pie time

At the start of recruiting him i thought it was questionable but i dont get why every club thinks we are stupid for picking him up with pick 30.

1. we knew he couldn't kick 50 metres
2. we got him as an inside midfielder to help swanny,pendles,davis and didak
3. he has done his fair share of tackling and hard ball gets
4. low effieciency rates for an inside midfielder seems normal to me
5. he is doing more for us than anyone else we could have got at pick 30

i ask what is the big deal we got him to the club to help with the inside work not kick 50 metre goals each week.

does anyone understand why all the ball hating because i really don't?

No hate from me, thought he had a good game vs the dogs did a lot of heavy in and under work vs them.
Poor game vs demons but hurt himself early on may have impacted his game.

Think most the hate is coming from fk wit saint supporters who are trying to justify losing him.

At the start of recruiting him i thought it was questionable but i dont get why every club thinks we are stupid for picking him up with pick 30.

i ask what is the big deal we got him to the club to help with the inside work not kick 50 metre goals each week.

Because the world is full of mental cream-puffs.

I'm happy with his start, played well against the Dogs and although he was average against the Dee's. his intent was there.

You can't really judge him at this stage.

i don't get it.

I do know part of the reason why Ross Lyon does.

Spoke to one of Luke Ball's old PE teachers who has always spoken very highly of him even from an early school age. Bally is super intelligent and apparently during a team meeting he questioned one of Ross Lyon's plays in front of everyone saying that "mathematically" it couldn't work and told him where it would break down. Rossy didn't like it and argued his point- and that was the beginning of when the relationship began to strain. From then on Ball was always out of favour with Ross Lyon.

I don't think there is any real hatred for Ball. I watched him clsoely on Saturday, and his disposal was disappointing, but in saying that l thought he was quite good against the Bullies. I think he is going to be of great value to our footy club on and off the ground, this dosen'tmean he's garaunteed a game very week, l mean Jolly to has been woeful the first 2 games. I actually think he (Ball) maybe one to be looked at in terms of been dropped this week, but i doubt it, as he may rise to the occasion against his old club.

Good Post - The 5 Points are Spot on.

He done great doing the Grunt Work as in Getting The Hardball and Getting it out to the Outside Players.

We knew his Kicking was not very Good(No Thanks to Grant Thomas and the Saints)

The Hate is coming from the Media and Saints Fans

I don't think there is any real hatred for Ball. I watched him clsoely on Saturday, and his disposal was disappointing, but in saying that l thought he was quite good against the Bullies. I think he is going to be of great value to our footy club on and off the ground, this dosen'tmean he's garaunteed a game very week, l mean Jolly to has been woeful the first 2 games. I actually think he (Ball) maybe one to be looked at in terms of been dropped this week, but i doubt it, as he may rise to the occasion against his old club.
droped for what? doing his job. You dont expect him to come to a new club and win a best and fairest in his first year. Wait until he is a few games in its a new game plan,new coach and most of all new players around him. Its gonna take a bit longer then 2 games to be a standout in a new team and we all knew that. at first i really did think it was questionable of recruiting him but i love watching him and think he brings something to the table each week and i absolutely love him at the club. i think it has been a good move from all ends i really do think he has some good football ahead of him. Yes he is no chris judd but he is still a magpie and i love having him on the team then the opposition i mean what is better then bringing in a player from another club that wants to play for us. he went through so much to get to us now give him a break and most of all a chance.

i don't get it.

I do know part of the reason why Ross Lyon does.

Spoke to one of Luke Ball's old PE teachers who has always spoken very highly of him even from an early school age. Bally is super intelligent and apparently during a team meeting he questioned one of Ross Lyon's plays in front of everyone saying that "mathematically" it couldn't work and told him where it would break down. Rossy didn't like it and argued his point- and that was the beginning of when the relationship began to strain. From then on Ball was always out of favour with Ross Lyon.

Castigated for being the team nerd!:eek:

Don't agree that it's just the media and Saints fans bagging him.

It's our own supporters who cracked the shits at us winning, (Crazy I know) who want him dropped and blah blah blah.

He was absolutely outstanding against the Dogs, with 24 score involvements, that's an amazing amount.

He was average against Melbourne, but he was so far from our worst it's not even funny.

I actually got pissed off at a few posters saying he should be dropped, he can't kick, he's slow etc. EVERYONE knew this when we drafted him, and EVERYONE was excited then.

Doesn't make sense guys.

After the game, I saw him as one of the "scapegoats" for our poor performance, and I was one of the posters calling for his head.

After watching the replay, I was wrong, while he wasn't one of our better players, apart from 2-3 clangers off his feet, his use of the ball was almost always under extreme pressure or in an "inside the pack" situation.

Someone else pointed out on the main board that Pendlebury and Swan's disposal efficiency, along with a few others have increased, and this is mainly due to Ball doing the "hard stuff".

Ball also didn't have O'Bree this week to assist him in the inside role, and this cannot be underestimated.

I won't question his worth again, he was ok against the Dees, and actually very good against the Dogs.

He is better suited though to the "tougher", harder opponents like the Dogs, Swans, Saints, Cats etc, then a younger, quicker side like the Dees.

He will only get better with time too, and when the conditions begin to turn "nasty" around mid year, we will see the best of him for sure.

Well worth pick 30, and I apologize to Luke for questioning his worth to the side.

It's okay matty u don't need to apologize to luke ball, I doubt he really cares if some silly, overreactive little footy nerd questions his worth to the team.
Maybe next time u can be sure of what your saying before u call for drastic action? Nah...... Didn't think so

I actually think he (Ball) maybe one to be looked at in terms of been dropped this week, but i doubt it, as he may rise to the occasion against his old club.

He will not be looked at to be dropped. Why is it that before we had him everyone knew he was a tackling machine with average footskills and the reason we got him was to release our more silky players but now that we have him this is lost on some people and they are expecting someone else.

Wasn't his best game against Melbourne but there were players you'd look at well before him and he played well against the bulldogs, he has only played two games for us so logically you'd expect him to steadily improve the more he plays.

Saints fans are making huge fools of themsleves over this.

I'm looking forward to friday night

As I mentioned in another thread, didn't actually think he was that bad on Saturday, not nearly one of our best but not down as one the 4 Bad points that a poster had, about middle of the road I would say, with a few more of our so usual best players behind him.

Watching the game, at the time I too was giving a grumble in the last at a few of his kicks.

After watching the replay this morning I counted only 2 direct turnovers to the opposition players. Daisy who every one said had a good game, (which I agree with for comments below) had more direct turnovers.

He was stuffed in the last quarter and a few of his kicks weren't to our players absolute advantage, but not many of anyone's kicks were that good on the weekend.

We knew he wasn't the best kick, when we got him at a reasonable pick, infact yesterdays game was only slightly worse than par for him I think based on the past two years, he did have 18 disposals, 5 tackles(1 ripper which resulted in a Pendlebury goal) and 4 clearances, although we got flogged in this department

I thought he was one of only a dozen or so players that played against the Dee's on merit and what was actually happening on the day and not what was expected, as some players didn't even realize we were in for a fair dinkum contest, and just thought it would all happen.

Just has to play to his limitations.

No more trying to spear 20m passes to leading forwards.

He feeds the footy well by hand. Needs to use them more than his feet.

After the game, I saw him as one of the "scapegoats" for our poor performance, and I was one of the posters calling for his head.

After watching the replay, I was wrong, while he wasn't one of our better players, apart from 2-3 clangers off his feet, his use of the ball was almost always under extreme pressure or in an "inside the pack" situation.

Someone else pointed out on the main board that Pendlebury and Swan's disposal efficiency, along with a few others have increased, and this is mainly due to Ball doing the "hard stuff".

Ball also didn't have O'Bree this week to assist him in the inside role, and this cannot be underestimated.

I won't question his worth again, he was ok against the Dees, and actually very good against the Dogs.

He is better suited though to the "tougher", harder opponents like the Dogs, Swans, Saints, Cats etc, then a younger, quicker side like the Dees.

He will only get better with time too, and when the conditions begin to turn "nasty" around mid year, we will see the best of him for sure.

Well worth pick 30, and I apologize to Luke for questioning his worth to the side.

When you are watching in the Stands you can miss his Inside Work but You can sure see it on TV

Good post matty.

Just has to play to his limitations.

No more trying to spear 20m passes to leading forwards.

He feeds the footy well by hand. Needs to use them more than his feet.

100% agree, His best games where he would have around 20 Touches and 90% of them are handballs

Saints fans are making huge fools of themsleves over this.

I'm looking forward to friday night
Yup I agree some really are still quite bitter and that combined with the fact it was the Pies (whom I have no feelings one way or the other about really) adds to that.

For me you guys getting him at 30 is a steal :mad::D as when hes playing to his strengths getting and feeding it out is well worth it, foot disposal is sub par but everyone was aware of that and is going to help you guys immensly once he gets used to the new structures and game plan (why I would have preferred him find a home elsewhere..maybe the Tiges like Cuz :rolleyes:).
He wasnt going to be getting as much time with us and I wish him well at the Pies as he was always one of my favourites with heart to spare.

That said I also am looking forward to Friday and expect a good contest in the vein of the one today with a tight victory to us preferably :p

A lot of people, including some analyst in the media can't come to grips with the fact not all players are outside running players whose strengths include immaculate delivery by foot.

He is old fashioned. He's hard at it, he pushes the footy forward. Each side needs them, we have 2, O'Bree and Ball.

As the season gets older and the level of contested Ball goes up, Luke Ball will be worth his weight in gold as far as pushing the pill our way goes.

He is a very good player, he is just average by foot.

So is Daniel Cross, so is Sam Mitchell.

100% agree, His best games where he would have around 20 Touches and 90% of them are handballs

Agree with this completely, add 6+ tackles though and probably some good blocking work as well and I'd be extremely happy with his output.

Yup I agree some really are still quite bitter and that combined with the fact it was the Pies (whom I have no feelings one way or the other about really) adds to that.

For me you guys getting him at 30 is a steal :mad::D as when hes playing to his strengths getting and feeding it out is well worth it, foot disposal is sub par but everyone was aware of that and is going to help you guys immensly once he gets used to the new structures and game plan (why I would have preferred him find a home elsewhere..maybe the Tiges like Cuz :rolleyes:).
He wasnt going to be getting as much time with us and I wish him well at the Pies as he was always one of my favourites with heart to spare.

That said I also am looking forward to Friday and expect a good contest in the vein of the one today with a tight victory to us preferably :p

Good to see a saints supporter who looks at it properly instead of just a luke ball slagging match. I for one am looking forward to the ball hayes match up, Hayes is a better overall player clearly but when judged only on inside clearance work it becomes a bit closer, should be a good game to watch just to see this little contest.

Ball was pick 2 (ahead of Judd) in the super draft. He was St Kilda captain and others would clearly have liked to have added him to their list but clearly none were willing to take the chance on a player who knew where he wanted to be. *What Ball brings to the club has been well documented so I won't go into detail but his leadership + experience + in and under ability make him naturally the perfect fit for the midfield*

Because Collingwood are Collingwood naturally people are frustrated at Collingwood receiving an inside midfielder who will fit into our team perfectly at a very much reduced price.

Some other recruiters I know don't rate Collingwood's draft, but our national draft is the only draft I rated A+ not just for the Ball factor but also because Thomas + Sinclair are bargains at their picks and will both become very very good players in the black and white. With Geelong the next strongest considering their position (did well with Duncan, Vardy and Christiensen) but wasn't as keen on the Menzel choice with Tapscott still available. Then instead of Cowan would have considered a mature age recruit ala. Michael Barlow/ Myles Sewell/ Broc McCauley/ Alex Silvagni were all players I would have looked at. So at the time I awarded them with an A. (It is widely considered by recruiters that Geelong "won" the draft but despite popular beliefs I as always have a differing view to that of the mainstream and am exceedingly pleased with how Collingwood both traded and drafted.