Why does Nick Reiwoldt get soft frees?

That's what the last two pages have been about.

Hall, besides the non existent push he got a free for, has a licence to tackle any opposition player whether they have the ball or not.

Gwilt in the first quarter, didn't take possession. Tackled by Hall. Bulldogs goal.

You are kidding yourself

Don't know why Saints fans are complaining about the umpiring. Wasn't the free kick tally 11-3 in the Saint's favour at some stage tonight? Not to mention two of their first three goals came from very suspect umpiring decisions.

That's what it was paid for, but it didn't happen... nice try though:rolleyes:

2nd Grand Final loss in a row, nice try though.

Riewoldt gets look after, come to terms with it and deal with it. :D

Well done Western Bulldogs. :thumbsu:

Don't know why Saints fans are complaining about the umpiring. Wasn't the free kick tally 11-3 in the Saint's favour at some stage tonight? Not to mention two of their first three goals came from very suspect umpiring decisions.

Win, loss or draw, they'll always complain. ;) I'm just rapt for the Bulldogs though. :D

Please explain as to who else you have to come back into the side that will make up 8 goals?
Without the cheat in your forward line you would be ****ed. Plain and simple

Because one NAB cup win takes away our dominance of you last year in the games that matter.

The dogs still aren't on Geelong's or St Kilda's level. St Kilda coasted tonight that will not happen in the season proper, enjoy your night clowns we shall have ours in September.

Because one NAB cup win takes away our dominance of you last year in the games that matter.

The dogs still aren't on Geelong's or St Kilda's level. St Kilda coasted tonight that will not happen in the season proper, enjoy your night clowns we shall have ours in September.

ahaahahahahahahaha
St.Kilda coasted, with their best 18 starting on the ground, in a hard physical game of footy. Really seemed like they didn't want to win. :rolleyes:

We both fielded close to/if not our best sides possible.

It's the preseason.

Tactics are based around preparation rather than the opposition. Who you have playing is somewhat unimportant (a fringe player is going to play a lot harder than a player with nothing to prove)

No doubt the Doggies played a gear or two above us tonight and in terms of execution were a much better team.

Doesn't mean shit in regards to 26 weeks from now.

Geez, the Saints fans take losing well :rolleyes:

Reiwodlt is a gun. But, that free he got tonight was an absolute joke. If J Brown or Barry Hall got those they would kick 10 goals every week. Not sure they would fall forward so hard though?

:confused: I have congratulated the Bully fans and it amazes me when gooses like you jump in to stir the pot, weak as piss in any mans book.
PS a real good ambassador for Hawthorn..:eek:

Saints supporters are sensitive about the Pre-Season. :eek: Let the Bulldogs have their joy for once. Sheesh. :eek:

Who's sensitive about the NAB Cup? Well played Dogs, they deserved the win.

I'm sensitive about some flog coming on here every time one of the champions of the game gets a free kick and start talking about diving.

Was it a soft free kick for Riewoldt's first goal? Yes, nobody denied that. Although if the umpire didn't see the push against Griffen I can see why he paid it.

Did Riewoldt "dive" at that stage or any other stage during the game? No.

I'm sensitive about some flog coming on here every time one of the champions of the game gets a free kick and start talking about diving.

Was it a soft free kick for Riewoldt's first goal? Yes, nobody denied that. Although if the umpire didn't see the push against Griffen I can see why he paid it.

Riewoldt did dive in last year's Preliminary Final, that left a bad taste in my mouth, that shouldn't have been paid. I know he is a gun player, but he doesn't need soft decisions to go for him, to get into the game, he's too good of a player for that. He hardly got a touch, before that "soft" decision mate.

Ummm... didn't you see his first goal?

damn the game was tonight? forgot all about it. When's the football start?

FWIW (I'm sure I've said this), no reasonable football fan can have an issue with the way Reiwoldt plays the game. The occassional troll (and deluded/non-comprehending Saints supporter) are the only ones arguing whether Reiwoldt is soft or not.

The issue is on the way he is umpired. The issue is not so much with the umpires, as with the interpretations he plays under. It's not even about the individual incidents that a free arises from.

Why is he identified as a "player to protect"? The umpires job is to be neutral, not looking for infringements against a particular player.

Who are the "over-umpired" players? Reiwoldt, Chapman, Selwood, etc. Not coincidentally, they were all identified as "players requiring protection".

Reiwoldt (like Selwood, Chapman, etc) plays to the current interpretations, and benefits from how they are applied. That's all, and there's no crime against it.

The issue is a flat-out criticism of the AFL umpiring standards is a MASSIVE no-no, and instantly discredited as 'sour grapes'. (The following bit no doubt will be too).

Hawthorn cops a raw deal from the umps. Always have, always will. We are also portrayed in the media as the "bad boys" in any incident. There are multiple reasons for this - each team has it's own "angle" - ours are angry fans venting against the "stupid" media, and "bias" AFL. Once an angle is created, every story has to "fit" or is disregarded by the general population.

Our star forward is illegally dealt with every time he thinks about going near the ball. The umpires are instructed to watch for him dealing with defenders illegally. So that's what they see, and act upon.

Reiwoldt is illegally dealt with every time he thinks about going near the ball. The umpires are instructed to watch for him being impeded, and act accordingly.

Both players are doing the "best they can" - bost have the ball as their target 100% of the time. There is a massive discrepency in the way they are umpired.

In summary:

If you think Reiwoldt's soft, you're an idiot.
If you think the umpires treat everyone equally, you're an idiot.
If you think Giesch is competent at his job, .....

Well said SN.

If Riewoldt was umpired the same as J Brown, Fevola, Buddy and Hall this thread wouldn't exist. All are great players who inspire negative/illegal tactics from the opposition, why is it that Riewoldt gets such superior treatment?

Don't know but commented to the missus tonight how soft that 1st one was to Reiwoldt and how Tarrant use to cop a raping by defenders and never get near getting a free kick.

I don't have a problem with Riewoldt and it's not his fault the umpires are gay. He did take a dive in the prelim, but so would many other players.

The umpires just can't hide the love for Riewoldt, Judd and Ablett.

I don't have a problem with Riewoldt and it's not his fault the umpires are gay. He did take a dive in the prelim, but so would many other players.

The umpires just can't hide the love for Riewoldt, Judd and Ablett.

Sad... you could be out celebrating your win... but it seems collingwood's obession with all things St Kilda and Bulldogs obession with Riewoldt continues. BTW, it's a good win, and I am happy for the dogs. But can you get over it... really.. like a man? Or no, perhaps thats too much to ask from some people.

Collingwood had a 27 goal game - do I see a mention of that? Nup... chee, it's all about riewoldt.

He got 1 soft free kick for the entire game. Get over it. Eagleton kicked another player - no free kick. BTW, again, the bulldogs won the game, the free kick didn't matter.

In some alternate world, I am sure, someone is keeping track of all missed frees, soft frees and what not. But in the real world, the game's over and a lot of people here need to just get a move on.

Got a soft one in the 1st quarter, but aside from that, thought he was great tonight for the Saints. His aerobic capacity is just amazing for a KPF.

So nice to see somone actually watches the game.....

I was amazed with Riewoldts 4th goal tonight......hes had it in the middle of the ground when we were going fwd......and ended uptaking the mark inside fwd 50 to kick the goal..Hes a freak....and Morris is supposed to be an elite runner.....

Im a tad dissapointed he didnt kick straight and missed some easy ones as hed have had 7 no probs......

Interesting that people talk about the free kicks he gets......I can guarantee you there are many more he doesnt get....but hes a ball player who plays in front and thems the rules.

Im just stoked this superstar plays for the sainters....:thumbsu:

Why does Nick Reiwoldt get soft frees?