Opinion What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? - Part 2

After the boundary line is moved in at Kardinia Park, I hope and looked forward to a player getting cut from the LED advertising boards.

What will they do then? move in the boundary line further again? Why can't they just put up some clear perspex now...... tail wagging the dog!
If you move boundaries in any further at GMHBA the ground will look something like this:

image.png

We need to KEEP a boys club mentality. Not at the expense of women or by allowing things like what Barry Hall said to be acceptable, but football has been built on a long tradition of male camaraderie and that shouldn't be allowed to disappear. We live in an age currently where the #metoo movement provides an outlet for misguided outrage at basically ANYTHING. Unfortunately this mentality has meant any time a group of males are together on television or radio, it's a 'defeat' for women everywhere. The AFL currently have female goal umpires, field umpires, journalists, commentators, and a new league dedicated to women that resulted in a pay rise before the first ball was bounced. THIS is progress. THIS is acceptance on a whole.
Now it feels as if the tradition of getting the boys together to hang shit on one another and talk about the footy is under threat. Barry Hall was out of line and he was dealt with. The entire concept of the Triple M team and that style of entertainment cannot be lost from our game. Over summer it was so refreshing to hear the commentary team rip (good natured) shreds off Isa Guha as if she was one of the boys. She took it so well and dished it back just the same. I laughed all summer long and appreciated the real lack of political correctness that devours everything these days. Isa steered into the skid, knew what she was signing up for, and probably had the time of her life. There was zero harm done, and I and others I know became an instant fan of hers.
If you want true acceptance for women, get them involved like Isa. The worst thing we could do is censor this form of commentary. We need to do the exact opposite. Keep the boys club and bring the girls in who add to it. Don't ban the boys club and risk widening the divide you are trying to close.

You said it well

If Leigh Mathews was coaching Brisbane lions now would they be any good ....no

If Alistair Clarkson was coaching Richmond .....they’d be good

Kind of agree but not completely.

Brisbanes list on paper should win a lot more games.

Last year they boasted one of the most complete midfielders in the competition with Rockliff, the accumulater, Zorko and Beams as the stars and Robinson as the enforcement/ wildcard, and they still are a rabble.

I think gameday couching is overrated, yes, but week to week, year to year, a couch leading the club and changing the culture is extreamly important.

Gameday coaching is highly overrated in terms of coaches making tactical moves. It's more coaching during the week and managing on the weekend. Saying <insert coaches name here> doesn't have a plan b, is such a cop out and a nuffie thing to say.
In Martin Flannagan's book about the 2016 flag it mentions excerpts from Luke Beveridge's game journals and it mentions different plans for different situations.

One of the sections mentioned Hamling and what he was to do in certain situations. It said something along the lines of "Buddy scenario 7 - Buddy pushes up to the contest to play as an extra onballer...."
The planning and preparation is crazy. All coaches have plans for an astronomically large amount of situations.

Singing the team song is overrated.

Most players probably hate that they have to do it after every win.

I think running through a banner is more overrated

In Martin Flannagan's book about the 2016 flag it mentions excerpts from Luke Beveridge's game journals and it mentions different plans for different situations.

One of the sections mentioned Hamling and what he was to do in certain situations. It said something along the lines of "Buddy scenario 7 - Buddy pushes up to the contest to play as an extra onballer...."
The planning and preparation is crazy. All coaches have plans for an astronomically large amount of situations.
So much planning goes on and the players are probably going between 3 plans each quarter. I just find it so funny how if someone doesn't like a coach they just say "he doesn't have a plan b"

We need to KEEP a boys club mentality. Not at the expense of women or by allowing things like what Barry Hall said to be acceptable, but football has been built on a long tradition of male camaraderie and that shouldn't be allowed to disappear. We live in an age currently where the #metoo movement provides an outlet for misguided outrage at basically ANYTHING. Unfortunately this mentality has meant any time a group of males are together on television or radio, it's a 'defeat' for women everywhere. The AFL currently have female goal umpires, field umpires, journalists, commentators, and a new league dedicated to women that resulted in a pay rise before the first ball was bounced. THIS is progress. THIS is acceptance on a whole.
Now it feels as if the tradition of getting the boys together to hang shit on one another and talk about the footy is under threat. Barry Hall was out of line and he was dealt with. The entire concept of the Triple M team and that style of entertainment cannot be lost from our game. Over summer it was so refreshing to hear the commentary team rip (good natured) shreds off Isa Guha as if she was one of the boys. She took it so well and dished it back just the same. I laughed all summer long and appreciated the real lack of political correctness that devours everything these days. Isa steered into the skid, knew what she was signing up for, and probably had the time of her life. There was zero harm done, and I and others I know became an instant fan of hers.
If you want true acceptance for women, get them involved like Isa. The worst thing we could do is censor this form of commentary. We need to do the exact opposite. Keep the boys club and bring the girls in who add to it. Don't ban the boys club and risk widening the divide you are trying to close.

Ok, but how bout they don't employ absolute muppets to provide their "entertainment"

Women don't have to do anything different to be accepted, some people have a light hearted personality, some dont.

I agree that there should be an option there for people who like an irreverent look at the game but jesus some of the crap that spills from that crew is ****ing stupid

Kane Cornes and Bob Murphy together on the radio are a good combination.

Kane is a basic bogan, and Murphy suffers when around acolytes that adore him.

Which years and who took "his" place?
This year he should be all Australian, he's comfortably the best lock down small defender in the competition.

Happy to say in 2013 when there was 2 midfielders (McVeigh and Mitchell) on the half back line (McVeigh did not play defence anywhere as near as much as now), and 3 midfielders on the bench he should've got in. Or 2015 when he probably had his best year and they put 4 midfielders on the bench and he missed out to flashier players/more media adored players such as Robert Murphy and Heath Shaw. Attacking fullbacks/lose smalls rather than lock down players.

I hate that we call it football because it means we can’t give the game to anyone overseas. The idea of football exists and it’s an international sport. “Na, na mate, this is AUSTRALIAN rules football” is not a marketable concept on an individual and definitely not a corporate level. It’s friggen dumb.

The only reason we don’t have a name is because lads were too busy thinking up a bloody excellent sport to spend time thinking of an excellent name for it. We have that luxury now and we should do it justice and give this sport a name.
Footy
It shits me no end when nrl Neanderthals call their 5 minute training drill, extended for a mind-numbingly boring period, footy

Collingwood, as in the club itself and its supporters, are actually fine. Going to Port games regularly in Melbourne, I always find Collingwood supporters to be the best, especially compared to most other clubs.

...and I don't understand the common perception that everyone hates them. People will hate Essendon because of the drugs saga. People will hate Hawthorn because of how successful they were and #freekickhawthorn, but ask the average footy fan why they hate Collingwood and I'd hazard a guess that a fair few of them would shrug and say "I don't know, everyone else does."

Collingwood, as in the club itself and its supporters, are actually fine. Going to Port games regularly in Melbourne, I always find Collingwood supporters to be the best, especially compared to most other clubs.

...and I don't understand the common perception that everyone hates them. People will hate Essendon because of the drugs saga. People will hate Hawthorn because of how successful they were and #freekickhawthorn, but ask the average footy fan why they hate Collingwood and I'd hazard a guess that a fair few of them would shrug and say "I don't know, everyone else does."
I like Collingwood.

I may like Collingwood more, but Mick Malthouse annoyed me, and his Collingwood introduced the philosophy of it's ok to be a shit kick for goal as long as you can lock it in for repeat entry.

Sent from mTalk

It’s a legacy of the days when Collingwood was the VFL’s most successful club.

I can think of at least four Victorian clubs I dislike more than the Pies - and I suspect that’s not unusual for anyone under the age of 45.

It's a concept from a generation or two ago that hung around because it's what parents told their kids. Agree that it doesn't really hold water now.

The Cyril love in and the 'overrated' potshots are both over the top.

Judd is gone, Ablett is 34, Naitanui is 28 but has a history of injuries... now Cyril is gone too. Footy needs more of these highlight reel guys or we'll be subjected to years ejaculating over Alex Rance making routine spoils.

Opinion What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? - Part 2