. Why would the club pass up on them for someone everyone else has ranked in the 20s, it's an outrage :rolleyes:

An inside out midfielder with pace and skills is a much greater priority for Geelong than a flakey HFF flanker that can't kick or the next in a long list of athletic-not-quite-a-key position player that falls through the cracks at AFL level.

Weaver said:

6. Joel Selwood (Hawthorn). Selwood is a high-possession running player similar to Shane Crawford. He doesn’t have pure leg speed and his kicking can be hit and miss. He gets teams going forward and can be sharp in tight spaces. Very good a metre or two off the pack. A genuine playmaker and a good choice to put in the centre between wingmen Ellis and Muston. A year-long knee injury may see his value drop, but not too far. Has good leadership qualities.

24. Brock O’Brien (Hawthorn). O’Brien is out of fashion. He is probably a Hardwick or Kingsley type solid, tough back-pocket or tagger. Plays a little taller than advertised, uses the ball well. Tough to pick when a player like him will be taken. Really depends on which clubs (if any) are shopping for a specialist back-pocket. The Hawks love his type and might be his new home. WA directed all their defensive rebounding through O’Brien which reflects his matiruity and kicking skills.

33. Jack Reiwoldt (Hawthorn) - A slow centreman in a KP player’s body. Takes very short steps when he runs which can give the impression of running on the spot. Gets his marks from superior reading of the play and anticipation. Lack of athleticism should seem him be the dropper in this draft. Doesn’t get gaps on defenders which means he takes too many contested marks, relies on losing opponents in traffic and getting the ball at ground level. Hawks have never been too fussed about athleticism and won’t be shy about calling his name.

40. Josh Kennedy (Hawthorn) – Built like a tank and plays in straight lines. Will play fairly early in his development. May find elbowing aside Sam Mitchell and Jordan Lewis tough but will be a similar clearance machine to that pair. Some question over whether he is a man against boys and probably lacks the pace to play outside.

I don't like to be critical of someone who knows more about a subject than myself, but, that would have Hawthorn drafting 4 slowish onballer types, Kennedy obviously being a F/S, I do see Riewoldt becoming a marking HF and would be wrapt to get him at 33. Hawthorn need a pacey player in this draft, and with Hodge, Mitchell, Lewis, Sewell, and Kennedy, Selwood whilst being an excellent player is a bit more of the same, Ellis isn't super quick and Muston is a bit of an unknown post surgery, pretty sure we have nuggety BP's covered in Brown and Ossie.
I would be suprised to see Hawthorn pass on Thorp if available, IMO a tall and a speedster with our first 2, but regardless of that well done.:thumbsu:

Unwritten_Law said:
An inside out midfielder with pace and skills is a much greater priority for Geelong than a flakey HFF flanker that can't kick or the next in a long list of athletic-not-quite-a-key position player that falls through the cracks at AFL level.

With Ablett, Chapman, Byrnes, Stokes and Varcoe my assumption would be that the Cats would be reluctant to add a guy who shapes as a HFF or FP. They'd want a genuine midfielder. In particular with Milburn ageing an the decline of Wojcinski they'd like a guy who could start in the backline and be a counter-attacker before developing into a midfielder.

I think that your predictions on West Coast's draft are pretty bold. Goldstein ahead of Morton ? Hmmm! Not saying that you may not be right and your reasoning seems sound but I'm just not sure about those selections.

Thanks Weaver.

Excellent summary of players. Don't worry about all the nuff nuffs who think that reading mock drafts in Big Footy is enough to qualify as a recruiting manager.

Broady Poker Tour said:
Thanks Weaver.

Excellent summary of players. Don't worry about all the nuff nuffs who think that reading mock drafts in Big Footy is enough to qualify as a recruiting manager.
Everyone is entitled to their opinion, Weaver and everyone that disagrees with him but its not til draft day that we know who is right. From an essendon point of view I think he has got it pretty close to what we need. Not sure we will get Schmidt, who knows though. The last pick I doubt we will use however as we prob will use it in the PSD and if we did use it, it wouldnt be on a ruckman. Thats one part of our team that we are ok with.

i reckon melbourne have done well to get N.Brown and D.Connors with our picks 12 and 30 respectively. i'd be thrilled with that