Society & Culture What is the worst present you have given/received?

• Thread starter Thread starter Igloo

The problem is that some people take it personally when you don't want them.

I tossed the zen garden because frankly my desk is messy enough without a tray of sand and pebbles sitting on it. The woman who gave it to me was really offended when she came past my cubicle a few weeks later and saw that it wasn't there.

The problem is that some people take it personally when you don't want them.

I tossed the zen garden because frankly my desk is messy enough without a tray of sand and pebbles sitting on it. The woman who gave it to me was really offended when she came past my cubicle a few weeks later and saw that it wasn't there.

I think you just met my sister - all her gifts are special

KK presents should be taken for what they are - a token gesture under duress with absolutely no thought or care given.

Only time I got involved in something like that was in high school, I gave a $2 diary and got a mini Whitmans Sampler box with 4 items.

Other than that, I hate gift cards too. Why not just give money? That can be used anywhere.

Lot safer to send gift cards than money, we actually had someone a couple of weeks ago drop about $300 into our drop box which normally gets processed through machines, so easily stolen (we don't do that sort of thing at our facility). The tough thing though in regards to cards was that as our Christmas Bonus last year (the first time in 2 years we got a bonus from post) we got $60 worth of postage stamps (I KNOW!) and the ability to select $100 of gift cards (but not pre-paid debit cards) from a post shop. Still have the $60 worth of Rebel vouchers, the other $40 went on iTunes.

Definitely would have to be Year 6 KK. Hadn't organised anything until the morning that it was on. Mum had bought two of those shitty art sets for myself and my younger brother a few weeks back, and there was no way in hell we were going to be seen using them. They had been sitting in the lounge room for about a month, unopened, so mum suggested that I wrap that up. Thought **** it, so I did.

Anyway, the format for this thing was boy presents and girl presents, with the person picked out of the hat given the luxury to choose whichever gift from he/she's boy/girl pile. The first kid picked was this boy who everyone hung shit on. Upon seeing my gift (being the largest) his face lit up thinking he was in for something really extravagant. The look on his face was something I'll never forget. Quite possibly the funniest primary school moment I had ever experienced. Of course it happened to the kid nobody liked.

Yeah, I was a campaigner growing up.

My ex bought me flowers for my 21st birthday a few months ago. He is living overseas on not much money so I was surprised but grateful that he got me anything.
About a week later I guess he wanted to end things but instead of just telling me he ended all communication with me, until last week when he messaged asking if I could put the $60 in his account for the flowers he bought me. Lol :rolleyes:

The worst I've seen given was at a work kris kringel. One of my work mates got my manager a drink bottle. Not even a good one just a shitty plastic one you'd get at safeway for $2

What constitutes a 'good' drink bottle?
24 karat gold
1_ly5AO_37155.jpg

Starting to become a master in inconvenient gifts. Have a mates house warming coming up and here are some ideas.

10L of ice cream.
50 cold Big M's
10 gold fish in a bag - no tank.
1 butter menthol
Bag on bean bag beans.
A trailer full of bric-a-brac

Starting to become a master in inconvenient gifts. Have a mates house warming coming up and here are some ideas.

10L of ice cream.
50 cold Big M's
10 gold fish in a bag - no tank.
1 butter menthol
Bag on bean bag beans.
A trailer full of bric-a-brac
Why don't you get him something useful? Sure it's funny but at the end of the day you're wasting your own money, and his time.

Time and place for stupid gifts, house warming is not one.

Why don't you get him something useful? Sure it's funny but at the end of the day you're wasting your own money, and his time.

Time and place for stupid gifts, house warming is not one.
It is the whole purpose of a joke present though.

Yes, but can't you see where I'm coming from?

If you're going to get him something absurd, at least get him something useful that he is actually going to find use out of, rather than some of the silly things you'd suggest.

Thing is I am a massive sports freak so really easy to buy presents for!

That's what shits me about present buying. I'm the easiest bloke around to buy for. I love footy, wrestling, horror movies, rock/metal, memorabilia, any thing from those categories usually means i'll like the gift. But the wife? Geez. She doesn't like getting DVDs or CDs, doesn't really like decorative shit or memorabilia, and buys most stuff she wants. Her birthday time is always stressful trying to figure out what to get her.

Went to a 19th in my glory days and we had to buy a bottle of vodka on the way to the party. The grog shop had run out of those gift bags, so we just wrapped it in a used Hungry Jacks bag. The kicker for her is there were still some chips left in the bottom.

WINNING!

Gave my mate a cassette ( that i knew he already had too ) so i could jag free Hungry Jack's at his party

Here's your gift.

Ah look, free food.

Gangway people coming through.

Joke presents are the best. My wife has a little brother who is about 11 years younger than her. Pretty much "an accident", he was and still is the baby of the family. And VERY spoilt. Years ago on his 13th birthday I got him a kangaroo keyring that you find in those Aussie Souvenir shops run by Asians. When he started with the water-works :eek: I had to give him his real present. I still give him heaps for crying.

When I was around 12 or 13 myself, one of my aunts gave me Cher's autobiography as a xmas present. Not sure why as I have never been a fan. But I certainly didnt cry... One theory is that it was around the time of the "Turn Back Time" film-clip and she must have thought being that age it must have been a wet dream for me.

Im allergic to peanuts and other assorted nuts. two years running, two separate members of my wifes extended family bought me the same tin of chocolate covered nuts knowing full well that it'd spell the end of me...

thats four boxes of chocolate coated anaphylaxis.

guess they dont like me too much.

Just remembered my 8th birthday. Not so much the worst present ever, as just so consistently bad it was ridiculous. I had maybe 15 or so friends at my birthday, from friends through to 'the boy in my class'. At the time I was obsessed with Transformers, but being a small town there wasn't much variety available.

A week before my birthday, there was a huge clearance on the 87 range - but by then there were only a few characters left, as the 88 release was already out.

When it came time to opening presents, I got a 'Flywheels' toy.
r_flywheels014.jpg

Then, I opened the second. I got a fly-wheels toy. The third. The fourth. Some kid gave me a novelty disguise.

I ended up with 7 identical transformers. (Didn't cry).

After everyone left, we went to Kmart to 'exchange'. Due to the discounted clearance stock, my 6 extra Flywheels could not be exchanged.

That year, every birthday party I went to, the kid got Flywheels.

About a month before my 21st, my Aunt and Uncle collected a cool $15 mil from tattslotto so, naturally, leading up to my birthday I was getting myself prepared for something awesome... ... ...

Helloooo F.R.I.E.N.D.S cap:

Friends_Baseball_Cap.jpg

Never even watched the bloody show!!

Edit: Forgot to mention the worst I have given - it was an ongoing one. My mum, for some reason, keeps all the cards she has received in a drawer in the dining room. So for about 6 years (until she finally cottoned on) I just went to the drawer, and gave her the same birthday card every year! Haha, good old senile mum.