wdgann

A lot has been written about calls for the delisting/trading of some of our older dudds such as Bentick, thornton, fisher, ackland etc

However, looking at some of the younger guys, I just can't see how the following will become AFL standard

Hampson - granted AFL is not his first sport. However, he actually isn't really doing anything right - tapouts, marking, kicking, positioning, decision making. Fair enough, if his kicking was a little astray but there are no attributes to his game at the moment that warrant comendation

Austin - Can see this guy becoming a semi-mediocre defender at best. Is a little slow, kicking not spectacular

Anderson - Probably has more potential than the above 2 guys and has a lot of guts. However, can't see this guy ever being more than a mediocre player. Decision making poor, disposal not great and not overly quick/strong

A lot has been written about calls for the delisting/trading of some of our older dudds such as Bentick, thornton, fisher, ackland etc

However, looking at some of the younger guys, I just can't see how the following will become AFL standard

Hampson - granted AFL is not his first sport. However, he actually isn't really doing anything right - tapouts, marking, kicking, positioning, decision making. Fair enough, if his kicking was a little astray but there are no attributes to his game at the moment that warrant comendation

Austin - Can see this guy becoming a semi-mediocre defender at best. Is a little slow, kicking not spectacular

Anderson - Probably has more potential than the above 2 guys and has a lot of guts. However, can't see this guy ever being more than a mediocre player. Decision making poor, disposal not great and not overly quick/strong

It's hard to tell after someone's only played 10-20 games if they're gonna be good or not. I remember quite a few players that looked very average early on but ended up being guns. I thought Fev's first few games were weak and he was a bit of a point-kicker.

I would rather look at blokes who've been around the system a while and who clearly aren't going to improve i.e. the first few players you mentioned. Not sold on Bentick, still have doubts about Wiggins, Thornton should stay, Fisher had an average year but can play.

TBH, I agree with your assessment of Hampson. I havent seen him do anything this year of note, other than chase. The missed mark on the Hawthorn behind line when he was all by himself made me cringe.
Dont agree with Austin or Anderson though (and particularly disagree with your slandering of Thornton on a weekly basis!)

I was personally very happy with andersons game last night and think it is ludacris that you can make these assessments after the amount of games they hav played.

Hampson is a project and we need to give him time FFS!

Pfeifer's lack of awareness amazed me last night, everytime I have seen him play he just freezes with the ball. This guy will not make the grade.

Hampson: Young ruckman in his second season. Dean Cox had all the makings of a spud when he was on the West Coast rookie list, look how that one turned out. Will make you eat your words - highly promising player.

Austin: Very smart footballer who has all the makings of a quality CHB, and also shows potential up forward. I'm assuming you haven't watched any Bullants games this year, because this bloke is a real gem. Reads the play very well, good one-on-one and will play a major role in our backline for years to come.

Anderson: Out of the three, Ando displays probably the least potential (more of an honest no frills footballer than an eye-catcher), but I thought his game against Hawthorn was fantastic. Attacked the footy hard all night and wasn't afraid to leave his man. Will never be a star, but if he keeps putting in performances like last night, his future is more than assured.

Rubbish thread.

The one youngster I've got serious concerns about is Pfeiffer. Don't see too much to like about him to be honest - his skills by hand and foot are very mediocre.

Your post wasn't there when I made mine about Pfeiffer, he was the only player last night that looked like he couldn't think when he had the ball.

Does anyone know the reason we got him? Who saw the potential or was there a particular part of his game that someone liked?
Im yet to see why.......?

Hampson is a freak and will be a terrific ruckman, so I don't know why you're criticising him for doing nothing but chase. You'd think it would be a good thing if have a ruckman who can contest a throw in and then stay involved because he has the speed and mobility to run down Corrie and Rodan.

The Kreuzer and Hampson tag team will be great and won't give the opposition any relief when we have two athletic rucks swapping on and off the ground.

Naitanui has big wraps, but will also take a few years to click as a ruckman when he doesn't really have a footy brain according to draft watchers.

Hampson is a freak and will be a terrific ruckman, so I don't know why you're criticising him for doing nothing but chase. You'd think it would be a good thing if have a ruckman who can contest a throw in and then stay involved because he has the speed and mobility to run down Corrie and Rodan.

What impressed me with hammer last night is his speed! He looked so quick over the turf it was ridiculous. He just needs development time. He has all the attributes to make a great footballer.

I'm personally fine with all three of the players mentioned in the OP.

Hampson is an obvious one- he needs time, but it's easy to imagine what he can become. He's already amazing the way he moves for a big man.

Austin also needs time. He was out of his depth last night, but come on, it was Hawthorn who apply alot of pressure and have quite a few dangerous forwards.

Anderson I thought was very impressive. He probably conceded a couple of goals, but then who didn't last night under all the pressure. If he can just put some polish on his disposal I can see him developing into a very handy player.

Anderson was terrific last night. Hampson will be fine, he is a real competitor and austin isn't strong enough to hold down a kpp at the moment.

I'm more concerned with armfield. doesn't have the skill required to play at this level.

hampson is just clumsy, and looks down on confidence.

I have said a few times that pfeifer is a bit of a worry.
, is as slow as a wet week, skills are average (more of a confidence thing i reckon) and decision making is terrible. I think he will become a major ball winner, probably playing off the HBF (ala scotland for us) is hard at it. see more upside in him then bentick but for team ballance will probably struggle for games.

What a ridiculous opening post with the naming of the players. All 3 will be fine long-term players for us particularly Austin and Hampson. A lot of potential.

The youngsters with question marks are Edwards, Benjamin and Pffeifer NOT Austin, Hampson and Anderson.

Oh dear once again you make a fool of yourself...
Bentick... yeah older dud... I mean at the ripe old age of 21/22... shame you don't think before you post...

Thornton... your personal obession with this bloke is amazing... without him last night it would of been a 100 point plus belting it is a shame you can not see his worth, grow up and get over you obsession!

Fisher... yeah lets get rid of a bloke who has kicked 30 plus goals for us this year. I mean why do we need a second option? Yeah he was out of form later in the year but why not free up a spot on our list just for the sake of it hey?

Ackland...

Hampson... the bloke played soccer until 16... we then ask him to play one of the hardest positions on the ground without the required body shape and relevant skill acquistion that comes with 3 or 4 pre seasons... your hot streak continues! :thumbsu:

Austin... as with Hampson, this bloke just made the cut for his draft year and again is stupidly young and light framed... try and pass judgement in two years time with more body and more than 5 AFL games under his belt!

Anderson... yeah I was horrified with the courage and maturity he has shown... how dare he?! Skills are decent enough, he is young and his body shape is looking ok... What more could you want at this stage?

I think we need a thread... wdgann, continual negative carlton supporter or just troll? :thumbsd:

Mate what a shit thread. All three boys have played less than 10 games some less than 5 and you are making carea judgements already.

Hampson=long term project has improved nearly every game he has played. Last night mabey not his greatest

Austin=only played like 5 senior games. Needs another big summer to put on another 3-5 kilos. Will develope into a verry good CHB based on the way he plays for bullants.

Anderson= needs more game time under his belt.

It seems you have just judged these boys on how they played last night. I was there and you can blame the loose on these boys preformance. Loss should be put on senior players like stevo, fisher, thornton, bentick who didnt preform.

Trade Fisher, Thornton, Bentick

TBH, I agree with your assessment of Hampson. I havent seen him do anything this year of note, other than chase. The missed mark on the Hawthorn behind line when he was all by himself made me cringe.
Dont agree with Austin or Anderson though (and particularly disagree with your slandering of Thornton on a weekly basis!)

i made a thread about his marking , then i was bulldozed down by all the goodie goodies... yes hes goin to take long to develop as everyone will say, but marking a footy on your own cant be hard. everyone here undoubtedly can mark a footy.

Oh dear once again you make a fool of yourself...
Bentick... yeah older dud... I mean at the ripe old age of 21/22... shame you don't think before you post...

Thornton... your personal obession with this bloke is amazing... without him last night it would of been a 100 point plus belting it is a shame you can not see his worth, grow up and get over you obsession!

Fisher... yeah lets get rid of a bloke who has kicked 30 plus goals for us this year. I mean why do we need a second option? Yeah he was out of form later in the year but why not free up a spot on our list just for the sake of it hey?

Ackland...

Hampson... the bloke played soccer until 16... we then ask him to play one of the hardest positions on the ground without the required body shape and relevant skill acquistion that comes with 3 or 4 pre seasons... your hot streak continues! :thumbsu:

Austin... as with Hampson, this bloke just made the cut for his draft year and again is stupidly young and light framed... try and pass judgement in two years time with more body and more than 5 AFL games under his belt!

Anderson... yeah I was horrified with the courage and maturity he has shown... how dare he?! Skills are decent enough, he is young and his body shape is looking ok... What more could you want at this stage?

I think we need a thread... wdgann, continual negative carlton supporter or just troll? :thumbsd:

This post was about Hampson, Anderson and Austin. Agree with everyone that Pfeifer is a dudd but didn't bother mentioning him because it is obvious he is a dudd. Hampson, Anderson and Austin have not shown basic skills at the highest level - people on this board are finally understanding thornton is a liability and will soon realise that Hampson, Anderson and Austin will be no better than mediocre players

Too say that Thornton saved us a 100 point loss means you are an idiot. He spent the night chipping the ball around deep in defence and everyone wonders why we had no system or run out of defence. He also turned the ball over under pressure

last year there were lots of posts saying Bower was crap, Gibbs over rated, Judd finished, Stevo gone, Fev wanting to leave. So it is no biggy that people have the knives out and will be shown to be wrong next season

i made a thread about his marking , then i was bulldozed down by all the goodie goodies... yes hes goin to take long to develop as everyone will say, but marking a footy on your own cant be hard. everyone here undoubtedly can mark a footy.

Just read your thread. I also watched the youtube clip of hampson taking 2 marks (replayed about 3 times each) and people in the thread have mistaken him for taken several marks :confused::rolleyes:
Hopefully he turns out good, but at the moment he is one of the prospects i am least excited about for the fact he lacks the basic football smarts, much like O'hailpin whom is now bagged left, right and centre in these forums whereas a year or two ago was "untouchable".

last year there were lots of posts saying Bower was crap, Gibbs over rated, Judd finished, Stevo gone, Fev wanting to leave. So it is no biggy that people have the knives out and will be shown to be wrong next season

Spot on. There were many suggesting Bower wasn't up to it, this time last year. With another pre-season under his belt he has developed into a defender who can be played on Buddy Franklin & Travis Cloke, among others.

For 3 quarters last night, Austin kept Roughead goalless. Of course when we went all out attack in the last quarter to try & get Fev to the century, Roughead cashed in on the 'Rolls Royce' style delivery he received from the Hawthorn midfield, due to our lack of pressure.

I think this time next year we will be talking about Austin in much the same way we are now talking about Bower & giving thanks that his emergence allowed Jarrad Waite to move forward again.