Society & Culture Things in life you just don't understand

Rekorderlig Cider.

Let me preface this by stating i am not a cider drinker and have just tried various ciders without success until I had the Matso's ginger a week ago which was fantastic. However, I thought I try this since people rave about it but it tastes more like a sugary pop drink then actual cider.

What do hardcore cider drinkers think?
It's good, I am a fan of it.

I prefer Bulmer's now though.

I have a mate who will rant at you for half an hour about why Rekorderlig is rubbish. Too sweet, made out of concentrate rather than real apples, etc.

If he has to drink a commercial brand he will drink Bulmers, but he maintains that none of the big brands are anything like 'real' scrumpy cider.

Another question, with or without ice? I like with
The only thing my fridge had to have was the ability to provide me crushed ice. I have been in heaven since

Edit: oh I thought we were talking in general terms

They are also angled back, to counter the additional forward momentum when in operation.

When you step down, you base your judgement on the bit you see (for most people their toes....not sure about the massively obese). On an escalator, your toe touches in the right spot, then the heel 'falls' another cm or so.

Your body automatically adjusts, but it takes a step or two for the brain to re-sync the step.

Whilst on topic, balance - how our senses manage to interpret our surroundings and enable us to traverse uneven grounds.
Did not know they were angled back, makes perfect sense. Thank you.

They don't have a vagina
They gave up all their millions to whatever cause they were pontificating about :eek:

did I get it right

You didn't get it right here^^^

But you are pretty close with what I bolded below...

I recently had a discussion with my kids about what artists from this current crop will they be remembering in 20 years time and amongst the mainstream music from today they couldn't name one. For the most part 'music' today is churned out to meet specific markets, make a quick buck and then get out - Pink is one of these and probably the most popular and enduring
Pretty much she's just a bullshit bogan bitch who markets herself as "edgy" music for teeny bopper girls and grown up bogan women. Safe rebellion. It's bullshit.

I don't recall in reading through this thread that she was ever classified as being on a par or better than the Beatles, the Boss, Bowie, Stevie Nix etc. etc etc only that for this very moment in time amongst all the crap that is out there that she goes okay and her music is better than most - OF THE RIGHT NOW. Not really that hard to understand I would of thought
She goes okay? Her music is better than most- of the right now? Really?

Is it strange I find my self agreeing with Bunsen Burner, while not being a grumpy old man.

You didn't get it right here^^^ yes I did - but I'm happy for you to disabuse me of that and tell me which of those artists donated all their millions to charity.

But you are pretty close with what I bolded below...

Pretty much she's just a bullshit bogan bitch who markets herself as "edgy" music for teeny bopper girls and grown up bogan women. Safe rebellion. It's bullshit. that it maybe, but she appeals for some reason to lots of kids of this generation, but while some of us may not enjoy it others do and for one reason or another have a different opinion than you - fancy that.

She goes okay? Her music is better than most- of the right now? Really?

24 concerts - mostly sold out, across Australia - says yes, whether you like it or not she is one of the more popular artists around at the moment and fact number 2 according to your reckoning that means there are shit loads of bogan chicks and bogan mums running around this country. Maybe you will get lucky and see them out in pink Lycra and can start mowing them down

Pink is what she is and I could think of nothing worse than listening to her but that's not what this discussion started out about so I'm done with it. I don't mind what music people choose to listen to, it's a personal thing and I'm certainly not going to deride their choices but you carry on

hook turns in melbourne.

my understanding is they're for the flow of trams right? but they're only in the cbd where trams have their own dedicated lane so there is no interruption of flow anyway.

where they would be more useful is in the suburbs, like down carlisle street or glenferrie road, where if you turned right from the left hand lane trams would be allowed to pass through without interruption.

the only thing i can think is they are a throwback to when trams and cars shared lanes in the cbd and people were so used to them they kept them in.

If they didn't have them in the CBD the cars waiting to turn right (waiting for the straight traffic coming the other way) would be stopped over the tram tracks blocking the trams or stopped in the 'straight' lane blocking the traffic going straight. Makes perfect sense!

Hook turns make perfect sense. I wish they'd put them in down King William St. in Adelaide. Put the tram line there and then make it you have to a km out of your way to turn across the road. The stupidest ones are when people say hook turns are dangerous. What?!? They are safer than a normal turn, you get out of the traffic and wait for a change of lights, no running across at the last minute trying to beat a car coming head on. :confused:

Pink is what she is and I could think of nothing worse than listening to her but that's not what this discussion started out about so I'm done with it. I don't mind what music people choose to listen to, it's a personal thing and I'm certainly not going to deride their choices but you carry on
Yeah it is peoples opinion, but it's still effectively saying 'Maccas is the best food there is!'

It sells a lot, but it too is mass produced rubbished marketed towards and created for children and bogans.

So, you do understand it then??
Well yes, I was just continuing the discussion.
Also, McDonald's have healthy options and pretty good coffee. Plus, it's illegal for them to market to children ;)
Wait wut?

Playgrounds, 'happy' meals with a little toy, the 'party rooms' for kids, A clown mascot + all the other characters.

They are more marketed at children than the wiggles ffs.

24 concerts - mostly sold out, across Australia - says yes, whether you like it or not she is one of the more popular artists around at the moment and fact number 2 according to your reckoning that means there are shit loads of bogan chicks and bogan mums running around this country. Maybe you will get lucky and see them out in pink Lycra and can start mowing them down

Since when have we as people become such rubber, lame relativists when it comes to voicing disgust at fast-food music?

I'm not even that old but memories of growing up where as such: if i as so much as intimated that I didn't mind music like Kylie, Bros or modern day Pink, Britney etc. I would be mercilessly taunted by my friends and family (even my parents would join in ;) ) about my terrible taste in music. This was the same for all the people i knew as well. I reckon that is fair enough too. Sometimes you would disagree with friends over music taste but it was minor: like a friend of mine who liked Led Zeppelin more than Pink Floyd but me the opposite. As we both knew that the music we were talking about was "good" music, it didn't matter. Anyone that liked fast-food music? Well I didn't encounter them but you just wrote them off as not really liking music if they had such poor taste.

While it sounds full on it wasn't: if you like music you make a commitment to learning as much as you can about the history, the bands etc. It was a proper sub-culture and you can go anywhere in the world and meet like-minded people. It is a great thing.

Being able to objectively see that, when comparing eras, one era creatively for many reasons (and there are many factors at play) has the wood over another just shows you have the intelligence to do thorough comparisons.

Since when have we as people become such rubber, lame relativists when it comes to voicing disgust at fast-food music?

I'm not even that old but memories of growing up where as such: if i as so much as intimated that I didn't mind music like Kylie, Bros or modern day Pink, Britney etc. I would be mercilessly taunted by my friends and family (even my parents would join in ;) ) about my terrible taste in music. This was the same for all the people i knew as well. I reckon that is fair enough too. Sometimes you would disagree with friends over music taste but it was minor: like a friend of mine who liked Led Zeppelin more than Pink Floyd but me the opposite. As we both knew that the music we were talking about was "good" music, it didn't matter. Anyone that liked fast-food music? Well I didn't encounter them but you just wrote them off as not really liking music if they had such poor taste.

While it sounds full on it wasn't: if you like music you make a commitment to learning as much as you can about the history, the bands etc. It was a proper sub-culture and you can go anywhere in the world and meet like-minded people. It is a great thing.

Being able to objectively see that, when comparing eras, one era creatively for many reasons (and there are many factors at play) has the wood over another just shows you have the intelligence to do thorough comparisons.

But to use the McDonalds analogy, are we just meant to shrug our

I guess the 'music mafia' got hold of this one mid-post.

Funny you say that, working in music here in Sweden like I do in the second biggest music producing country in the world (a couple of guys pretty much write all music for the big boy bands, Britney, and the great Pink), there is wisdom in your music-mafia analogy, not that you meant it. I doubt if people really knew that a few nerdy guys in Stockholm right pretty much all of the pop music in the world they would still agree that it was not such a big deal. It is junk food for the brain and we will be worse off because of it, guaranteed.