Travel Weekend in Perth...

Surprised you haven't been told to visit Freo. Wander down there Sunday - breakfast, markets, check out the harbour, get fish & chips at Cicerellos or get some good food on the capp strip (personally enjoy Pizza Bellaroma). Enjoy some beer at the Sail & Anchor.

You'll have a good, long relaxing day.

Make your way north along the coast, visit Cottesloe and assorted beaches until you get up to Hillarys. :thumbsu:

Definitely Freo. Given that you are there over the weekend, the markets will be open too. Not as good as Queen Victoria markets but they are getting better all the time. The Sail and Anchor is across the laneway.

Margaret River is beautiful. I visit MR once a year but I reckon it is a bit far for a day trip as lots of things to do there are quite far apart.

I recommend Mt Lawley for an evening out. A bit expensive, but there is never any trouble there and unfortunately Perth, Freo and Northbridge are prone to violence after 11. Really nice small bars in My Lawley such as 5 or Clarences and some good places to eat.

Plenty of good food in Perth, just have to be resigned to the fact that you'll be paying through the nose. Generally I find the best ones tend to be the ones who make a feature of their local produce.

Second the trip down to Freo. Wouldn't recommend the trip to Rotto in winter - I went last month, stayed for four hours and still ran out of things to do.

I went to every expensive restaurant in Cottosloe, which claimed to have fresh produce, and they were all terrible.

Connections night club starts pumping after 11 every night, im a regular there pm me ur number if u want to have a fun night out :)

Second votes for Fremantle, and bigger votes for a day / afternoon in the Swan Valley. Fremantle, as others said, is worth a look for the markets and coffee strip. Can go over and look at the old prison. Sail and Anchor has some very good brews.

A couple of very nice wineries (recommend Lancaster - it's a smaller one, but asides from some very nice wine, also has a big selection of delecious Margaret River cheeses. Feral Brewery is a good place for lunch, plus some tasty beers. Elmar's is also very good. Plus there is a chocolate factory. Can definately make a half day out here. A few restaurants are around if you want dinner.

Last place I'd suggest is about an hours drive north of Perth. I went here a couple of months back (Easter I think) with a few friends and had a really fun day. There's mazes, mini golf, frisbee golf (this is super fun) plus displays of a lot of natural Australian wildlife :) Lunch was tasty as well
http://www.themaze.com.au/

Surprised you haven't been told to visit Freo. Wander down there Sunday - breakfast, markets, check out the harbour, get fish & chips at Cicerellos or get some good food on the capp strip (personally enjoy Pizza Bellaroma). Enjoy some beer at the Sail & Anchor.

You'll have a good, long relaxing day.

Make your way north along the coast, visit Cottesloe and assorted beaches until you get up to Hillarys. :thumbsu:

Definitely Freo. Given that you are there over the weekend, the markets will be open too. Not as good as Queen Victoria markets but they are getting better all the time. The Sail and Anchor is across the laneway.

Margaret River is beautiful. I visit MR once a year but I reckon it is a bit far for a day trip as lots of things to do there are quite far apart.

I recommend Mt Lawley for an evening out. A bit expensive, but there is never any trouble there and unfortunately Perth, Freo and Northbridge are prone to violence after 11. Really nice small bars in My Lawley such as 5 or Clarences and some good places to eat.

Sounds wonderful, thanks JD.

Connections night club starts pumping after 11 every night, im a regular there pm me ur number if u want to have a fun night out :)

Hate nightclubs and there are shitloads here in Melbs anyway but I appreciate the offer, thank you.

Second votes for Fremantle, and bigger votes for a day / afternoon in the Swan Valley. Fremantle, as others said, is worth a look for the markets and coffee strip. Can go over and look at the old prison. Sail and Anchor has some very good brews.

A couple of very nice wineries (recommend Lancaster - it's a smaller one, but asides from some very nice wine, also has a big selection of delecious Margaret River cheeses. Feral Brewery is a good place for lunch, plus some tasty beers. Elmar's is also very good. Plus there is a chocolate factory. Can definately make a half day out here. A few restaurants are around if you want dinner.

Last place I'd suggest is about an hours drive north of Perth. I went here a couple of months back (Easter I think) with a few friends and had a really fun day. There's mazes, mini golf, frisbee golf (this is super fun) plus displays of a lot of natural Australian wildlife :) Lunch was tasty as well
http://www.themaze.com.au/

All really great ideas thank you all very much. Kinda pumped now we are going to have a brilliant time after all. Will absolutely go to Freo and get as much done as possible. Might have to leave Margaret River for a return trip depends on how much time we end up with.

Thanks again, I knew you lot would produce the goods.:thumbsu:

Sounds wonderful, thanks JD.

Hate nightclubs and there are shitloads here in Melbs anyway but I appreciate the offer, thank you.

All really great ideas thank you all very much. Kinda pumped now we are going to have a brilliant time after all. Will absolutely go to Freo and get as much done as possible. Might have to leave Margaret River for a return trip depends on how much time we end up with.

Thanks again, I knew you lot would produce the goods.:thumbsu:

Personally, as far as Margs goes, I've always found it more ideal for a weekend away (romantic or just with mates). Great little escape from Perth, but just a little far for a day. Overnighter would be fine.

That said, it is something of a shame that you're here in August. Just about the worst month of the year weather-wise for Perth, and the truth is that our summers are stunning. If you can get yourself here in January - April, you'd be in for a real treat. As much as I love and miss Melbourne (moved here when I was 10, am 24 now - have been back several times) I wouldn't trade our Perth summers for anything. Except maybe skiing somewhere in the Northen Hemisphere. And even then, only temporarily.

the King St area in Perth has some nice little cafes and whatnot for a casual brekky

Yeah I had a great time in the summer of '01 in Perth, I was 19 at the time and pretty much hit every beach I could find. We will probably head back there over the summer, maybe late Jan or early Feb. A romantic few days in MR during summer sounds brilliant to me.

Only reason we are going now is the footy, looking forward to watching live footy at Subi although I'm not so keen on the likely result.:D

Yeah I had a great time in the summer of '01 in Perth, I was 19 at the time and pretty much hit every beach I could find. We will probably head back there over the summer, maybe late Jan or early Feb. A romantic few days in MR during summer sounds brilliant to me.

Only reason we are going now is the footy, looking forward to watching live footy at Subi although I'm not so keen on the likely result.:D

Saturday afternoon game. If you and the missus want to go for a drink later, your two main options within walking distance are the Subi Hotel corner of Rokeby Rd and Hay St the Vic (somewhere on Hay street - more towards the city). Both are generally heaving after games.

@ Poseidon - good call on King street. My personal favorite for breakfast is John Street Cafe, in Cottesloe. If you like or love your coffee, I'd recommend The Dancing Goat (Swanbourne, right next to the train station), Elixir (Nedlands) or Lo Zucchero (Nedlands). All have yummy breakfast options as well. :thumbsu:

All these mentions of Fremantle and none suggesting Little Creatures for a beer or 20? Best spot in Freo it is

I live in Freo and Little Creatures is the last pub I would go to. I don't like the beer much, too fruity for me and I find it one of those places where the reputation it has makes the staff feel a bit special. Too busy acting like cool bartenders in the coolest place in town rather than serving customers.

Lots of people I know love it though and it is in the best location.

Clancys is easily my favourite pub, but it is a bit out of the centre. That is why I did not suggest it. An old fashioned pub where the beer is varied and plentiful. The best fish and chips in town and live music every night.

All these mentions of Fremantle and none suggesting Little Creatures for a beer or 20? Best spot in Freo it is

I live in Freo and Little Creatures is the last pub I would go to. I don't like the beer much, too fruity for me and I find it one of those places where the reputation it has makes the staff feel a bit special. Too busy acting like cool bartenders in the coolest place in town rather than serving customers.

Lots of people I know love it though and it is in the best location.

Clancys is easily my favourite pub, but it is a bit out of the centre. That is why I did not suggest it. An old fashioned pub where the beer is varied and plentiful. The best fish and chips in town and live music every night.

Both fair comments, though disagree with Jim on the beer - each to their own but I reckon it's a great drop.

The staff at Little Creatures did come across as being a little pretentious though - we were there on a weekday afternoon (ie, not busy) and extracting them from their conversations amongst themselves to get served was a challenge (though Perth seemed like that in general). Also had a strange WTF experience there.... you had to give them your credit card prior to getting your order just in case you did a runner. No biggy and probably for good reason I suppose (our 2 year old daughter looks like the type who'd run off without paying for her chips), but never seen that before.

Very nice setting though and good beers.... so would go there again.

Not sure it's been mentioned yet, but my suggestion in the city would be "The Lucky Shag". Outdoor bar with a nice deck right on the river looking over south Perth. Next to the bell tower thingggy on the city side. Great spot to blow the froth off a few. Get there early to get a table.

+1 to people who said Mt Lawley. Decent bars, restaurants and it's not too punchy stabby. The Flying Scotsman is a Mt Lawley institution. Northbridge is completely ****ed on a Saturday night, avoid it unless you're like lining up, packed bars, being challenged to a fit and guys walking around in bright tight t shirts..god help you if your in Bombers colours too. Also the Perth CBD (other side of the traintracks from Northbridge) now has some decent little bars and places to get a feed, King St is one to check out like someone else said. It's getting there..just.

If you have a hire car it's almost wildflower season so a drive up in t the Avon Valley would most definitely be worth it. It's god's country this time of year.

Not sure it's been mentioned yet, but my suggestion in the city would be "The Lucky Shag". Outdoor bar with a nice deck right on the river looking over south Perth. Next to the bell tower thingggy on the city side. Great spot to blow the froth off a few. Get there early to get a table.

This. Forgot how nice this place was. On Barrack Street Jetty (along Riverside Drive) so you can take the ferry across to South Perth and go to the Zoo or wander around if so inclind. Bell Tower is also at the jetty but nothing more than a big ornament, really.

The ferris wheel from the area is gone now, though. :p

Some have suggested Little Creatures in Freo on the harbour, but I've never found this to be that great. But worth a try if you're keen.

Food is good at Little Creatures, but I'm not a huge fan of their beer. Pipsqueak Cider on the other hand ...

Mate you have to go check out the nightclubs in Northbridge and call a local a sandgroper. Will make it a top night and trip for you :).

This.

You forgot to mention the pigeons and birds that fly around inside the place. Im shocked to read people are brave enough to order food from that place.

Just thought I'd report back and say that we had a blast in Fremantle (awesome town) and Perth overall was great but it did take a bit of searching for some nice food. Great food though at Nahm Thai and Halo in Perth. We stayed at the Intercontinental and they have plenty of nice places for food and a few nice bars too.

Mt. Lawley was very nice and there's a place there called The Pony Club that is fantastic, we had a beautiful dinner there and although it was very busy the service was brilliant.

Also JD, Clancy's was great. Met up with an old work-mate and he took us there and we all got well hammered. Very fine establishment.

Thanks again for all of the suggestions folks, we will head back in the summer and check out Margaret River and a few more places further out.

Glad you enjoyed it. :thumbsu:

I should be a tour guide.

Fremantle, Clancys and Mt Lawley all successful suggestions !!! It just goes to show that there are a lot of negative people that do not give Perth a go. Some worthwhile places.

Fremantle is a great place to live.