Mega Thread Yay I'm going to be a Parent - All blessed news re future hawks in here please!

You guys are so lucky
My wife and I have been trying for quite a while via IVF without success as yet
Doctors say there is no reason we can't become parents, but it does get very depressing when we get the call to say the tests are negative every time
Costs a bit too, although I'd sell my house if it meant my wife fell pregnant :)
I can't wait to one day share some great news here!:)
Congrats all!
I have heard some many stories along our journey about couples that tried for years unsuccessfully to later fall pregnant. MY wife's cousin got told she couldn't fall pregnant without assistance and then bam, child number three comes along without assistance. Close friends tried for 8 years on IVF enduring a miscarriage along the way only to finally give birth to a healthy boy last month. Every reason to continue with hope if no medical issues at play. Good luck!!

Mate, a couple of friends of mine and the wife's have tried IVF multiple times now, and have had a horrible time of it. I can't imagine just how hard it is for couples to go through this waiting game only to be cut down time after time. It's hard for us to watch on, just as friends, but to be involved in that situation must be bloody heart wrenching.

I have 2 nieces to Ivf, so I watched my sister go through it too. The light at the end of the tunnel is fantastic for those who go through the program, but geez theirs some bumps along the way.
Many thanks
It's hard to virtually just sit by and watch as my wife does everything, egg collection, hospital stays,
the needles, medication, blood tests, scans etc
The nurses say the end result will be worth it, and of course they are right, but it does get very hard when I look in my wife's eyes after a negative result
We are about to try again, we have 10 eggs left in storage from her last collection, so here's hoping :)

A friend of mine was in the same situation Steven Tyler. They had been trying for 10 years including ivf and again there was no reason why they couldn't and gave it a rest for a couple of years and are now expecting their first in October.

Good luck with your journey

I have heard some many stories along our journey about couples that tried for years unsuccessfully to later fall pregnant. MY wife's cousin got told she couldn't fall pregnant without assistance and then bam, child number three comes along without assistance. Close friends tried for 8 years on IVF enduring a miscarriage along the way only to finally give birth to a healthy boy last month. Every reason to continue with hope if no medical issues at play. Good luck!!
Thank you
My wife has polysystic ovaries, which is "fixable" with medication, and is actually quite common for women
The medication gave us great results which was great, but so far we haven't been lucky falling pregnant
Congrats on your great news!

A friend of mine was in the same situation Steven Tyler. They had been trying for 10 years including ivf and again there was no reason why they couldn't and gave it a rest for a couple of years and are now expecting their first in October.

Good luck with your journey
Thank you

Sorry for derailing this thread, congrats to all mums, dads and grandparents!

Thank you
My wife has polysystic ovaries, which is "fixable" with medication, and is actually quite common for women
The medication gave us great results which was great, but so far we haven't been lucky falling pregnant
Congrats on your great news!
My wife also has polycystic ovaries and it set us back a few years.

Fingers and toes crossed for you.

Reading this thread makes me want to go and hug all my own kids. But they're teens now and may not appreciate it... ;)

My wife and I were told we couldn't have any and had pondered IVF,adoption etc.
Then lightning struck for us... three times!!! All natural, all healthy. We are truly blessed.

Best wishes to ALL those still on the journey of trying. And to those who do have kids, enjoy every moment.

Many thanks
It's hard to virtually just sit by and watch as my wife does everything, egg collection, hospital stays,
The nurses say the end result will be worth it, and of course they are right, but it does get very hard when I look in my wife's eyes after a negative result
We are about to try again, we have 10 eggs left in storage from her last collection, so here's hoping :)
Hang in there ST. It's an awfully trying roller coaster ride. Hard as it is for us guys, it's mum that really get knocked about physically and emotionally.
My wife and I went through the wringer. Pregnant with twins on the third transfer. Lost our boys when they were born at 26 1/2 weeks. 6 further years of unsuccessful attempts. Told that was it. Got into Foster Care and added a wonderful little boy to our family. Then had a family member come forward to donate eggs. Our beautiful daughter is about to turn 4 and she makes it all worth it.
Just getting back on the treadmill now looking to add one more to the clan.

My experience as a Hawk family man: I've got 3 children who are nailed-on Hawk supporters, members for life.

But it's not been easy. I had a Hawk friend whose eldest supports Melbourne because her best friend at school did. You must not allow this.
I've pushed the Hawks at them but tried to do it as nicely as possible. Take them to the footy when they're young, make it fun. I used to take some lollies or chocolates and we celebrated every goal with a treat.

Buy them the Hawks stuff, get them interested in certain players, celebrate every win. The premierships have certainly made it easier to love the team.

You'll end up a damn proud parent!

I've pushed the Hawks at them but tried to do it as nicely as possible. Take them to the footy when they're young, make it fun. I used to take some lollies or chocolates and we celebrated every goal with a treat.
The way we've been playing, if I took that advice my kids would end up looking like elephants ;)

I have 3, youngest are a set of twins, l sing the Hawks song to them every night, buy lots of Hawks stuff and it has worked well on the boy. Sitting on the couch with my 5 year old son watching the Hawks play brilliant football is one of the most enjoyable things in my life.(the treat idea when we kick a goal is a good one)

Good luck to everyone trying and to those lucky enough to have children!

Our little man Charlie arrived on the 7th. Four weeks early and weighing 2.125kgs, but Mum and bub are doing well and it's great to have them home now for a few days.

His uncle called Waverley and had him signed up 9 hours after he was born. It was quite funny seeing something addressed to my new son in the mail and even funnier that it was as membership card from Luke Hodge!

All the best to the other new mums and dads, I'm over the moon.

Not my child, but my four year old nephew attended his first hawks training today with his father and favourite uncle (me)
He got a new guernsey with 27 on the back and even got to meet his favourite Spang. The kid was beside himself!

Not my child, but my four year old nephew attended his first hawks training today with his father and favourite uncle (me)
He got a new guernsey with 27 on the back and even got to meet his favourite Spang. The kid was beside himself!

I love the fact that a four year old's favourite player is Spangher, they're too young at that age to really get cult status, so I just take it that he's a very spiritual little fella :)

I think he loves Spangher more for the fact that his name sounds funny when you yell it...:D

He is a smart kid, so maybe he knows more than we think...:eek:

Got another boy coming, due Oct 13th, hope he doesn't chose to be 10 days early! Could be a massive week, or couple of weeks. Tried to suggest the name Hawthorne to the wife, she didn't bite ... too bad. Maybe she'll like Hodgy!!

I already have two boys. Keen Hawk fans now. There was a incident though, when the oldest was 4 and had a friend at Kindergarten (see how young the try to convert them!) who was a pies supporter ... shudder. Needless to say the propaganda went into overdrive, and he is firmly Hawthorn now. Phew ... and he's bloddy happy about it too!

Son, your welcome.

Our second little lady arrived on anzac day. We were interested to see the reaction from her 3 year-old big sister but she has been an absolute sweetheart. Mum had to slug it out for hours in labour and it was a bit rowdy at the end there but all is well a couple of weeks later. Extremely proud of our little unit and my remarkable three ladies.

Congrats to all!
Great stuff well done mate

You guys are so lucky
My wife and I have been trying for quite a while via IVF without success as yet
Doctors say there is no reason we can't become parents, but it does get very depressing when we get the call to say the tests are negative every time
Costs a bit too, although I'd sell my house if it meant my wife fell pregnant :)
I can't wait to one day share some great news here!:)
Congrats all!

I feel for you both so much...

It took us two years before my wife fell pregnant.
But prior to that we went to one of the best obstetrician and gynaecologist specialist in infertility and IVF and took all the test and my wife was fine, but I was told I was too old and that we should think about IVF.
At times I felt useless like it was all my fault so then we decided against it said no to him and never went back.
Someone then put us onto a acupuncturest/naturalist fertility expert and it was the best decision of our lives as 6 months after that day and in the month after I had my 40th that we finally got the good news.
She really work hard on us with natural medicine and acupuncture in the areas that would help us to conceive.
The best thing for you to do is stop thinking about it and I know it's hard but trust me it does work.
All the best and never give up on your dream.

Many thanks
It is horrible to watch
Our first two were with fertility treatment, the second with IVF
Our third just came along out of the blue
Miracles do happen, sit tight and when it eventually happens for you and your wife, the journey and heartbreak will be quickly forgotten

It is horrible to watch
Our first two were with fertility treatment, the second with IVF
Our third just came along out of the blue
Miracles do happen, sit tight and when it eventually happens for you and your wife, the journey and heartbreak will be quickly forgotten
The child will be even more special ...:thumbsu::)

Apparently the hodges and burgoynne's are also expecting so throw in lewis and there is a lovely set of new Hawks on there way

Congratulations to them all

I believe there might be a Roughead on its way too.