Strategy Game plan, positioning and everything else.

Oct 5, 2009
Southampton FC
Thought that it may be an idea to start a topic purely relating to game plan, strategy and tactics for this year as we are almost at the season proper.

One of the most debated (and angst worthy) topics from season 2014 was that of our game plan, largely a lack of plan b. Have a look at the autopsy thread.

So, lets have a look at our game plan circa 2014.

From my perspective our game plan was heavily based on a daisy chain handball plan to release to an outside runner. This plan seemed to be made in direct response to a zoning defence. The problem with this plan was fully exposed in the GF with immense pressure being put on the ball carrier in both the daisy chain and kicker, resulting in us getting thrashed on the rebound as out players were then out of position due to the 'slingshot'

What I would like to see in 2015 is 3 or 4 variations on this game plan to suit each situation. An example would be:

83026_02e3d5352bb76ee7707e2206c7a29e2d.png

Ok, have been thinking of how we could be less prone to being burnt on the rebound by the daisy chain. What we really missed was effective target to kick to, for at least a contest so as to allow our runners to get through.

Above is how i'd set play. Have a 2 or three players at the 40m and 20m points in play (hopefully a tall, a roaming reid or buddy springs to mind) and 2-3 players 20-30m behind in case we get burnt (thinking a tight central defensive wall about 30-40m across). This allows for our runners to either run the wing or corridor to either be a link or help at the contest. Also nullifies the zonal system as they would be dragged to contest with the stationed targets up ahead, creating space for our runners.

This plan gives us a bit of flexibility

A) use the kick to 20m or 40m group, mark and reset
B) use runners to move the ball, using group 20-40m as overlap to open play
C) Kick to 20-40m group and use the runners to 'slingshot' from that point
D) Use the ball to daisy-chain to the 20m then 40m with the players behind the ball sweeping for the turnover

Positional:
So this is purely what you'd like to see in regards to what positions you like to employ across the ground. My one bug bear is the lack of a specialised small forward. I really would love to see a crumbing small forward with exceptional defensive pressure. Not a resting forward but a Walters type who can chase like a mad man.

Feel free to merge mods if you think it needs be.

PS. yes Bedford, I know I am not a coach but I think a chat over strategy is fun.

learn to hit targets by foot for a start and our entries forward most of the time were some what poor

Think the whole hitting targets is also a byproduct of our game plan. Usually we bomb it into the forward line due to the speed of the slingshot, our structure is shot due to people being out of position due to daisy chain/sling shot and pressure on the carrier. We need to give our ball carrier a bit more time and space entering the f50. That could be fixed by getting it to the outside with a bit more direction/hitting up a short chip kick to the wings and hit up a target further on

Like your thoughts but basically sounds like hawthorn which punts mentioned above we don't have the foot skills for.
With a fit pyke and mitchell the Roos/malt house down wing repeated contests could work.
Agree on the small forward completely

I hope there is a focus on kicking into the forward 50, for one of the best sides in the league in 2014 our delivery inside 50 was appalling. We didnt take many marks forward, our best forward entry player imho was buddy, and thats not good given he is the main target

I would put reid back, richards, grundy and reid as tall defenders, stop making rampe take a 3rd tall, laidler is reserves back up.

Smith locks down in defence, rampe, shaw and rohan provide run

Im in no rush to push mcveigh back, because i think his value is mid/fwd, he can go missing but his foot skills arent bad

Tom mitchell is a lock in the best 22 surely

I think we should kick a bit shorter at times hit up targets, not just high bombs

High kicks to tippett will work if he is one on one, but need to be precise and quick with the entries

I hope there is a focus on kicking into the forward 50, for one of the best sides in the league in 2014 our delivery inside 50 was appalling. We didnt take many marks forward, our best forward entry player imho was buddy, and thats not good given he is the main target

I would put reid back, richards, grundy and reid as tall defenders, stop making rampe take a 3rd tall, laidler is reserves back up.

Smith locks down in defence, rampe, shaw and rohan provide run

Im in no rush to push mcveigh back, because i think his value is mid/fwd, he can go missing but his foot skills arent bad

Tom mitchell is a lock in the best 22 surely

I think we should kick a bit shorter at times hit up targets, not just high bombs

High kicks to tippett will work if he is one on one, but need to be precise and quick with the entries
pretty much this

It was our first year with a major change in structure with having 2 power forwards hopefully we will learn to be more efficient in 2015 i mean no reason why we cant.

Just rewind the last time we had Hall, ROK, MO in the forward line we were known in the league for our patience and hitting a leading target hope we can introduce that aspect back into the side Franklin, Tippett, Rose/Goodes/Reid all more than capable.

If you want a very clear example just watch the Freo QF 2 of their best defenders out and half a game we kicked it to a 3 on 1 on Franklin and made their second string defenders look like AA.

A slow build and hitting up of targets really work unless we have people who are elite kicks at speed. Jetta, Rohan and hopefully Rampe can become the designated kickers into f50. Trying to bomb it on our forwards heads is a serious misuse of the cattle we have

Reid needs to play up back. Good mark but no point taking a screamer if he's gonna miss the shot straight in front.
Rohan needs to work on his general kicking.
Jetta just needs to work.
Our midfield is overrated.

Let's face it - this thread is basically talking about how to get close to the Hawks.All other sides are ok - not win locks but winnable.

Personally I reckon they should simply look at 2012 when they went man on man with Hawthorn, kept possession unless they could slingshot with some form of surety and denied the Hawks space when they had the ball.

ROK was awesome on Mitchell and made that cheap shot campaigner earn possessions and denied him time. No reason we can't go back to that. Make him accountable as well.

Slow and steady or absolutely flat out when safe. Man them up at all costs in their back half and go from there. Lloyd and Harry now give us speed to tag as well on the Hawks outside runners that was lacking in 2013. Forget Smith on Bruest. Rohan owns him, Smith gets beats or halves it. There is no disgrace in Smith getting beat by one player in the league - don't persist with the match up. Get Smith on Poppy, Rampe on Gunston Rohan on Bruest Grundy on resting ruckTed on the ugly ginger with assistance from anyone in the area.

To put it another way they had a model that worked. They decided to go away from it and got flogged consistently - don't reinvent the wheel.

I dont think there is anything wrong with the game plan. It got us to top of the ladder and decimated an opponent in the prelim. We just didnt turn up on grand final day.

All we need to do is sharpen our footskills so we can absorb opposition pressure. No matter what the opposition does,the hawks will not be dictated to. If another team had a run on,the hawks slow the ball with elite kicking and take the energy out of the game for a few minutes and wrestle back the play.

When we are under the pump we tend to panic and long bomb at every opportunity.

Slow the ball, and back urself in to hit targets and retain possession. We know how to win games of footy and have tonnes of talent. Just play smarter for longer

Don't get me wrong, the game plan does work.

The main problem is that it has been worked out, by our main flag competitor no less.

What kills us is the lack of flexibility or adaptability that the game plan gives us. Once the ball carrier is cover and repeat pressure it is game over. Options or even variation on the game plan need to be done so as to shift momentum

I dont think the Tips Bud combo has been as lethal as we would like. They looked AWESOME against Geelong last year but haven't really fired

I think we need to leave them both inside 50 more often, try to isolate them and let them work in tandem like Hall and MO'L used to. I've got no problem with Tippett going into the ruck or Buddy playing up the ground at times, but you need someone to stay in the 50, can't rely on the 'slingshot' all the time.

Seems to work on Hawthorn though

Tippett took a defensive ruck contest in the last quarter iirc maybe even two in a row, and buddy was crumbing the pack, reid was drifting nearby too i think

I think there is a move to reduce tippetts ruck time, but late in games he ends up there as we run Pyke into the ground

Tippett just isnt quite sticking the marks, is not a natural player at times, should use his body better, but one out deep he will mark more than he misses

Delivery needs to improve

Its just nice he is finally getting consistent footy, hopefully we see the benefit on the run home

His best still was probably thst first year where he was the man in our forward line

But he makes Franklins life easier if he plays well

Seems to work on Hawthorn though

Hmm true. I think we play the style we do in part to compensate for poor delivery from the midfield, but it would make our life easier in terms of kicking goals if they can both play closer to goal.

Sir Swans, never feel like you can't make a difference, the collective whole can. Anyway, where is the thread to talk tactics and fix the Swans stoppage and clearance structures because if they fix that we won't be so lucky next time!

You dont want to just bomb it long forward then ? :p

No mate, lower the eyes and honour the lead. That's one issue, clearance structure the other. I'm a passionate Swans supporter and have for along time, new to the swans board. I believe this squad can be one of the best modern day teams ever but are structurally and tactically deficient.

We are deficient in two positions but punch above our weight, but yeah we dont use it well, rely on our guts and heart a bit

We have these two gun forwards

Buddy goes fine, i think tippett suffers from our game plan

Watching Hall and Mickey O running multiple leads and creating space for each other with the swans players hitting them up with short kicks was soooo good to watch!