Norwood, Red Wings
Okay so first let me say 40,418 isn't a bad crowd and a lot of teams would kill to have that kind of attendance for their home games. But let's be serious, we have nearly 50k members, we have drawn 45k many times in the past, why the heck was there such a low number tonight? :thumbsd:

The weather was about as good as you could hope for in mid April, we have been playing good football with a whole heap of young, promising and exciting kids, we were up against the best side in the competition who I have no troubles admitting are a pleasure to watch. So then why the heck can't we seem to get above 41/42k any more to our home games? Even a few years back we would draw 45k every now and then but these days we never even come close to that number. What's the go? People complain about having poor time slots to watch the football, surely Saturday night is as good a time as any?

There is a current backlash against the ground, for reasons real or imaginary but still in debate.

That's honestly all I can think of, because the game was not broadcast live against the gate, and falling financials do not come into it when we are talking about people who have already paid for their tickets.

There is a current backlash against the ground, for reasons real or imaginary but still in debate.

That's honestly all I can think of, because the game was not broadcast live against the gate, and falling financials do not come into it when we are talking about people who have already paid for their tickets.

This is a major issue were people pay for a Season Ticket however only attend a hand full of games.

Could this have something to do with the demographic of Adelaide supporters?

Not to any significant degree.

Demographics and the ground backlash are the only things it could really be, and that's quite disappointing.

My cousin has had a wedding to go to at both our home games this season, that's his excuse, it can't be the same for 10k other people. Who schedules a wedding during football season anyway? I would, quite seriously, be going to the football and sending the bride and groom a card, no matter who it was.

We've got a situation where its practical for people to buy their season ticket, despite only being able to use it a select number of times.

The debate becomes whether or not this is a problem... i personally dont really think so. If we're selling out the ground, we're doing alright.

. Who schedules a wedding during football season anyway? I would, quite seriously, be going to the football and sending the bride and groom a card, no matter who it was.
haha reminds me of 05 easter weekend. Came down with parents from Sydney. Mum went to ceremony. Dad and I go and watch us lose to West Coast.

Then they can meet up at the reception afterwards.

They got invited and both went. And those of us who care about Footy, get to watch that as well. Win/Win. Too bad since then, the bride and groom have ignored us. I think we saw them once in 07 when i was playing footy at the same oval as the groom, but meh.

Not sure of anyone is aware but we the ticket exchange is not working since we changed agenices.

Wondering if the crowd has anything to do with television coverage? It just makes it easier for people to say "can't be bothered with the crowd, the traffic, blah blah blah" and just stay home and watch it.

Was delayed in Adelaide so unsure.

Okay so first let me say 40,418 isn't a bad crowd and a lot of teams would kill to have that kind of attendance for their home games. But let's be serious, we have nearly 50k members, we have drawn 45k many times in the past, why the heck was there such a low number tonight? :thumbsd:

The weather was about as good as you could hope for in mid April, we have been playing good football with a whole heap of young, promising and exciting kids, we were up against the best side in the competition who I have no troubles admitting are a pleasure to watch. So then why the heck can't we seem to get above 41/42k any more to our home games? Even a few years back we would draw 45k every now and then but these days we never even come close to that number. What's the go? People complain about having poor time slots to watch the football, surely Saturday night is as good a time as any?
Remove Port games and finals and your average crowds have been

2008: 40K
2007: 42K
2006: 42.5K
2005: 42K
2004: 39K
2003: 44K
2002: 42.5K

Was delayed in Adelaide so unsure.

If delayed only half hour (as Brisbane games are up here) I doubt that would be an issue. To me, they shouldn't have the games even remotely live on TV into the State where the game is played.

Which is damn good I reckon.
Wait until all the Sunday games dont stack up due to low country attendance.
It is good, but I think a few people have the wrong idea on just what your average attendance is. Some people think it has been closer to 50,000 than 40,000.

Just on the country attendance bit, I remember the discussions on here several years back that they made a big difference to crowds and some time slots such as Sunday twilight games were nuts for Adelaide teams.

The 3 "bad" timeslots for Adelaide crowds (both Port and the Crows) were Saturday arvo games, live against the gate or near live and late Sunday games for the country members.
Are there any games now that do not fall in one of the above categories?

I may be wrong but, doesn't the 50,000 membership include the 15,000 or so SANFL members? And , Could it be that maybe 40% of those do not like the Crows.
So, if the above were to be the case, if you took even 6000 off the Crows membership, if we average 41,000 during the season, we only miss about 3000 people per game.
In my view, that is not bad at all.

If delayed only half hour (as Brisbane games are up here) I doubt that would be an issue. To me, they shouldn't have the games even remotely live on TV into the State where the game is played.
Unfortunately they (AFL) have no choice but to do it.
All teams other than the ones in SA do well out of it financially.

The financial pie is basically membership, merchandise, gate takings, other match day income, sponsorship and TV rights.

TV rights basically replace loss in gate takings and other match day income.
In Adelaide gate takings and other match day income is split between the SANFL and the AFL clubs, so unless the SANFL is compensated by the AFL for the loss of income, it's main source of income, then it cannot lower the costs for the local AFL clubs.

Not sure if that came out right.

I may be wrong but, doesn't the 50,000 membership include the 15,000 or so SANFL members? And , Could it be that maybe 40% of those do not like the Crows.
So, if the above were to be the case, if you took even 6000 off the Crows membership, if we average 41,000 during the season, we only miss about 3000 people per game.
In my view, that is not bad at all.

In 1997 the membership figures were
Crows 50976
Port 34073

If we use your split and remove 6,000 from the Crows and 9,000 from Port we get
Crows 44976
Port 25073

Average crowds for 2007 excluding Showdowns and finals were
Crows 41957
Port 26961

They are both around the mark and the +- probably reflects the fact Port had a better season than the Crows. For opposite type seasons Port would be most likely just under and the Crows just over the membership figures.
Unfortunately for Port it isn't enough to make a profit.

Why is the delay in SA only 30 minutes? I think that is crap.

The following games are going to be on 3 hours delay in to SA on FTA. I doubt that will make a difference for those who have foxtel though

Rd 7: Adelaide v Western Bulldogs
Rd 9: Adelaide v Carlton
Rd 13: Adelaide v Sydney Swans

Can't wait until AAMI is a force of cheering fans who pack it out weekly. Unfortunately our member base represents the bubble of population in the Baby Boomers....and a bit older as well....

Not sure why anyone would be a member and not come.