where will we end 2005

AnotherBWFWrestler said:
where will the crows end in 2005

i reckon 7th

Welcome to the board ABWFW. Unfortunately this has been done to death and there is another thread nearby with other posters so dont be too upset if you dont get many responses.

But for my pick as said before between 12 and 7th but if I had to choose one I would say 9th.

As I've said elsewhere, between 7 and 10 depending on what luck we have with injuries.

I had the pleasure of having a good yarn to Brian Cunningham last night, and he predicts that Adelaide will bounce back into the lower regions of the 8 in 2005.

It was encouraging to hear him talk about Neil Craig, how highly he rates him, and the confidence that he has in him to be a successful coach.

He's one hell of a nice fella and a top bloke - I hope that his judgement on footy coaches is of the same quality. ;)

macca23 said:
As I've said elsewhere, between 7 and 10 depending on what luck we have with injuries.

I had the pleasure of having a good yarn to Brian Cunningham last night, and he predicts that Adelaide will bounce back into the lower regions of the 8 in 2005.

It was encouraging to hear him talk about Neil Craig, how highly he rates him, and the confidence that he has in him to be a successful coach.

He's one hell of a nice fella and a top bloke - I hope that his judgement on footy coaches is of the same quality. ;)

Thats what he's paid to do, make you think hes a nice bloke, thats the type of business he's in. Hes not going to bag craigy right in front of you is he??? Anyway, the proof will come when next yr when craigy can coach with his 'new' game plan, and from what we've seen so far its not too encourging.

I hope that you all call for craig's head this time nxt year when he doesnt finish 7-10. Our team isnt as bad as u'd think when you actually look at it, so i would not expect to finish any lower than 12th. In fact we should finish higher than that, Hawthorn and Richmond are virtually guranteed to finish lower than us, so it only takes a couple of other teams to have bad yrs.

outback jack said:
Anyway, the proof will come when next yr when craigy can coach with his 'new' game plan, and from what we've seen so far its not too encourging.

Ah, good to have you back, Jack. Comments like this, and you'll be able to stay on the board, and not get banned! As the resident mascot/clown, but still, you'll stay.

From what we've seen so far? You mean, in how he's coached Christmas Dinner?

Youll finish the minor round in either 6th or 7th position. Im undecided on how you will go in the finals just yet. Depends who you play and where you play. If you finish 7th I think you will go out in a tight final. If 6th, youll win the first final by a couple of points then get knocked out by 5 goals in the semis.

Mcleod will win the BnF and also the Brownlow by 5 votes. Unsure who will win your Goalkicking just yet.

Between 7 and 13th.

I'm hoping we finish 2005 with the following side, on form not favour:

Welsh Krueger Bode
Hentsc M Stevens Johncock
Edwards Roo Riley
Thorney McGregor Goodwin
Gibson Rutten Hart

Hudson Thomson Mcleod

I/C Biglands, Bassett, Begley, Burton, Watts, Schuie.

While appearing very solid I think our back 6 lacks aggression/mongrel hence the reason I have included Gibson instead of Bassett.

outback jack said:
I hope that you all call for craig's head this time nxt year when he doesnt finish 7-10. Our team isnt as bad as u'd think when you actually look at it, so i would not expect to finish any lower than 12th. In fact we should finish higher than that, Hawthorn and Richmond are virtually guranteed to finish lower than us, so it only takes a couple of other teams to have bad yrs.

I guarantee you that unless there's exceptional circumstances that I will jack. I agree that our team is nowhere near as bad as many make it out to be.

I was never a "I want Craig" man, in fact, just the opposite.

In fairness though, we can't judge Craig by the 9 matches where he was fill-in coach. The teams we put on the park were selected by committee rather than just Craig, and at that stage he left the game plan basically as was, because it was too far into the season to change things around.

He deserves a fair go, and we should all give him that, because both he and us all want the same thing - success.

As far as the off-season activities have gone so far, I'm delighted. IMO we have traded well and drafted well. I also like the fact that Craig has resorted back to an emphasis on skills at training, because over the last few years our skills have declined dramatically.

Although I didn't originally want him as our coach, he now is, and deserves a fair go before we pass judgement on him.

Have to agree with macca23 and springchoke, around 7-13, win/loss record will be better than last year. Injuries and getting off to a good start to the year will be the key. Me thinks...

outback jack said:
Thats what he's paid to do, make you think hes a nice bloke, thats the type of business he's in. Hes not going to bag craigy right in front of you is he??? Anyway, the proof will come when next yr when craigy can coach with his 'new' game plan, and from what we've seen so far its not too encourging.
Bucky has got where he has by making some tough decisions - eg. replacement of that other Jack with Choco. If he didn't have anything good to say about Craig, he would have probably chose to say nothing.

Like Macca, I was also against the appointment of Craig (as we the vast majority of Crows' fans), but not AFC have made their choice, I will support him & my club.

It is too early to comment on his game plan as a caretaker coach. However, by the end of 2005, we will be in a position to properly assess whether it is a success or not.

If you are a true supporter Jack, you should get behind AFC.

Between 6 and 10 is realistically where we are at, if injury free 4-6 possibly. If once again ravaged by injuries 12-14 isn't unlikely.

I am hoping top 4, well have to be positive if not realistic :p

Kristof said:
Ah, good to have you back, Jack. Comments like this, and you'll be able to stay on the board, and not get banned! As the resident mascot/clown, but still, you'll stay.

From what we've seen so far? You mean, in how he's coached Christmas Dinner?

thats nice, good one, do you think his coaching performances over the last 9 or so matches were encouraging?? Especially the brissie and freo matches they were just painful, those performances said to me that he isnt going to be in the top line of coaches . Look at the job that Paul Roos did, that was encouraging, he basically showed that he had some promise to coach the next year. if craigy had coached like that i would have been far more optimistic, basically he was handed the job after some of the worse performances in the clubs history. Anyway wait to see..........

Kane McGoodwin said:
Bucky has got where he has by making some tough decisions - eg. replacement of that other Jack with Choco. If he didn't have anything good to say about Craig, he would have probably chose to say nothing.

Like Macca, I was also against the appointment of Craig (as we the vast majority of Crows' fans), but not AFC have made their choice, I will support him & my club.

It is too early to comment on his game plan as a caretaker coach. However, by the end of 2005, we will be in a position to properly assess whether it is a success or not.

If you are a true supporter Jack, you should get behind AFC.

i'm behind them, but we shouldn’t follow them blindly with some of the decisions being made recently at the top are pretty shocking. Triggy must think we're idiots the way he tries to gloss over some of the details.

On bucky, it was widely acknowledged that jack was only there for two years, its only after they did ok that there was thought of more. And he definitely wouldnt say anything bad about craig thats for sure. I think its pretty clear that bucky knows how to play the media game in fact we need someone like that, but i wouldnt take anything he says with too much value on it. Hes there too please…..

i'll give craigy this yr to make my mind up on him, but really he shouldn't be in the job a the moment. There are 5 teams who are clearly better in port, saints, bris, wcoast, geelong, and you can probably put freo and melbourne around the mark too. That leaves us some where between 8-11 if we go lower than that I reckon he should be sacked, (which he wont) any higher and hes got something special. No one should be happy with 13 i reckon, thats worse than this year, and this year was bad. Nothing would make me happier, but top 4 is noooooooo chance at all.

outback jack said:
i'm behind them, but we shouldn’t follow them blindly with some of the decisions being made recently at the top are pretty shocking. Triggy must think we're idiots the way he tries to gloss over some of the details.

i'll give craigy this yr to make my mind up on him, but really he shouldn't be in the job a the moment. There are 5 teams who are clearly better in port, saints, bris, wcoast, geelong, and you can probably put freo and melbourne around the mark too. That leaves us some where between 8-11 if we go lower than that I reckon he should be sacked, (which he wont) any higher and hes got something special. No one should be happy with 13 i reckon, thats worse than this year, and this year was bad. Nothing would make me happier, but top 4 is noooooooo chance at all.

I dont know what people have been drinking since the last thread on this topic because everyone has gotten more positive. :D

I have to agree with jack and I have always said I hope for an 8th spot finish , but realistically think 9-11th is our go. If we finish higher great but I am not getting ahead of myself.
I also wont be calling for Craigs head if we dont make the 8..if we finish 16th then yes I will light the witch burning flares..but a pass mark for 2005 is 11th or better. I agree there are sides worse than us and there are sides better than us, its how Craig approaches those games against sides above us.I expect us to lose games when we shoudl win and win those we expect to lose. All part of the journey...2005 is consolidation 2006 is when the journey should move forward to the top 4

yeh 7th to 12th i think. TOP 6 IMO will be Port Bris Geelong WC Melb Freo . Crows could finish in the eight if players keep fit and they win all their home games

Good luck!!

Arsene Wenger said:
yeh 7th to 12th i think. TOP 6 IMO will be Port Bris Geelong WC Melb Freo . Crows could finish in the eight if players keep fit and they win all their home games

Good luck!!

they will still end up crying as port wins the flag :D