Will Meyer do a Pettifer?

lids2004roar

Kayne did nothing for 3 years and then showed a few glimpses in his 4th year but was on the verge of being delisted.

From his 5th year onwards he hasn't missed a game... who would've thought!

Danny Meyer obviously has all the talent to be a great midfielder/forward and due to body size and niggles etc has been unable to provide "finish" in the bottom team from a forward flank/pocket.

A lot of us have written him off, but you would have laughed if someone told you Kayne Pettifer would finish high in our B+F in 2006 after doing nothing in his first 3/4 years.

Kayne did nothing for 3 years and then showed a few glimpses in his 4th year but was on the verge of being delisted.

From his 5th year onwards he hasn't missed a game... who would've thought!

Danny Meyer obviously has all the talent to be a great midfielder/forward and due to body size and niggles etc has been unable to provide "finish" in the bottom team from a forward flank/pocket.

A lot of us have written him off, but you would have laughed if someone told you Kayne Pettifer would finish high in our B+F in 2006 after doing nothing in his first 3/4 years.

fingers crossed, but it's unlikely i reckon. Last chance on Sunday if he plays i guess.

Given his run with injuries i doubt very much if sunday is his last chance. I would be very surprised if we ditched him this year.

Agree there peejay.
I think he has to be given another year but it is make or break.
He has a ton of talent but I think he needs to believe that he belongs and at the moment i don't think he does.
Maybe he needs to start on the ground and be told that he is to stay out there and make it happen.

Have we figured out if he actually wants to stay with the tigers? i remember a while ago there was talk he didnt really wanna stay in victoria?

I wouldn't expect him to be happy with this season and he would be frustrated but I'm under the impression he wants to stay.

I thought he signed a contact extension last year? if some-one could verify that'd be appreciated.

But I think Meyer can really become a very good player in the future i just doubt it will be with us because to me he doesn't seem interested enough in our club.

I hope he proves me wrong but thats just the way he presents himself to me on the footy field.

me thinks it would be better for us if he did a Cogga.
If he does a Pettifer then our HF line will be the most fearful HF line in AFL history.
What a totally ridiculously irrelevant comparison, when Cogga did JS for 2 years and then kicked butt, like real butt, not his own, as Petts does.

We go nowhere until we select players because they are good, instead of selecting players because there aint anything better.
Quite confident that Pettifer becomes the second or third selected in a position, the moment we find better.;)

petts was chucked on a back flank thats when he turned it around
meyer has talent it just seems his heart isnt in it
maybe because 4 of the fab 5 have played most times and he is the one not up there
perhaps he is feeling alot of pressure to perform

to me meyer doesn't look like the perennially skinny type, if he puts in the hard yards in the gym he'll be solid as a rock. I'd love for him to come good for richmond but he doesn't look like his hearts in it for us.
he reminds me a bt of the really shy quiet bloke in your team who keeps to himself, he has all the skills in the world but doesn't perfrom because he hasn't got any mates around him. you need that mateship in a team, meyer always looks like he's in the distant background. he needs a massive boost of self-confidence.

Agree there peejay.
I think he has to be given another year but it is make or break.
He has a ton of talent but I think he needs to believe that he belongs and at the moment i don't think he does.
Maybe he needs to start on the ground and be told that he is to stay out there and make it happen.
i think he should be given another year, but surely he has to show something on sunday, just anything, a goal or two. Please Danny.

he doesnt have to show something, he just doesnt have to show nothing. Its one game that is the second last of the season. Leave the kid do what he can and then go into a pre season with a hunger. Even in his cameo roles this year, this kid hits harder, thinks faster, and kicks better than a few of his more "experienced" cohorts. One of which he is being compared to here. ;)

as cogga said, Danny has shown a lot more than nothing even if it hasn't quite equated to something yet. Just a little patience tiger faithful;)

Saw Pettifer at Epping Bunnings warehouse today actually. :thumbsu:

Meyer actually has more natural talent but doesn't know how to find the footy. Not a great reader of the play but a good ball user with plenty of skill.

His kicking is probably the best in the side by a fair way.

will 'meyer do a pettifer?'

like, does this mean he will dog every tough contest, put in short steps, get a stupid tatt on his arm?

yeah, i reckon he will!

me thinks it would be better for us if he did a Cogga.
If he does a Pettifer then our HF line will be the most fearful HF line in AFL history.
What a totally ridiculously irrelevant comparison, when Cogga did JS for 2 years and then kicked butt, like real butt, not his own, as Petts does.

I meant because Pettifer went from first round draft pick who did nothing for 3/4 years to becoming a solid fixture in our starting 22.

FWIW Meyer definately has mongrel. I have seen it several times at Coburg. With a bit more muscle he is going to be skillful and go in hard.

I meant because Pettifer went from first round draft pick who did nothing for 3/4 years to becoming a solid fixture in our starting 22.

FWIW Meyer definately has mongrel. I have seen it several times at Coburg. With a bit more muscle he is going to be skillful and go in hard.

yeah ok...sheeeeeeesh...really? solid fixture huh? wow, we are laughing with such solidity. ;)

He's frame won't get too much bigger. Just doesn't have great genetics in that department, might put on a few KG's but he won't have any Tarrant arms so to speak.