All Australian Team 2008

Re: If Tom Harley was NOT captain of Geelong...

If you want to make this a Hodge v Harley thread I'm not interested. Hate those threads.

Not at all mate, just baffled by Hawks supporters who glorify Hodge on the back of stuff that doesn't show up in stats, but refuse to give Harley any credit for his efforts.

For example:

No need to justify how good Hodge was that game with so few possies - its only a twit with no clue about footy that automatically regards those as "easy" possessions, when in fact he chopped off so much attack and made a lot of spoils that dont get counted in those stats.

I'll ignore the rubbish generalisation and focus on the actual question.

He's not a better player than them, but he certainly had a better year than both.

Now i've answered your question, i've got one of my own.
Why do you think it's always Hawthorn supporters starting such threads about Geelong players and how they're ''overrated'?

I am unsure how you conclude he had a better year than both of them when he trails by quite some margin in every statistical measure of the game there is apart from contested marks. Maybe his average of 1.3 third man up contested marks a game got him the nod.

In answer to your question I guess Hawks fans are the first to be sick of hearing how every player that pulls on a Geelong jumper is a champion!

I am unsure how you conclude he had a better year than both of them when he trails by quite some margin in every statistical measure of the game there is apart from contested marks. Maybe his average of 1.3 third man up contested marks a game got him the nod.

Why ask if you're just going to tell us we're wrong, anyway?

BTW If you're purely using statistics to judge Tom Harley it shows just how misguided you are.

In answer to your question I guess Hawks fans are the first to be sick of hearing how every player that pulls on a Geelong jumper is a champion!

Why are Hawthorn fans always the first (and most vocal) to 'be sick' of such things?

There must be a reason why Hawthorn fans start the majority of derogatory threads about Geelong, surely.

The same way you conclude Hodge had a good year by claiming that his 'stats' don't tell the whole story.
It's the inconsistency that is annoying. Don't use an argument to claim a Hawks player deserves an AA jumper then use the same argument to claim a Cat's player doesn't.

What should I judge him on then, the fact he plays on the oppositions least dangerous forward, that Adam Schnieder can outmark him in a one on one contest, what, enlighten me because as you can see I am baffled he made the AA squad let alone the team.

If he wasn't captain of Geelong, he wouldn't have got an interview in the latest issue of Alpha magazine.

Personally I didn't think Harley deserved AA, though I suspected he would get it based on the massive rager Walls & Healey have for 'most marks from opposition kicks'.

Having said that, I find it highly amusing that in a thread in which Harley is being labelled overrated, Mackie is being touted as a worthy substitute. If you want a Geelong player whose role and ability has been massively twisted by the media, it is Andrew Mackie.

Brett Kirk - Bit Stiff?

Personally i thought Brett Kirk was very stiff to miss out on AA selection this year. Thought he would of been a shoe in for at least a possie on the bench. Should of definely taken Corey Enright's spot on the pine or even Sandilands. Do we really need that second ruckmen?
Very stiff IMO

Re: Brett Kirk - Bit Stiff?

Personally i thought Brett Kirk was very stiff to miss out on AA selection this year. Thought he would of been a shoe in for at least a possie on the bench. Should of definely taken Corey Enright's spot on the pine or even Sandilands. Do we really need that second ruckmen?
Very stiff IMO

Did he even make in onto the 40 man squad? I watched the show last night and I don't think they even mentioned him.

Having said that, I find it highly amusing that in a thread in which Harley is being labelled overrated, Mackie is being touted as a worthy substitute. If you want a Geelong player whose role and ability has been massively twisted by the media, it is Andrew Mackie.

I noticed that as well.

I don't think they truly believe Mackie was worthy, it's just convienient when bagging Harley.

BTW I didn't think Mackie deserved to be in the squad, but had Harley as a borderline selection in the team.
I thought he deserved it, but wouldn't have been upset had he missed out.

playing in the midfield... always tough... mitchell didn't even get in

but if he was in... no argument as to whether he would be a good aa captain

Tom Harley in aa team

does anyone else think that Tom Harley did not deserve to be in the all Australian team? Yes he is a good player that puts his body on the line alot but i do not think his all Australian. Alot of players put their body on the line but dont get into the all australian team. Is it just me or am i been to hard on him or dont see something else he does?

What should I judge him on then, the fact he plays on the oppositions least dangerous forward, that Adam Schnieder can outmark him in a one on one contest, what, enlighten me because as you can see I am baffled he made the AA squad let alone the team.

Hilarious. Hahn made Hodge look like an idiot the other week. Totally smashed him in a contest early on. Pretty bad when he did nothing else for the rest of the night.

Did he even make in onto the 40 man squad? I watched the show last night and I don't think they even mentioned him.

Nah he made the squad of 40, just amazed that he didn't make the final team.
His clearance work this year has been brilliant and IMO is the toughest player going around in the AFL and has gotten his side out of trouble many a time.

I can't agreee with Judd as captain. He may be a genius, he may the gretest of all time, he may be the best leader in the western world. I can't believe how much these guys blow it up his $%^#@!

BUT, Carlton finished 11th! They did not make the finals. They never threatened the finals. How can you be the best captain in the AFL without team success?

I agree and the All Australian Team of '2008' should be based apon '2008' NOT '2006', these selectors are livin in the past, If it were'nt for Reiwoldt the saints most likely wouldnt be in a preliminary final!!

A bit stiff but didn't stand out in big games against the best 3 teams this year, like a lot of his teammates.

No different though to a number of Pie players who missed last year from a winning finals side.

Re: Tom Harley in aa team

You obviously dont see all the contested marks he takes and when he runs it out of defence and he was voted mvp captain by his peers, so he is very good

In fairness to Richo he wasn't exactly playing as a conventional wingman, he was pushing back and forward and generally running around where he liked.

I think the bench is a perfect spot to represent this.

How Deledio missed out, on the other hand, is bermusing.

In fairness to richo, I reckon he was in the best 18 players in the AFL this year.

All Australian Team 2008