nickcat0

St Helens RFC
Forgive me my ignorance , but you have to understand I'm a loveable Pommie :p , who has discovered your great game through the wonders of satelite tv .

I've chosen Essendon as my team but as I've never been to Australia , let alone Melbourne , I don't have the intimate knowledge of the rivalries between AFL teams .

Judging from this message board , especially the Bay 13 section , it would appear that Collingwood and Carlton are our major rivals . Is this just because of the historical rivalry as the 3 most successful teams , or is it deeper than that ? Any other teams that Essendon fans hate ?

I know from my years being a supporter of English football , it's not enough to support a team , you have to hate a few rivals as well . So please educate me as to who I should be despising and why ? Thanks :thumbsu: .

Short answer;

Hate everyone but save that little extra for Carlton, Collingwood and non victorian teams.

Why?

Thats just the way it is!

Forgive me my ignorance , but you have to understand I'm a loveable Pommie :p , who has discovered your great game through the wonders of satelite tv .

I've chosen Essendon as my team but as I've never been to Australia , let alone Melbourne , I don't have the intimate knowledge of the rivalries between AFL teams .

Judging from this message board , especially the Bay 13 section , it would appear that Collingwood and Carlton are our major rivals . Is this just because of the historical rivalry as the 3 most successful teams , or is it deeper than that ? Any other teams that Essendon fans hate ?

I know from my years being a supporter of English football , it's not enough to support a team , you have to hate a few rivals as well . So please educate me as to who I should be despising and why ? Thanks :thumbsu: .

welcome aboard - you've chosen a team that has given it's supporters more value for money over the last 20 years than any other team.

Carlton are the big one, no doubt. They are our biggest rival, with Collingwood only marginally behind. They are both big teams like us, & we hate them passionately.

But we also hate North Melbourne...boy do we hate those meat-heads too. We once came back from like 10 goals down at quater time to beat them, it was ****ing awesome!

Well, Congratulations on making such good choice, and following such an illustrious team (no bias there :D). On the down side you probably chose to start following us at one of our least impressive times in the last two decades. But on the bright side, that means you will get to watch us rise up the ladder in the coming years.

For me Carlton represents the team I just love us to crush. It is so fun to wipe the smiles off their smug faces. And we have quite a long history with them, including many close and sometimes important games. Also, sharing the record of 16 premierships probably helps the hatred flow.

Collingwood on the other hand are a more recent rival, and probaby stems from the fact both Essendon and Collingwood are big clubs and we play the ANZAC day "blockbuster" match against them. Collingwood is the team everyone loves to hate, but seeing as the ANZAC day game is so huge in terms of money and exposure that has fueled our rivalry with them.

Other minor rivals could include North Melbourne (although I've never had a real problem with them, apart from the odd whiner), Hawthorn hate us so from their perspective we are a rival (although I believe many of them claim they are too good to care about us anymore), and it seems a fair few bombers supporters dislike St Kilda but I wouldn't claim any real rivalry there. There was something of a rivalry with the West Coast Eagles while Sheedy was still coach based on a jacket waving incident, but with him no longer coach that may fade (and I don't mind the Eagles, well I love beating them too).

Well, that's just my opinion anyway, welcome aboard.

Like the others have said, Carlton and Collingwood are our main rivals.
The Nth Melbourne rivalry was mostly from the 90's. They used to think we were soft and their supporters threw marshmellows at our coach Kevin Sheedy.
The Hawthorn rivalry comes from the 80's. They had a player by the name of Dermott Brereton who used to hate us (and still does). So we just hated them back.
I have a particular hatred of St Kilda, and it seems I am joined by a few other bombers supporters. I can't explain why. I think it has to do with their disgusting fans.

The Nth Melbourne rivalry was mostly from the 90's. They used to think we were soft and their supporters threw marshmellows at our coach Kevin Sheedy.
The Hawthorn rivalry comes from the 80's. They had a player by the name of Dermott Brereton who used to hate us (and still does). So we just hated them back.
I have a particular hatred of St Kilda, and it seems I am joined by a few other bombers supporters. I can't explain why. I think it has to do with their disgusting fans.
I'm with you on the hatred of St Kilda. My reasons.. I live just around the corner from their Moorabbin ground so I'm in a part of town well populated by St Kilda fans. About 80% of people I know are Saints fans so it's all I hear about when they are up and running. It's great when we beat them and I'm able to give some stick back!!
Anyway that's just me because of where I live and being in the minority as an Essendon supporter. Obviously Carlton and Collingwood are top of the list though. Lucky I only know about 10 blokes from my local footy club that support those 2 clubs, otherwise it'd be a lot worse!!

Also a rivalry of locality and history. According to Kevin Sheedy North Melbourne was where all the catholics played and Essendon was for the protestants.

In 1900 when the Essendon Football Club played its home games at East Melbourne Cricket ground a VFA team called Essendon Town was formed that played its matches in Essendon. Referred to as "Essendon A", they existed up until 1921, when Essendon moved to Windy Hill. Without a home ground "The Dreadnaughts" were forced to merge with North Melbourne.

Source: http://fullpointsfooty.net/Essendon_A.htm

I used to really hate Collingwood, but since the ANZAC Day game got bigger I have a bit more respect for them. These days I can't imagine ANZAC Day without Collingwood. So now I mildly hate them. I hate the Swans as well. I could potentially hate the Gold Coast... time will tell.

Moreover, I hate particular players. I hated Tony Shaw. I hate Barry Hall. I hated Wayne Carey... f*** I hated him! I hated Dermott Brereton. I hated the Brisbane Bears management and the fact they brought in Capper. At the moment I hate Dean Brogan (Bogan) and I'm not too keen on Michael Pettigrew. I hated Andy Gower very much. I hate Daisy Thomas. I hated John Platten (was that his name?) I hated Tony Modra. I hated Fraser Gherig. I hated Mark Williams. I'm sure there are more I hate...

Great thread, and great choice of club I think too :thumbsu:

Moreover, I hate particular players. I hated Tony Shaw. I hate Barry Hall. I hated Wayne Carey... f*** I hated him! I hated Dermott Brereton. I hated the Brisbane Bears management and the fact they brought in Capper. At the moment I hate Dean Brogan (Bogan) and I'm not too keen on Michael Pettigrew. I hated Andy Gower very much. I hate Daisy Thomas. I hated John Platten (was that his name?) I hated Tony Modra. I hated Fraser Gherig. I hated Mark Williams. I'm sure there are more I hate...

Geez you hated/hate a lot of people!

I agree Collingwood and Carlton are the two big ones. Apart from that I will give you a reason for each other team as to why you SHOULD hate them.

Adelaide: They are from Adelaide
Brisbane: They beat us in the 2001 Grand Final and bought Roger Merret (a great player in the 1980's - although he probably wanted to go)
Fremantle: We play them this week and half of their team and coaching staff are ex-Essendon players. Get your own ****en team!
Geelong: They are the best side in the competition and have w***ers in their side including Scarlett, Mackie and Mooney
Gold Coast: Have a terrible mascot and will take all our good draft picks
Hawthorn: We played in 3 consecutive Grand Finals in the 80's (2-1 our way). Their are also rumours that they used non-performance enhancing substances
Melbourne: Can't think of any reason to hate them...
North Melbourne: As mentioned they called us soft and threw marshmellows at our coach
Port Adelaide: Scum. Beat us in two consecutive finals, and full of ****wits including Brogan, the Cornes boys, Pettigrew and Motlop
Richmond: They have the same guernsey as us but with a yellow stripe
St.Kilda: Arrogant self obsessed club. Can't stand Milne. I probably shouldn't go to games he plays as I normally get started by St.Kilda fans.
Sydney: Play the most unattractive football possible. Oh and they beat us by a pt in the 1996 Preliminary final
West Coast: First non Victorian team to win the premiership. Wouldn't send Judd to us
Western Bulldogs: Ruined our perfect 2000 when they were the only team to beat us all year.

Haha!
I only really hate Carlton, Collingwood and Hawthorn.
Great choice in team mate! My Pommie mates chose Richmond and St Kilda, I didn't pressure them into picking the Bombers.
What made you chose the team Nick?

Thanks for the info guys . I knew about the rivalries with Collingwood and Carlton , but wasn't as aware of the others .

Thanks to the miracle that is the internet , I've got hold of a number of dvd's and books about the history of the VFL/AFL and its clubs , to enable me to choose my club wisely ;) . Plus I've purchased a number of dvd's from the V.E.G group .

I settled on Essendon for a number of reasons :

1) I wanted to support a Melbourne based club . It's the home of Aussie Rules .
2) I admired the club's stand in 1916 over the Patriotic Fund .
3) They have a great tradition and history .
4) When watching the old dvd's , James Hird stood out as a great all-round player , and top bloke .
5) Maybe it's a bit of gloryhunting , but I liked the idea of my team having had the greatest team ever in 2000 , statistically anyway .
6) Although I'm not against any other religions , and think we should all live in harmony , I am a Protestant , and that was where the Bombers had their roots .
7) I liked the kit , and the fact it hadn't been changed since before the VFL was founded . The refusal to adopt a "clash" kit . A bit of tradition again .

Other clubs had some appeal , but none had it in spades like Essendon . I look forward to chatting to you guys over the season .

Just hate all the teams. Hate them even more when we lose.

But make sure you hate Carlton the most.

Btw Dons V Blues next week can't wait to dig into their team and their supporters:D

Geez you hated/hate a lot of people!

I agree Collingwood and Carlton are the two big ones. Apart from that I will give you a reason for each other team as to why you SHOULD hate them.

Adelaide: They are from Adelaide
Brisbane: They beat us in the 2001 Grand Final and bought Roger Merret (a great player in the 1980's - although he probably wanted to go)
Fremantle: We play them this week and half of their team and coaching staff are ex-Essendon players. Get your own ****en team!
Geelong: They are the best side in the competition and have w***ers in their side including Scarlett, Mackie and Mooney
Gold Coast: Have a terrible mascot and will take all our good draft picks
Hawthorn: We played in 3 consecutive Grand Finals in the 80's (2-1 our way). Their are also rumours that they used non-performance enhancing substances
Melbourne: Can't think of any reason to hate them...
North Melbourne: As mentioned they called us soft and threw marshmellows at our coach
Port Adelaide: Scum. Beat us in two consecutive finals, and full of ****wits including Brogan, the Cornes boys, Pettigrew and Motlop
Richmond: They have the same guernsey as us but with a yellow stripe
St.Kilda: Arrogant self obsessed club. Can't stand Milne. I probably shouldn't go to games he plays as I normally get started by St.Kilda fans.
Sydney: Play the most unattractive football possible. Oh and they beat us by a pt in the 1996 Preliminary final
West Coast: First non Victorian team to win the premiership. Wouldn't send Judd to us
Western Bulldogs: Ruined our perfect 2000 when they were the only team to beat us all year.

Yeah I know I hate alot. With good reason though. They're all bastards. I also hate Joel Bowden and Chris Judd, and I have a really strong dislike of Bruce McAvaney. I am beginning to develop a hatred of Marc Murphy and Bryce Gibbs... and I think I actually hate Port Adelaide. Oh well :)

The Richmond stripe. Classic! :D
I'm still not over the curve in our stripe though :(

I settled on Essendon for a number of reasons :

[...]

Other clubs had some appeal , but none had it in spades like Essendon . I look forward to chatting to you guys over the season .

Good on ya, Don of the Antipodes. Although rivalries and associated "hate" is an interesting part of the game that often enhances the experience of supporting an AFL club, it's cool that the focus is still on the positives. The stories you hear about the EPL gangs (what's the word?)--my god. None of that here, but we still have the invigorating elements to rivalries, without any of the destruction. The main part of being an Essendon supporter is loving the way the club functions on and off the field, not in hating other clubs. Of course.

In that spirit, then, some other reasons that are good for supporting this club (and see that thread about Essendon stories that Merv started), might be:

- first club to really make meaningful connections with Indigenous communities up north
- has maintained high membership throughout the form slump of late (an indirect reason, pointing toward the club's quality via the fans' passion)
- team always seems to have interesting characters, as well as the inspirational ones
- team rarely has those fully blown w***ers (with ridiculously arrogant celebrations, etc)

But in the spirit of your OP, what everyone else has said is pretty much it. I do feel a renewed rivalry with Richmond after Joel Bowden's unsportsmanlike tactics of our last encounter, though.

...... The main part of being an Essendon supporter is loving the way the club functions on and off the field, not in hating other clubs. Of course.

In that spirit, then, some other reasons that are good for supporting this club (and see that thread about Essendon stories that Merv started), might be:

- first club to really make meaningful connections with Indigenous communities up north
- has maintained high membership throughout the form slump of late (an indirect reason, pointing toward the club's quality via the fans' passion)
- team always seems to have interesting characters, as well as the inspirational ones
- team rarely has those fully blown w***ers (with ridiculously arrogant celebrations, etc)

Thanks , some more reasons to love the Bombers .

I also think I'll have no problem with the hating others part ;) .

Carlton and Collingwood : well that's a given .

All non Melbourne teams : easy to hate , all "Johnny Come Latelys" , in their garish clown-like guernseys .

North Melbourne : two words , Wayne Carey .

Western Bulldogs : spoilt the perfect season :mad: .

Hawthorn : rivals from the 80's , star player looked like a rat :eek: .

Geelong : chokers , currently experiencing delusions of grandeur .

St Kilda : Shane " Fat Boy" Warne is a fan ( you might all love him , but I'm a Pommie :p ) .

Richmond : gave a home to the smug junkie that is Ben Cousins .

Melbourne : I'll have to work on this , they're rather like a "courtesy" side , they're no harm to anyone .

I'm pretty sure that all of their assistant coaches throw rocks at cars from pedestrian bridges, whilst their waterboys befoul neighbourhood birdbaths.

Pretty sure, not 100%, but hey, I'll take it. Those bastards.

I'm pretty sure that all of their assistant coaches throw rocks at cars from pedestrian bridges, whilst their waterboys befoul neighbourhood birdbaths.

Pretty sure, not 100%, but hey, I'll take it. Those bastards.

:mad::mad: that makes me so angry ........ the bastards . I hate them as well now .

:D