Well done Adelaide

Ghostwriter

10k Posts RIP North Melbourne - 2014 Daw, Black, Gibson Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2013 Daw, Black and Gibson Player Sponsorship North Melbourne - North 2012 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2011 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2010 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2009 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2008 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2007 Player Sponsor
Too good, Craig is a genius, I thought we had a good chance tonight, but you guys are too well drilled, too good once again.

TY much appreciated.

Best game wells ever played? considering his oppisition?

:thumbsu: sportsmanship:thumbsu:
The roo's turned up to play tonight, until half way through the 3rd I thought you were in it.

Thanks mate. You stuck with us very well and provided a very good challenge. It just seemed to be superior fitness that allowed us to run on with the game.
Daniel Wells was very good tonight indeed, in spite of a niggling groin injury.

Vic Crow said:
Thanks mate. You stuck with us very well and provided a very good challenge. It just seemed to be superior fitness that allowed us to run on with the game.
Daniel Wells was very good tonight indeed, in spite of a niggling groin injury.

No they didnt, they were crap. You dont win games of football playing like that. Hawthorn last week were twice the side North were, cuz they actually took the game on and had a red hot dip.

Daniel Wells was good tonight, but got all his possessions in the back half when the North midfield were getting towelled up.

GoSarge said:
No they didnt, they were crap. You dont win games of football playing like that. Hawthorn last week were twice the side North were, cuz they actually took the game on and had a red hot dip.

Daniel Wells was good tonight, but got all his possessions in the back half when the North midfield were getting towelled up.

Not sure Grants 34 (i think) and Harvey 29 possies means they were towelled up in the midfield...

I agree on the style of footy comment. I think if I was a supporter I'd rather see the sheedy approach of let'em play proper footy and see them get pumped but LEARN than what laidley dished up tonight. Richmond I can kinda see why they did it and how it kicked started them a little but North Melb are in a different situation.

Glad we had to face it though as gives us an opportunity to be more prepared for that style of play if its trotted out in the finals.

A better, fitter and more skilled side might have beaten us with those tactics. The good thing is that good sides don't feel the need to use those tactics--well, they haven't yet and let's hope they don't. The game was an ugly spectacle.
The good thing to come out of it is that the Crows have a lot of upside left and the Kangas can't play any better than that. :D

beartoo said:
The good thing to come out of it is that the Crows have a lot of upside left and the Kangas can't play any better than that. :D

Nice :thumbsu:

Does anyone know what is up with Reilly at the moment? On the replay they said he disappeared up the race at one stage and was on the bench for a while.

Carl Spackler said:
Nice :thumbsu:

Does anyone know what is up with Reilly at the moment? On the replay they said he disappeared up the race at one stage and was on the bench for a while.

Strange one. He played over 60% of the game, but never had a touch until the last quarter when he had 5. He was the invisible man.

THe Nth Melbourne stats are pretty much meaningless,except the clearences.

They flooded heavily and chipped the ball around constantly and went backwards and sideways constantly.

Last night was a example for those who want that game style legislated against.

It was reputation saving and nothing else yet they still got pumped.

Dont agree with a better side using those tactics,its takes a 5 minute burst for us to end the game,no coach who wants success is going to hope we dont get that 5 minute burst, when there tacticts play into our defences hands.

jozeph said:
Too good, Craig is a genius, I thought we had a good chance tonight, but you guys are too well drilled, too good once again.
Cheers Mate.

Gave us a good run for 2.5 quarters.

Reckon Laidley is playing your side out of position though. Wells is wasted in the backline! Felt sorry for Thompson. He had Bassett, etc as a spare man across HB mopping up everything & Thommo had no mates. Surely a spot could be found for Rocca up forward to give you guys 2 key targets?

Kane McGoodwin said:
Cheers Mate.

Reckon Laidley is playing your side out of position though. Wells is wasted in the backline! Felt sorry for Thompson. He had Bassett, etc as a spare man across HB mopping up everything & Thommo had no mates. Surely a spot could be found for Rocca up forward to give you guys 2 key targets?
I have to disagree with you regarding Wells. I thought he was the one doing the most damage in the first half. His play off HBF was sensational. He injured a groin in the second quarter and was obviously restricted.

I have never been a big JYD fan but credit to him for at least coming up with a plan that could work against us. They were winning the midfield quite convincingly in the first half and their game plan was the right one to go into the game with. A very similar plan to what Richmond implemented but we weren't dumb enough to fall for the same trick twice so we played man on man.

IMHO, he gave his side every chance to at least have a shot at winning. It wasn't pretty and at times it was quite frustrating but at least there was a some chance it could given them a shot at 4 points. In the last quarter when Roos had nothing to lose they started playing a bit more freely and got blown out of the water.

Oh and have I ever said before how big a fan I am of Daniel Harris. The kid is a GUN :cool:

Stiffy_18 said:
I have to disagree with you regarding Wells. I thought he was the one doing the most damage in the first half. His play off HBF was sensational. He injured a groin in the second quarter and was obviously restricted.

I have never been a big JYD fan but credit to him for at least coming up with a plan that could work against us. They were winning the midfield quite convincingly in the first half and their game plan was the right one to go into the game with. A very similar plan to what Richmond implemented but we weren't dumb enough to fall for the same trick twice so we played man on man.

IMHO, he gave his side every chance to at least have a shot at winning. It wasn't pretty and at times it was quite frustrating but at least there was a some chance it could given them a shot at 4 points. In the last quarter when Roos had nothing to lose they started playing a bit more freely and got blown out of the water.

Oh and have I ever said before how big a fan I am of Daniel Harris. The kid is a GUN :cool:
When the game was in the balance & the Kangas were struggling to get the ascendency, there was a 15min period where Wells was doing buggar all in the back-pocket. If that is good coaching, so be it.

Stiffy_18 said:

Now there's a player I would be willing to trade for.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Cheers Mate.

A problem with Rocca is his mobility, or lack thereof, if we could utilise him well then the lack of mobility isn't an issue, if we couldn't then it would be a major liability.

The problem I have with Laidley is that he is far too negative or coaches reactively. We do not really go out there playing to our strengths, we try to contain the opposition strengths and it is a very difficult way to win footy games. We were able to contain the Crows for 2.5 quarters but we do not have the same attributes to pull off a richmond tactic. You really need a lot of very fast midfielders who can lead their opposition to the ball. I think Crows are still vulnerable to that tactic by sides like Richmond or Bulldogs or perhaps Eagles who can field a pacey midfield. Crows have a lot of solid hard tackling in and under players and are a bit vulnerable to a midfield built around speed.

We do not have the type of running players to pull that off, we have Wells and he was extremely hard for the Crows to match up or contain because of his speed but if you have four or five guys in the guts with good speed and good ball skills it has the potential to hurt the Crows. When I saw us playing that way I knew we were stuffed. We just dont have those types of players.

For a number of years our midfield has carried our side, it has let us remain competitive with a wonky forward line and defense, we just do not have the same kind of advantage in the middle that we once did and we have far too many younger players with not enough experience to give a very good and well drilled side like Adelaide a run for their money. Not this year at least. ;)

Good luck for the rest of the year, Crows should be one of about 3 or 4 teams with a real chance at a flag this year.

Kane McGoodwin said:
When the game was in the balance & the Kangas were struggling to get the ascendency, there was a 15min period where Wells was doing buggar all in the back-pocket. If that is good coaching, so be it.

I agree, he has been a match winner when he has been running through the middle. If the ball is fed to him when he running through the middle he can kick goals or set them up. As good as he was across half back his possession didn't hurt the crows as much as it would have if he got them in the middle of the ground running forwards.

He is prone to being tagged out of the game, I think he should play across half back but be running through the middle and the midfielders should be drilled to utilise him, shephard, block and make room and feed him the ball as he is going through the middle. He is good enough to lose most players via just speed alone if he runs through the middle from the half back.

We really need to get our best assets around the ball as much as possible. He just can't afford to play that sweeping role. That role he played against the Crows will eventually be played by Smith, in my opinion in that role he would be better than Wells, has the pace, the skills but also the size.

Despite losing badly I am still reasonably happy with the progress of many of our younger players. We do have a fair few playes that we really need to turn over during the next few years, this year is probably a pretty good one to get a top 5 pick.