magicman

Oct 1, 2003
Centrals
Judging by previous posts on this board I think most of you guys would say Daniel Schell, so excluding him, who do you think has been the worst player ever to wear the Crows tri-colours?

There are plenty of contenders I feel - Chris Groom, Josh Mail, Tom Gilligan, Adam Saliba (remember him?).

Sorry if a thread like this has been done previously. I only discovered big footy last week (and loving it :D ).

In my opinion, Wayne Weidemann was the worst to play 50 games.

The worst ever I would say is Linden Stevens. Although it is only natural that I have forgotten a few duds.

Originally posted by magicman
Adam Saliba (remember him?).

I only discovered big footy last week (and loving it :D ).

Wouldn't call Saliba a dud, could have been anything if he wanted to be but he didn't.Only played 3 games for Adelaide, did also play a State of Origin match.

Anyway, welcome to bigfooty.:)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Personally I think Ian Downsborough was one of the worse if not THE worst of all time
I forgot all about him. Probably one of the softest players ever to play the game.

And the Chris Groom trade was hands down the trade of the century. Maybe we should have given Freo a couple of premiership medals for their part in our back to back flags.:D

I still dont even understand why we recruited Downsbourgh, Port hack who for some unknown reason the AFC thought was alright:rolleyes:

Other duds and in no particular order: Daniel Schell, Ryan Fitzgerald,David Gallagher,Lucus Herbert, Aaron Keating, Ricky O'loughlin, Trent Ormond Allen and BEN MARSH:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Darren Smith
David Brown
Brett Chalmers
Ian Downsborough
Lucas Herbert
Matthew Golding
Linden Stevens
Clayton Lamb
Dean Howard
Darryl Wintle
Alan Bartlett
Danny Hughes
David Gallagher

We have had some fair dinkum shockers. The list could go on and on and on.

Originally posted by Jars458
Darren Smith
David Brown
Brett Chalmers
Ian Downsborough
Lucas Herbert
Matthew Golding
Linden Stevens
Clayton Lamb
Dean Howard
Darryl Wintle
Alan Bartlett
Danny Hughes
David Gallagher

I think you better stop there. I am getting sick just reading it:(

Its fair to say we have had our fair share of duds over the years:(

Originally posted by Jars458
Darren Smith
David Brown
Brett Chalmers
Ian Downsborough
Lucas Herbert
Matthew Golding
Linden Stevens
Clayton Lamb
Dean Howard
Darryl Wintle
Alan Bartlett
Danny Hughes
David Gallagher

With the 3 notable exceptions take your pick of any of the other ruckmen Adelaide have ever had.

Negri
Downsborough
Standfield
Herbert
Golding
Chalmers

And everyone thinks we should be drafting 1 or 2 ruckmen this year! We would have to have the worst strike rate at finding even a semi-decent one of any AFL club ever.

The two worst players though would have to be Negri and * pains me to say it * Barty (Alan Bartlett). There have never been 2 more inept players to make it at senior level in my view.

Hi all, new member here.

Being anti-Port Adelaide, I would have to say Darren Smith.

Honourable mentions to Negri, Bartlett & Dudsborough.

Originally posted by Dogga
Hi all, new member here.

Being anti-Port Adelaide, I would have to say Darren Smith.

Honourable mentions to Negri, Bartlett & Dudsborough.

Greetings Dogga...

Poor old Darren... was the best CHF in the SANFL but didn't have the required athleticism to make it in the AFL. :(

Originally posted by go uuu dogs
scott hodges

Averaged just under three goals a game for Adelaide when we were being flogged every second week and the lineup was never settled. Had a record haul of 11 against 1992 Grand Finallist Geelong.

Played nowhere near his full potential at AFL level after being treated dismally by Cornes despite turning down million dollar offers from Brisbane and Collingwood to play for the Crows and suffering his fair share of injuries.

Wasn't as bad as the Hodges-haters made out.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
I still dont even understand why we recruited Downsbourgh, Port hack who for some unknown reason the AFC thought was alright:rolleyes:

Perhaps they saw the quality football the man played when not dogged by injury in 1996 while at the Eagles, and not just as a static ruckman, he put together some very good games. At the time it was a tough call for the club to trade him away (I recall Malthouse saying at the time it was his toughest call since Dean Laidley wanted to try his luck elsewhere) but he's what Port wanted in exchange for the NUMBER 1 DRAFT PICK - ie, Michael Gardiner.

He definately had talent - injury ruined any chance he had of cementing a career.

Worst player to put on a Crows jumper?

Write your reply...