bigtexan

Just wondering how many blokes out and have a bash at this great social sport?

Yep play up to twice a week. I have a summer team with my footy mates called Swinging Balls and a winter team with my work mates called Mitchell's Johnson. Play at an absolute bogan-mecka - seriously they could write a movie about some of the characters I see at the local indoor cricket centre.

Fun game.

We keep stats, good and bad and have giant piss ups at the end of the year.

There are actually some damn good cricketers out there.

Yep play up to twice a week. I have a summer team with my footy mates called Swinging Balls and a winter team with my work mates called Mitchell's Johnson. Play at an absolute bogan-mecka - seriously they could write a movie about some of the characters I see at the local indoor cricket centre.

Fun game.

We keep stats, good and bad and have giant piss ups at the end of the year.

There are actually some damn good cricketers out there.

Loving the team names... Were "The Comonderos" bit of a spin on the bikie gang. Our stats are kept by the indoor cricket venue and are updated straight after the game.
6 a side. Im avg 40 with the bat and for 18 ball so far this seaon. 2nd in div and my mate is top in div with 42 and 19.

Loving the team names... Were "The Comonderos" bit of a spin on the bikie gang. Our stats are kept by the indoor cricket venue and are updated straight after the game.
6 a side. Im avg 40 with the bat and for 18 ball so far this seaon. 2nd in div and my mate is top in div with 42 and 19.

We are moving to six a side next week. Whats the average pair score for six a side?

You will win most games if you can get 180. We aim for about 60 a pair. This year so far we are hitting around 200 with the bat and keeping most teams to around 160. Anything around the 50 mark is par id say

Played alot during my teenage years, always had great fun :thumbsu:

Played through my mid to late 20's for about 4-5 years and absolutely loved it.
Unfortunately my "career" was cut short when I badly injured my ankle one night. Took me ages to get it right and by that stage had lost the interest to play.

Played through my mid to late 20's for about 4-5 years and absolutely loved it.
Unfortunately my "career" was cut short when I badly injured my ankle one night. Took me ages to get it right and by that stage had lost the interest to play.

That sucks... Only injury ive had so.far is severe carpet burns. Not cool

I think we've all had those.....
Yeah I was fielding in close and I went to push off my left foot and my ankle just twisted in a way no ankle really should.
Didn't break, and walking on it a week or so after it was ok, but it took me a while to get my lateral movement at speed back.

Yeah i made a good choice the other day... Trackies for fielding and shorts for batting. Dont wanna experience the whole outside of left leg being a fleshy mass of gooiness again!!!

My work team is dropping out like flies from indoor cricket injuries. Its hilarious. In 5 games we've had:
- broken nose
- calf muscle torn of the bone
- busted knee
- hammy
- shoulder
- general soreness

Mind you, they are an unfit lot. Cos its so stop start, and you come from swilling beer to having to sprint - its harder on the body than people might think

Shit... We stopped playing for two years after playing for 4... When we came back last season our game was thurs and i couldn t walk or use my bowling arm till sun night haha.
Takes a little while to get used to it but i prefer to bowl first cos im knackered for at least an hour after my innings

I have a permanent mark on my right knee from carpet burn during indoor cricket. :D

I played about 250-300 games when I was younger (previous millennium). It took me about 4 games to ruin every pair of tracky dacks I owned. After that I always played in shorts and knee pads. As I got older and started hitting the ground harder (and getting up slower) I added elbow pads.

In the tradition of feeble, rude, hilarious (to 10-year olds), and lame team names I can remember Good Lengths, Flashers and Slashers, and a few seasons where our name was some variation on Jamie Cox and Greg Blewett. God, we were funny.............................

It's an unwritten law that you have to have a team name of this type.

Indoor is bloody good fun. 3 of our side hadn't played since year 12 (about 8 years ago) and the other 3 had never played when we started. Watching the progression is one of the best bits.

Played every year back in Perth for 10 straight, from about 15-25 with the same group of 8 (maybe 2 changes all the way through). Just got a bit harder to commit once everyone started having kids/jobs etc but we had some awesome games. Played a bit of super league as well where you play other Perth venues on a Sunday arvo, only did that the one year as it was a bit serious. We managed to win our grand final against a team that had Luke Pomersbach playing in it though.

I've played regularly for many years now, play once per week during the winter season and also play Superleague on Sundays which runs from April to early September. I used to play two games during the week during winter but the second team I played with aren't playing this season. Summer I only play once a week as I play outdoor cricket as well.

I also fill in for a couple of teams who play 6-a-side whenever they need a player. 6-a-side is a slogfest though which isn't really my cup of tea as I have always played indoor cricket with eight players and also having played Superleague for a number of years.

It's good fun though and I certainly recommend it for guys who want to do something during the week with a bunch of mates. :thumbsu:

Good game of indoor cricket is hard to beat. Particularly with strong front half fielding and bowling teams. Unfortunately eight a side is dropping off and six a side hack matches are all that will be left.

Have played for the past 3 or 4 years with some blokes from work, does not compare to the real thing but for a man with kids and a grumpy Mrs it's a good alternative. Geez it attracts some strange blokes though!
Played AFL 9's over summer which is good fun.

Play indoor cricket every Tuesday nights. Started the season well going 6-0, but have dropped the last two as I've been struggling to find 8 players each week. Injuries keep piling on.