Why we are this bad

• Thread starter Thread starter hedgehog

I thought they were defensively OK most of the time. We just got caned from stoppages and from turnovers. 5 goals average per quarter is not as bad as it can get. Going forward was another matter. PErhaps we pushed numbers behind the ball from the start to limit the damage

If you look at this weeks team,Tarrant(Fwd now DEF),Grover,Dodd(played out of position at times),McPharlin(Def now FWD)Mundy,Hase(back from knee recon)Solomon and Schammer are the only players who have played regular games,Thats only 8 players of which only 3 or 4 are playing in their usual positions. 8 of the team debut this year(some of them are running out of legs) and 6 are in the midfield depending how you look at it with 1 fwd(3 games) and the other carrying the ruck after playing 1 game.That leaves Murphy poor,Thorton has showed good signs as a Fwd but nothing else,Duffield v.good,Peake and Ibbotson up and down,Bradley poor this year.
No surprise we are that bad IMO

Chin up guys.

I would wait to see how Harvey and the Players react during the week and mainly against Brissie next week. I think that if you can get it going you can give it a red hot go.

However if they don't show any bite next week then, you should be calling for Harvey's head. But if you are to clean in out, clean it all out, including rick hart. It amazes me he has survived so long with constant failure.

Harvey for me also needs to stop comming out to the media and blaiming it on injuries or kids. He needs to make it clear to the supporters, public and players that it is unacceptable. No excuse, take responsibility. Team's throughout history have had worst injuries and younger teams and still had a crack. I hate to say this but have a look at Melbourne, they clearly have a list with less talent, yet they have been pretty good this year and have also had a real go at each game. In alot of games, they have been with there opponent in the 3/4. When you have a list like Melbourne or Fremantle or what Carlton had for the last 8 years, as long as you can see them having a go you can always be proud!!

Yeah what cfc4ever wrote

You guys have a young list and some stars in the making, players like Broughton, Hill, Suban etc.

One question, who was your recruiter in the early '00's?, thats where your team has gone wrong, once you clear that lot out you will have a very good list.

Yeah what cfc4ever wrote

You guys have a young list and some stars in the making, players like Broughton, Hill, Suban etc.

One question, who was your recruiter in the early '00's?, thats where your team has gone wrong, once you clear that lot out you will have a very good list.

Well put.

Don't throw the baby out with the bath water....but definitely get rid of the dead wood that has been tolerated for far too long. Yes "Downhill" Des i am talking about you!

The recruiters in the early 2000's must have been blindfolded and spun around three times before throwing a dart at a dartboard with players names given the logic used with some of the trades and recruiting.

At least you can take some solace in bargains like Broughton from the Rookie List. He is a fine player. Speaks volumes of a young bloke when they stand up on a night like tonight.

The beauty of the AFL system is that you can rebound in a couple of years. You'll be back quicker than you think.

somebody on the Adelaide forum said this

"Interesting game, mainly because I was in shock at how inept the Fremantle Football Club were. I guess it was similar to the game we lost to Brisbane by 20 goals but at least we managed to score a couple of goals, Freo scored ONE! They fumbled, picked absurd options, had the worst skills I’ve seen for an AFL club, had no intent to score all night, didn’t use the corridor at all, oh boy."

Really cant disagree . After watching such a fantastic game between Collingwood and the Bulldogs on Fri - to see us serve up this slop is depressing.

who gives a toss what we do next week... one goal for a match...... what a fu#king disgrace...young sqaud or what i dont care...you guys suck and a little bit of me died tonite.. of all the crap i have put up with this is the worst.you suck andi couldnt care what u do ...ive washed my hands....

Bye bye tossbag.

:confused:

I don't know about confusioned but they were definitely shit.

I suggest conutisoned, rather than confusioned. Or perhaps colostomybagged.

What a great word.

What we need now is our resident English teacher to tell us whether it's a noun or a verb and if there is Latin or Chinese in it's root.
;)

Hinkley, Mundy and Murphy = confusioned.

I can imagine Jacko using it.
"You can see Lynch was confusioned in the situation and his player was able to run off unaided"

No, Slapvich would say something like "and Clarke kicks it to Peake who's tackled and the umpires are confusioned about the free kick..."

I expected us to get soundly beaten, and well I expected it to be close to 100 points, but thought it would be more like 150 to 50.

Blaming Harvs isn't going to solve the situation - you can't go out every week and smash the players - you lose the effect when you do need it. I don't think anyone tonight thought they had a chance, and that showed, but gee as has been pointed out week in and week out, it's not the youngsters that are letting us down.

I hate to point out any one player, but that pass back by Schammer was pretty much the summing up of the game to me.

I hope that these young talented don't think that the skills and brains of some of our mid level levels is of an acceptable level, as then we are screwed in the future.

We don't get to see what Harvs says to the boys, and I don't think he will be going down there and telling the boys they played ok, but I don't think he will be ripping them all a new hole, as I think most of the players know they didn't perform well, so why waste a rant that will serve little purpose.

Tonights the first time I haven't seen them mount a fight back of some kind, and part of that has to go to the point that some of the young ones didn't have people to pull them out of the down, as well as most have played a majority of the games this season, and would be finding it very tough at this stage of the season with fitness, and niggles.

At the start of the season I hadn't expected much, and really don't see much less heartache for the rest of the year, especially if some of these injuries carry on through.

I love Freo, I love the passion that the supporters have, and will carry on supporting them, the future is brighter than what it has been the last couple of years.

Great end to your post - but I'm sorry, Harvs carp selection policy, his shit use of Elvis, and his piss-poor game day adjustments just have to take some of the responsibility for our situation. Time to step up, admit you were wrong (like with the rubbish rolling zone earlier this year) and change Harvs.

If you look at this weeks team,Tarrant(Fwd now DEF),Grover,Dodd(played out of position at times),McPharlin(Def now FWD)Mundy,Hase(back from knee recon)Solomon and Schammer are the only players who have played regular games,Thats only 8 players of which only 3 or 4 are playing in their usual positions. 8 of the team debut this year(some of them are running out of legs) and 6 are in the midfield depending how you look at it with 1 fwd(3 games) and the other carrying the ruck after playing 1 game.That leaves Murphy poor,Thorton has showed good signs as a Fwd but nothing else,Duffield v.good,Peake and Ibbotson up and down,Bradley poor this year.
No surprise we are that bad IMO

Murphy, Campbell, Drum, Browne, Peake, Ibbo, Hinkley and Bradley should all be relishing the fact that injuries mean they have a chance to step up and show what they are worth. Instead, they have all gone backwards. Pathetic.

we were a disgrace tonite
weve been a disgrace for 14 years
and we will continue to be a disgrace.BUT
i love freo footy club
i went out tonite wearing my old wollen long sleeve freo jumper on ,with ben allens number ironed on the back.with pride
copped a heap of shit.absorbed it all ,even enjoyed BUT
one day when we win the flag ,and we carry that cup down high street.Ill BE THERE

i love freo footy club
i went out tonite wearing my old wollen long sleeve freo jumper on ,with ben allens number ironed on the back.with pride
one day when we win the flag ,and we carry that cup down high street.Ill BE THERE

Those old style, itchy long sleeve woolen jumpers are just the best. Mine (green, from 1996 away season jumper) has Gazza Dukkas (rest in peace) name & number on it. God I love wearing it around the house after we win - have only ever worn it about 11 times in 13 years.

And yes, when we win it all, how many will truly be able to say that they were here when we were thumped by the Crows??

I suspect I won't live to see our first premiership,and probably I won't even get to see us in another prelim final, but by christ my kids will be Freo supporters, and they WILL burn the town down when we storm in with a premiership...

why can't we have a coach like Neil Craig?

I rate Craig very, very highly and have done for years. His teams are always so well drilled it makes my loins ache in jealousy.

I reckon if he was coach of Geelong they would be completely and utterly unbeatable.

Chin up guys.

I would wait to see how Harvey and the Players react during the week and mainly against Brissie next week. I think that if you can get it going you can give it a red hot go.

However if they don't show any bite next week then, you should be calling for Harvey's head. But if you are to clean in out, clean it all out, including rick hart. It amazes me he has survived so long with constant failure.

Harvey for me also needs to stop comming out to the media and blaiming it on injuries or kids. He needs to make it clear to the supporters, public and players that it is unacceptable. No excuse, take responsibility. Team's throughout history have had worst injuries and younger teams and still had a crack. I hate to say this but have a look at Melbourne, they clearly have a list with less talent, yet they have been pretty good this year and have also had a real go at each game. In alot of games, they have been with there opponent in the 3/4. When you have a list like Melbourne or Fremantle or what Carlton had for the last 8 years, as long as you can see them having a go you can always be proud!!

Why is Ratten still there as Carlton have had a few times no bite after a bad loss and Melbourne last year were flogged quite a few times,it just they're not getting as many this year.So since you watch Freo,how many times haven't we been in the games at or after 3/4 time?

Yes, we are obviously a much better side on paper than Adelaide & with the might of the squad at his disposal the loss can be blamed squarely on the ineptness of Harvey.

How do you explain that Freo have a better side on paper than Adelaide?

we were a disgrace tonite
weve been a disgrace for 14 years
and we will continue to be a disgrace.BUT
i love freo footy club

What we saw tonight was a failure…a failure to commit to the ball…a failure to back your teammates…a failure to put your heart and soul and spirit into the jumper. We have constantly been the laughing stock of the AFL. That will now continue for many years as we sit in the bottom rungs of the AFL ladder.

I have been a member of this “franchise” for the over 10 years and I actually hope that lots of members hand in their memberships and the club finds itself in the same financial position as the Kangaroos to maybe try and evoke some sort of spirit they have.

Club…....that is the key word. This is not one. You have bumbled your way through 15 years of crap and have 2 finals appearances to show for it. You have never had a proper administration you have never had an experienced coach you have never been able to get it right..EVER. The new Gold Coast side in 2011 will have 3 premierships before we look like even winning one.

Think about the fans for a change and the ones that have had to suffer through years of this it is not good enough. Think of the kids that you disappoint every week and the families that go to every game rain,hail or shine to put up with this. Why should the players even be paid for this rubbish. Their match payments should be donated to a worthy charity. If I performed like this at my work I wouldn’t be in a job…..either commit to the team or don’t let the door hit your arse on the way out.

I bet you get lots of these letters this weekend. But please print it out, make 45 copies and give one each to the players and coaching staff. And if they don’t give a stuff then why should we.

I sent this to the club last night. I suggest that people should get off their arses and do something similar. Something needs to be done, we are not getting any better. The blowtorch must start at the top and work down. If you can accept the rubbish they dished out last night then by all means but I aint going to and I am sick of throwing away good money every year. I will stick by the club if they stick by me but at present this isnt happening. Bag me if you like but if you accept this crap every year then you deserve for Freo to finish bottom 4 every year. I for one want this to be a successful club and not a laughing stock.

Players who were retired/delisted/traded last year:

Bell
Farmer
Black
J.Carr
S.McManus
M.Carr
M.Johnson
R.Warnock

Players missing from todays game:

Pavlich
Sandilands
Palmer
Crowley
Headland
Hayden
Johnson
Mayne

This 100 point loss was coming. It was planned for last year by retiring so many players. It was destined when Palmer went down with a knee. It was foreseen when Crowley needed surgery. It was foretold when Hayden broke his leg. It was promised when Headland has played so few games. It threatened to become a reality as Mayne's recovery from injury became so drawn out. The prophecy looked to become true when Pavlich was injured. Destiny was strengthened by injuries to Johnson. It was forfilled when Sandilands was omitted.

so who you gunna go for now?

So you think that effort was OK?

BTW I didnt say I was steppin off, just not renewing. I cant afford $1000 a year for our family to go to just see no return for it.

Players who were retired/delisted/traded last year:

Bell
Farmer
Black
J.Carr
S.McManus
M.Carr
M.Johnson
R.Warnock

Players missing from todays game:

Pavlich
Sandilands
Palmer
Crowley
Headland
Hayden
Johnson
Mayne

This 100 point loss was coming. It was planned for last year by retiring so many players. It was destined when Palmer went down with a knee. It was foreseen when Crowley needed surgery. It was foretold when Hayden broke his leg. It was promised when Headland has played so few games. It threatened to become a reality as Mayne's recovery from injury became so drawn out. The prophecy looked to become true when Pavlich was injured. Destiny was strengthened by injuries to Johnson. It was forfilled when Sandilands was omitted.

Adelaide had 22 players we had 22 players. I cannot accept that prophecy. There are 44 arms and 44 legs on each team. Adelaide had 22 hearts. Freo only had maybe 2.

For goodness sake anyone who didn't see last night coming was delusional.
Take the 7 most experienced players out of any club then remove the 7 best of those left and see how any team goes against a side playing like Adelaide. Look what happened to Hawthorn last week and they are the reigning premiers.
Get some perspective people. We'll be back.