Golf World Golf thread

Thanks Sergio for allowing me to have a perfect example of why you shouldn't half-ass a tap in. I know a certain kid who likes to nonchalant the gimmies and warning him it could bite him in the ass someday is not as effective as what you did to demonstrate it first hand.

:thumbsu:

So Sergio being Sergio, again. Interestingly i read a couple of pros coming out and saying Kuchar could have handled that better. Any thoughts?

I thought Kuchar was completely disingenuous with his response to the media.

Certainly, he has played enough match play matches to know that he didn't give Sergio the gimme before Sergio did his petulant routine.

Calling for a rules official for "clarification" was a way for him to wash his hands of any "decision".

If he felt strongly enough about how he "would have given him the putt" there is a simple solution, concede the next hole.

Instead he tried to frame it like he felt Sergio got hosed but it was out of his control because the rules official said so.

Nonsense

I would have had zero issue with a guy who instead said, look Sergio putted without asking--it's on him. I am out here trying to win, he knows I have to acknowledge giving him the putt. So I won't feel bad when he doesn't ask for it and then misses it of his own accord.

That's on him fellas

Nobody would quibble with that

I think it's a bit suspect to bring it to the rule officials attention AND THEN not concede the next hole.

However, if Sergio had brought it up or it had otherwise been questioned by a rules official, I don't think conceding the next hole is necessarily a 'simple' solution. What if that meant they were AS heading into 18? I know that wasn't the case here - but the point is conceding the next hole gives you one less chance to win a hole off your opponent - that is a bad thing as you are always backing yourself in to be better over the full 18 (and especially if you were already down).

I think it's a bit suspect to bring it to the rule officials attention AND THEN not concede the next hole.

However, if Sergio had brought it up or it had otherwise been questioned by a rules official, I don't think conceding the next hole is necessarily a 'simple' solution. What if that meant they were AS heading into 18? I know that wasn't the case here - but the point is conceding the next hole gives you one less chance to win a hole off your opponent - that is a bad thing as you are always backing yourself in to be better over the full 18 (and especially if you were already down).

correct

Mark Hayes ( a former golf journo, now media manager for Golf Australia) said on SEN this arvo, that this was on Kuchar and he should have conceded the next hole. WTF!

Kooch has history, he could've come out looking like a God.

Now he continues to look like a flog

Kooch has history, he could've come out looking like a God.

Now he continues to look like a flog
For sure, like American Crow said, he was being particularly disingenuous which i totally agree with. I'm not a fan of him especially after that situation with that caddy, but i didn't like Mark Hayes' unbalanced assessment (even despite him acknowledging that Garcia was a muppet).

Oh we are in agreement that it's not a "simple solution" necessarily. It is only a simple solution within a certain context. Mr. Scrooge eeerrr Koocher made several comments along a common theme--namely, gee gosh willickers it really is a shame that the rules official said it counts as a putt because I didn't acknowledge the gimme. I mean EVERYONE knows I really would have given him the putt had I had the opportunity. What a darn dang aww shucks shame and no one likeeeessss to win a hole like that.

When one tries to frame it in such a manner--then yes, conceding the next hole is the simple solution which was perfectly and totally and completely within his control.

Bottom line, he didn't want to give up the advantage that the idiot Sergio gave him by a stupid nonchalant putt that drives me crazy when Alexander pulls that crap. That is perfectly fine and perfectly reasonable in a professional competition with a lot at stake. But don't try to hide behind gosh isn't it a darn shame and wow we just can't do anything about it routine. Own it.

Personal responsibility for one's actions doesn't seem to be very much Koooooch's thing.

Hey Lebbo73 .
Full credit to City Golf Club Toowoomba.
Beautiful course.
Tremendous clubhouse, facilities and fantastic food.
Plus great staff and committee who are genuine in their help for struggling bush clubs.
Kudos. 10/10.

Did you get a mower?
Yet to be confirmed but I'm 99% certain.
Will probably pick it up next week and I'll take the time to fit in 18 holes as well. I'll need to hire a buggy though. That Coronary Hill would be the end of me!

Yet to be confirmed but I'm 99% certain.
Will probably pick it up next week and I'll take the time to fit in 18 holes as well. I'll need to hire a buggy though. That Coronary Hill would be the end of me!
Yeah, in my younger days I used to walk up 10 huffing and puffing. I’d stop halfway and light up a smoke to help me climb the rest.
These days I walk unless it is hot or the fellas I go around with get buggies. I’ll walk on Sunday with another bloke who lives behind the 14th tee. He drinks about 14 stubbies of TEDs each round as he plays.