Yarran > Rioli
WHERE WE LOST THE GAME...

3rd Quarter
- gibbs kick out resulted in goal
- murf kicking is his biggest flaw, costed us several times in that qrt
- kruezer's kick across goal resulted in another goal
- russell miss from 30 out
- grigg miss on the run from 5 mts out
- all above are either pick 1 or second round pics, hopefully this improves in their game.

our youngsters all lets us down today when then game was there to be won... we could have beaten crows they ain't much chop..

Fevs was heavily blanketed all game which was always gunna happen, fish didn't stand up when we really needed... doesnt help when stevens continually kicked the ball over fevs head...

hartlett not up to AFL level, sure he is big and can mark, but kicking action very poor wont make it... lets all move on...:thumbsd:

i notice judd not working hard enough... saw him several times in the centre of ground not tagged away from contests. missed 2 running goals he would normally eat for breakfast... i'm still hoping he is not 100% fit...

what waite did was another brain explosion... he does this at least once every game with his decision making... can try to do to much sometimes... that happens when you are played somewhere you dont want to... he is trying his best to standout and have flair which is a natural part of his game but hard to do when you are marking someone and then frustrating when a hack out marks you... hence the punch of the ball in frustration..

cloke played well was probably our best, i dont think i've sen him play a bad game for us... why ratten persisted so long in the ruck with under sized kruez was stupid... i would like to see stats of clearances and goals for/against with cloke in ruck... 50-60% better than kreuz at present..

russell was okay... but i'm not gunna compliment him on an average game like some...

i think we missed bannister this week in the last few games he has consistenly dropped back in to positions to block leads and generally frustrated opponents...

an then again it didn't help having 2 players drop out before half time...

okay enough from me... i'll get over it... till w.c.... come on blueboys...

I am not too dissapointed, considering that umpires played a big part in the game, as well as injuries (Thornton's injury was a big loss) for more then 2 and a half quarters we actually were very competetive with a seasoned finals team ...

I think right now we have to just be a little more patient. Most of the mistakes were done by the kids, but I honestly believe they will learn from it (and despite what all those anti-Carlton flogs are saying on the main board and bay 13, Gibbs is going to be a very good player) ...

Right now, it's annoying, but I think this is a real development year, and btw it was great to see Bow Wow (Bower) being named as one of our best players, he is improving each week ...

In admist the dissapointment, we have to sit down and realise that we are in a much better position then we were 12/24 months ago etc...

I don't want to sound too much like Parrot :), but our list/playing group, has a massive, massive upside, but clearly are still at least one or two years away from truly 'gelling' as a cohesive unit ..

We lost, but we weren't disgraced (unlike many occassions in the last few years)

Not only all those points which you outlined AzzurriBlues but i also found that we were SMASHED from center clearances. Also hitouts were 50-15 or something like that.

:cool: Totally agree. We cost ourselves the game through inexperience and lack of concentration. We in fact gave the Crows 3 goals - the Gibbs kickout, the Kruezer kick across goal, the Waite punch into the crowd. Add to this the miss by Grigg and the miss by Fisher in the last quarter when he hit the post fron 15 metres out, gives us the 5 goals we lost by.

Take into account the easy misses by Russell (2) and Harlett (2) and we could have quite easily won the game. Also take into account that we were smashed in the clearances 17 to 3 in the last quarter we did well to keep the loss to 5 goals.

We are on the way back, but it will take some time and we will have some stumbles. Also a question, why not Setanta for chb and Waite for chf, will this work?:cool:

We weren't allowe to run the ball up the ground. it was too stop/start...and they killed us on the rebound everytime.

With Thornton out we may not have the luxury of throwing Waite forward. That would leave a relatively inexperienced backline of Bower, Jamison and Setanta. How about Kreuzer to spend more time in the forward line- surely he could kick about 2 goals a game which would be very handy. Maybe then we could play Cloke and Hammo in the ruck.

caught a bit of the press conference yesterday, ratts mentioned that he was reluctant to give kruez too much time on the ground and have him get smashed around at such a young age.

how has edwards been going at the bullants? a chance to come in for harts?

We were smashed in the clearances and failed to stop the Crows run off half back and through the midfield. Having two men on the bench didn't help us either.

Why we continued to go to Fev who was double or triple teamed at every contest astounds me!

We are a young side and our form will fluctuate. The umpiring in the last quarter was terrible but it wasn't the difference at the end of the day.

Thornton injured, Hartlett injured = less rotations, more tired players

Judd blanketed

Fevola double and triple teamed

Nobody else stepped up

Their pressure resulted in indirect disposal

They were allowed to run out of defence

A lot of negative attitude (Fev spent a lot of time seemingly resigned to being shut out of the game rather than chase)

Our inability to maintain possession was another factor. We bombed the ball long because they locked us down and we had no other option. In saying that, we failed to use the centre corridor and often went wide which doesn't help.

Hartlett had two kicks for goal that were off the mark and thats why you think he's finished? Poor form.

Unfortunately his hamstrings can't hold up. Is there nothing that can be done to keep him on the park!

i think hartlett wil be as good as fisher if not better. hes a great lead up player just been dogged with injuries once he gets over em he'll be right

the kids unfortunantly cost us today to many clangers but its gonna happen
im not to fussed thought we did really well with 1 and a half players on the bench

caught a bit of the press conference yesterday, ratts mentioned that he was reluctant to give kruez too much time on the ground and have him get smashed around at such a young age.

how has edwards been going at the bullants? a chance to come in for harts?

we'll see how he goes today
if he kicks a bag and presents eevry chance to come in for harts

The quality of the posts in this thread is magnificent. Can only add that Centre Clearance Stats are confusing Fox had it 13-13 at half time now i see on AFL they won 38-22, there were virtually same number of goals both halves 13/14, so how could they have 25-9 2nd half?

I guess they are counting around the ground bounces? I am only going on centre bounces and not counting the first bounce when a rebounce is required, scored the first half as follows for clearances

1stQ 4-4 (but I missed the first bounce on my tape)

2ndQ 4-2 to Adelaide

Will post second half this arvo when I get up the courage to watch it

Hope this post did not lower the thread quality too much :)

Hartlett had two kicks for goal that were off the mark and thats why you think he's finished? Poor form.

Unfortunately his hamstrings can't hold up. Is there nothing that can be done to keep him on the park!

Wheel clamps.

3rd Quarter
- gibbs kick out resulted in goal
- murf kicking is his biggest flaw, costed us several times in that qrt
- kruezer's kick across goal resulted in another goal
- russell miss from 30 out
- grigg miss on the run from 5 mts out
- all above are either pick 1 or second round pics, hopefully this improves in their game.
plus:
- Murph's grubbed pass to Fev on the Bay13 flank.
- Hartlett's two wasted shots, when he'd normally nail them at training.

That's the bright side for the long-term. They're all inexperienced kids who will make fewer clangers the more they play. We should have been two goals up at that point, instead we were two goals down.

Mind you, once I knew Thornton and Hartlett were down I gave us no chance at all. FMD, the injury list is getting pretty disastrous. I'm afraid May is going to be a write-off for us.

You are always going to be inconsistent when you have such a young team. Two great wins gives you the hope that there is a light at the end of the tunnel - and it's not a train! Crows applied some good pressure in the second half and your kids began to panic. More game time will see this lessen.

Losing Thornton in the first was tough... but you didn't lose Hartlett until the beginning of the 4th quarter. We lost Rutten in the 2nd as well as Symes. Luckily Symes was able to come back on after being on the bench for the third quarter. So both sides were restricted at some stage due to injury.

2008 is not your year IMO, but I think things are looking mighty good for next year.

You are always going to be inconsistent when you have such a young team. Two great wins gives you the hope that there is a light at the end of the tunnel - and it's not a train! Crows applied some good pressure in the second half and your kids began to panic. More game time will see this lessen.

Losing Thornton in the first was tough... but you didn't lose Hartlett until the beginning of the 4th quarter. We lost Rutten in the 2nd as well as Symes. Luckily Symes was able to come back on after being on the bench for the third quarter. So both sides were restricted at some stage due to injury.

2008 is not your year IMO, but I think things are looking mighty good for next year.

Hartlett went down early in the second quarter, could've even been in the first IIRC.

Yesterday was just proof of the "2 steps forwards 1 step back" nature of developing young footballers.

At least the effort and intensity levels were still right up there.

The Crows are a top 6 side and overall i thought we did pretty well - just hurt ourselves with skill errors which can happen when your opponent is good at shutdown-style footy.

One pleasing thing was that yesterday showed we are beginning to develop a bit of depth in our list. Two years ago, if we had 5 of our best 22 out injured we'd get annihilated.

Yesterday was just proof of the "2 steps forwards 1 step back" nature of developing young footballers.

At least the effort and intensity levels were still right up there.

The Crows are a top 6 side and overall i thought we did pretty well - just hurt ourselves with skill errors which can happen when your opponent is good at shutdown-style footy.

One pleasing thing was that yesterday showed we are beginning to develop a bit of depth in our list. Two years ago, if we had 5 of our best 22 out injured we'd get annihilated.

Think we may have lost a fair bit of that depth this weekend unfortunately.

Losing Thornton in the first was tough... but you didn't lose Hartlett until the beginning of the 4th quarter.
Definitely through the 2nd.

OK. I was plenty pissed at the time from the clangers that buried us in the 3rd. Sitting down afterwards I came to realise it wasn't that bad. All those clangers were by young talent that has years to iron them out of their game. They'll learn quickly, and the rest of the side held up reasonably where once it would have folded like a house of cards after a few injuries.

The injuries are going to make the next month pretty difficult though. Apparently Armfield and Hampson went down in the VFL today.

Hmm I still don't think Hartlett is going to make the grade as a foward, he is a good mark and decent leap, but his kicking skills aren't good enough to have him as a reliable foward.
I think he's probably going to have to play in the backline when he gets back, and that is if his body still holds up, has had some bad luck.

I still think we were better yesterday then most fans think, and the scoreline flattered adelaide a bit (Esp if you take into account the dodgy free kicks)

I mean last year under Pagan, we probably would have been smashed by 10 goals plus, that's a positive surely ...

Hmm I still don't think Hartlett is going to make the grade as a foward, he is a good mark and decent leap, but his kicking skills aren't good enough to have him as a reliable foward.
Hartlett is in fact the only guy at Carlton who can rival Fevola outside 50m. Easily one of the best kicks at the club.

Yes, you wouldn't know it given how he flubbed his two chances yesterday. I'm putting that down to nerves.

Hartlett is in fact the only guy at Carlton who can rival Fevola outside 50m. Easily one of the best kicks at the club.

Yes, you wouldn't know it given how he flubbed his two chances yesterday. I'm putting that down to nerves.

I'll take your word for it AD ...

I just he can have a change of fortune with injuries, he has been so unlucky since he's been drated.