Preview North Melbourne v Brisbane Lions

Hanley's kick-ins were good. When there was no-one providing a target he played on and found someone, even under a bit a pressure. It was up the ground where he got himself into trouble. Particularly one where he muffed a short kick into 50 and North ran it up the other end and kicked one.

Also Taz, I think you've missed my point re the Black one. I'm suggesting that that free is not paid half the time (including the match today). I don't think you can blame the rules committee or Geishen for that one...but you can blame the umps for paying that one but not the 15 others that are like that in a game. In this game, there was a bunch of occasions when a player grabbed the ball and was tackled straight away with no chance to get rid of it or even 'attempt'. On 2 of these occasions, a free kick was paid against Brisbane, none of these occasions resulted in a free against North.

And i'd argue there was no 'diving into it' at all. He was on his feet until he got tackled a half a second after.

In the end, it's pretty inconsequential. Better team won and there was worse decisions on the day.

Any critics of Hanley really need to assess their own ability to watch AFL football. Hanley is the sort of footballer who helps a team win premierships, he takes the game on, his work rate is unbelievable, his fitness is elite, his competitive streak is inspirational and the bloke has only been involved in our game for 4 seasons or is it 3. His composure and decision making when operating under fatigue will improve as he becomes more experienced.

Rockliff and Redden are genuine rocks from which we can build this team. Both blokes are leather poisoning addicts!

We forget how young Banfield is, his output defensively is brilliant and his ability to influence the contest will get better. Would love to compare his stats over his first 30 games with the likes of Milne and Betts.

Hawksley was an unfortunate subbing- he looks a real AFL player further up the field, his ability to be the 3rd man up at the stoppage was very good. I remember the first time i saw him and i thought he had Notting like ability. I stand by that comment now he is playing up the field.

Luey continues to be important, he will learn to run to better linking positions more often and i reckon the boys have to trust him more with ball in hand.

Black is superb and really should just play until he can't contribute anymore, he may be 36 and Power playing as a forward has at least another 2 to 3 seasons.

Seen more signs of us becoming a really good team over the last 2 weeks.

If we keep Clark- he must be tried at CHB, with Brown, Cornelius and Karnezis responsible for key forward roles.

Maguire is at the end i would think. Unfortunate for Goose!

Any critics of Hanley really need to assess their own ability to watch AFL football. Hanley is the sort of footballer who helps a team win premierships, he takes the game on, his work rate is unbelievable, his fitness is elite, his competitive streak is inspirational and the bloke has only been involved in our game for 4 seasons or is it 3. His composure and decision making when operating under fatigue will improve as he becomes more experienced.

So what your saying is if I think Hanley had a bad game I should think about how clueless I am when watching afl football???

Read into what you want mate!

Hanley's mistakes were because he was taking the game on. Apart from the couple of times he got caught with the footy i thought he had a really good game as a running half back flanker. At times both he and McGrath streamed through the midfield and we looked fantastic.

We forget how young Banfield is, his output defensively is brilliant and his ability to influence the contest will get better. Would love to compare his stats over his first 30 games with the likes of Milne and Betts.

Here you are, a Betts comparison and a Milne one. To be honest, I thought they might have been ahead of Toddy at their respective ages, but I doff my proverbial hat to Banfield, he's up there.

Got it about right I reckon.

Hanley's mistakes were because he was taking the game on. Apart from the couple of times he got caught with the footy i thought he had a really good game as a running half back flanker. At times both he and McGrath streamed through the midfield and we looked fantastic.

This.
Hanley reminds me of Ben Johnson? from Collingwood. Type of player we need.

This game just drummed home to me what an absolute superstar Simon Black is. Has done absolutely everything there is to do in the game, and even now that his skills are fading he just does absolutely everything he can for the blokes around him.

Hope Firrito caught up to him to apologise at some point.

Was impressed by McKeever yesterday. I keep expecting brain fades, but he looks composed and really throws himself into the contests.

Maguire, on the other hand, is clearly at the end of his career. Petrie didn't even need to break out of a jog to get clear on the lead.

Redden was okay mostly, but great in that third quarter.

Excellent game from Leuey. He was the main reason for mine we started to get ahead in the clearances. Plus he did a neat job of finding space in the middle to link with the clearances from the backline.

Banfield worked really hard at holding the ball in the forwardline. Shame his execution was down, otherwise would've been a great game from him.

Cornelius looked good when he was near it, but wasn't really all that involved. Hope he stays in the team for a few weeks.

Another solid game from Stiller. Hardly put a foot wrong.

Buchanan, on the other hand, hardly did anything right when he came on. Worked hard, but just couldn't find a target. Will be interesting to see if he keeps his spot.

Hawksley looks a little better each week. Still not sure if he has a future though. Was surprised when he was subbed off.

Clark showed no interest in the game - shameless. Didn't help his alledged team mates .. how can he look Black in the eye after that effort.

Time to call him out.

Got the same feeling myself.

Umpires can go suck my big fat one

Generally, I don't heed all the umpire bashing. Early on many here were up in arms over decisions, but I was thinking 'ignoring the bad ones that Norf are getting - it evens out'. But that 5 minutes late in the 3rd was criminal. 2 ridiculous HTB frees for Norf, in position for gimme goals. Then the Harvey non decision that also gifted a goal. From 6 points down at the 3/4 to 4 goals down,thru no fault of our own. It just knocked the stuffing out of the boys, and the rest is history. Disgraceful. I swear there were Lions loathe to take the ball in the last cos they were scared of the consequences.

Anyhow. The rest of the game.

A_Corn. Been many calls for him to return, but IMO the coaching staff have played it right & mad him earn it. Looks a far more rounded player & 1 of real future. The increased work rate was obvious from north Queensland. Seems to still have issues with the petrol tank - quiet in the 2nd half - but give him a year or 2. Play him the rest of the year.

Patty K. Needs a couple of years in the gym, and 20 r 30 games to learn a bit of composure & we have a star.

Hanley. Had a game he will want to forget, but will learn heaps from it. IMO a lot was him playing further up the field than before, & has to learn how to operate coming into the forward line. But he will. Cannot believe calls for him to be dropped. He has more potential than any one on our list, and will be elite in a few years.

Black. What do you say.:thumbsu: Is on the down hill, but can still pull out sublime games like that - just to let the world know who is the best player of the last 10 years.

Patfull. Has been a good servant, but if we are going to climb the ladder must make way for Ryan Lester next year. Joel just gives nothing offensively.

McGuire. Is struggling, but giving 120% trying to cover for Sauce. We need him for depth.

Buchanon. Came on, bustled & had a heap of nothing stats. No future - play Harwood, with Hawk, JOB or Bewick as sub.

Stiller. Apart from 1 kick in that fell 10 metres short did his job with a minimum of fuss. A first 22 player now, IMO.

Luey, Jack, Rocky et al were all good.

As to the last quarter. If we had kicked 2 or3 of those gimmes we missed, it would not have looked anywhere near as bad. North are just a bit more developed, & had a big bit closer to best structure, than us.

But I still reckon that 5 minutes of disgraceful umpiring cost us any chance of winning. If I was Vossy, I would give every player a plate to smash, to get it out of the system. I am still proud of the boys, and more & more can see a future. Go Lions.:thumbsu:

This game just drummed home to me what an absolute superstar Simon Black is. Has done absolutely everything there is to do in the game, and even now that his skills are fading he just does absolutely everything he can for the blokes around him.

Even has the ability to handball without his fist hitting the ball!

But seriously, absolute gun. Have always loved Black. Just a gem of a player.

Too early to write Buchanan off. He's play 30 minutes of AFL footy since round 2. It's a big step up from NEAFL. He came on when the rest of the side stopped running and did everything he could to give them a spark. Plus from memory there were reports that he got a 3 year deal so he'll probably be at the Lions next year. It will be ridiculous to drop him he'll need a few games to find the pace of the AFL again.

Even has the ability to handball without his fist hitting the ball!

But seriously, absolute gun. Have always loved Black. Just a gem of a player.

Appreciate the Black compliment, but you have no right to have a dig about umpiring today.

We were well and truly on the recieving end in the first half.

As for Black, he is an out and out champion.

The Lions need to keep him going for as long as possible. It would have gotten very ugly without him on the park yesterday.

Maguire is at the end i would think. Unfortunate for Goose!

Maguire, on the other hand, is clearly at the end of his career. Petrie didn't even need to break out of a jog to get clear on the lead.

As others have said, you can't fault Goose's endeavour, however the concern I have for Goose is that forwards are different beast to years gone by. Across the whole league, his best match-up is probably Browny, but besides that, key forwards these days are fast and cover a lot of ground. Goose is very good in one on one contests, but I have come to realise over the last week is that he is only best suited to a certain type of opposition, which there aren't a lot of. Would still keep him for one more year as a back-up.

If Drummond can return to any semblance of continuity and form, we have a very attacking half back line that could cause opposition a fair few headaches.

Well done on the Sunday Footy Show for pointing out what a terrible umpiring display was on show yesterday.

We were well and truly on the recieving end in the first half.

Enough with the insults, you will find absolutely no sympathy here considering the massive one-sideness of the umpiring. I disctinctly recall the quarter time frees stat as being 7-2 in your favour and you have the balls to say that.

Go continue the circle jerk on the North board.:thumbsdown:

There seems to be some examples of "selective memory" going on here.

I had 3 goals from absurd frees to Brisbane, in the second quarter alone. Then there was that incredibly soft in the back free kick which resulted in a goal in the 3rd quarter. I will attempt to get them up on youtube.

North had a couple in front of goals in the second half.

Many Brisbane players seemed to be playing up to the umpires for free kicks yesterday. Their was definitely a few who played up to the "in the back" rule. I had no sympathy when these tactics backfired.

If body language is anything to go by I think the Goose knows he's cooked....After the game, Bourke St end and about 20 feet in front of me. Petrie turned to Goose extended his hand and did the mandatory "Well played mate"..Goose responded...
Then as they were moving away from each other to their respected huddles..Goose said something..Petrie stopped and walked back to Goose said a few words...Goose said a bit more before Petrie half put his arm around Goose patting him on the back before shaking his hand again...they then both walked off together ...Talking..

Anyone else see it?

I had 3 goals from absurd frees to Brisbane, in the second quarter alone. Then there was that incredibly soft in the back free kick which resulted in a goal in the 3rd quarter. I will attempt to get them up on youtube.

Many Brisbane players seemed to be playing up to the umpires for free kicks yesterday. Ther was definitely a few who played up to the "in the back" rule. I had no sympathy when these tactics backfired.

I'd imagine you went off to get chips and a drink in the last 10 minutes of the 3rd quarter..So many free kicks were given your way it's not even funny..Holding the ball on Black when he barely got the ball and was tackled as soon as he got it, or the Banfield off the ball where he was pushed off it and the umpires called play-on..What about the instance when it was a push in the pack against Patfull in the back half for us, and you somehow managed to get a play on, even though the ball came to us..Don't talk to us about playing up to the umpires when clearly you have the upperhand in the free kicks tally and the number of those which were 50/50 or should have been our free kicks if there was a somewhat consistent umpire..

Don't talk to us about being unfairly treated by umpires, when clearly you were loved by the umpires yesterday for just about anything, it was just laughable when I could see the umpire give a free kick completely opposite to what the situation was supposed to be in.. Now, please leave..:thumbsdown:

Many Brisbane players seemed to be playing up to the umpires for free kicks yesterday. Ther was definitely a few who played up to the "in the back" rule. I had no sympathy when these tactics backfired.

:rolleyes:...Turn it up ..It appeared to be a trait used by both teams..North seemed to benefit more in the second half..

Many Brisbane players seemed to be playing up to the umpires for free kicks yesterday. Their was definitely a few who played up to the "in the back" rule. I had no sympathy when these tactics backfired.

Mate, I'm not a mod these days, but if I were I'd be telling you to check out of this board, otherwise you might need to start working on yet another alias.

What rule have I broken? I am referring to the umpiring standard in a football match. I am not trolling either, I genuinely believe we were badly shafted in the first half.

:rolleyes:...Turn it up ..It appeared to be a trait used by both teams..North seemed to benefit more in the second half..

I suppose I should be pleased that you at least acknowledge that much.

Couldn't have put it better myself. I warned yesterday I was in no mood to tolerate anything that could be construed in any way as trolling. Suggesting the umpiring performance yesterday was approaching balanced is borderline trolling, especially given the poster. I got a good night's sleep so I'm gonna give a final warning, even to someone who probably doesn't deserve it. Move on.

Preview North Melbourne v Brisbane Lions